Rating:
8.0
Colosseum - Chapter 1: Delirium
19 November 2007


01. The Gate Of Adar
02. Corridors Of Desolation
03. Weathered
04. Saturnine Vastness
05. Aesthetics Of The Grotesque
06. Delirium


Colosseum is the new Funeral Doom project of Juhani Palomäki, the famous band member of the cult but unfortunately not so well-know, Yearning. Even if Yearning is a band which produces dark music, I can tell you that the fans of the combo will be a bit disoriented by this new production. That's simple, "Chapter I: Delirium" is a real album of dark and slow Doom Metal, it's not so easy to enter in this kind of music but if you like to listen to it I'm sure that "Chapter I: Delirium" will be for you.

"Chapter I: Delirium" is slowww…. Damn this is not something "excited" but it doesn't mean that it's bad, at the opposite this kind of albums and releases are in general really deep and extremely intelligent and the first album of Colosseum doesn't break this rule. I'm sure that some people (even the fans of Yearning) will not enter easily into the music of Collosseum but if you take your time and like really dark and disturbing ambiances, I can tell you that you'll like a lot "Chapter I: Delirium". Big heavy slow riffs and really cold and slow beats in addition of funeral Death vocals (which are really well done and really melodic, like with Yearning) compose this album. I really like the ambiances of the releases which are cold like dirty iron and which all give a really disturbing feeling. But Juhani Palomäki is a great compositor and this album is full of great songs. It's not dark to be dark and not cold to be cold, this is just a matter of ambiance and since that all the songs are really well composed with some great melodies, the music of this album is in the end really beautiful.

The production of the album is good even if the artwork (which finally fits to the spirit of the band) is really simple. This album is long and all the songs have a length of ten minutes in general. Since that the performance of the members is really good too, I have nothing to say against this release, it's just some top-notch Doom Metal and I think that the fans will agree with me. Though evidently this is an album which is really hard of access and I doubt that the ones who don't know or like this kind of music will fall in love with it through this release. It's great but for fans only unfortunately.

We know that Juhani Palomäki is a great compositor and his performance with his new band Colosseum just confirms it. I really recommend you to check this first album (and don't forget Yearning if you don't know them yet) if you use to listen to Funeral Doom. "Chapter I: Delirium" is a classy Doom Metal release, don't miss it if you pretend to like and listen to such kind of music.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Colosseum
Album: Chapter 1: Delirium


 


written by Jeff | 05.12.2007



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 104  
Search this topic:  


Götter - 06.12.2007 at 08:39  
This album is excellent, 8.0 is far too low. The melodies of the third and the sixth song you will never forget, and the entire thing is epic as fuck. Think earlier Shape Of Despair meeting Comatose Vigil and you've got the picture.

Shares the first spot with Worship for "album of the year".
BestMetalstormer - 06.12.2007 at 17:25  
They are funeral doom which Im not much knownledgable, but to express about their demo, very beautiful with slow and catchy guitar melody, and even keyboard (if Im correct).
Thryce - 06.12.2007 at 19:28  
I agree with Collin here, it's an excellent album!!
You're indeed not that generous with the rating, but then again, it's indeed more the content of the review that counts. And it's a nice one btw Jeff
annodomini - 07.12.2007 at 21:32  
IMO this album is this years Doom:Vs. Really melodical and beutifull funeral black metal. One of the best doom this year
ylside - 07.12.2007 at 21:57  
Heard one track. Indeed it is good.
Collin - 07.12.2007 at 23:45  
Written by Thryce on 06.12.2007 at 19:28

I agree with Collin here, it's an excellent album!!


It's working! It's finally working!! All these years of intense research and hard work have finally paid off! No need to post things anymore, now I can communicate via telepathy
the stranger - 08.12.2007 at 02:06  
Yearning cult? Maybe because I live in the other side of the world I didn't know that. I'll try to get my hands on these one, sounds pretty interesting.
Thryce - 08.12.2007 at 12:33  
Written by Collin on 07.12.2007 at 23:45

Written by Thryce on 06.12.2007 at 19:28

I agree with Collin here, it's an excellent album!!


It's working! It's finally working!! All these years of intense research and hard work have finally paid off! No need to post things anymore, now I can communicate via telepathy

Wow. After all these years of intense research and hard work, someone for once finally agrees with this guy and he immediately believes he has super powers

Just in case you didn't catch my last thoughts, still loving you my Lyon's friend
DarkTamer - 13.12.2007 at 23:47  
For some while, since i saw them live im going sleep with them and waking up with colosseum. Realy heavy sounding deep growls, they make it so much better doom and with those slow guitar parts and keyboards = fucking great!
BestMetalstormer - 13.06.2008 at 18:33  
The song is Corridor of Desolation is very very good song with best beautiful riff ever. IMO the only thing that makes the album rate lower is that the production. The vocal recoding is not so good, and a bit of unclear. Otherwise, it could be a flawless work for the whole album.
Luneth - 05.05.2011 at 01:49  
Far better than an '8'. High 8-low 9 quality here. This is the most melodic extreme doom I've ever heard, it almost sounds 'epic' in nature (some themes are lovecraft inspired no?).
Tetravirulence - 27.05.2011 at 23:15  
The name really justifies their sound. EPIC.
-DC-002- - 17.09.2012 at 22:43  
This might be their favorite of mine. much more grey and blue while the other two are a LOT more majestic. Numquam and Parasomnia are goood but I will not deny they get a little boring on more spots than Delirium does. When Delirium meanders in its doom bridges its just a bit more fresh and inspired.
Carl Berg - 14.10.2012 at 19:26  
Saturnine Vastness is one of the most beautiful songs I have ever heard.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Interviews Colosseum - Chapter 1: Delirium (Song by Song) 6 22.09.2008 by BestMetalstormer
Albums Colosseum - Chapter 1: Delirium 6 25.03.2014 by
Reviews Colosseum - Chapter 2: Numquam 5.5 12.01.2009 by BitterCOld
Reviews Harmony - Chapter II: Aftermath 4.5 25.10.2008 by Eddie
Albums Colosseum - Chapter 2: Numquam 4.5 06.03.2012 by serega25



Hits total: 5543 | This month: 26