Rating:
9.4
Novembre - The Blue
5 November 2007


01. Anaemia
02. Triesteitaliana
03. Cobalt Of March
04. Bluecracy
05. Architheme
06. Nascence
07. Iridescence
08. Sound Odyssey
09. Cantus Christi
10. Zenith
11. Argentic
12. Deorbit


There is nothing like finding a great band that you had totally ignored before. Novembre is one of those combos with little exposure to a large audience but who would deserve to be playing center stage at any Metal festival. Mixing very progressive elements with a softer blend of doom a la Anathema, the band from Rome has big things to offer. Anchored by two brothers, Novembre is no newcomer as The Blue is already album number 7, and what an album it is!

Continuing the trendy progression showcased on their previous album, 2006's Materia, Novembre once again pulled together a killer album. Long-time members Carmelo Orlando [guitars, vocals], Giuseppe Orlando [drums] and Massimiliano Pagliuso [guitars] have such chemistry. And with the addition of Luca Giovagnoli as a full-time bassist, the band is stronger than ever.

The exceptional song-writing that made Materia a standout album is also the main drive behind The Blue. Blending aggressive rhythm and growls with ever-present catchy melodies and breath-taking clean vocals, the musicians are at the top of their game. The mixed vocal styles of Carmelo, ranging from growls to pure clean voice, are an integral part of the band trademark style.

So many labels have been used for their music - from melodic doom to progressive gothic - that I have given up on categorizing their sound. Once again, diversity is the key word for the Italian combo. Each song is memorable, melancholic but catchy, often fast but melodic. As the album unfolds, one can only enjoy the work. There is something indefinable about Novembre's music, a hidden charm that captures listeners.

Brandished as Opeth copycats in their early years, the guys from Rome took their own musical path a long time ago, and it's about time for those guys to get the praise and support they have deserved for the last 13 years. The Blue is a really strong album and it will remain amongst 2007's best releases for sure. Widen your musical horizons with this album, it is really worth it.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Novembre
Album: The Blue


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 12.10.2007



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 173  
Search this topic:  


MetalManic_Joel - 12.10.2007 at 06:59  
Finally, some much deserved appreciation for an amazing band and fabulous album! This is definatly a top for 2007.
dismaleuphony - 12.10.2007 at 07:20  
I never could get into "Materia," but wow this new album is so much better. The vocals have much more diversity and the music's got an all around darker feel in my opinion. A great disc that deserves such a high rating!
atrox - 12.10.2007 at 11:39  
The album is really good. Actually it sounds a lot like Nahemah
Merchant of Doom - 12.10.2007 at 12:26  
I don't think Novembre have had little exposure. They are massive in many countries (as massive you can be playing this type of metal). The album is another masterpiece, but the vocals are more 'screamed' in the death style than growled. Clean vocals are fab. There are some weaker tracks (the album is very long), but overall the quality is very consistent. Recommended.
DragonSlayer - 12.10.2007 at 13:38  
One of the best albums to come out this year. Top notch performance from all of the band members. They equal Opeth in terms of songwriting and surpass them in originality, although the growls and the clean voice don't quite reach Åkerfeldt status (lets face it - he's the master )

Top 5 this year.
MUSIC? - 13.10.2007 at 08:39  
Whoa, I had no idea they released a new album. And a good review! I'll have to find this. I loved material.
Ivor - 14.10.2007 at 23:24  
Listening to it right now for the first time. Excellent! I love what I hear. I discovered Novembre over a year ago, although I'm not entirely sure it was "Materia" that caught my attention back then. Anyways, this new album is definitely a surprise, for I too wasn't expecting it. So far it's good, subsequent listenings will tell how it will stand the test of time.

I.
Frons - 20.10.2007 at 22:06  
Yeah I agree with the review. I'd like to quote that in the first years of existence they were seen as Opeth-sound's followers, but in reality their first album 'Wish I Could Dream It Again' (1994) was released before 'Orchid' by Opeth...
Collin - 25.10.2007 at 18:04  
Somehow I can't get into Novembre. I can't really get into their old albums, I still can't get into Materia, and I currently cannot get into The Blue. I recognize that there must be something big in this music, I recognize that in theory this is great, and I find the vocal harmonies amazing. But that's it. It just doesn't grab my attention. That's weird. I don't know why...
gid - 15.02.2008 at 22:24  
Everytime I listen to this album I find another reason to fall in love with it again. It reminds me of everything that's great about Novembre: the new-wave inspirations from Materia, the melodic passages from Novembrine Walz, the harshness from Classica and the progressive variations in Arte Novecento. In fact, I like it so much that part of me wants to keep myself from listening to it too much, in case I grow used to it and get bored.
Piro - 08.03.2008 at 04:45  
I agree, many people do not even recognize the bands existence, yet the music is so good that it is a mortal sin to not listen to it lol.
BestMetalstormer - 08.03.2008 at 08:29  
Does anyone think there's psychedelic element in this album. I asked in Novembre thread, but none of answer...
Lone Reaper - 15.04.2008 at 23:25  
Much better than "Materia" but 9.4 is too much for this %)
Maximal rating is 8.5...
REGRET. - 26.09.2008 at 14:12  
Eternal Music , Nice

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Echoes Of Eternity - The Forgotten Goddess 6 23.07.2007 by Lupas
Reviews Scarpoint - The Silence We Deserve 6 13.11.2007 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Redemption - The Origins Of Ruin 6 08.03.2008 by GT
Reviews Iced Earth - Night Of The Stormrider 6 10.05.2010 by thewall30
Reviews Virgin Steele - Visions Of Eden - The Lilith Project - A Barbaric Romantic Movie Of The Mind 6 20.12.2006 by Lokomotiv



Hits total: 10249 | This month: 55