Rating:
N/A
Demon Hunter - Storm The Gates Of Hell
6 November 2007


01. Storm The Gates Of Hell
02. Lead Us Home
03. Sixteen
04. Fading Away
05. Carry Me Down
06. A Thread Of Light
07. I Am You
08. Incision
09. Thorns
10. Follow The Wolves
11. Fiction Kingdom
12. The Wrath Of God
13. No Reason To Exist [bonus]
14. Grand Finale [bonus]


So yeah, Demon Hunter is a Christian metalcore band. Blah blah, whoopteedo, etc. This misguided choice of allegiance doesn't prevent them from seriously rocking on this release (for the most part anyway). Storm The Gates Of Hell is an immense improvement over the band's previous album and generally a powerful set of songs offering the unlikely proof that metalcore can be interesting and inspired.

Immediately after popping this disc into the player it become apparent that Demon Hunter has dropped the dominant expected sound that metalcore bands cater to these days. Instead of the clinical approach that fans of Killswitch Engage, Chimaira or Trivium will be familiar with, the Seattle natives opt for a raw, hardcore influenced sound that excels in immediacy and harshness. The casual listener would be forgiven for confusing the title track with Pro-Pain, for example. The other extreme songs on this album ("Lead Us Home", "I Am You") provoke similar comparisons, with influences from crossover thrash being very audible. The rawer approach also makes the obligatory post-grunge passages on Storm The Gates Of Hell more tolerable. In fact, I would say that unlike the emo-driven alt-metal that a lot of metalcore bands commit to tape, Demon Hunter actually nails the proper post-grunge sound fairly well ("Carry Me Down", many others), making the experience a lot more pleasant (who am I kidding? The way it's usually done is totally unlistenable!) for people who can't stand the current direction prevalent in mainstream contemporary metal.

Now let me bitch a little bit. This is still metalcore, with all of its shortcomings. It is almost redundant now to mention that the songwriting is somewhat formulaic and that the soft-hard dynamic essentially makes it hard for either end of the spectrum to be particularly impressive. So yes, if you don't dig this style in the first place, Demon Hunter will not change your mind in the least. On the other hand, you cant exactly hold it against a band for not being Slayer, can you?

All in all, Demon Hunter's Storm The Gates Of Hell is that rare and surprising example of quite decent metalcore. Not recommended for people who puke at the mention of this style but otherwise not a bad record.


Band profile: Demon Hunter
Album: Storm The Gates Of Hell


 



Written on 02.11.2007 by
jupitreas
With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. Privately not actually an asshole, he lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he runs his small graphic and web design business.
More reviews by jupitreas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 102  
Search this topic:  


Queen Of Hippies - 03.11.2007 at 02:11  
Interesting. I had a friend that used to listen to Demon Hunter, it was indeed better than the other bands I heard. But it's still Metalcore. I remember I liked the clean vocals on some songs... Your review might have reminded me of those years, but I don't think I can be bothered cheking this out now, just like I wasn't to do so when their first album was released.
+{Jonas}+ - 03.11.2007 at 03:31  
Written by Guest on 03.11.2007 at 02:11

Interesting. I had a friend that used to listen to Demon Hunter, it was indeed better than the other bands I heard. But it's still Metalcore.


Well your highness, i must disagree with you. I enjoy some metalcore and *gets ready to recevie a punch* I love Trivium. (I still don't understand why people hates them so much) I know, some Metalcore can be more like emo whiny crap, but anyway.

Since I heard of this band for the 1st time I wanted to check it out, actually I thought, and still do, that the name is kinda epic, reminds me of Warcraft but I was focused in other stuff at the time. This review certinly makes me want to check it out...
Dane Train - 03.11.2007 at 06:44  
Demon Hunter is one of my all time favorite bands. I have heard the four songs from this album that they put on their MySpace page. I love their first three albums, and from what I understand this one is even better. The music might be a little repedative at times, but that is fine with me. And lyrically, their one of the strongest, deepest Christian bands out there. I ordered the uber box set of this album and can't wait to hear it all.
Locke - 08.11.2007 at 11:48  
Atheist who loves Demon Hunter here. Is that weird?
Dane Train - 09.11.2007 at 20:06  
Written by Locke on 08.11.2007 at 11:48

Atheist who loves Demon Hunter here. Is that weird?

Not at all. They write good music.
constantine - 27.11.2007 at 02:51  
man dane train i AGREE wid you all the way i mean i like metal core i went an seen trivium live Best ever. i just got Demon hunters new album and rekon its great. Hail to Demon Hunter and Metal core.
im also into death metal and i have to say demon hunter is my preferred to band:)
Panterica - 21.08.2009 at 19:42  
For a metalcore it's not bad at all, I still prefer other metalcore bands like Trivium and stuff but this album is pretty dicent. I would give it 7-7.5.
StarBarer - 25.02.2010 at 15:55  
Written by Locke on 08.11.2007 at 11:48

Atheist who loves Demon Hunter here. Is that weird?


I am Atheist also, and i have been a fan of them for years
BoxCar Willy - 10.08.2010 at 17:04  
Great album! i love thorns and storm the gates of hell. this is a pretty underground band which i love, but get this i found a demon hunter tee at *gets readsy to recieve a punch * Hot Topic...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Demon Hunter - The Triptych 9 23.06.2008 by Dane Train
Reviews Neurosis - The Eye Of Every Storm 6 19.06.2009 by baldur
Reviews Zero Down - Good Times At The Gates Of Hell 5.5 10.07.2008 by Collin
Reviews Trivium - The Crusade 4.5 11.12.2006 by Talvi
Articles Metal Storm Prepares For The Barge To Hell 4.5 16.06.2012 by Brodd



Hits total: 7228 | This month: 31