Rating:
5.2
HammerFall - Glory To The Brave
27 June 1997


01. The Dragon Lies Bleeding
02. The Metal Age
03. HammerFall
04. I Believe
05. Child Of The Damned [Warlord cover]
06. Steel Meets Steel
07. Stone Cold
08. Unchained
09. Glory To The Brave
10. Ravenlord [Stormwitch cover] [deluxe edition bonus]


It actually bothers me a lot that this album is considered not only good but also a classic by a lot of power metal fans. It might have been influent, although I don't really want to believe that, but it sure isn't good. I have never really liked Hammerfall - nowadays they are very good at writing catchy songs even if they're often quite boring, but on 'Glory To The Brave' the attempt to be catchy fails quite hard.

Song structures, riffs and solos aren't way to bad for a début at all, but that doesn't help very much when the most of the songs lacks good melodies, good vocals, good lyrics and catchy hooks. There you've got another problem with this album - I really can't stand the vocals, mainly because the Swedish accent bothers me, but I don't think Cans sings very good either. He is quite whiny and nasal, and if a power metal singer wants to try a more falsetto based style instead of the more 'manly' alternative, he really needs to do better than Cans to impress me. The lyrics are also quite stupid and 'I Believe' could be one of the worst ballad attempts that I have heard. 'Glory To The Brave' isn't totally despisable though, the opener is not bad at all and 'Child Of The Damned' remains one of my favourite Hammerfall songs.

Luckily enough - as I mentioned, Hammerfall evolved to a, if not good at least very professional metal band and Cans turned out to become a really good singer. I wouldn't recommend this album to anyone, except for a fan that has heard all their other albums (or maybe to someone who finds it for 5$, the better songs might be worth that). 'Glory To The Brave' slightly reaches the OK level on my rating scale.

Performance: 6
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 7


Band profile: HammerFall
Album: Glory To The Brave


 


written by Spyroid | 13.06.2008


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 146  
Search this topic:  


wrathchild - 14.06.2008 at 14:13  
Well, to me, this clearly is Hammerfall's best effort ever. Yet I agree, it's not a very good album at all.
K†ulu - 14.06.2008 at 15:28  
I do find them boring. I can't even remember the album now although I listened to it not so long ago...
Spyroid - 14.06.2008 at 15:41  
Written by wrathchild on 14.06.2008 at 14:13

Well, to me, this clearly is Hammerfall's best effort ever. Yet I agree, it's not a very good album at all.


I claim that most of the members are very professional (today), but well, that's not enough. Justin Timberlake could also be called professional... anyway, I prefer to listen to their newer stuff because of that reason. I was waiting to get bashed for this review but it doesn't seem so
BestMetalstormer - 14.06.2008 at 18:46  
One of the first metal album I encountered. I love best the last song Glory To The Brave and the first one.
Luneth - 27.11.2010 at 16:12  
It is quite a boring generic album...I've never particularly understand the 'Hammerfall hype' personally.
4look4rd - 22.01.2011 at 05:21  
I personally like this album. There is nothing really special or unique about it, but everything is just right. I consider it a classic because this is pretty much traditional power metal very well played (although not very imaginative). My personal rating is a 6.5 or 7 (average music well performed).
RavenKing - 22.01.2011 at 21:49  
I think this is the best Hammerfall album. But I find the band so forgettable and their recent material so horrible, it doesn't mean much.
Of course, it is not original at all. Hammerfal has never been about originality. But at least it was decent Powermetal back then.
ErnilEnNaur - 16.02.2011 at 00:44  
"Song structures, riffs and solos aren't way to bad for a début at all, but that doesn't help very much when the most of the songs lacks good melodies, good vocals, good lyrics and catchy hooks."

You nailed it, absolutely nailed it. I agree 100%. However, "Stone Cold" is a pretty good song, nothing brilliant, but certainly much better than the rest of the album, though it too suffers from a very lame chorus.
Ellrohir - 16.02.2011 at 13:25  
"Glory To The Brave" song is great anyway
Mountain King - 19.01.2012 at 03:33  
Not the best album but the 2 ballads "I Believe" & "Glory To The Brave" are really good...
Infernal Eternal - 05.06.2012 at 18:13  
I think it's quite a good album, but not the best HF has to offer.
Ozman - 19.07.2012 at 10:52  
I will never forgive Niklas Sundin, Mikael Stanne and jesper Strömblad for forming this band together with Oscar Dronjak
Mr. Doctor - 19.07.2012 at 11:57  
Written by Ozman on 19.07.2012 at 10:52

I will never forgive Niklas Sundin, Mikael Stanne and jesper Strömblad for forming this band together with Oscar Dronjak


Holy crap! I... I did not know that. I feel weird now. All of them playing melodic death metal, what the hell happened in 1993... What were they thinking?!
Ozman - 19.07.2012 at 12:27  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.07.2012 at 11:57

Written by Ozman on 19.07.2012 at 10:52

I will never forgive Niklas Sundin, Mikael Stanne and jesper Strömblad for forming this band together with Oscar Dronjak


Holy crap! I... I did not know that. I feel weird now. All of them playing melodic death metal, what the hell happened in 1993... What were they thinking?!


to make it even worse Johan Larsson was also part of the very first line-up of the band.
RavenKing - 20.07.2012 at 01:01  
Written by Ozman on 19.07.2012 at 10:52

I will never forgive Niklas Sundin, Mikael Stanne and jesper Strömblad for forming this band together with Oscar Dronjak


Quite a difference between this and Ceremonial Oath.
Valentin B - 01.08.2012 at 20:34  
Written by Ozman on 19.07.2012 at 12:27

Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.07.2012 at 11:57

Written by Ozman on 19.07.2012 at 10:52

I will never forgive Niklas Sundin, Mikael Stanne and jesper Strömblad for forming this band together with Oscar Dronjak


Holy crap! I... I did not know that. I feel weird now. All of them playing melodic death metal, what the hell happened in 1993... What were they thinking?!


to make it even worse Johan Larsson was also part of the very first line-up of the band.

By all indications I think that the band (which was probably not even known as "Hammerfall" back then) either started out as a Gothenburg-metal band, or was basically a joke of some sort, like "hey dudes, let's get drunk and try to play Helloween mixed with Manowar and see what happens".
Supernaut - 25.10.2013 at 14:44  
Well, with no originality they can never do more than a 9, and with this ballsless and faceless vocalist they can never do more than an 8, but this one at least is an 8. Great closer! A good thing they used all their good songs, don't bother with the followup.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums HammerFall - Glory To The Brave 7.5 19.07.2012 by Valentin B
Reviews Hammerfall - Steel Meets Steel - Ten Years Of Glory 5.5 04.11.2007 by
News Hammerfall - Entering The Studio 4.5 23.09.2008 by Angel_Lament
News Hammerfall - Guitarist Leaves The Band 4.5 02.04.2008 by Talvi
Albums Highland Glory - From The Cradle To The Brave 4.5 30.12.2010 by CrippledReverend



Hits total: 4384 | This month: 35