Slipknot - All Hope Is Gone review



Reviewer:
8.5

616 users:
7.23
Band: Slipknot
Album: All Hope Is Gone
Release date: August 2008


01. .execute.
02. Gematria (The Killing Name)
03. Sulfur
04. Psychosocial
05. Dead Memories
06. Vendetta
07. Butcher's Hook
08. Gehenna
09. This Cold Black
10. Wherein Lies Continue
11. Snuff
12. All Hope Is Gone
13. Child Of Burning Time [bonus]
14. Vermillion Pt. 2 [Bloodstone Mix] [bonus]
15. 'Til We Die [bonus]


After Slipknot's first two albums blew us away with their high level of sheer violence, their third album "The Subliminal Verses" had evolved to a much more melodic and mature sound, but still keeping much of that brutality that Slipknot is (was) praised for. It's safe to say that their fourth release "All Hope Is Gone" continues that path. It's still Slipknot, yet it's very,very different to the work that first made them famous.

Indeed, many elements stay the same: guitars still sound blunt and strange, just like Slipknot we all know and love. Drumming is still the one of the best I've ever heard, thanks to mister Joey that is maybe the best drummer that I know off. Corey is back too, with his usual mixture of brutal shouting vocals and an amazing singing voice that is something simply brilliant. Everyone else is here as well, all nine of them. The DJ Sid who spins his disks to make the needed special effects, Chris and Shawn for an extra drumming edge, the good old crew.

It's hard to conclude what is so different about this album from the text so far. While many things stay the same, Slipknot's music is no longer something that makes you want to go out and beat someone senseless (with the exception of a couple tracks). Indeed, now it's much more mature and somewhat more mainstream.

There are a few tracks I really have to mention separately, like "Psychosocial" that has an incredible mix of brutal riffs and Corey's beautiful singing. "Dead Memories" is the slowest non-ballad song on the album, it's pretty catchy, Corey's singing is simply great and it even has power chords (???). And, lastly, who can forget "Germantia (The Killing Name)" and "All Hope Is Gone" that sound just like that Slipknot's early works?

I know that this description was somewhat vague, but believe me that it's really not easy to explain what kind of music this is. "All Hope Is Gone" is a strange mixture of a little bit of everything that someone will love completely, yet others will hate with the same intensity. If you never liked Slipknot, there is a good chance that this one will make you like them, and if you are a fan of their early work, well, you have as much chance liking it as hating it.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9

Written by Slayer666 | 06.02.2009


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments page 3 / 3

Comments: 74   Visited by: 291 users
16.12.2011 - 20:49
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Angelic Storm on 16.12.2011 at 20:47
So reading his views on it now a couple of years on was very refreshing.

That's exactly what prompted my question in the first place. I wanted to see if he managed to avoid being corrupt by the rest of us.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
16.12.2011 - 21:00
Angelic Storm
Melodious
Quote:
Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.12.2011 at 20:49
So reading his views on it now a couple of years on was very refreshing.

That's exactly what prompted my question in the first place. I wanted to see if he managed to avoid being corrupt by the rest of us.


Ahhh....

It definitely wouldn't have surprised me at all had he decided to blast the album now, in fact the answer he gave was way more surprising, which I think says an awful lot. It actually reminded me a lot of my own attitude towards the bands I grew up with, particularly the "gateway" bands. I don't think my tastes in metal ever really changed, they merely expanded, as I liked more bands and sub-genres as I explored metal further. But the bands I loved when I first discovered metal, I still love, and I'm waaay older than Slayer666.
Loading...
16.12.2011 - 21:10
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
I firmly believe that the internet is not merely reflecting what already is (while not wrong that's a huge oversimplification) but an integral force in creating new kinds of personality. The internet is an entirely new social construct which has brought about new social identities amongst people that didn't exist before it. It's completely logical to surmise that the kind of bodiless interaction that occurs over the internet is more or less unprecented in human history, and completely different to physical interaction. It's no secret that many people spend more time online than off and their personalities are shaped accordingly. Psychologically speaking its totally different than just mirroring past attitudes. It's not just a need to fit in that's being manipulated, it's also the reprogramming of yourself in being convinced that something is fact (like Slipknot is shit).
Loading...
16.12.2011 - 21:11
Void Eater
Crunkcore Fan
It is true. Slipknot are musical geniuses whose music has the power and passion to part the seas and flood the earth, and who are only disliked by those damn TRVE KVLT ELITISTS, who definitely exist in huge numbers and have massive influence on the musical tastes of others, who only listen to bedroom black metal demos limited to 666 demos on black viyl and 333 coppies on red goat blood vinyl signed by the artist, Nekrocunt666. I pray for the day that the world opens their eyes and places Slipknot on par with the classical composers in the days of yore, for they will end up being the musical voice of the millenium; an international treasure.
----
Loading...
16.12.2011 - 21:34
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Void Eater on 16.12.2011 at 21:11
It is true. Slipknot are musical geniuses whose music has the power and passion to part the seas and flood the earth, and who are only disliked by those damn TRVE KVLT ELITISTS, who definitely exist in huge numbers and have massive influence on the musical tastes of others, who only listen to bedroom black metal demos limited to 666 demos on black viyl and 333 coppies on red goat blood vinyl signed by the artist, Nekrocunt666. I pray for the day that the world opens their eyes and places Slipknot on par with the classical composers in the days of yore, for they will end up being the musical voice of the millenium; an international treasure.

