Rating:
9.1
A Forest Of Stars - The Corpse Of Rebirth
1 September 2008


01. God
02. Female
03. Male
04. Earth And Matter
05. Microcosm


A Forest Of Stars is not your average run-of-the-mill Black metal band. Coming from the UK, they have that typical British attitude with them of class, high-tea, bowler hats and walking-canes. Ok, that's probably stereotyping and generalizing too much, but if I'd have to give it a place in history I'd place it in the nineteenth century, in a scene similar to that described in for example "The Picture Of Dorian Gray", by Oscar Wilde. Take that and morph it into Black metal and you'll probably get A Forest Of Stars.

Mister Curse (vocals), Katheryne, Queen of the Ghosts (violin, flute and vocals), The Gentleman (synths, pianoforte and drums) and Mr T.S. Kettleburner (guitars, bass, vocals), as they call themselves, have crafted a fine piece of not-so-ordinary Black metal. "The Corpse Of Rebirth", their first full-length, is chockfull with top-notch, sophisticated music. The violin dominates the mood with its sad, weeping sound while the howling and despaired vocals give the sound an extra melancholic touch. That's not where it stops though, not at all. During the song "Female" they do not sound melancholic at all, but instead evoke a very evil and malicious atmosphere and in the song "Earth And Matter" the drums suddenly become the main focus of the sound and the mood shifts to a ritualistic and entrancing ambience. The last song, "Microcosm", is just plain beautiful. These are the strengths of this album, the experimental approach combined with great songwriting, enhanced by a good production.

As for references, it is impossible to pinpoint it down to one or two bands, as it definitely has its own sound and it wouldn't surprise me if the members rarely listen to Black metal themselves. Fans of Deinonychus, Bethlehem and the Peaceville Death/Doom trio will probably like this. As will everyone that likes his Black metal the experimentation/Avant-garde way. Do keep in mind the sound has a heavy violin-focus, if that instrument puts you off you may want to look somewhere else.

All in all "The Corpse Of Rebirth" contains five tracks which together span over an hour, a very extensive and detailed booklet (so I'm told, I only have the promo copy unfortunately), great Black metal with unique and interesting twists: sounds like one hell of a deal to me.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: A Forest Of Stars
Album: The Corpse Of Rebirth


 



Written on 03.11.2008 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 31  
Users visited: 307  
Search this topic:  


BestMetalstormer - 03.11.2008 at 15:21  
Sound interesting with violin, flutes adding to the music. Im interested in these instruments but just witnessed not so many bands using it in black metal.
Lucas - 03.11.2008 at 15:30  
You should definitely check it out
annodomini - 03.11.2008 at 16:17  
BRILLIANT :O in some ways in reminds me some folk of american, blues or something... So unexpectible music. Stuning beuty.
Bas - 03.11.2008 at 16:36  
"During the song "Female" they do not sound melancholic at all, but instead evoke a very evil and malicious atmosphere"
good, women are evil and malicious after all!


but i think this BM might be interesting for me as well, i'll try to get my hands on it
Lucas - 03.11.2008 at 16:38  
Wow, never expected this band to be so, well, popular i guess. 3 comments in one day is a new record for my reviews, lol
Mr. Doctor - 03.11.2008 at 16:39  
I read that this was limited to 100 copies.... FUCK

This music is exactly what I was waiting for so much time... Metal that it's actually elegant.

Awesome music, really glad to hear it.
Lucas - 03.11.2008 at 17:01  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.11.2008 at 16:39

I read that this was limited to 100 copies.... FUCK

This music is exactly what I was waiting for so much time... Metal that it's actually elegant.

Awesome music, really glad to hear it.


It is re-released on tape (300) and in digipack (Canadian label - http://transcendentalcreations.com/)
Mr. Doctor - 03.11.2008 at 17:07  
Written by Lucas on 03.11.2008 at 17:01

Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.11.2008 at 16:39

I read that this was limited to 100 copies.... FUCK

This music is exactly what I was waiting for so much time... Metal that it's actually elegant.

Awesome music, really glad to hear it.


It is re-released on tape (300) and in digipack (Canadian label - http://transcendentalcreations.com/)


Oooohhh man, thanks a lot. 12.... dollars? euros? what?
How much will the freight btw?

And now that I'm hearing it... it's kinda sick at times... the vocals are crazy. They remains me a little [very little] of Shining mixed with Lifelover... but maybe I'm just deaf.
John Barleycorn - 03.11.2008 at 17:11  
Great album, the song titles are a bit pretentious though But so is the music and I love it, especially the first song. This definitely belongs to my favourites from 2008.
I would praise it even more but don't know how, I'm really shitty in describing music.
Lucas - 03.11.2008 at 17:12  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.11.2008 at 17:07

Oooohhh man, thanks a lot. 12.... dollars? euros? what?
How much will the freight btw?


Send them an e-mail.

Quote:
And now that I'm hearing it... it's kinda sick at times... the vocals are crazy. They remains me a little [very little] of Shining mixed with Lifelover... but maybe I'm just deaf.


I heard some Shining too, but mostly Deinonychus/Bethlehem.
Mr. Doctor - 03.11.2008 at 17:35  
Written by Lucas on 03.11.2008 at 17:12

I heard some Shining too, but mostly Deinonychus/Bethlehem.


