Rating:
7.0
Skitliv - Kristiansen And Kvarforth Swim In The Sea Of Equilibrium While Waiting [Demo]
4 December 2007


01. Who Will Deliver Us From Gold & Planets
02. Slow Pain Coming
03. A Valley Below


Skitliv. The living abortion, spawn from the mind of Maniac (ex-Mayhem), in collaboration with Kvarforth (Shining) among others. Translating to as much as "shit life" in English, that’s exactly what the music is about: straight-forward, ruthless hate, sickness and misanthropy. Why express pain and torment through poetry and melodic misery, if it's nothing of the sort? Depression is a vile disease, a pestering cancer, infecting and torturing the soul. And Skitliv stands for just that.

But how do you translate that into art? The line between sick brilliance and pure shit is a thin one, and nobody knows exactly where it is located. Skitliv dwells somewhere in the grey, misty fields of no-mans land that lies on both sides of the border.

In the intro "Who Will Deliver Us From Gold & Planets" they are obviously on the wrong side. Maniac is famous for his strange types of vocals, but in this song he really swings and misses. I can see he's trying to express madness here, by constantly repeating the same line and supposedly going insane, but it just fails to convince. And yes, if you fail to deliver madness it does sound rather pathetic.

This is only the intro though, and fortunately the other songs "Slow Pain Becoming" and "A Valley Below" are much better. Maniac has some weird vocals for us in store once again, like it or not. While they are still far from evoking a "sickening bliss", they are at least dark and, mostly through the guitar work, fuel for hatred. Their music is a reflective mixture of doom, black and feedback and focuses on the Maniacs own thoughts and delusions. It all blends together as a pretty loud sound.

Is that interesting for everyone? No, probably not. But for some it might be. If you can break through the barrier of lame kvlt and grimness that surrounds this demo, I think you'll at least be able to enjoy the last two songs. Keep in mind that this is only a demo, and not an EP or a full-length. That's also the reason why I am giving them the benefit of the doubt right now. Let's give them some time, because they do have the potential to someday come up with something really good, or at least something unique. That is to say, if they don't go down in their own delusions, before that day comes.

Performance: 6
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 7


Band profile: Skitliv
Album: Kristiansen And Kvarforth Swim In The Sea Of Equilibrium While Waiting


 



Written on 06.09.2008 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 121  
Search this topic:  


Doc Godin - 07.09.2008 at 03:27  
Huh, always wondered what happened to Maniac. Sorry to hear it isn't that good...still a bit curious though.
BreadGod - 07.09.2008 at 03:35  
"Kristiansen And Kvarforth Swim In The Sea Of Equilibrium While Waiting"...

Waiting for what? their mother to pick them up from school? the mail to arrive? What are they waiting for? Somebody tell me!

Or is this one of those rhetorical questions that I have such a hard time comprehending?
Doc Godin - 07.09.2008 at 04:53  
Written by PrettyMao on 25.05.2007 at 19:07

Lullaby for a dying what?!?!? Please finish the sentence! I need to know what is dying? A pachyderm? Someone's goldfish? Eddie Munster?

The suspense is killing me.... or maybe that is the effect they are going for, if it is, it sure is working!

Written by BreadGod on 07.09.2008 at 03:35

"Kristiansen And Kvarforth Swim In The Sea Of Equilibrium While Waiting"...

Waiting for what? their mother to pick them up from school? the mail to arrive? What are they waiting for? Somebody tell me!

Or is this one of those rhetorical questions that I have such a hard time comprehending?

Fantastic.
Sunioj - 09.09.2008 at 18:02  
Written by Spyroid on 09.09.2008 at 09:07

If somebody was wondering, or didn't know - Skitliv means "shit life", I find it to be quite a raw band name Good review!


Thanks man, but that was already revealed in the review
Spyroid - 09.09.2008 at 18:29  
Written by Sunioj on 09.09.2008 at 18:02

Written by Spyroid on 09.09.2008 at 09:07

If somebody was wondering, or didn't know - Skitliv means "shit life", I find it to be quite a raw band name Good review!


Thanks man, but that was already revealed in the review


Damn! I suck
Lucas - 09.09.2008 at 18:32  
Written by Spyroid on 09.09.2008 at 18:29

Damn! I suck


Shame you're not a girl.

Ok. Back to the review.
Spyroid - 09.09.2008 at 19:42  
Written by Lucas on 09.09.2008 at 18:32


Shame you're not a girl.

Ok. Back to the review.


Dude that was a low one... haha
K†ulu - 09.09.2008 at 20:18  
Great review. I probably will never listen to this demo since it's just not gonna be interesting to me, but Lucas, man, I have to express my admiration with this review, to be more precise with how it's written. The first two paragraphs are just a masterpiece. Hail good writing!
jupitreas - 11.09.2008 at 23:03  
This has got to be one of the most (unintentionally?) hilarious album titles ever.
Wow.
K†ulu - 11.09.2008 at 23:10  
Written by jupitreas on 11.09.2008 at 23:03

This has got to be one of the most (unintentionally?) hilarious album titles ever.
Wow.

holy crap. that's right. i was so enchanted by the review itself, that I didn't pay attention to it. I wonder whether it makes any sense as far as the album lyrics...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Dodsferd - Suicide And The Rest Of Your Kind Will Follow 6 17.05.2009 by Italics
Articles Welcome To My Nightmare... (An Introduction To The Sick And Twisted) 5 21.01.2009 by Darkside Momo
Albums Cradle Of Filth - Cruelty And The Beast 3 25.09.2011 by musicalkaratekid
News The Atlas Moth - Share New Album Cover And More 3 31.03.2014 by Apothecary
News Jorn - Guitarist And Bassist Quit The Band 3 14.07.2012 by LeChron James



Hits total: 4823 | This month: 56