Guns N' Roses - Appetite For Destruction review



Reviewer:
9.5

881 users:
8.81
Band: Guns N' Roses
Album: Appetite For Destruction
Release date: July 1987


01. Welcome To The Jungle
02. It's So Easy
03. Nightrain
04. Out Ta Get Me
05. Mr. Brownstone
06. Paradise City
07. My Michelle
08. Think About You
09. Sweet Child O' Mine
10. You're Crazy
11. Anything Goes
12. Rocket Queen


Here it is, one of the greatest hard rock albums of all time (or possibly of all genres?), whether you're a fan of music from the 80's LA scene or not, this is a respectable album any way you look at it.

To understand the music, you have to have to understand the musicians behind it. I'll sum it up: 5 guys come to LA who have virtually nothing (the frontman a real nutcase who comes from a dark childhood), meet up, live together in a teeny room, and live out your typical gritty, sleazy lifestyle. Let's just say it really comes through in the music.

The album opens up with the furious "Welcome To The Jungle" almost a heavy metal song in itself shows us the range Axl has (had?) to offer. The variation of styles within this album is amazing in itself; they go from a heavy metal type song to a punk song; "It's So Easy" to blues rock to even an almost country type influence without losing there own unique sound. The guitars reach their peak in the album with "Sweet Child O' Mine" with an unforgettable intro riff, in fact, not only are the guitars great but every aspect of the band is great (ok, even Steven Adler, who wasn't the greatest drummer by any measure was able to pull it off). Duff shows what a great bassist he is in "Rocket Queen" opening up with a very funky dancable bass lick, once again showing how many genres these guys are able to borrow sounds from but staying in the hard-rock genre and still making it sound genuine.

But alas, nothing is ever perfect and this unfortunately applies to this album as well. As hard as it was for me to find any problems, the only one I found was with "Think About You" a track written by Izzy Stradlin. It's a great track and is probably held in high regards by many but for me seemed to be really forgettable when you're being blown away by pretty much every other song on the album.

Being an album I grew up with, it's filled with so many great memories for me (hell, I first learned the 'F' word for the first time from "It's So Easy") yet it has never gotten old, even after going through 4 different copies in 3 different formats, not once have I gotten tired of it. This is a solid piece of pure sleazy rock 'n roll genius, leaving no question as to why it's one of the greatest selling debut rock album of all time, too bad not even they could ever top themselves.

I usually end my reviews with "I highly reccomend this to those who like [insert genre or style here]" but frankly, who hasn't heard this album?


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 9

Written by Doc Godin | 28.10.2007


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 20   Visited by: 197 users
01.11.2007 - 15:21
Katatronik
Angel of Lust
Hell yeah! Masterpiece of Hard Rock, amazing songs, great riffs and great Axl... One of my favourite albums ever...
----

"The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear,
and the oldest and strongest kind of fear is fear of the unknown."
Howard Phillips Lovecraft
Loading...
02.11.2007 - 04:15
theflyingmachine
Definitely one of the best albums ever.
Loading...
02.11.2007 - 22:43
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Its great. Guns were great.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
11.03.2008 - 12:00
LeChron James
Helvetesfossen
not necessarily having to do with the review. its well written and i agree its an incredible album. but wtf was hollywood rose?
----
Kick Ass, Die Young

Less is More
Stay Pure
Stay Poor

Music was my life, music brought me to life and music is how I will be remembered long after I leave this life. When I die there will be a final waltz in my head that only I can hear.
Loading...
11.03.2008 - 20:53
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by LeChron James on 11.03.2008 at 12:00

not necessarily having to do with the review. its well written and i agree its an incredible album. but wtf was hollywood rose?

