Rating:
10
Pagan's Mind - Celestial Entrance
18 November 2002


01. Approaching
02. Through Osiris' Eyes
03. Entrance: Stargate
04. ... Of Epic Questions
05. Dimensions Of Fire
06. Dreamscape Lucidity
07. The Seven Sacred Promises
08. Back To The Magic Of Childhood Part I - Conception
09. Back To The Magic Of Childhood Part II - Exploring Life
10. In Brilliant White Light
11. Aegean Shores
12. The Prophecy Of Pleiades


Pagan's Mind has to be one of the great mysteries of progressive metal. First of all I'm absolutely blown away by this cd which ranks right up there with the best of the Dream Theater and Symphony X stuff. What I can't comprehend is how this band managed to put out the 2 cds that followed this one because they SUCK. How do you produce a masterpiece like Celestial Entrance and then come up with Enigmatic Calling and God's Equation? Enigmatic Calling was nothing short of disappointing following Celestial Entrance, and retained virtually none of the raw, right up in your grill riffs which dominate Celestial Entrance throughout. God's Equation is basically the band selling out to the masses by producing a cd catering to talentless teen angst emo rejects who infest society with their single-minded 2 chord whiny "songs" which will be totally forgotten in less than a year.

Celestial Entrance is obvious proof that this band CAN or at least could jam with the best of the best. It's a real shame you'll never see another offering from these guys which is equal. One final point I'd like to add is that the very last track is a complete and total Dream Theater ripoff. Tell me that doesn't sound exactly like Learning To Live right down the position of the lyrics! Regardless, incredible cd and a must have for any progressive metal fan.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 10


Band profile: Pagan's Mind
Album: Celestial Entrance


 


written by ponderer | 19.02.2008


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 157  
Search this topic:  


ozzysong - 20.02.2008 at 02:07  
Awesome album indeed
Introspekrieg - 20.02.2008 at 11:14  
Okay, first off I love this album- I remember downloading "Through Osiris' Eyes" and "Dreamscape Lucidity" and being excited by music in a way that I hadn't been in a long time (I was even more overjoyed when I found a used copy at the cd store!) I think the band's recent decline has something to do with guitarist Thorstein Aaby's departure after Celestial Entrance, and with his recent death it is fairly clear that Pagan's Mind will never return to the level of playing displayed on this album.
One minor question: I don't understand why you said the last song is a Dream Theater rip-off and still gave them a 10 for originality?
ponderer - 06.03.2008 at 16:00  
The last song IS a Dream Theater ripoff, but the rest of the cd is brilliant. I can forgive one mistake
ponderer - 14.03.2008 at 21:46  
Did you read about the details of his death? Freaky. Having a "thing" growing on the inside of your skull is kinda out there man. Wow. It's a real shame because he had serious talent, and would have taken this band to a special place. Now we're left with 2 offerings and a lot of what could have beens. Celestial Entrance will always remain a serious offering.
zagibu - 05.04.2008 at 00:55  
Yeah, it's a great album, as are all of their first three. What I don't understand is why you throw Enigmatic: Calling into the same pot like God's Equation. For me, Celestial Entrance and Enigmatic: Calling are very alike, certainly more so than Enigmatic: Calling and God's Equation.
ponderer - 07.04.2008 at 18:46  
Because they sound like complete crap on Enigmatic Calling as well? They will never produce another offering like Celestial Entrance because that guitarist is dead and they are interested in selling cds now instead of producing epic prog metal. Same thing happened to Metallica after the death of Cliff.
Garth Vader - 13.09.2011 at 07:34  
Written by zagibu on 05.04.2008 at 00:55

Yeah, it's a great album, as are all of their first three. What I don't understand is why you throw Enigmatic: Calling into the same pot like God's Equation. For me, Celestial Entrance and Enigmatic: Calling are very alike, certainly more so than Enigmatic: Calling and God's Equation.


Agreed, Enigmatic Calling is an amazing album that actually gets more play than Celestial does and I LOVED that album. God's Equation took some time to grow but it is a masterpiece compared to some contemporary albums that are highly rated so saying that they "suck" is not only unprofessional but ignorable as the review was written by someone obviously having a seizure.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Pagan's Mind - Celestial Entrance 7.5 17.01.2010 by Kasper
Reviews Pagan's Mind - Enigmatic : Calling 5.5 02.12.2007 by Dark Cornatus
Reviews Pagan's Mind - God's Equation 5.5 02.12.2007 by Bararey
News Pagan's Mind - New Album Update 4.5 11.08.2007 by Sheol
News Pagan's Mind - New Album Update 4.5 10.02.2014 by thehondo



Hits total: 5728 | This month: 57