The Axis Of Perdition - Deleted Scenes From The Transition Hospital review



Reviewer:
5.0

31 users:
8.23
Band: The Axis Of Perdition
Album: Deleted Scenes From The Transition Hospital
Release date: March 2005


01. Deleted Scenes I: In The Hallway Of Crawling Filth
02. The Elevator Beneath The Valve
03. Pendulum Prey (Second Incarceration)
04. Isolation Cubicle 312
05. Entangled In Mannequin Limbs
06. This, Then, Is Paradise?
07. One Day You Will Understand Why
08. Deleted Scenes II: In The Gauze-Womb Of The God Becoming


Beginning with the very first riff of the very first Black Sabbath album, atmosphere has played a significant role in metal music. People who like a lot of atmosphere in their metal will enjoy in Deleted Scenes From the Transition Hospital by Axis of Perdition. Fans who prefer music in their metal will listen about halfway through before they give up in frustration.
The band's priority here is obviously to create a bleak mood. Given that they take their inspiration from the Silent Hill video games and from the writings of H.P. Lovecraft and Ramsey Campbell, this is to be expected. However, the product that we are left with here is not a metal album so much as it is the audio track from a horror film. Of the 55:42 that make up this disc, a full 25 minutes of it (by my count) is sound effect - no rhythm, no melody, no instrumentation, no vocals (unless one counts horror-film moaning as vocals). For several more minutes of the remaining portion, the music is dominated by the noise, and is almost undetectable. On those occasions when the guitar actually comes to the fore, it is used as mere accompaniment to the dissonant ringing, static, and metallic clanging that form the core of the sound. The effect is exacerbated by the use of drum machine, which I am sure is meant to further create an atmosphere of urban isolation. Unfortunately, it also strengthens the impression that the group didn't care much about the music part of their craft when creating the album.
To be sure, Axis of Perdition have achieved the desired atmosphere, and I must give credit to them for creating a sense of unease that hasn't been achieved by even some of the bleakest of Atmospheric Black Metal albums. The problem, though, is that the listener has to work too hard for it. Some albums require a close listen in order to appreciate subtleties in the arrangements that, when detected, enhance the experience. In Deleted Scenes, the listener has to pay close attention just to follow along.
This album would be the perfect soundtrack for a Call of Cthulhu role-playing campaign. Under any other circumstances, it is just too laborious to get through.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 4
Songwriting: 4
Originality: 7
Production: 8

Written by HugeTheConqeror | 05.06.2008


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 9   Visited by: 74 users
05.06.2008 - 14:49
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Last heard this album a long time ago, but from what I remember of it, it wasn't bad at all.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
29.07.2008 - 01:22
Metal Freak
"The band's priority here is obviously to create a bleak mood."

That's one of the reasons I love this album. It's really just about the aesthetics, but they pull it off well. I will give you that this album is only marginally "music", but it's still an unforgettable experience.
----
"Religion is an insult to human dignity. With or without it, you'd have good people doing good things and evil people doing evil things, but for good people to do evil things, that takes religion."
--Steven Weinberg
Loading...
10.08.2008 - 21:10
halfnakedsnake
Account deleted
if you dont like it dont listen to it mate. never understood why people who dont enjoy something in the first place insist on reviewing it.
Loading...
11.08.2008 - 01:16
VPeter
Written by Guest on 10.08.2008 at 21:10

if you dont like it dont listen to it mate. never understood why people who dont enjoy something in the first place insist on reviewing it.

and I never understood people who claim you should only review good albums....
Loading...
12.08.2008 - 00:46
halfnakedsnake
Account deleted
Written by VPeter on 11.08.2008 at 01:16

Written by Guest on 10.08.2008 at 21:10

if you dont like it dont listen to it mate. never understood why people who dont enjoy something in the first place insist on reviewing it.

and I never understood people who claim you should only review good albums....


thats not something i have claimed. you would know that if you had taken the time to read my comment and the review i was commenting on. thanks.
Loading...
12.08.2008 - 01:20
VPeter
Written by Guest on 12.08.2008 at 00:46

Written by VPeter on 11.08.2008 at 01:16

Written by Guest on 10.08.2008 at 21:10

if you dont like it dont listen to it mate. never understood why people who dont enjoy something in the first place insist on reviewing it.

and I never understood people who claim you should only review good albums....


thats not something i have claimed. you would know that if you had taken the time to read my comment and the review i was commenting on. thanks.

Dude I was just saying, "never understood why people who dont enjoy something in the first place insist on reviewing it." makes it sound it that there only should be good reviews. People always need vents to things.
Loading...
13.08.2008 - 23:12
halfnakedsnake
Account deleted
Written by VPeter on 12.08.2008 at 01:20

Written by Guest on 12.08.2008 at 00:46

Written by VPeter on 11.08.2008 at 01:16

Written by Guest on 10.08.2008 at 21:10

if you dont like it dont listen to it mate. never understood why people who dont enjoy something in the first place insist on reviewing it.

and I never understood people who claim you should only review good albums....


thats not something i have claimed. you would know that if you had taken the time to read my comment and the review i was commenting on. thanks.

Dude I was just saying, "never understood why people who dont enjoy something in the first place insist on reviewing it." makes it sound it that there only should be good reviews. People always need vents to things.


i agree completely that reviews should not always be good and sorry for any misconceptions about the post. i do however feel that this was an unfair outlook of an album by a person which did not wish to try to understand the music from the outset.
Loading...
07.11.2008 - 00:22
Smurfkiller
Account deleted
I really disagree with the score of this review. The music and atmosphere is fantastic.
Loading...
17.05.2010 - 18:29
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Wow, I rarely read reviews on this site that miss the mark but this album is phenomenal and deserving of a far higher score. Genuinely one of the few albums that touches Blut aus Nord's majesty.
Loading...

Hits total: 3722 | This month: 8