Rating:
6.5
Nightwish - Once
7 June 2004


01. Dark Chest Of Wonders
02. Wish I Had An Angel
03. Nemo
04. Planet Hell
05. Creek Mary's Blood
06. The Siren
07. Dead Gardens
08. Romanticide
09. Ghost Love Score
10. Kuolema Tekee Taiteilijan
11. Higher Than Hope
12. White Night Fantasy [bonus]
13. Live To Tell The Tale [bonus]
14. Where Were You Last Night [Ankie Bagger cover] [bonus]
+ Nemo [video]


Before hearing the 'Nemo' single, I was looking forward to this new album of Nightwish (one of my favourite bands by the way). After hearing this single I was even more looking forward to the full-length. After listening to Once a good dozen times, I realize I was so better-off before. I hate saying that, like almost all the fans it twists my bowels to criticize Nightwish, but Once is to me terribly disappointing. Maybe I've heard too much about it, about the use of an orchestra, about the heavier riffs, Tarja's best performance ever…

Though, the album starts off really well with 'Dark Chest Of Wonders' that ressuscitates a certain heaviness that was absent since Wishmaster. 'Wish I Had Angel' sounds a bit like Century Child's songs, but shows an excellent use of the vocals duet of Tarja Turunen and Marco Hietala. This song is a bit common but good anyway. 'Nemo' after that is a real killer, the kind of song that grows on you after twenty seconds and decides to live in your head forever. Undoubtedly this is the best song of the album, along with the following, 'Planet Hell', a really aggressive one, in the vein of Oceanborn. To keep going with the positive points, the use of the orchestra is brilliant. They were probably expected to fall in the trap of overusing it, as most bands do when they are given this chance, but no, the bits are cleverly dispatched here and there, without covering the rest of the music, without taking too much importance, actually the orchestra is here only to enhance the quality of some instrumental parts. It's all the contrary compared to the last Dimmu Borgir for example, and it's an excellent surprise, as I was expecting something like a new Therion-wannabe.

So you're gonna ask me, if I like it so much, why the hell do I say that I'm disappointed? Well, the answer is: reread the previous paragraph, and you'll notice I'm only talking about the first four songs. After these ones, the high standard of Once suddenly collapses. 'Creek Mary's Blood' is certainly the worst and lamest song they've ever dared record: it's supposedly an epic song… well, ok, then why, if it's epic, is it so cheesy and mellow? And what is with this Amerindian guy reciting his poem for two minutes without music? The whole song is based on good intentions and the will to create something different, but it's just so long… The rest of the album is better, but without real interest. I mean indifference quickly settles down, and the only thing that makes you realize Once is over is this strange and unusual feeling that your house is too quiet without loud music. I'm being nasty here, actually one song among the last seven caught my attention, the ballad 'Kuolema Tekee Taiteilijan': I don't know whether I noticed it because of the singing in Finnish or the real quality of the song, but it's a nice ballad overall.

Finally, I hate sounding nostalgic, but when you hear Oceanborn and Wishmaster, admittedly their two masterpieces, and then this Once, don't you dare tell me it's the same level... Actually the best parts of Once are when Hietala sings. Brings out a bit of change, especially since I am also slightly disappointed with Tarja's voice, which doesn't sound as powerful as before. I have the bitter impression that Nightwish starts letting go, that they think they're the best, the leaders in their genre, so they don't have to work, in other words, I have the feeling that they've caught the Children Of Bodom syndrom. This is the reason for the low rating. You're not untouchable, so now c'mon guys, WAKE UP!

Highlights: the first four songs, plus Kuolema Tekee Taiteilijan


Band profile: Nightwish
Album: Once


 


written by Collin | 30.06.2004

Guest review by
Spyroid

Rating:
9.5
I would say that this is something as uncommon as a perfect (when it comes to rating) album with flaws! I used to claim that every perfect album needs to have unity, and be totally free of any letdown songs/flaws. And Once, plus a handful other albums, are the exceptions to the rule of mine.

