Rating:
7.7
Blotted Science - The Machinations Of Dementia
18 September 2007


01. Synaptic Plasticity
02. Laser Lobotomy
03. Brain Fingerprinting
04. Oscillation Cycles
05. Activation Synthesis Theory
06. R.E.M.
07. Night Terror
08. Bleeding In The Brain
09. Vegetation
10. Narcolepsy
11. E.E.G. Tracings
12. Sleep Deprivation
13. The Insomniac
14. Amnesia
15. Adenosine Breakdown
16. Adenosine Buildup


Blotted Science is an instrumental metal outfit consisting of guitarist Ron Jarzombek (famous for quite a number of other projects apparently, but as I'm not familiar with any of them I can't compare this CD to his other outputs) Alex Webster (Cannibal Corpse) and drummer Carlie Zeleny (Behold…The Arctopus).

It is hard to label Machinations Of Dementia with a certain musical style but what I can say for sure that it's technically over the top! If you still want a genre attachment other than "very progressive and technical" I'd say this album is more thrash metal than anything else, with some death metal elements too. But I doubt it matters much, as instrumental music which relies on technicality to the absolute max it doesn't sound like "just" thrash metal anyway. The music just sounds like a long row of different guitar and bass guitar solos and riffs stitched together and undermined with some very technical death metal drumming.

One of the things that make this CD great to me are the song titles. Something that should usually be the most unimportant thing about music but which gains a lot of importance through the lack of lyrics in this case. The titles all relate to brain physiology, psychological methods and sleep psychology. These being subjects that greatly interest me on a personal level the music, which usually fits perfectly to the title conjure up a lot of imagery in my mind. For example Vegetation (a vegetative state is a state in which the person is theoretically awake, but without any awareness whatsoever, you can imagine a guy just sitting in a chair all day staring at a point on a blank wall not reacting to anything that happens around him) is a short, dreamy and tranquil part in which not much happens at all, Narcolepsy (a condition in which the affected person can suddenly fall asleep during any time of the day (in bad cases)) is a mainly hectic piece with short dreamy intervals throughout the track, then it continues its hectic pace.

Technically this album is pretty much flawless and if you like technical instrumental stuff you should go for this one without second thought! But for me the main flaw of this CD is its length. Without offering much diversity it clocks in at 57 minutes. 40 minutes would have been a perfect length in my opinion and this would have tripled the re-listen value for me. As it is I might listen to this album for twenty minutes or half an hour from time to time, but I don't see myself sitting through the whole thing over and over, for what it is it's simply too long for me.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: Blotted Science
Album: The Machinations Of Dementia


 


written by Bas | 15.01.2009



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 231  
Search this topic:  


K†ulu - 15.01.2009 at 23:46  
Great review. Mentioning the titles in the way you did made me wanna listen to this album again and analyze and research the music and how the song names go with it.
MetalManic_Joel - 15.01.2009 at 23:50  
I agree with you on the length issue. I have listened to this album quite a few times. it would be more if it were not for the length.
A much shorter instrumental release by an artist (not to undercut your review) is 'Tears and Smiles' by Neverending Story. It clocks in at around 38 minutes. Not too short, not too long. I put it up against this album. An enjoyable listen but not quite as wowing in the technical department. Check it out
Opethian - 16.01.2009 at 05:16  
Alex Webster actually Plays Bass for Once LMFAO, but really good stuff right here
Introspekrieg - 16.01.2009 at 05:49  
Agreed... just a great all around performance
Bas - 16.01.2009 at 19:30  
Written by K†ulu on 15.01.2009 at 23:46

Great review. Mentioning the titles in the way you did made me wanna listen to this album again and analyze and research the music and how the song names go with it.

well the whole topic is just something that interests me really much so of course i had no other option but mentioning it
naturally the songs are only loosely based on the subjects, but it gives all the tracks a bit of extra "personality" in my opinion

Written by MetalManic_Joel on 15.01.2009 at 23:50

I agree with you on the length issue. I have listened to this album quite a few times. it would be more if it were not for the length.
A much shorter instrumental release by an artist (not to undercut your review) is 'Tears and Smiles' by Neverending Story. It clocks in at around 38 minutes. Not too short, not too long. I put it up against this album. An enjoyable listen but not quite as wowing in the technical department. Check it out

yeah usually instrumental albums have a harder time fully grasping the listener to begin with and are easily discarded as "background music" which really isn't fair to the musicianship in this case!
so i also think around 40 (35-45) minutes would have been a more appropriate length
Dane Train - 16.01.2009 at 19:49  
I am going to have to check this album out, sounds like something I'd really dig.
K†ulu - 16.01.2009 at 20:00  
Written by Dane Train on 16.01.2009 at 19:49

I am going to have to check this album out, sounds like something I'd really dig.

