Benighted - Icon review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.4

150 users:
8.51
Band: Benighted
Album: Icon
Release date: October 2007


01. Complete Exsanguination
02. Slut
03. Grind Wit
04. Saw It All
05. Forsaken
06. Smile Then Bleed
07. Pledge Of Retaliation
08. Icon
09. Human Circles [feat. Karsten "Jagger" Jäger]
10. Invoxhate
11. The Underneath
12. Blindfolded Centuries


Benighted have magnificently developed over the last few years and have carved a niche of ultra brutal death metal mixed with solid slabs of groove and a tang of grindcore. Indeed when "Insane Cephalic Production" started to raise eyebrows, no one could have expected to have had them slapped off their faces with such extremity as "Identisick" provided and now just one year later the ambitious "Icon" does not see these French maniacs let up one bit.

Given the reputation of concept albums in extreme metal grounds, "Icon", standing for "Infinite Conscience Of Nothingness" is a courageous story of an individual's slippery slope into torment and madness, each song on the album as a flashback to a point in the character's life.

Being as brutal as musically possible is the theory behind Benighted's madness. Not only are Benighted one of the most brutal and complete death metal bands around today, but also they have a unique quality of making this soundtrack to armageddon catchy and very memorable. Oodles of groove finds its way into the chaos, as does flashes of melody and unrelenting passages of violent grindcore. "Icon" is a blastbeating and double bass clinic with super heavy guitars over the top of it all. Benighted would not be Benighted without the psychiatric hospital working schizophrenic vocal talents of Julien Truchan; one minute an enraged farmyard animal and the next a psychopathic murderer. A clean production accentuates the brutality of all the album's components in a marvellous way.

From the first moment "Icon" will press you back into your seat and from "Slut" to "Grind Wit" to "Saw It All" the album picks up intensity and does not yield until the bloody end. Song structures are not straightforward or predictable; the brutality is ever changing and keeping you guessing with a colossal punch around every corner. Originality and a slight quirk does not escape the album with a short passage of funky French rapping included to remind the listener they cannot predict what this pandemonium has next in store.

"Icon" contains one of the most extreme experiences of the year; intensity is not substituted for catchiness or a touch of melody while still including all of these. If you prefer your death metal the more brutal the better, then Benighted will be right up your darkened, mentally unstable alley. Pull out your straight jackets and brace yourself for an utterly crazy ride.


 



Written on 06.01.2008 by Member of Staff since 2006.


Comments

Comments: 14   Visited by: 260 users
06.01.2008 - 05:34
__Az__
Good review Baz, definately one of the better albums to come out of the year.

In my opinion, Benighted's best album to date, hopefully they'll continue to release albums of such a high standard.
Loading...
06.01.2008 - 12:49
Der Meister
Account deleted
Quite possibly the greatest grindcore/death metal album ever!
Loading...
06.01.2008 - 20:08
UnholyMenace
Psycho
Loved it from the moment I first listened to it.
Loading...
06.01.2008 - 22:01
Infidel
Child of Hell
Written by UnholyMenace on 06.01.2008 at 20:08

Loved it from the moment I first listened to it.

I have to agree...it was totally spectacular when I was listening for the first time.
Loading...
07.01.2008 - 02:02
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Good review fellow metal_community member. You should post your reviews on there too, sure they'd be appreciated.
Loading...
11.01.2008 - 03:59
jupitreas
hi-fi / lo-life
That French rap tidbit in Grind Wit is by far the best moment on this album
This is a great death metal / grindcore album overall but I wasnt as impressed by it as so many people seem to be. They are also not as brutal as people say they are, their value lies more in the original ideas they occasionally include in the music, such as the afore-mentioned rap thing and some intelligent quotations from past great bands.
Loading...
11.01.2008 - 04:00
Dangerboner
:D
Written by jupitreas on 11.01.2008 at 03:59

That French rap tidbit in Grind Wit is by far the best moment on this album
This is a great death metal / grindcore album overall but I wasnt as impressed by it as so many people seem to be. They are also not as brutal as people say they are, their value lies more in the original ideas they occasionally include in the music, such as the afore-mentioned rap thing and some intelligent quotations from past great bands.


I found Identisick to be a more brutal album. If you haven't heard that one, you might want to check it out. No rap on it though
Loading...
11.01.2008 - 18:55
Infidel
Child of Hell
Written by Dangerboner on 11.01.2008 at 04:00

Written by jupitreas on 11.01.2008 at 03:59

That French rap tidbit in Grind Wit is by far the best moment on this album
This is a great death metal / grindcore album overall but I wasnt as impressed by it as so many people seem to be. They are also not as brutal as people say they are, their value lies more in the original ideas they occasionally include in the music, such as the afore-mentioned rap thing and some intelligent quotations from past great bands.


I found Identisick to be a more brutal album. If you haven't heard that one, you might want to check it out. No rap on it though


yeah...Identisick is their best album anyway...the first song Nemesis is original and catchy !
Loading...
28.03.2009 - 23:08
Kasper
I love this album. Normally I'm not really into the whole "scream"-vocals, but in the one it's really no problem, fits the music great. I headbanged right from the start until the end, even at the rap-bit - which was quite cool ^^
----
"An open mind is like a fortress with it's gates unbarred and unguarded"
Loading...
01.05.2009 - 12:52
AyΣm
Squirr-Hell
Their best album IMO, it was fantastic to see grind wit live!!!
Loading...
29.06.2009 - 21:37
Maxx666
Meshuggahian
Although i love this album but i still think identisick is their most brutal output to date
Loading...
05.04.2010 - 20:27
Visioneerie
Urban Monster
Good review, couldn't have described the album better myself. Easily one of my favorite death metal albums. I can't wait for what's next.
----
Any man can stand adversity, but to test his character give him power - A. Lincoln
Loading...
30.07.2011 - 02:47
Heka69
Their best album, and possibly the best ultra-brutal album that has ever been made or shall be made. Pure geniuses, nothing to add.
Loading...
30.07.2011 - 03:37
RavenKing
Written by jupitreas on 11.01.2008 at 03:59

They are also not as brutal as people say they are


Agreed. I listened to a few songs and, since people described it as "ultra-Brutal", I must say I expected something faster and more blasting in general (there are very fast parts but many mid-tempo ones too).
For example, early Anaal Nathrakh is much more brutal than this.

And god I hate those "flushed toilet" vocals. I mean, I love the kind of very low-pitched vocals you can hear in Bolt Thrower but this is utter crap.
But I admit I'm no Brutal Death fan at all. I like some old school Death Metal and melodeath but not 'modern' Death Metal.
----
They shake your hand and they smile and they buy you a drink
They say we'll be your friends we'll stick with you till the end
But everybody's only looking out for themselves
And you say who can you trust I'll tell you nobody
Loading...

Hits total: 9084 | This month: 38