Rating:
9.4
Septicflesh - Communion
17 March 2008


01. Lovecraft's Death
02. Anubis
03. Communion
04. Babel's Gate
05. We The Gods
06. Sunlight Moonlight
07. Persepolis
08. Sangreal
09. Narcissus
10. Anubis [Orchestral version][Japanese bonus]


So the big deal is done! Septic Flesh are back! Reunited and with a new name - Septicflesh - they offer the music world a great experience: "Communion"! A powerful release with many great songs. Once more, the band proved that it never repeats itself. Comparing it with previous releases it's easy to see that this is the most brutal! Now let's analyze it all a bit.

Communion consists of nine tracks, which can all be your favorite. A big variety of melodies, tempos and generally different types of songs, gives you many reasons to love the album. "Lovecraft's Death", "Communion" and "Babel's Gate" are three very fast and atrocious songs which will surely help you to headbang 'til you can't continue. There is no lack of melody or atmosphere (the operatic effects are made from the Orchestra Of Prague - there's a choir made of 80 musicians and 32 singers). From "Anubis", "We The Gods", "Sunlight Moonlight" and "Sangreal" you can choose your favorite song of the album as they are more melodic and will excite you from the first time you'll listen them. "Persepolis" talks about Persia and it's destruction after being burned. In the middle of that song some Greek lyrics appear, describing in a poetic style, the decay that was made in the city. "Narcissus", the last song, is the weakest part on that album (compared to the other tracks). It has a slower tempo and is the most melodic song. Nevertheless, it includes one of two solos in the album (there's one more on "Babel's Gate"). Septicflesh wrote great solos in the past and it's a pity that Communion hasn't got many.

As far as the lyrics are considered, the main subject is mythology. The music perfectly combines with the lyrics (which are very well written and express perfectly the feeling of that time). Only one song declines from the theme of mythology. "Sunlight Moonlight" describes the phenomenon of getting up and seeing yourself lying on the bed like being dead. Technically, the music is on a very good level and the drumming is one of the highlights of the album! The production is magnificent and makes the result really brutal, without losing the atmospheric style which is the bands trademark. Sotiris Vayenas, the second singer, returns on the clean vocals position, after a pause on the "Summerian Daemons" album, and helps the growling vocals of Spiros Antoniou to create a haunting/ghastly feeling to the listener. Everyone will find another favorite track just because they are all exceptional. In my opinion "Sunlight Moonlight", "Babel's Gate", "Lovecraft's Death" and "Anubis" are the best songs.

In conclusion, I simply order you (!) to buy this album, which is a great comeback of an amazing band. Communion is a must and you must have it! This release is almost perfect. Watch out, though, because you must give it time to grow inside you. When it starts growing though it will never stop...

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 10


Band profile: Septicflesh
Album: Communion


 


written by Deadmeat | 20.11.2008


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 36  
Users visited: 383  
Search this topic:  


xska - 20.11.2008 at 17:32  
They didn't change name, he said that in interview.
Deadmeat - 20.11.2008 at 18:22  
Written by xska on 20.11.2008 at 17:32

They didn't change name, he said that in interview.

The meaning may be the same but they write it Septicflesh now. You can see it on their Myspace of their site...
Katatronik - 20.11.2008 at 21:08  
One of my favourite albums of 2008, and absolutely my favourite SepticFlesh ever... amazing come-back!
massacra - 26.11.2008 at 10:30  
Written by Deadmeat on 20.11.2008 at 18:22

Written by xska on 20.11.2008 at 17:32

They didn't change name, he said that in interview.

The meaning may be the same but they write it Septicflesh now. You can see it on their Myspace of their site...


