HammerFall - Glory To The Brave review



Reviewer:
5.2

402 users:
8.25
Band: HammerFall
Album: Glory To The Brave
Release date: June 1997


01. The Dragon Lies Bleeding
02. The Metal Age
03. HammerFall
04. I Believe
05. Child Of The Damned [Warlord cover]
06. Steel Meets Steel
07. Stone Cold
08. Unchained
09. Glory To The Brave
10. Ravenlord [Stormwitch cover] [deluxe edition bonus]


It actually bothers me a lot that this album is considered not only good but also a classic by a lot of power metal fans. It might have been influent, although I don't really want to believe that, but it sure isn't good. I have never really liked Hammerfall - nowadays they are very good at writing catchy songs even if they're often quite boring, but on 'Glory To The Brave' the attempt to be catchy fails quite hard.

Song structures, riffs and solos aren't way to bad for a début at all, but that doesn't help very much when the most of the songs lacks good melodies, good vocals, good lyrics and catchy hooks. There you've got another problem with this album - I really can't stand the vocals, mainly because the Swedish accent bothers me, but I don't think Cans sings very good either. He is quite whiny and nasal, and if a power metal singer wants to try a more falsetto based style instead of the more 'manly' alternative, he really needs to do better than Cans to impress me. The lyrics are also quite stupid and 'I Believe' could be one of the worst ballad attempts that I have heard. 'Glory To The Brave' isn't totally despisable though, the opener is not bad at all and 'Child Of The Damned' remains one of my favourite Hammerfall songs.

Luckily enough - as I mentioned, Hammerfall evolved to a, if not good at least very professional metal band and Cans turned out to become a really good singer. I wouldn't recommend this album to anyone, except for a fan that has heard all their other albums (or maybe to someone who finds it for 5$, the better songs might be worth that). 'Glory To The Brave' slightly reaches the OK level on my rating scale.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 6
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 7

Written by Spyroid | 13.06.2008


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 17   Visited by: 161 users
14.06.2008 - 14:13
wrathchild
Well, to me, this clearly is Hammerfall's best effort ever. Yet I agree, it's not a very good album at all.
----
La belleza no reside en lo que puedas crear, sino en lo que eres capaz de transmitir
Beauty resides not in what you're able to create, but in what you're able to communicate


Txus, Mägo De Oz
Loading...
14.06.2008 - 15:28
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
I do find them boring. I can't even remember the album now although I listened to it not so long ago...
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
14.06.2008 - 15:41
Spyroid
Rosetta Stoned
Written by wrathchild on 14.06.2008 at 14:13

Well, to me, this clearly is Hammerfall's best effort ever. Yet I agree, it's not a very good album at all.


I claim that most of the members are very professional (today), but well, that's not enough. Justin Timberlake could also be called professional... anyway, I prefer to listen to their newer stuff because of that reason. I was waiting to get bashed for this review but it doesn't seem so
Loading...
14.06.2008 - 18:46
FOOCK Nam
One of the first metal album I encountered. I love best the last song Glory To The Brave and the first one.
Loading...
27.11.2010 - 16:12
Luneth
It is quite a boring generic album...I've never particularly understand the 'Hammerfall hype' personally.
----
Evil? I am not Malevolent, I simply am!
Apocalypse, X-Men
Loading...
22.01.2011 - 05:21
4look4rd
The Sasquatch
I personally like this album. There is nothing really special or unique about it, but everything is just right. I consider it a classic because this is pretty much traditional power metal very well played (although not very imaginative). My personal rating is a 6.5 or 7 (average music well performed).
----
Loading...
22.01.2011 - 21:49
RavenKing
I think this is the best Hammerfall album. But I find the band so forgettable and their recent material so horrible, it doesn't mean much.
Of course, it is not original at all. Hammerfal has never been about originality. But at least it was decent Powermetal back then.
----
They shake your hand and they smile and they buy you a drink
They say we'll be your friends we'll stick with you till the end
But everybody's only looking out for themselves
And you say who can you trust I'll tell you nobody
Loading...
16.02.2011 - 00:44
ErnilEnNaur
Account deleted
"Song structures, riffs and solos aren't way to bad for a début at all, but that doesn't help very much when the most of the songs lacks good melodies, good vocals, good lyrics and catchy hooks."

You nailed it, absolutely nailed it. I agree 100%. However, "Stone Cold" is a pretty good song, nothing brilliant, but certainly much better than the rest of the album, though it too suffers from a very lame chorus.
Loading...
16.02.2011 - 13:25
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
"Glory To The Brave" song is great anyway
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
19.01.2012 - 03:33
Mountain King
K i K o
Not the best album but the 2 ballads "I Believe" & "Glory To The Brave" are really good...
Loading...
05.06.2012 - 18:13
Infernal Eternal
I think it's quite a good album, but not the best HF has to offer.
----
{}::::::[]:::::::::::::::::> ONLY DEATH IS REAL <:::::::::::::::::[]::::::{}
Rest In Peace: Bon Scott, Dave G. Halliday, Michael "Destructor" Wulf, Jerry Fogle, Quorthon, Witchhunter
Loading...
19.07.2012 - 10:52
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
I will never forgive Niklas Sundin, Mikael Stanne and jesper Strömblad for forming this band together with Oscar Dronjak
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
19.07.2012 - 11:57
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.07.2012 at 10:52

I will never forgive Niklas Sundin, Mikael Stanne and jesper Strömblad for forming this band together with Oscar Dronjak


Holy crap! I... I did not know that. I feel weird now. All of them playing melodic death metal, what the hell happened in 1993... What were they thinking?!
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
19.07.2012 - 12:27
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.07.2012 at 11:57

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.07.2012 at 10:52

I will never forgive Niklas Sundin, Mikael Stanne and jesper Strömblad for forming this band together with Oscar Dronjak


Holy crap! I... I did not know that. I feel weird now. All of them playing melodic death metal, what the hell happened in 1993... What were they thinking?!


to make it even worse Johan Larsson was also part of the very first line-up of the band.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
20.07.2012 - 01:01
RavenKing
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.07.2012 at 10:52

I will never forgive Niklas Sundin, Mikael Stanne and jesper Strömblad for forming this band together with Oscar Dronjak


Quite a difference between this and Ceremonial Oath.
----
They shake your hand and they smile and they buy you a drink
They say we'll be your friends we'll stick with you till the end
But everybody's only looking out for themselves
And you say who can you trust I'll tell you nobody
Loading...
01.08.2012 - 20:34
Valentin B
Iconoclast
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.07.2012 at 12:27

Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.07.2012 at 11:57

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.07.2012 at 10:52

I will never forgive Niklas Sundin, Mikael Stanne and jesper Strömblad for forming this band together with Oscar Dronjak


Holy crap! I... I did not know that. I feel weird now. All of them playing melodic death metal, what the hell happened in 1993... What were they thinking?!


to make it even worse Johan Larsson was also part of the very first line-up of the band.

By all indications I think that the band (which was probably not even known as "Hammerfall" back then) either started out as a Gothenburg-metal band, or was basically a joke of some sort, like "hey dudes, let's get drunk and try to play Helloween mixed with Manowar and see what happens".
----
Sing me a song, you're a singer
Do me a wrong, you're a bringer of evil.
Loading...
25.10.2013 - 14:44
Supernaut
Well, with no originality they can never do more than a 9, and with this ballsless and faceless vocalist they can never do more than an 8, but this one at least is an 8. Great closer! A good thing they used all their good songs, don't bother with the followup.
Loading...

Hits total: 5087 | This month: 21