Nightwish are one of the most professional bands out there. When I listen to 'Once', I can't find any flaws at all in the musicianship. All the good songs are perfectly completed compositions and their lyrics are tastefull and interesting. The choirs and orchestra are perfectly blended with the really Heavy Metal riffs and drums, and the piano/keyboard pieces are great. Toumas is probably the reincarnation of Mozart and I would guess that his father is Howard Shore or Andrew Lloyd Webber. This is soundtrack metal at it's finest. Since I love cheesy epic soundtracks, this of course appeals to me!

Read more ››
published 05.10.2007 | Comments (7)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2
Comments: 63  
Users visited: 218  
Search this topic:  


abysss - 10.07.2006 at 00:12  
Whoever wrote this review, it's clear that he doesn't like Once.

It's hard to get it entirelly music-wise because the songs are so complex. You must listen it many many times before it enters in your head as Tuomas wanted to.

I also tought like you before... That once is a disappointment from Nightwish. But after seeing them live performing those songs, I realized that those songs are much better than I tought... and slowly I listened to once more and more to the point when I knew I was totally inside. Great experience, and then you'll realise that nemo is just the less complex song on the album, wich is still a killer song, as you said,... the one made to get inside your ear quickly.

I'd give this album an 8.8 rating
Sunioj - 10.07.2006 at 21:54  
For one the guy in Creek marys blood is speaking in hebrew about God,
Armediean guy? Wtf?

How do you go epic and not cheesy? I find this and Oceanborn the least cheezy/epic of all the albums. Yes the album has more riffing but thats all experimental and this is a great album no doubt. Its not the same level in the sense of musicianship, definetly but its still a great album.
RavenLord - 10.07.2006 at 22:03  
Written by Sunioj on 10.07.2006 at 21:54

For one the guy in Creek marys blood is speaking in hebrew about God,
Armediean guy? Wtf?

How do you go epic and not cheesy? I find this and Oceanborn the least cheezy/epic of all the albums. Yes the album has more riffing but thats all experimental and this is a great album no doubt. Its not the same level in the sense of musicianship, definetly but its still a great album.


Actually, the performer reciting the poem at the end of Creek Mary's Blood is John Two-Hawks, a prominent Native American musician. As for the album itself, I think it's a bit of a mixed bag. When it gets good, it's bloody amazing (Ghost Love Score, Siren), but the filler on this album is filler and a half (Wish I Had An Angel). It's definitely more mainstream than their previous works, and the emphasis is more on downtuned, heavy guitars, the loud orchestra and non-operatic vocals from Tarja. Combined with the use of a drum machine [I almost wrote 'blast beats' there ] on WIhaA, the whole album is somewhat 'poppy'. However, that certainly doesn't detract from the enjoyment of the album, and I would give it a score of 8.5-It's no Ocenaborn, but it does have some classics. As for the debate regarding Creek Mary's Blood, I quite like it. I've heard it being dissed for being a poor man's Run to the Hills lyrically, but Run to the Hills is overrated and cheesy too :p. It has some great orchestral work and the Amerindian influences work a charm, similarly to the Eastern Mediterranean/Persian influences on Siren. And as a final note, I am not taking into account the bonus tracks, mainly because if I did, the score would be around 5. I never want to listen to White Night Fantasy again....:wall:
(although Live to tell the Tale wasn't too bad...)
Revenant - 11.07.2006 at 20:04  
This is an abysmal review, the guy clearly knows nothign about symphonic/power metal. The part on CMB is a perfect example. 'Too long', ffs this genre is about epic, long and meaningfull songs, if you want some simple short crude metal listen to grindcore. The fact that this site only lets certian people review albums makes this even worse. If GLs impressed you less than WihaA then you clearly cant apreciate symphonic metla and shouldnt review it. And aparently mellow cant be epic, what bullshit.

