Rating:
9.5
Shape Of Despair - Angels Of Distress
2001


01. Fallen
02. Angels Of Distress
03. Quiet These Paintings Are
04. ...To Live For My Death...
05. Night's Dew


I wonder if anybody's ever gonna beat Shape Of Despair as far as heaviness and slowness are concerned... Seldom have I heard something slower than Angels Of Distress. Slower than that would be going backwards. Shape Of Despair or the art of playing riffs that last four minutes each... Now I know what funeral doom is supposed to be.

Angels Of Distress is actually almost an instrumental album, enhanced with ethereal female vocals and occasional growls scattered here and there. The singers are great but they're of course not the main interest. What we damned metalheads who fell in the doom cauldron (not long ago in my case) like in Shape Of Despair is their ability to create North Pole-like atmospheres. The intro of the album, 'Fallen', and its six minutes of brain-crushing yet subtle riffs says it all. Majestic keyboards, surreal female vocals,yearning violins and eventually some growlings who come to spit all the sadness of the world to your face, you get the idea, this is ice-cold beauty we are talking about, full of emotions and eager to bury every poor lost soul that dares venture in these barren moors, the kind of beauty that since then has inspired bands llike Swallow The Sun for example.

For the song 'Angels Of Distress', take the same recipe, add some more relentlessly depressing violins, and get ready for the next masterpiece. 'Quiet These Paintings Are' is indeed the central piece of the album, the final solution against all forms of happiness, joy and love. It's the kind of song that defines a whole genre. The melancholic keyboards, the weeping violins and the sorrowful vocals are all lost in an ocean of sadness and despair... The highlight of the album and one of the best songs I've ever heard. Finally, 'Night's Dew' is the only 'fast' song here, an excellent mid-paced instrumental to close wonderfully the album.

So before my soul dies, these are my last words: Shape Of Despair is now one of the best doom bands around. Angels Of Distress is simply an almost perfect album, a must-have for doom fans. For everybody. It is unique.


Band profile: Shape Of Despair
Album: Angels Of Distress


 


written by Collin | 21.07.2004



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 149  
Search this topic:  


Lucas - 26.05.2006 at 17:29  
Agreed with every word. That album is breathtaking. One of my all time favourites.

Good job, Deadsoulman!
Lokomotiv - 27.05.2006 at 19:33  
This is probably my favourite Doom Metal album... it's perfect, very beautiful and blood-chilling.
heresiarch - 27.05.2006 at 22:45  
Excellent review. I give 10 points to this album

In a word perhaps the best funeral doom album
Krankheit - 02.06.2006 at 17:26  
Great album. Beautiful and depressive.
Basso - 18.07.2006 at 19:44  
Incredible album.... love it
Damnated - 18.07.2006 at 21:21  
Nevr heard such beauty in music before.
DragonSlayer - 14.10.2006 at 18:26  
This album is the reason why I like doom.
Vulture - 27.04.2007 at 00:08  
This is the best funeral doom album I have ever heard! Perfect.
All that sadness can lead you to crying and breaking down. Fantastic.
Passenger - 29.08.2007 at 14:41  
The best album ever.
velvet - 03.01.2008 at 14:50  
Superb. Finally something that I can say is as good as Longing For Dawn's ' A treacherous Ascension'. Amazingly realised album!
Mr. Doctor - 23.12.2008 at 23:18  
I finally got it and listened to it just now.

Woow... Just woow.
This music was crushing, so cold and so beautiful. I never heard music that was like this before. This albu is unique. I recommend it to everyone no matter the genre they are into. This album is art!

The moment the album ended I felt so cold and I didn't want to leave my bed... I was so astonished to move.
Shadowcross - 08.04.2009 at 21:48  
Perfect. One of the best albums I have ever heard.
Maxx666 - 31.07.2009 at 22:03  
It killed my soul and buried me deep in an abyss of despair.Best funeral doom i've heard
ideosincrasy - 12.10.2009 at 21:57  
Great album, i especially love the songs Quit These Paintings Are and Night's Dew!
That are my all time favorite songs
advent - 06.02.2010 at 13:58  
What can i say ...... this is perfection to me

so sad they didn't released any album for almost 6 years
Builtforsin88 - 24.03.2010 at 09:01  
Grim,depressive, but so fucking great!
Abattoir - 23.07.2012 at 21:41  
Written by Guest on at 02:00

Quiet these paintings are has to be the best song my ears have heard

A peak of creation on this album.
LordHypnos - 02.10.2012 at 04:05  
Great review. This album is perfect and completely unpredictable! I love songs filled with depression, there's something so special on them that I can't describe in only one word...
cobrapel - 30.11.2012 at 23:41  
That's incredible!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Shape Of Despair - Angels Of Distress 7.5 27.07.2013 by Erik M.
Reviews Shape Of Despair - Shades Of... 5.5 09.02.2008 by heresiarch
Extreme metal forum Shape of Despair 4.5 18.05.2006 by Estix
News Shape Of Despair - EP Cover Artwork Revealed 4.5 11.08.2010 by Vitriolic Hate
Albums Shape Of Despair - Shades Of... 4.5 02.03.2013 by mz



Hits total: 4537 | This month: 53