Hate Eternal - Fury & Flames review



Reviewer:
8.7

102 users:
7.81
Band: Hate Eternal
Album: Fury & Flames
Release date: February 2008


01. Hell Envenom
02. Whom Gods May Destroy
03. Para Bellum
04. Bringer Of Storms
05. The Funerary March
06. Thus Salvation
07. Proclamation Of The Damned
08. Fury Within
09. Tombeau (Le Tombeau De La Fureur Et Des Flames)
10. Coronach


Sound comes as an important factor while recording an album and it usually helps create the overall feel. Hate Eternal is a band that stands on its own and their new album, might I say, is as much about the production and the sound as it is about the music. Neither fail to deliver. A lot of this credit goes to Erik Rutan for his producing skills and for assembling an all star line-up for Fury & Flames. There's Alex Webster (Cannibal Corpse, Blotted Science) on the bass, guitarist Shaune Kelley (Dim Mak, Ripping Corpse) and Jade Simonetto on drums who can easily steal the throne from Inferno or maybe even Flo Mounier. Need I say more?

What Fury & Flames delivers is ferocious riffs, demonic vocals and drumming that is all over the place, executed with mind blowing speed which accounts for an overall chaotic feeling, but chaos has its beauty if thought out well and here is a perfect example. Some people may remove their headphones after the first listen of this album and hide the case in their closet. What Fury & Flames takes is patience because you will not be able to discern everything that's going on after one simple listen. This is extreme death metal with a wall of sound that deserves an attentive listen because there are many great things in all of the songs. The album holds a consistent pace the whole way through, it maintains the same aggressive and heavy sound. What's even better is that the songs are very discernable from each other and they all have their high points, not one lacks in originality. The musicianship is very tight all around. There are a lot of out of the norm chord structures that are really interesting and the solos deserve high praise as well. The speed is also quite impressive, you can surely count on your fingers the number of bands that are able play as fast as these guys.

Rutan once again, proves his genius in the production of this monsterpiece creating a unique mix of the instruments. This might as well be the most extreme album of the year, so if you're looking for something to blow you away, literally, Fury & Flames should be your number one pick. The title describes the sound, furious and full of hellish blasting like passages.

"To say Fury & Flames is kinda heavy is like saying Mount Everest is kinda high." - Metal Maniacs


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 9

Written by Visioneerie | 29.07.2008


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 14   Visited by: 104 users
24.08.2008 - 16:24
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
Booo, boring, as usual.
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
24.08.2008 - 19:35
Visioneerie
Urban Monster
Written by Passenger on 24.08.2008 at 16:24

Booo, boring, as usual.

Shit, nice opinion there buddy, clearly you have nothing to say, that's smart.
----
Any man can stand adversity, but to test his character give him power - A. Lincoln
Loading...
24.08.2008 - 21:49
routa
Account deleted
Written by Visioneerie on 24.08.2008 at 19:35

Written by Passenger on 24.08.2008 at 16:24

Booo, boring, as usual.

Shit, nice opinion there buddy, clearly you have nothing to say, that's smart.


Out of curiosity, would you have responded likewise if he would had commented something along like "This album rocks/is the shit/etc etc"?
Loading...
24.08.2008 - 21:57
Visioneerie
Urban Monster
Written by Guest on 24.08.2008 at 21:49

Written by Visioneerie on 24.08.2008 at 19:35

Written by Passenger on 24.08.2008 at 16:24

Booo, boring, as usual.

Shit, nice opinion there buddy, clearly you have nothing to say, that's smart.


Out of curiosity, would you have responded likewise if he would had commented something along like "This album rocks/is the shit/etc etc"?

I don't mind if he doesn't like the album, but his comment could be a bit more detailed as to why he thinks it's boring, maybe i wouldnt have responded the same way if he said it kicked ass because i would have nothing to approach.
----
Any man can stand adversity, but to test his character give him power - A. Lincoln
Loading...
25.08.2008 - 23:43
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
My comment was excellent, mind you. The album bored me, Hate Eternal always bores me. Nothing interesting or noteworthy about Fury And Flames, so, there, I did say everything I wanted to say, and people who think like me will understand me

You know your adjectives, I should say that, if you're looking for encouragement for your reviewing; hope you write more!
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
26.08.2008 - 02:34
Dangerboner
:D
Good review, this is their most brutal album to date, but not their best. Jade Simonetto blows Derek Roddy out of the water!

hahaha I like that Metal Maniacs comment too
Loading...
26.08.2008 - 08:09
Visioneerie
Urban Monster
Jade Simonetto is psychotic on this album, i've never even heard of this dude before Fury & Flames, if you ask me, he's more impressive than Roddy like you said, and Inferno.
----
Any man can stand adversity, but to test his character give him power - A. Lincoln
Loading...
31.08.2008 - 05:57
Visioneerie
Urban Monster
Written by Passenger on 25.08.2008 at 23:43


You know your adjectives, I should say that, if you're looking for encouragement for your reviewing; hope you write more!

Thanks man, i'm thinking of writing more reviews sometime soon, look out for em'.
and i respect your opinion about Hate Eternal, after you explained yourself of course but i don't share it.
----
Any man can stand adversity, but to test his character give him power - A. Lincoln
Loading...
27.11.2008 - 10:10
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Good review.. very awesome band this Hate Eternal, gotta check their other works, only listen to Conquering the throne and this one. I consider CTT ten times better than Fury and Flames (even FaF not being bad at all).
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
01.12.2008 - 06:45
thesabbathfan
Tbh, I thought the recording quality on this album was balls, but I think they'll be back on top by the next release.
----
Loading...
13.01.2009 - 09:08
Syk
myspace/bonerama
So the guy blasts like a fucker... I don't think that warrants an originality of 10
----
deaththrashdeath/doom/prog ‡ Hail Zoldon!

he's not the kind you have to wind up on Sundays
Loading...
13.01.2009 - 10:14
LeChron James
Helvetesfossen
Written by Syk on 13.01.2009 at 09:08

So the guy blasts like a fucker... I don't think that warrants an originality of 10

agreed. if that were true every Berzerker album would be a 12.
----
Kick Ass, Die Young

Less is More
Stay Pure
Stay Poor

Music was my life, music brought me to life and music is how I will be remembered long after I leave this life. When I die there will be a final waltz in my head that only I can hear.
Loading...
18.07.2009 - 03:07
Necrogeddon
Born Too Late
Good review I share your thoughts on it, the brutality and relentlessness totally blew me away I prefer I, Monarch but this album is denser in sound and so fucking heavy, I love it!
----
'I wish you all had one neck and that I had my hands on it.'
Loading...
13.01.2011 - 23:37
fosi
Written by Passenger on 24.08.2008 at 16:24

Booo, boring, as usual.


Totally agree,one of the most boring death metal albums...
Loading...

Hits total: 4994 | This month: 16