The translation for the CMB poem is in my copy of Once and it's nto about God it's a red indian poem about the greed of the white man and his slaughter of the bufalo and natives and how his greed will eventualy consume him. Haven't read it in ages though...

Once was an excellent album apart from the over simplififed guitar and drumming and the unnessassary attempt to sound 'heavy' (song like GLS dont need power chords!).
Bas - 24.07.2006 at 15:31  
horrible album IMO,
one of Nightwish´s worst efforts, and that means that it really has to be bad.
the drums, guitars and keyboards are all quite boring, and while i dont like Tarja on the other cds either, i admit she has talent, but i dont like her accent, here she definitely sounds worst.
marco´s vocals are nice to listen to for the first or the first few times, but gets boring extremely fast, Dark Chest Of Wonders and Planet Hell are nice songs IMO, the rest is crap, i´d rate it a 4
Valentin B - 28.08.2006 at 21:07  
out of all the songs,i think only romanticide is filler.the rest is good to superb
i'd rate the tracks like this:
1.10
2.9
3.10
4.9
5.7.5
6.9
7.8
8.7
9.10
10.10
11.9
12.9
and i haven;t listened to live to tell the tale..
overall this album has it's low points but it;s a decent and solid effort.it has a very diverse sound,mellow,rough,strange(wtf is that squealing instrument in the siren?)
the orchestra is used fantasticly,in ghost love score,the siren(unmistaakeable intro),and the flutes and violins in kuolema tekee taiteilijan are superb
i'd rate this album 8.5,a good release,but not as good as wishmaster or oceanborn
Mr.Wilson - 29.08.2006 at 07:32  
IMO...Once is a different album..but not a horrible album like some of you have said...it´s not as good as wishmaster or oceanborn..but still good anyway..in fact the drum role its a bit simplified...INO it´s the negative point...but still a good album...the guitar riffs are heavy..and catchy...the orquestration it´s absolutly superb...tuomas is a genius..the performance of tarja it´s magnific.
But i believe that nemo is not tne best song on the album...it´s a true single but not the best..and i don´t agree that the first four songs are the best...in fact Ghost love score is th best song on this album...and the second one is higher than hope!
dismaleuphony - 29.08.2006 at 10:33  
I'm someone who found that "Century Child" was Nightwish's most uninteresting and unfocused release, so my expectations were only average for Once. But now after 2 years of having this CD, it's my 2nd favorite from the band (below Oceanborn). I strongly disagree that the epic 5th track is a disappointment; it's songs like this that show a progression of Nightwish's songs in a way I wish they would employ on a future release.

"Planet Hell" is my personal pick on this CD, and was truly my favorite song to see played live from the band. I personally find the guitar tone on Once to finally be crisp, as at times in the past it has been a bit lacking.

I'm unsure what the complaint is about a 'long' song... the 2 lengthy tracks on this CD are diverse enough to warrant a length of such, but it seems this review suggests that Nightwish song over 5 mins is just a bad thing altogether? I don't think this tops Oceanborn, but I do feel this review is negatively biased in a way that doesn't warrant it being the only review on this album for MS.
Valentin B - 30.11.2006 at 20:20  
i dunno why people diss "white night fantasy", it's kind of on-the-fly written, but hey, it delivers the goods! it happens to not be cheesy, like CMB, the lowest point on the album apart from romanticide
RavenLord - 02.12.2006 at 22:07  
Written by Valentin B on 30.11.2006 at 20:20

i dunno why people diss "white night fantasy", it's kind of on-the-fly written, but hey, it delivers the goods! it happens to not be cheesy, like CMB, the lowest point on the album apart from romanticide