Hollywood Rose was Axl Rose and Izzy Stradlins old band. There is an EP you can find of old Hollywood Rose demos (only 5 songs though) that were recorded when Axl was about 19.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
27.09.2008 - 20:54
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
Oh yeah, one of the first albums I heard when I started to listen to rock music. Surely It will never become old.
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"

Loading...
25.12.2008 - 18:01
Bite Me
Account deleted
EACH song is perfect. One of my favorite albums ever. Best album by Gn'R, no doubt.
Loading...
03.02.2009 - 04:47
IronBlackZepp
The only really great GNR album, Lies and the use your illusion albums are very average, and the last 2 sucked. Chinese Democracy is horrable.
Loading...
03.02.2009 - 12:28
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by IronBlackZepp on 03.02.2009 at 04:47

The only really great GNR album, Lies and the use your illusion albums are very average, and the last 2 sucked. Chinese Democracy is horrable.


You have to help me out here. What last two sucked? You just said the Use Your Illusion albums are very average. And those two are the last two before Chinese Democracy.
And Lies isn't really a proper album. It was released as stop gap ep between Appetite and UYI
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
03.02.2009 - 12:37
Kanto
Paradise city is my favorite GNR song, and this album is really good, probably the best album of Slash&Axl Co.
----
...Dude.
Loading...
04.02.2009 - 00:46
IronBlackZepp
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.02.2009 at 12:28

Written by IronBlackZepp on 03.02.2009 at 04:47

The only really great GNR album, Lies and the use your illusion albums are very average, and the last 2 sucked. Chinese Democracy is horrable.


You have to help me out here. What last two sucked? You just said the Use Your Illusion albums are very average. And those two are the last two before Chinese Democracy.
And Lies isn't really a proper album. It was released as stop gap ep between Appetite and UYI


Oh, by the last two I mean The Spaghetti Incident, which was an album with all cover tunes released in 1993, and Chinese Democracy.
Loading...
22.05.2009 - 19:20
Andresopeth
A great album, one of my favorites of all times for sure, Rocket Queen is an amazing song so it is My Michelle, i love this album, Guns N' Roses marked an era with this one!
Loading...
27.08.2009 - 18:22
Panterica
Classic, not perfect but it has some of the greatest riffs in rock's history.
----
Li'ed - Prog-Metal from Jerusalem
https://www.facebook.com/LiedBandMusic
http://lied-band.bandcamp.com/
Loading...
27.11.2009 - 20:50
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by BloodTears on 02.11.2007 at 22:43

Its great. Guns were great.

they were
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
12.09.2010 - 14:57
Reza
Account deleted
It's a memorable album to me.
Loading...
12.09.2010 - 15:18
Angelic Storm
Melodious
This was the first album I ever bought, and I still love it today. Classic album.
Loading...
13.03.2011 - 12:26
AnGina--
Dark Phoenix
Gotta say it one more time, even though I praise GnR & Appetite all over that THIS is THE ALBUM. This is the album that created my music style, this is the album that got me into rock, this is an album that it's a must have for me, I can never get tired of it, it has no fillers and from Welcome To The Jungle to Rocket Queen it just flows. It got it's 9.5 fair and square, classic albums that I actually can't imagine my life without.
----
Loading...
21.04.2012 - 07:17
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Rolling like a freight train... Flying like an aeroplane one more time.

*sticks arms out like an airplane*
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
24.01.2013 - 06:12
Lit.
Account deleted
Written by Panterica on 27.08.2009 at 18:22

Classic, not perfect but it has some of the greatest riffs in rock's history.

Not to mention the greatest solos. The last one in Jungle reminds me of a man slowly going crazy until he finally snaps. And don't even me started on that one from Rocket Queen...
Loading...
26.07.2015 - 16:30
Bad English
Masterchief
I never understand why people worship this album, it would be a kick ass for other band, no doubt but after YYI I and II epic masterpiece mixing various styles, songs heavier, ballads, simply this cant be so close, even its good album as hard rock, a lot of powerful songs, whole disc is powerful, but it don't goes so high as illusions. Same time I will be so happy if some band would be even so close , as rock, hard rock good album, but for Guns its only Illusion what matters... probably farther and Marcel will say how stupid I am but who cares.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 5374 | This month: 8