"Septic" and "Flesh" are commons words and its wise decision to join it by making one "SepticFlesh". It will make easier to find on Google
CreeperDeath - 25.12.2008 at 11:42  
Well my torrents was easier with Septic Flesh ^^ But I may buy those album, I think I missed something without listened to this band ! And the album is nothing I've heard so much good since I love Cradle, Dimmu and Siebenburgen
necromayhem13 - 04.01.2009 at 00:35  
AWESOME ALBUM SEPTICFLESH RULES:banger2::banger2::banger2:
Paradox0 - 25.01.2009 at 23:54  
GREAT album. The drumming and the choir/keyboards are definetly the best part. The drumming just seems to mainbtain that sense of dread throughout the whole album while sometimes going into advante-guarde rhythms, such as "we are the Gods". My only real complaint is that the songs tend to get a lil' reptetetive, as they kind of repeat the same rhythms a little too much in the songs, although almost every song strands out from each other. Overal just a great thrilling album. 8/10
In Bone Factory - 02.03.2009 at 09:49  
Its a good album.
Anyway the song : "Persepolis" is bothering my nationality sense.
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.03.2009 at 10:18  
Written by In Bone Factory on 02.03.2009 at 09:49


Anyway the song : "Persepolis" is bothering my nationality sense.



Why?

Is it bothering your nationalistic pride? I can't see it bothering your nationality tbh.
You are from Isfahan I see I would say... be happy that someone sings about the great place Presepolis is. (yes I have been to Isfahan and Persepolis)
In Bone Factory - 02.03.2009 at 10:46  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.03.2009 at 10:18

Written by In Bone Factory on 02.03.2009 at 09:49


Anyway the song : "Persepolis" is bothering my nationality sense.



Why?

Is it bothering your nationalistic pride? I can't see it bothering your nationality tbh.
You are from Isfahan I see I would say... be happy that someone sings about the great place Presepolis is. (yes I have been to Isfahan and Persepolis)

yes.but its about destroying and making the palace into ash and take women as slaves.
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.03.2009 at 11:11  
Written by In Bone Factory on 02.03.2009 at 10:46

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.03.2009 at 10:18

Written by In Bone Factory on 02.03.2009 at 09:49


Anyway the song : "Persepolis" is bothering my nationality sense.



Why?

Is it bothering your nationalistic pride? I can't see it bothering your nationality tbh.
You are from Isfahan I see I would say... be happy that someone sings about the great place Presepolis is. (yes I have been to Isfahan and Persepolis)

yes.but its about destroying and making the palace into ash and take women as slaves.


I read the lyrics and see it as a description of what happened at the time.
Dominus - 02.03.2009 at 17:14  
Great album! one of the best of the 2008.
Mosquiller - 09.03.2009 at 23:53  
"You have conquered / The capital of orient
Display your power / And make your enemies weep
DESTROY THEY PRIDE / The jewel of the desert
As they once destroyed / Our temples for their king"

"Burn this city to the ground
Take a torch and spread the fire"

Persepolis / Now a pile of dust
A blackened carcass / A land of ash

Persepolis / You lost your crown
Persepolis / Burned to the ground

Consumed by hate / Ablaze by pride
Persepolis / Naked as the sand



Seeking for another revenge?
Deadmeat - 10.03.2009 at 07:28  
Written by Mosquiller on 09.03.2009 at 23:53

"You have conquered / The capital of orient
Display your power / And make your enemies weep
DESTROY THEY PRIDE / The jewel of the desert
As they once destroyed / Our temples for their king"

"Burn this city to the ground
Take a torch and spread the fire"

Persepolis / Now a pile of dust
A blackened carcass / A land of ash

Persepolis / You lost your crown
Persepolis / Burned to the ground

Consumed by hate / Ablaze by pride
Persepolis / Naked as the sand



Seeking for another revenge?

maybe it is just their point of view to what happened then... also those phrases, because of the quotation marks, seem to be told by someone else.
Mosquiller - 10.03.2009 at 21:13  
Written by Deadmeat on 10.03.2009 at 07:28

Written by Mosquiller on 09.03.2009 at 23:53

"You have conquered / The capital of orient
Display your power / And make your enemies weep
DESTROY THEY PRIDE / The jewel of the desert
As they once destroyed / Our temples for their king"