It's horribly, horribly, horribly twee. Everything from the vocals to the little acoustic bit in the middle make me cringe. No wonder they didn't put it on the standard album.
Noel Sonic - 01.07.2007 at 08:41  
Well, it's quite disappointed to me. I will rate no more than 7.5
Ellrohir - 01.07.2007 at 12:54  
me personaly consider Once to be Nightwish masterpiece - primary because of Ghost Love Score but many others are great too
Ernis - 19.08.2007 at 19:20  
I agree here...."Ghost Love Score" and "Dark Chest Of Wonders" are the two pearls of this album......shiny pearls....and "Creek Mary" is a solid piece of fine music as well....
Passenger - 29.09.2007 at 15:31  
5/10

Good review.
angel_heart - 01.12.2007 at 15:51  
I can't believe you didn't even mention "Ghost love score", which is almost like their trade mark and their best song!!
jaeger - 23.03.2008 at 01:11  
Good review. I felt disappointed as well the first time I heard Once, but I got used to it. There are some pretty good tracks on it like "Nemo", an easy but captivating song, or "Planet Hell", "Ghost Love Score" and "The Siren" are both amazing, on the other hand "Wish I had an Angel" must be one of the worst songs they ever made.
Angel_Lament - 28.07.2008 at 22:41  
Written by Guest on 11.07.2006 at 20:04

This is an abysmal review, the guy clearly knows nothign about symphonic/power metal. The part on CMB is a perfect example. 'Too long', ffs this genre is about epic, long and meaningfull songs, if you want some simple short crude metal listen to grindcore. The fact that this site only lets certian people review albums makes this even worse. If GLs impressed you less than WihaA then you clearly cant apreciate symphonic metla and shouldnt review it. And aparently mellow cant be epic, what bullshit.

The translation for the CMB poem is in my copy of Once and it's nto about God it's a red indian poem about the greed of the white man and his slaughter of the bufalo and natives and how his greed will eventualy consume him. Haven't read it in ages though...

Once was an excellent album apart from the over simplififed guitar and drumming and the unnessassary attempt to sound 'heavy' (song like GLS dont need power chords!).


I Totally agree with u
I usually dont complain about reviews, cus its an opinion in the end
but this one drives me crazy, the Album is about Symphonic/Power Metal, and it seems the reviewer doesnt have to do anything with it
So what that CMB is long?thats the beaty of it! this is one of the things what this genre is about
I cant believe that he didnt mention GLS or Higher than Hope, the 1st in my opinion An Epic Piece and the 2nd is very nice song. The reviewer just mentioned the negative things in the album not mentioning its positive sides (which are a lot!)
then what about Oceanborn?u have to judge it by its own beauty not to compare it with other albums!
I would give at least 9.7 very nice & Epic Album
Marcel Hubregtse - 28.07.2008 at 23:44  
My God tha fanboys once again can't stand any normal constructive criticism. It is my bet that when Nightwish records an album full of farts you people will still drool over it.

FYI CMB is too long. What they get across in that song now could have be done in a much shorter song and then would have had a much bigger impact.

Yes this album is about symphonic power metal but alas it is a mediocre just above mediocre sort of symphonic power metal that is on display here.
Collin - 28.07.2008 at 23:57  
I especially enjoy comments such as "The reviewer just mentioned the negative things in the album not mentioning its positive sides", when the whole first paragraph is actually devoted to the positive points of this album
Anyway, I guess people just get mad about the rating (6.5 is not a bad rating by the way) and don't actually read the review, or just take some stuff out of context and rant about it.
Well, I agree I could have talked a bit about Ghost Love Score, but other than that this review pretty much still sums up my thoughts on this album.
angel_heart - 26.08.2008 at 13:59  
am i the only one who finds it weird that you consider 'nemo' (the single, the catchy song, the one made to appeal to the masses) to be the best song on this album and totally dismiss masterpieces like 'ghost love score' and 'the siren'? did you actually listen carefully to the whole album or did you just got sidetracked by the oh-to-long-creek mary's blood and forgot to pay attention to the following songs? and what's so oceanbornesque in 'planet hell'?
Land Of Doom - 25.10.2008 at 03:18  
Good Review And Good Album From Nightwish
Deadmeat - 14.05.2009 at 16:36  
Songs 1-4 and 6 are nice but the rest are much more worse... for the style-lovers i guess this is a decent album... form me, not so good...
Uirapuru - 06.06.2009 at 09:15  
The reviewer got everything right.. this album starts excellent but decay after the middle. The only good song from the second half of the CD is ''Ghost Love Score''.