Aaaah, yeah... Bethlehem.. that was the name I was searching for. But somehow I could only think about Shining
Inlé - 03.11.2008 at 20:18  
This is a great album, listened to it several times in the last few months.

You can definitely see why this band are getting (deserved) attention.
-DC-002- - 03.11.2008 at 21:06  
Sounds interesting. The cover at first looks like a mug of beer or something of that nature
TheBigRossowski - 04.11.2008 at 19:33  
Great review man! Looks like you definitely got people checking out the album! I've spun that thing so many times now, I couldn't even count the times any more. Another album that it's easier to pick the least good song than the best song (that song being 'Male').

I have a different cover on my album though, was this the first release or what?
Frija - 04.11.2008 at 20:40  
Great album, one of my favorites. I'd recommend it to anyone who likes music on the more obscure side.
enumaelis - 04.11.2008 at 20:49  
But... 9/10 in production? I'm listening to it right now.. and it's too high rate, I think
Lucas - 04.11.2008 at 23:09  
Written by TheBigRossowski on 04.11.2008 at 19:33

I have a different cover on my album though, was this the first release or what?


This is the version on the re-relase. You probably have the re-release by Trancendal Creations (or the other way around).
Lucas - 04.11.2008 at 23:13  
Written by enumaelis on 04.11.2008 at 20:49

But... 9/10 in production? I'm listening to it right now.. and it's too high rate, I think


If I were a prog reviewer, i would rate production according to crystal clearness. But I'm not, I review Black metal and other sick stuff and so a dirtier, rawer production usually gets high ratings from me (if it matches the music/atmosphere).

I found this production very fitting and great sounding, and also a lot better than what I'm used to. So on one side, yes I do think this production is worth a 9, but on the other side, i might not be used to better (and neither is the black metal audience).
Kulu - 05.11.2008 at 22:06  
Well, I agree. Production is very good on this album. Black Metal bands very often try to create some kind of an atmosphere. So I do think they succeeded. As far as the songwriting, I really liked the first track. It was the one that really caught my attention (after the first listen). And it also reminded me of Drudkh a little. I think that originality is bit overrated though. However, I am not ready to grade this album yet. I also think that the title is weird unless there is some concept behind it (I haven't read the lyrics).
Thryce - 27.11.2008 at 16:08  
Very intriguing album. A great discovery for sure.
4look4rd - 12.12.2008 at 20:28  
Im listening to "Female" on their website and for some reason it sounds like Devil Doll went Black Metal....

Very interesting band, Ill try to get a hold of the entire album
Kulu - 20.12.2008 at 08:04  
Can somebody tell me why the cover of the album has changed when it's viewed in the band's discography?
Lucas - 20.12.2008 at 13:33  
Written by Kulu on 20.12.2008 at 08:04

Can somebody tell me why the cover of the album has changed when it's viewed in the band's discography?


Yeah, I got the new cover art from the label (the old one wasn't it apparently). Changed it on the albums page and thought it would also change here, but apparently it didn't. So I changed it manually. You should see the new one now, if not, alt+ f5 (cache refresh).
Mr. Doctor - 20.12.2008 at 21:04  
Written by 4look4rd on 12.12.2008 at 20:28

Im listening to "Female" on their website and for some reason it sounds like Devil Doll went Black Metal....

Very interesting band, Ill try to get a hold of the entire album


Jajaja... Thanks.. Now I know that I'm not insane!
I thought the same thing. It's not the same sound and genre at all. But the atmospheres "a la 19th century" are similar.
I, The Quatropus - 03.01.2009 at 00:52  
This is such an amazing album. One of the best ones to come out of 08.
Elio - 20.03.2009 at 13:29  
Niced album, nothing more. Maybe I'll change my mind after many more listens
THE_BLACK_GOD - 22.04.2009 at 18:39  
Quote:
Fans of Deinonychus, Bethlehem and the Peaceville Death/Doom trio will probably like this

yes Im absolutely agree with you, and I have to say that this is a very nice album. good work for their first album and I think they cant release somthin like this again. its very unique. their first track is unbelievalby nice with a arabic theme. I can hear an instrument which is like "Daf", I dont know what you call it. its very unique and it reminds me near by south of Iran's folk music. its like a circle but I dont know if its the exact instrument over here or not.
but I have to say that the artwork sux for sure. 0 for it.
Konrad - 30.04.2009 at 19:51  
I always find myself listening to the second half of God. That riffing combined with the vocals is just killer. This band needs more recognition (although that is perhaps their fault...)
Italics - 31.03.2010 at 04:33  
The songs are pretty interesting until the "vocalist" comes in. I mean, I've heard some interesting black metal "singing" before... but man, this guys cracking, pre-pubescent vocals take cheesy to a whole new level. Neat music, though.
lord artan - 31.05.2011 at 10:51  
Great album...i love it
Fritillaria - 09.12.2012 at 17:11  
Well your review motivated me get this album ASAP

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums A Forest Of Stars - The Corpse Of Rebirth 9 09.12.2012 by Night Sight
Reviews A Forest Of Stars - Opportunistic Thieves Of Spring 7.5 04.06.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Hyadningar - The Weak Creation 4.5 09.11.2009 by silenius
Reviews The Dead - Ritual Executions 4.5 16.11.2010 by Daggon
Reviews Phazm - Cornerstone Of The Macabre 4.5 06.01.2009 by Mr. Doctor



Hits total: 8510 | This month: 49