Well, Dane, it sounds a lot like Death Metal, but without vocals. I don't really agree that it's Progressive Metal, but anyways it's worth checking out.
Dane Train - 19.01.2009 at 17:43  
Written by K†ulu on 16.01.2009 at 20:00

Written by Dane Train on 16.01.2009 at 19:49

I am going to have to check this album out, sounds like something I'd really dig.

Well, Dane, it sounds a lot like Death Metal, but without vocals. I don't really agree that it's Progressive Metal, but anyways it's worth checking out.


I just got it and really love it. It is very similar to Behold... The Arctopus.
ioannisk - 29.01.2009 at 20:33  
This album is soooooo sick! one of the best instrumental albums i've ever heard!!!!!!! this should be teached in music schools!!!!!
MLSilbernagel - 05.03.2009 at 20:56  
I disagree with the review, as this is one of the most innovative albums in the last century in terms of pure virtuosity and experimentation. The avant garde style that Charlie Zeleny brings is remarkable, and when mixed with the complex and dizzying songwriting of the music, the result is one of the most musically relevant albums in the entire metal genre. There's so much music theory behind this.
BudDa - 13.11.2009 at 16:02  
Yeah, its abit too long. I also don't c myself sitting through the whole thing. Actually, thats not true. I pretty much only listen to Laser Lobotomy these days. Oh, and I also agree with Ioannisk..
K†ulu - 14.11.2009 at 09:09  
I listened to a few songs in total darkness last night and I finally realized how these guys wrote music. The music itself tells the story; no lyrics needed. Wow, this album opens up in a different way to me.
AnEpicDeath - 08.02.2010 at 08:49  
Written by K†ulu on 16.01.2009 at 20:00

Written by Dane Train on 16.01.2009 at 19:49

I am going to have to check this album out, sounds like something I'd really dig.

Well, Dane, it sounds a lot like Death Metal, but without vocals. I don't really agree that it's Progressive Metal, but anyways it's worth checking out.


Death metal is definitely a large, large element in the mix here (which is not surprising considering Webster and Zeleney's backgrounds), and I disagree with the reviewer's classification as thrash, but it is also certainly progressive. The time-sigs are absolutely insane (and fluidly changing) throughout and tempo changes abound, so this is thoroughly progressive by the definition. It also bears a lot of elements commonly associated with prog metal, such as extreme technicality, frequently changing passages and concepts, staccato passages, the use of alternate scales, key shifts, sophisticated hi-hat and cymbal work, linear drumming, nonconventional snare placement, and occasional ambiance.
AnEpicDeath - 08.02.2010 at 08:51  
Written by ioannisk on 29.01.2009 at 20:33

This album is soooooo sick! one of the best instrumental albums i've ever heard!!!!!!! this should be teached in music schools!!!!!


And you should be "teached" in grammar schools.
ioannisk - 09.02.2010 at 01:30  
May i have a cup of tea mr AnEpicDeath???? jeez...
Introspekrieg - 08.05.2010 at 21:37  
Written by MLSilbernagel on 05.03.2009 at 20:56

I disagree with the review, as this is one of the most innovative albums in the last century in terms of pure virtuosity and experimentation. The avant garde style that Charlie Zeleny brings is remarkable, and when mixed with the complex and dizzying songwriting of the music, the result is one of the most musically relevant albums in the entire metal genre. There's so much music theory behind this.


I couldn't tell if this was sarcasm or not until I looked at your rating... you definitely sound like a prog fan.

A little music theory from Ron:


Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Blotted Science - The Machinations Of Dementia 9 03.09.2011 by Mehdi Taba
Albums Blotted Science - The Animation Of Entomology 6 13.01.2011 by Introspekrieg
News Blotted Science - New Video Online 4.5 18.10.2011 by Pandabeer
Reviews Inchoate - IV: The Revenant 4.5 08.06.2009 by The Shape 1973
Reviews Gwyllion - The Edge Of All I Know 4.5 17.05.2009 by dismaleuphony



Hits total: 5079 | This month: 32