Rating:
N/A
Between The Buried And Me - Colors
18 September 2007


01. Foam Born (A) The Backtrack
02. (B) The Decade Of Statues
03. Informal Gluttony
04. Sun Of Nothing
05. Ants Of The Sky
06. Prequel To The Sequel
07. Viridian
08. White Walls


The past Between The Buried And Me albums saw the band slowly improving on their trademark style, honing their skills in small iterations and progressively becoming more interesting. Alaska, with its intelligent song writing and occasional bursts of genius, already seemed like it could be the pinnacle of the band's evolution; however, this is just because we haven't heard Colors at that point. It only takes the first two minutes of this album to completely shatter all expectations and leave the listener wide eyed and with a gaping chasm where their mouth used to be.

Much is being said about genre-hopping and hybrid styles in metal music these days; however, the genius of Colors is that it transcends genre classification and stands on its own. Pundits will of course pick out numerous influences (Emperor on "Foam Born: The Backtrack", The Beatles on "Sun Of Nothing", Pink Floyd on "Ants Of The Sky", Napalm Death on "Informal Gluttony" etc.) but the truth remains that these are all concise and deliberate musical pieces, rather than the haphazard blender many other bands churn out. It is through song writing that Colors shines so bright: there is no place for boredom throughout the 64 minute running time, even though it is essentially a suite with a narrative arc, rather than a collection of separate songs. Picking favourites is therefore a waste of time. Just know that you will experience unbridled brutality and tranquil beauty, and both will sound just as appropriate when you hear them. It is music with a sense of purpose and with unique character - traits that set Between The Buried And Me and Colors far ahead of any competition.

Colors is without a doubt one of the greatest achievements of 2007 and should therefore at least be heard by anyone interested in contemporary metal. It is also a beacon of hope for modern metal music, since it proves that there is place for innovation on the scene. Highly recommended.


Band profile: Between The Buried And Me
Album: Colors


 



Written on 17.04.2008 by
jupitreas
With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. Privately not actually an asshole, he lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he runs his small graphic and web design business.
More reviews by jupitreas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 29  
Users visited: 348  
Search this topic:  


Collin - 18.04.2008 at 11:14  
Perfect review for an almost perfect album. This was undoubtedly one of the best and most innovative albums of 2007, and one of these albums that definitely stand the test of time. I think I hadn't heard so much genius in the songwriting department for quite a long time. I especially liked how they included odd and rather unusual non metal elements (like that hoedown part on "Ants Of The Sky" - Cynic fans will love this track btw) and make them sound as if they were the only things that could fit in that very place.
I still listen to it on at least a weekly basis. It's on its way to become a cult album for me, it's that good
ylside - 18.04.2008 at 11:23  
Will defnitly check this album then.
MetalManic_Joel - 18.04.2008 at 14:29  
Spot on bro! I've been diggin this album for quite some time now.
destroyah - 18.04.2008 at 15:00  
Noted. Will also be checking this one out
Talvi - 18.04.2008 at 17:19  
One of the best 2007 albums for sure
Dane Train - 19.04.2008 at 00:24  
At last, someone reviewed this amazing album! Yes, this was not only one of the best Metalcore albums, or Progressive Metal albums, but hands down, one of the best Metal albums of 2007. There is a reason Mike Portnoy picked these guys to open up for Dream Theater.

Great review!
Dangerboner - 19.04.2008 at 01:11  
I think Alaska is much better. The production on this album is weird.
Shadowcross - 19.04.2008 at 20:07  
Good review.. in my top 10 of 2007 for certain. Alaska became boring for me after the first few European metal inspired tracks and the albums before were mainly a yawn. I couldn't get into their technical but messy deathcore sound, save a few notable songs. They've finally got their sound right and the themes are actually meaningful.
ylside - 19.04.2008 at 23:20  
Allright, heard it and disliked it...