With that in mind the rate seems pretty fair.
ErnilEnNaur - 13.07.2010 at 08:10  
It's always the overrated mediocre singles, that people love. Not the magnificent Ghost Love Score or The Siren or Greek Mary's Blood, freaking Nemo. How is anyone supposed to take such reviews seriously? God! This is like the guy who called The haunting the best song Kamelot ever made, when in reality it was probably the weakest song on The Black Halo.
BitterCOld - 14.07.2010 at 19:49  
Collin listens to nightwish collin listens to nightwish! /taunt
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.07.2010 at 20:41  
Written by BitterCOld on 14.07.2010 at 19:49

Collin listens to nightwish collin listens to nightwish! /taunt


*Joins in*
Collin listens to nightwish collin listens to nightwish! /taunt
vezzy - 14.07.2010 at 21:22  
Collin listened to Nightwish 6 years ago.
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.07.2010 at 21:27  
Written by vezzy on 14.07.2010 at 21:22

Collin listened to Nightwish 6 years ago.


He confided in me during a more emotional drunk moment that actually listens to them and still likes them a lot
vezzy - 14.07.2010 at 21:29  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.07.2010 at 21:27

Written by vezzy on 14.07.2010 at 21:22

Collin listened to Nightwish 6 years ago.


He confided in me during a more emotional drunk moment that actually listens to them and still likes them a lot


Ah, okay then.
Collin - 14.07.2010 at 22:56  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.07.2010 at 21:27

Written by vezzy on 14.07.2010 at 21:22

Collin listened to Nightwish 6 years ago.


He confided in me during a more emotional drunk moment that actually listens to them and still likes them a lot


And then we hugged, and then the rest is NSFW.
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.07.2010 at 23:00  
Written by Collin on 14.07.2010 at 22:56

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.07.2010 at 21:27

Written by vezzy on 14.07.2010 at 21:22

Collin listened to Nightwish 6 years ago.


He confided in me during a more emotional drunk moment that actually listens to them and still likes them a lot


And then we hugged, and then the rest is NSFW.


Yes, we hugged, we cuddled and we licked out each other's ears, etc etc. Nudge nudge wink wink say no more
Thryce - 14.07.2010 at 23:11  
Marcel likes Collin, Marcel likes Collin!
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.07.2010 at 23:12  
Written by Thryce on 14.07.2010 at 23:11

Marcel likes Collin, Marcel likes Collin!


You don't know the half of it
Angelic Storm - 14.07.2010 at 23:24  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.07.2010 at 23:00
Yes, we hugged, we cuddled and we licked out each other's ears, etc etc. Nudge nudge wink wink say no more


Monty Python fan eh? lol
The Shape 1973 - 15.07.2010 at 21:39  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.07.2010 at 23:12

Written by Thryce on 14.07.2010 at 23:11

Marcel likes Collin, Marcel likes Collin!


You don't know the half of it

..and I always thought you had feelings for me....I feel cheated....you rat.
vezzy - 15.07.2010 at 21:52  
Stay tuned for another episode of "A [G]Day in the Life of the Average Metalstormers".
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.07.2010 at 21:55  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 15.07.2010 at 21:39

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.07.2010 at 23:12

Written by Thryce on 14.07.2010 at 23:11

Marcel likes Collin, Marcel likes Collin!


You don't know the half of it

..and I always thought you had feelings for me....I feel cheated....you rat.


