Rating:
9.4
Nagelfar - Srontgorrth
9 June 1999


Disc I
01. Kapitel Eins (Der Frühling) - Als Die Tore Sich Öffnen...
02. Kapitel Zwei (Der Sommer) - Die Existenz Jenseits Der Tore
03. Kapitel Drei (Der Herbst) - Endzeit
04. Kapitel Vier (Der Winter) - Trümmer
05. Kapitel Fünf - Willkommen Zu Haus...

Disc II [Reissued Bonus CD]
01. Kapitel Eins (Der Frühling) - Als Die Tore Sich Öffnen... [demo]
02. Kapitel Zwei (Der Sommer) - Die Existenz Jenseits Der Tore [demo]
03. Kapitel Drei (Der Herbst) - Endzeit [demo]
04. Fragmente Einer Chronik


One of my favourite and in my opinion, one of the most underrated albums of our time, is the grand opus "Srontgorrth", by the German Nagelfar. Perhaps it is due to the bankrupt label Kettenhund Records and its almost impossibility to find nowadays, that it is not constantly praised and hailed by the scene. For the music is truly awesome.

Zorn's guitarwork is absolutely amazing. His ecstatic, bloodrushing riffs are what most Viking metal bands lack: thrilling and exciting. The jaw-droppingly diverse vocals of Jander are warm one moment, and despairing the next, containing a bulk of emotion that neither Anathema nor Katatonia possess. Combined with my love for the german language, this creates some of my favourite vocal moments ever. The immortal screams in "Willkommen Zu Haus", anyone?

But there is more besides Black Metal. After the first and the second song, weird electronica rears its ugly head. Think Ulver's "Perdition City", but without Garm's warm vocals and a more apocalyptic feel to it. Some might hate it, others, such as me, love it.

Without a doubt this is the highlight of Nagelfar's career. The predecessor, "Hünengraben Im Herbst", showed the incredibly potential of the band but just didn't hit the right spot. And "Virus West", the only easily obtainable album of theirs nowadays, just doesn't have it with a different vocalist.

In the end, "Srontgorrth" proves to be a surprising and diverse album. There is a great deal of talent on this album, and eventhough this band ceased to exist, that talent lives on in other great projects (Von Meinenwald's "The Ruins Of Beverast"). While all these other projects are definitely worthwhile, we must not forget the first exposure of these talents.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Nagelfar
Album: Srontgorrth


 



Written on 07.02.2008 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 138  
Search this topic:  


Maxx666 - 22.02.2010 at 20:32  
Awesome album esp. track 2 and 5
Lokaeda - 13.04.2011 at 03:16  
Is it me or is track 3 a new version of track 6 from the previous album ?
Lucas - 13.04.2011 at 19:24  
Written by Lokaeda on 13.04.2011 at 03:16

Is it me or is track 3 a new version of track 6 from the previous album ?


What exactly do you mean? This was their second album, released in '99... ?
Lokaeda - 14.04.2011 at 00:20  
Written by Lucas on 13.04.2011 at 19:24

Written by Lokaeda on 13.04.2011 at 03:16

Is it me or is track 3 a new version of track 6 from the previous album ?


What exactly do you mean? This was their second album, released in '99... ?



listen to track 6 "Srontgorrth (Das Dritte Kapitel)" on Hünengrab Im Herbst, and then to the 3rd track of Srontgorrth. I've been listening to both on Youtube (I only own the 1st album) and they are pretty much the same
Lucas - 14.04.2011 at 01:15  
Written by Lokaeda on 14.04.2011 at 00:20

Written by Lucas on 13.04.2011 at 19:24

Written by Lokaeda on 13.04.2011 at 03:16

Is it me or is track 3 a new version of track 6 from the previous album ?


