Bandcamp music player

Rating:
9.4
Benighted - Icon
26 October 2007


01. Complete Exsanguination
02. Slut
03. Grind Wit
04. Saw It All
05. Forsaken
06. Smile Then Bleed
07. Pledge Of Retaliation
08. Icon
09. Human Circles [feat. Karsten "Jagger" Jäger]
10. Invoxhate
11. The Underneath
12. Blindfolded Centuries


Benighted have magnificently developed over the last few years and have carved a niche of ultra brutal death metal mixed with solid slabs of groove and a tang of grindcore. Indeed when "Insane Cephalic Production" started to raise eyebrows, no one could have expected to have had them slapped off their faces with such extremity as "Identisick" provided and now just one year later the ambitious "Icon" does not see these French maniacs let up one bit.

Given the reputation of concept albums in extreme metal grounds, "Icon", standing for "Infinite Conscience Of Nothingness" is a courageous story of an individual's slippery slope into torment and madness, each song on the album as a flashback to a point in the character's life.

Being as brutal as musically possible is the theory behind Benighted's madness. Not only are Benighted one of the most brutal and complete death metal bands around today, but also they have a unique quality of making this soundtrack to armageddon catchy and very memorable. Oodles of groove finds its way into the chaos, as does flashes of melody and unrelenting passages of violent grindcore. "Icon" is a blastbeating and double bass clinic with super heavy guitars over the top of it all. Benighted would not be Benighted without the psychiatric hospital working schizophrenic vocal talents of Julien Truchan; one minute an enraged farmyard animal and the next a psychopathic murderer. A clean production accentuates the brutality of all the album's components in a marvellous way.

From the first moment "Icon" will press you back into your seat and from "Slut" to "Grind Wit" to "Saw It All" the album picks up intensity and does not yield until the bloody end. Song structures are not straightforward or predictable; the brutality is ever changing and keeping you guessing with a colossal punch around every corner. Originality and a slight quirk does not escape the album with a short passage of funky French rapping included to remind the listener they cannot predict what this pandemonium has next in store.

"Icon" contains one of the most extreme experiences of the year; intensity is not substituted for catchiness or a touch of melody while still including all of these. If you prefer your death metal the more brutal the better, then Benighted will be right up your darkened, mentally unstable alley. Pull out your straight jackets and brace yourself for an utterly crazy ride.


Band profile: Benighted
Album: Icon


 



Written on 06.01.2008 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 252  
Search this topic:  


__Az__ - 06.01.2008 at 05:34  
Good review Baz, definately one of the better albums to come out of the year.

In my opinion, Benighted's best album to date, hopefully they'll continue to release albums of such a high standard.
Der Meister - 06.01.2008 at 12:49  
Quite possibly the greatest grindcore/death metal album ever!
UnholyMenace - 06.01.2008 at 20:08  
Loved it from the moment I first listened to it.
Infidel - 06.01.2008 at 22:01  
Written by UnholyMenace on 06.01.2008 at 20:08

Loved it from the moment I first listened to it.

I have to agree...it was totally spectacular when I was listening for the first time.
!J.O.O.E.! - 07.01.2008 at 02:02  
Good review fellow metal_community member. You should post your reviews on there too, sure they'd be appreciated.
jupitreas - 11.01.2008 at 03:59  
That French rap tidbit in Grind Wit is by far the best moment on this album
This is a great death metal / grindcore album overall but I wasnt as impressed by it as so many people seem to be. They are also not as brutal as people say they are, their value lies more in the original ideas they occasionally include in the music, such as the afore-mentioned rap thing and some intelligent quotations from past great bands.
Dangerboner - 11.01.2008 at 04:00  
Written by jupitreas on 11.01.2008 at 03:59

That French rap tidbit in Grind Wit is by far the best moment on this album
This is a great death metal / grindcore album overall but I wasnt as impressed by it as so many people seem to be. They are also not as brutal as people say they are, their value lies more in the original ideas they occasionally include in the music, such as the afore-mentioned rap thing and some intelligent quotations from past great bands.


I found Identisick to be a more brutal album. If you haven't heard that one, you might want to check it out. No rap on it though
Infidel - 11.01.2008 at 18:55  
Written by Dangerboner on 11.01.2008 at 04:00

Written by jupitreas on 11.01.2008 at 03:59

That French rap tidbit in Grind Wit is by far the best moment on this album
This is a great death metal / grindcore album overall but I wasnt as impressed by it as so many people seem to be. They are also not as brutal as people say they are, their value lies more in the original ideas they occasionally include in the music, such as the afore-mentioned rap thing and some intelligent quotations from past great bands.


I found Identisick to be a more brutal album. If you haven't heard that one, you might want to check it out. No rap on it though


yeah...Identisick is their best album anyway...the first song Nemesis is original and catchy !
Kasper - 28.03.2009 at 23:08  
I love this album. Normally I'm not really into the whole "scream"-vocals, but in the one it's really no problem, fits the music great. I headbanged right from the start until the end, even at the rap-bit - which was quite cool ^^
AyΣm - 01.05.2009 at 12:52  
Their best album IMO, it was fantastic to see grind wit live!!!
Maxx666 - 29.06.2009 at 21:37  
Although i love this album but i still think identisick is their most brutal output to date
Visioneerie - 05.04.2010 at 20:27  
Good review, couldn't have described the album better myself. Easily one of my favorite death metal albums. I can't wait for what's next.
Heka69 - 30.07.2011 at 02:47  
Their best album, and possibly the best ultra-brutal album that has ever been made or shall be made. Pure geniuses, nothing to add.
RavenKing - 30.07.2011 at 03:37  
Written by jupitreas on 11.01.2008 at 03:59

They are also not as brutal as people say they are


Agreed. I listened to a few songs and, since people described it as "ultra-Brutal", I must say I expected something faster and more blasting in general (there are very fast parts but many mid-tempo ones too).
For example, early Anaal Nathrakh is much more brutal than this.

And god I hate those "flushed toilet" vocals. I mean, I love the kind of very low-pitched vocals you can hear in Bolt Thrower but this is utter crap.
But I admit I'm no Brutal Death fan at all. I like some old school Death Metal and melodeath but not 'modern' Death Metal.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Benighted - Asylum Cave 7.5 20.03.2011 by Mikyz
Reviews Hammerfall - No Sacrifice, No Victory 4.5 20.02.2009 by annodomini
Reviews Sonic Syndicate - Rebellion 4.5 06.11.2009 by FeskarN
Reviews Axxis - Utopia 4.5 06.09.2009 by Baz Anderson
Reviews Testament - The Formation Of Damnation 4.5 22.04.2008 by Clintagram



Hits total: 8107 | This month: 44