"Burn this city to the ground
Take a torch and spread the fire"

Persepolis / Now a pile of dust
A blackened carcass / A land of ash

Persepolis / You lost your crown
Persepolis / Burned to the ground

Consumed by hate / Ablaze by pride
Persepolis / Naked as the sand



Seeking for another revenge?

maybe it is just their point of view to what happened then... also those phrases, because of the quotation marks, seem to be told by someone else.

mehh... 300, alexander, too many books and movies and now this song
we kinda get used to it you know, but I DO SHIT ON SUCH POINT OF VIEWSSSSS

no offence; i like greece and greeks.
Hamird - 12.03.2009 at 19:49  
Written by Mosquiller on 10.03.2009 at 21:13

Written by Deadmeat on 10.03.2009 at 07:28

Written by Mosquiller on 09.03.2009 at 23:53

"You have conquered / The capital of orient
Display your power / And make your enemies weep
DESTROY THEY PRIDE / The jewel of the desert
As they once destroyed / Our temples for their king"

"Burn this city to the ground
Take a torch and spread the fire"

Persepolis / Now a pile of dust
A blackened carcass / A land of ash

Persepolis / You lost your crown
Persepolis / Burned to the ground

Consumed by hate / Ablaze by pride
Persepolis / Naked as the sand



Seeking for another revenge?

maybe it is just their point of view to what happened then... also those phrases, because of the quotation marks, seem to be told by someone else.

mehh... 300, alexander, too many books and movies and now this song
we kinda get used to it you know, but I DO SHIT ON SUCH POINT OF VIEWSSSSS

no offence; i like greece and greeks.


Tip: Destroying Persepolis by Alexander was an answer to what Xerxes' had done before to Acropolis..

If you want to be concerned about every Metal lyrics, then you'll find 90% of them totally bullshit. So don't take it so serious.. If you say the movie Alexander is a kind of propaganda, yes it would be, because that's for multi. But how many people around the world are familiar with Septicflesh? That wouldn't hurt..
As I may write lyrics titled Xerxes raped Spartan's queen.. You see that wouldn't hurt, would it?
Varegan - 22.03.2009 at 03:05  
I think we (Iranians) must create such metal songs about our glorious victories... our songs will be countless!!!
Go Forth Or Die - 31.03.2009 at 04:36  
They are a great band im definitley looking forward to future releases from them.
khazokhil00 - 03.05.2009 at 20:49  
Written by Hamird on 12.03.2009 at 19:49

Written by Mosquiller on 10.03.2009 at 21:13

Written by Deadmeat on 10.03.2009 at 07:28

Written by Mosquiller on 09.03.2009 at 23:53

"You have conquered / The capital of orient
Display your power / And make your enemies weep
DESTROY THEY PRIDE / The jewel of the desert
As they once destroyed / Our temples for their king"

"Burn this city to the ground
Take a torch and spread the fire"

Persepolis / Now a pile of dust
A blackened carcass / A land of ash

Persepolis / You lost your crown
Persepolis / Burned to the ground

Consumed by hate / Ablaze by pride
Persepolis / Naked as the sand



Seeking for another revenge?

maybe it is just their point of view to what happened then... also those phrases, because of the quotation marks, seem to be told by someone else.

mehh... 300, alexander, too many books and movies and now this song
we kinda get used to it you know, but I DO SHIT ON SUCH POINT OF VIEWSSSSS

no offence; i like greece and greeks.


Tip: Destroying Persepolis by Alexander was an answer to what Xerxes' had done before to Acropolis..