What exactly do you mean? This was their second album, released in '99... ?



listen to track 6 "Srontgorrth (Das Dritte Kapitel)" on Hünengrab Im Herbst, and then to the 3rd track of Srontgorrth. I've been listening to both on Youtube (I only own the 1st album) and they are pretty much the same


Ah yeah I remember such a thing, yes. Been a while since I've heard the first. Could very well be.
₣rost Giant - 05.11.2011 at 07:21  
Written by Lokaeda on 14.04.2011 at 00:20

Written by Lucas on 13.04.2011 at 19:24

Written by Lokaeda on 13.04.2011 at 03:16

Is it me or is track 3 a new version of track 6 from the previous album ?


What exactly do you mean? This was their second album, released in '99... ?



listen to track 6 "Srontgorrth (Das Dritte Kapitel)" on Hünengrab Im Herbst, and then to the 3rd track of Srontgorrth. I've been listening to both on Youtube (I only own the 1st album) and they are pretty much the same


Those songs are re-imagined versions of the original songs of Hunengrab. This is why the band doesn't really consider this to be the second album because its really a new spin on material already done. They consider Virus West to be their second album.
Baz Anderson - 23.12.2011 at 19:15  
This is a fantastic album... Do they have others of a similar level?
!J.O.O.E.! - 23.12.2011 at 22:29  
Written by Baz Anderson on 23.12.2011 at 19:15

This is a fantastic album... Do they have others of a similar level?

I personally think the album before this one, Hunengrab Im Herbst, trounces this album in quality. Much more melodic, progressive and memorable. One of the best albums of all time.
Lucas - 24.12.2011 at 16:20  
Written by Baz Anderson on 23.12.2011 at 19:15

This is a fantastic album... Do they have others of a similar level?


You should check out this album's predecessor, as Joe said. I personally don't consider it better, but it's definitely a great album. The third album, Virus West, is also a great album. Definitely not on par with this one, a little different too, but a great release nonetheless.
Promonex - 25.12.2011 at 06:02  
Written by Baz Anderson on 23.12.2011 at 19:15

This is a fantastic album... Do they have others of a similar level?

Track 3 of this album is actually track 6 of the predecessor, so yeah, Hünengrab im Herbst is definitely the foundation for this album. Which doesn't make Hünengrab as brilliant as everybody makes it out to be, in my humble opinion. I personally haven't come across anything like Srontgorrth so far. But you might want to check out Truppensturm, another German black metal band with Nagelfar's drummer Alexander von Meilenwald (who's also the guy behind The Ruins Of Beverast), even though it's a lot rawer.
Baz Anderson - 28.12.2011 at 01:05  
Ok, cool! Thanks guys, I'll have to try these out properly...
Oaken - 16.05.2012 at 02:12  
One of the catchiest black metal ever written. That riff in Kapitel I that gets repeated throughout the album is crushing.
Daniell - 16.05.2012 at 12:46  
The best black metal band to ever come out of Germany.
!J.O.O.E.! - 16.05.2012 at 15:02  
Written by Daniell on 16.05.2012 at 12:46

The best black metal band to ever come out of Germany.

Meilenwald surpassed this project with The Ruins of Beverast in my opinion but this probably comes in a close second for me (though Verdunkeln might even give that a run for its money)
Promonex - 16.05.2012 at 15:46  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 16.05.2012 at 15:02

Written by Daniell on 16.05.2012 at 12:46

The best black metal band to ever come out of Germany.

Meilenwald surpassed this project with The Ruins of Beverast in my opinion but this probably comes in a close second for me (though Verdunkeln might even give that a run for its money)

Mind continuing this discussion in the German black metal thread? I'd love to counter with some Nocte Obducta, but don't want to go too off-topic

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Nagelfar - Srontgorrth 4.5 06.10.2013 by LeKiwi
Reviews Dysperium - Dysperium 3.5 20.04.2010 by Maxx666
Reviews Trinacria - Travel Now Journey Infinitely 3 09.01.2009 by ArcesseEum
Reviews EgoNoir - A New Philosophical Thunder 3 22.06.2009 by Ag Fox
Reviews Skitliv - Kristiansen And Kvarforth Swim In The Sea Of Equilibrium While Waiting 3 07.09.2008 by Doc Godin



Hits total: 4863 | This month: 48