Written by Collin on 18.04.2008 at 11:14

(like that hoedown part on "Ants Of The Sky" - Cynic fans will love this track btw)

... except this track which is indeed interesting.
Locke - 20.04.2008 at 06:41  
This album blew me away
I, The Quatropus - 20.06.2008 at 08:42  
Amazing album, hands down. I listen to it at least 6 times on a daily basis. Experimental at it's best. 10/10!
Candlemass - 20.06.2008 at 18:27  
Very ambitious but on all observations it is far from perfect, and eclectic metal is far from becoming new, it is what is modern metal.
Nice review, transcends? could be, it is not a perfect blend, even tho it has a constant musicial base to it
all, what is very important to this type of approach.
LethargyMan - 02.07.2008 at 02:43  
Thanks for reviewing this. I wasn't aware that BtBaM began making worthwhile albums.

Colors is actually quite good.
nana.MD - 01.12.2008 at 08:40  
...this album made me go see them live a couple of weeks ago actually...i heard them with dream theater before but didn't like them...a friend made me listen to this album and i liked them...but i still don't like most of their past albums though...
Elio - 19.05.2009 at 17:22  
Ehi, I like metalcore!
Fat & Sassy! - 22.06.2009 at 22:49  
These guys annoying me beyond belief. This album sure didn't change my mind. I can handle a little wankery and a little bit of core stuff... but not this. It's just too much.
Maxx666 - 29.06.2009 at 21:04  
Great fusion of metalcore and progressive elements.One of the best albums of 2007 for sure
MeloDeathViking - 02.07.2009 at 18:04  
I have to say, after a month or so of listening, I think that this album has some of the best transitions between songs of any album out there. The whole cd just flows.
davidharris - 28.07.2009 at 18:51  
A solid 10 for me
JÄY - 06.08.2009 at 23:59  
I don't see the mass appeal....

my attempt to categorize their sound: Progressive Death Metal
tea[m]ster - 07.08.2009 at 02:56  
I dunno...just something about his voice...and the machine gun drums..over and over and over...about 6 outta 10 for me
opeth771 - 09.06.2010 at 02:04  
Written by tea[m]ster on 07.08.2009 at 02:56

I dunno...just something about his voice...and the machine gun drums..over and over and over...about 6 outta 10 for me


You shouldn't listen to metalcore then
tea[m]ster - 10.06.2010 at 04:30  
Written by opeth771 on 09.06.2010 at 02:04

Written by tea[m]ster on 07.08.2009 at 02:56

I dunno...just something about his voice...and the machine gun drums..over and over and over...about 6 outta 10 for me


You shouldn't listen to metalcore then


Isn't Mastodon metalcore? I love them. Name some other metalcore bands...i'll check em out and see if i dig them
opeth771 - 19.03.2011 at 22:53  
Mastodon is noisecore
jupitreas - 19.03.2011 at 22:58  
Was noisecore
DjentDude - 12.04.2011 at 01:33  
<3<3<3 Love this album, these guys truly are the dream theater of metalcore.
snake? snaaaake! - 13.08.2011 at 03:35  
Written by Dangerboner on 19.04.2008 at 01:11

I think Alaska is much better. The production on this album is weird.


Yeah there is something about the production.. something odd about the mix. Sounds kinda Flat? Can't describe it.
Boxcar Willy - 13.02.2012 at 21:49  
Hmm, I need to check this out!
ZGoten - 26.09.2012 at 00:23  
I applaud you for using the word 'chasm'. Good review.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Between The Buried And Me - Colors 9 23.03.2010 by missionmetal
Reviews Between The Buried And Me - The Great Misdirect 8.5 21.02.2010 by Paradox0
Reviews Between The Buried And Me - The Parallax II: Future Sequence 8.5 27.05.2013 by Zaphod
News Between The Buried And Me - Busy Recording New EP 7.5 02.11.2010 by opeth771
News Between The Buried And Me - EP Trailer Online 7.5 06.03.2011 by BloodTears



Hits total: 8966 | This month: 68