If you want to be concerned about every Metal lyrics, then you'll find 90% of them totally bullshit. So don't take it so serious.. If you say the movie Alexander is a kind of propaganda, yes it would be, because that's for multi. But how many people around the world are familiar with Septicflesh? That wouldn't hurt..
As I may write lyrics titled Xerxes raped Spartan's queen.. You see that wouldn't hurt, would it?

khazokhil00 - 03.05.2009 at 20:54  
Fucking amazing album...When they can do a great song like SANGREAL, I wonder what are the guys looking for in song" PERSEPOLIS" ? Musically, I have to say a superb album and it deserves 9 stars.
Loathera - 10.05.2009 at 09:44  
I love the big epic sound on the album. fucking incredible, the layering, all that shit. can't get enough.
Elio - 19.06.2009 at 16:27  
Very good album, it's a shame I found it out only now. I think I'll get the other album that has a nice average too.
Ragana - 10.10.2009 at 21:59  
I decided to give this album a second chance to prove itself. In the beginning I didn't like it at all. I mean, NO song seemed great for me but now I can definitely say that "Anubis" sounds great (well, for now I keep listening to it over and over).
Funny but I thought there was a different artwork for this album or I just dreamed about it.

Ah, yes, this was a truly well-written review. Most of the time I read reviews diagonally ('cause usually there's nothing concrete or there's just uninteresting stuff) but this time I read it fully and found it laconic but pretty informative, so I liked it.
InnerSelf - 01.11.2009 at 11:53  
Yesterday I got this album
and its freakin good , nice atmosphere and great lyrics
the orchestral parts are perfectly placed and the vocals are also nice
It is actually my first SepticFlesh album , I wonder what I'm missing
Maxx666 - 06.12.2009 at 17:55  
Best album by Greeks
Mr. Doctor - 10.01.2010 at 22:25  
Written by Ragana on 10.10.2009 at 21:59

Funny but I thought there was a different artwork for this album or I just dreamed about it.


Your post is quite old so I don't know if it's necessary to answer your question but oh well.
The limited digipack has a different artwork, which is better imo
Dark Blood - 18.07.2010 at 12:04  
I just discovered this recently, and I'm completely sold out. These guys know what they're doing, great atmosphere and lyrics. So nice that I found this... better late than never lol.
dodstink - 13.08.2010 at 15:40  
Persepolis (music) keeps SF always making hymns.
MechanisT - 02.10.2010 at 12:39  
Killer album! I really love the haunting ambience, the symphonic elements blend beautifully with something as brutal as death metal, which I didn't think was possible. The only letdown was the last track, which felt out of place and and plain annoying. Other than that, truly awesome album!
fosi - 31.10.2010 at 12:37  
Awesome!!!
serega25 - 06.11.2010 at 21:49  
- great album!!!
Tetravirulence - 30.05.2011 at 17:33  
Septicflesh knows where to put the symphony parts and how to use it on songs parts, they utilize this very well, they just seem to know it!
BeastOfMetal456 - 01.09.2011 at 04:43  
Originality 9?!
Man, I've never heard this type of music before. Symphonic Death Metal.....Septicflesh are the innovators and pioneers of this genre.
!J.O.O.E.! - 01.09.2011 at 05:43  
Written by Guest on 01.09.2011 at 04:43

Originality 9?!
Man, I've never heard this type of music before. Symphonic Death Metal.....Septicflesh are the innovators and pioneers of this genre.

Pretty sure Therion beat Septicflesh as the pioneers of this style, and that was a long time ago.
Deadmeat - 01.09.2011 at 09:01  
Written by Guest on 01.09.2011 at 04:43

Originality 9?!
Man, I've never heard this type of music before. Symphonic Death Metal.....Septicflesh are the innovators and pioneers of this genre.

i am happy for septicflesh if the conflict is between the "9" and the "10"...
Evil Chip - 17.09.2011 at 18:10  
This reminds me of God of War. Anyways brilliant band.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Septicflesh - Communion 4.5 13.08.2010 by dodstink
News Septicflesh - Finish New Album Recordings 3 30.01.2014 by MechanisT
Reviews Six Feet Under - Haunted 3 14.06.2009 by Uirapuru
News Septicflesh - Reveal New Album Title 3 04.01.2011 by Veljko?
Albums Septicflesh - The Great Mass 3 11.10.2010 by



Hits total: 7334 | This month: 79