The site will implode from sarcasm overload in 3...2...
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
16.12.2011 - 21:44
Angelic Storm
Melodious
Written by Guest on 16.12.2011 at 21:10

I firmly believe that the internet is not merely reflecting what already is (while not wrong that's a huge oversimplification) but an integral force in creating new kinds of personality. The internet is an entirely new social construct which has brought about new social identities amongst people that didn't exist before it. It's completely logical to surmise that the kind of bodiless interaction that occurs over the internet is more or less unprecented in human history, and completely different to physical interaction. It's no secret that many people spend more time online than off and their personalities are shaped accordingly. Psychologically speaking its totally different than just mirroring past attitudes. It's not just a need to fit in that's being manipulated, it's also the reprogramming of yourself in being convinced yourself that something is fact (like Slipknot is shit).


What new kinds of personality do you think the internet is creating? To me, the internet shines a beacon and spotlight on the most unsavoury, and extreme aspects of humanity. It's easier to coccoon yourself from that offline, whilst it's extremely difficult to do online. I think anonymity of the internet is a major reason for this, as many people behave and act in ways that they may think twice about, or even not do at all, when not online. But the reprogramming and manipulating of mindsets is hardly unique to the modern computer age. The internet merely makes those things much easier to do, and almost as a matter of course in some quarters.

@Void Eater: Grow up...
Loading...
16.12.2011 - 21:48
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Angelic Storm on 16.12.2011 at 21:44
...

You guys should take that question to a new topic. I think it would make for a good serious discussion, but not in a Slipknot review thread.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
16.12.2011 - 21:49
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Angelic Storm on 16.12.2011 at 21:44

What new kinds of personality do you think the internet is creating? To me, the internet shines a beacon and spotlight on the most unsavoury, and extreme aspects of humanity. It's easier to coccoon yourself from that offline, whilst it's extremely difficult to do online. I think anonymity of the internet is a major reason for this, as many people behave and act in ways that they may think twice about, or even not do, when not online. But the reprogramming and manipulating of mindsets is hardly unique to the modern computer age. The internet merely makes those things much easier to do, and almost as a matter of course in some quarters.

Personalities that allow of a total abandonement of the physical self. Where one's online identity is a polar opposite of the real self. Do you think 99% of internet arseholes are anything like that in real life? You get people who troll and insult over the internet that in real life wouldn't dream of treating someone that way. I can think of nothing else in history which gives a person that kind of skewed, personal reality. For that reason alone internet personas should be regarded as something new.
Loading...
16.12.2011 - 21:50
Angelic Storm
Melodious
Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.12.2011 at 21:48

Written by Angelic Storm on 16.12.2011 at 21:44
...

You guys should take that question to a new topic. I think it would make for a good serious discussion, but not in a Slipknot review thread.


That's a fair point. I would be happy to continue this discussion in a more appropriate thread, but it probably has gone a bit too far off-topic for this thread.
Loading...
17.12.2011 - 11:24
Slayer666
Written by Angelic Storm on 16.12.2011 at 20:47

The predictable answer would have been to rubbish his own review


Actually, looking back at it now, it does deserve to be rubished. It's quite poorly written and not very informative. The album deserves a better review, fo' sho'.
Loading...
17.12.2011 - 11:49
Angelic Storm
Melodious
Written by Slayer666 on 17.12.2011 at 11:24
Actually, looking back at it now, it does deserve to be rubished. It's quite poorly written and not very informative. The album deserves a better review, fo' sho'.


I think you're being a bit harsh on yourself there. And considering you were probably just 14 or 15 at the time the review was written, I''ve seen far worse writing in reviews from people much older. Sure, you can get better, but I think you have the makings of a good reviewer.

Anyway, I wasn't really meaning you rubbishing your writing and grammatical content of the review, rather your opinion of the band and album. The fact you still feel more or less the same way about them now, is what I found refreshing.
Loading...
26.06.2012 - 17:44
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Void Eater on 16.12.2011 at 21:11

who only listen to bedroom black metal demos limited to 666 demos on black viyl and 333 coppies on red goat blood vinyl signed by the artist, Nekrocunt666.


You love my demos.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
27.06.2012 - 00:12
Void Eater
Crunkcore Fan
Written by Boxcar Willy on 26.06.2012 at 17:44

Written by Void Eater on 16.12.2011 at 21:11

who only listen to bedroom black metal demos limited to 666 demos on black viyl and 333 coppies on red goat blood vinyl signed by the artist, Nekrocunt666.


You love my demos.

You have potential, young one.
----
Loading...
27.06.2012 - 00:36
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Void Eater on 27.06.2012 at 00:12

Written by Boxcar Willy on 26.06.2012 at 17:44

Written by Void Eater on 16.12.2011 at 21:11

who only listen to bedroom black metal demos limited to 666 demos on black viyl and 333 coppies on red goat blood vinyl signed by the artist, Nekrocunt666.


You love my demos.

You have potential, young one.

Oh, I guess you missed it, When I quoted you, I changed my User to Nekrocunt666.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...

Hits total: 8632 | This month: 16