I also hold feelings for you dear. But at times I need some young meat instead of old. Having the two of you keeps it interesting for the three of us. One day I want pork pie and the other some froglegs in garlic sauce, simple as that.
The Shape 1973 - 15.07.2010 at 22:07  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.07.2010 at 21:55

Written by The Shape 1973 on 15.07.2010 at 21:39

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.07.2010 at 23:12

Written by Thryce on 14.07.2010 at 23:11

Marcel likes Collin, Marcel likes Collin!


You don't know the half of it

..and I always thought you had feelings for me....I feel cheated....you rat.


I also hold feelings for you dear. But at times I need some young meat instead of old. Having the two of you keeps it interesting for the three of us. One day I want pork pie and the other some froglegs in garlic sauce, simple as that.

But I want you to myself, my big teddy bear.

OK, this is getting weird now.
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.07.2010 at 22:09  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 15.07.2010 at 22:07

But I want you to myself, my big teddy bear.

OK, this is getting weird now.


you think so?
I think we''re just getting started. I wonder how long it will take before the three of us will freak everyone out
The Shape 1973 - 15.07.2010 at 22:13  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.07.2010 at 22:09

Written by The Shape 1973 on 15.07.2010 at 22:07

But I want you to myself, my big teddy bear.

OK, this is getting weird now.


you think so?
I think we''re just getting started. I wonder how long it will take before the three of us will freak everyone out

I'm afraid I have been cheating on you. Last week I was in Spain watching the world cup final in a town square with 300 Spaniards.
InnerSelf - 15.07.2010 at 22:14  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.07.2010 at 22:09

Written by The Shape 1973 on 15.07.2010 at 22:07

But I want you to myself, my big teddy bear.

OK, this is getting weird now.


you think so?
I think we''re just getting started. I wonder how long it will take before the three of us will freak everyone out


Mission Accomplished

the Spam Lords are on a Gay spree
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.07.2010 at 22:16  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 15.07.2010 at 22:13


I'm afraid I have been cheating on you. Last week I was in Spain watching the world cup final in a town square with 300 Spaniards.


And let me guess you were supporting them as well?
The Shape 1973 - 15.07.2010 at 22:20  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.07.2010 at 22:16

Written by The Shape 1973 on 15.07.2010 at 22:13


I'm afraid I have been cheating on you. Last week I was in Spain watching the world cup final in a town square with 300 Spaniards.


And let me guess you were supporting them as well?

You like pork pie, I like chorizo sausage. Oh-er!

@InnerSelf there is room for one more lover.
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.07.2010 at 22:26  
If it's any consolation I feel extremely uncomfortable right now. Like you just walked in on your parents. With a goat. Called Mandy.
The Shape 1973 - 15.07.2010 at 22:30  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 15.07.2010 at 22:26

If it's any consolation I feel extremely uncomfortable right now. Like you just walked in on your parents. With a goat. Called Mandy.

She is a good girl that Mandy, really knows how to "kid" around.
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.07.2010 at 22:30  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 15.07.2010 at 22:26

If it's any consolation I feel extremely uncomfortable right now. Like you just walked in on your parents. With a goat. Called Mandy.



How the hell do you know my goat is called Mandy?
InnerSelf - 15.07.2010 at 22:32  
Some are getting a bit shy and actually stoped posting seems like Mandy was a bit to weird
The Shape 1973 - 15.07.2010 at 22:36  
Mine's called Barbara.
vezzy - 15.07.2010 at 22:42  
That was an excellent episode. Ratings are getting ever higher!
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.07.2010 at 22:43  
Sorry I can't reply, I'm too busy giving myself a DIY lobotomy... girble flop brong *dribble*

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Nightwish - Once 5.5 05.10.2007 by Katatronik
Albums Nightwish - Once 4.5 01.05.2010 by PsychoJuggler
News Nightwish - Live Concert Streaming Online This Friday 3 16.10.2007 by priit
Albums Nightwish - Oceanborn 3 24.12.2009 by Ellrohir
Melodic metal forum Nightwish (Singel) Amaranth 3 07.07.2007 by



Hits total: 11153 | This month: 91