Rating:
9.0
Cattle Decapitation - The Harvest Floor
20 January 2009


01. The Gardeners Of Eden
02. A Body Farm
03. We Are Horrible People
04. Tooth Enamel & Concrete
05. The Ripe Beneath The Rind
06. The Product Alive
07. In Axetasy
08. Into The Public Bath
09. The Harvest Floor
10. Regret & The Grave


Cattle Decapitation used to be a very mediocre band, yes I'm just being honest, "Humanure" and "To Serve Man" were the equivalent (in terms of functionality) of your scrotum while having sex, yeah it's fun if you play with it for a while, but what you really want is a lethal dosage of intense penetration and gore…well, you get the idea.

Along comes Death Metal with its groovy riffs and catchy structures, all of a sudden Cattle Decapitation became a very decent act in 2006, but now, with this new album, they are one of the most interesting bands in the scene. I kid you not young padawan; "The Harvest Floor" is the actual intercourse in our primary sex scene, I can't get enough of it, and it gets better with each spin.

Now, many people used to love this band for their sloppy style of Goregrind, too bad for them because the sloppiness is long gone, fortunately for the rest of us they are now a solid and intricate ensemble. And while I don't approve to use the bitch from Swans to add layers and melody (I mean let's face it, we're expecting non-stop growls and gurgles, not a girl singing skillfully) it works with the new formula, it ends up sounding quite fascinating…cheesy for a Death Metal album…but interesting none the less.

So anyway, I highly recommend this piece, it's actually the first album I've heard from 2009 and I'm already smiling. Finally Cattle Decapitation managed to sound heavier and more complex than Animals Killing People, the vocals, the anti-human lyrics, the pro-animal propaganda, the gore…add some naked chicks in there and it could be the perfect album for my taste, but you can't always get what you want right?


Band profile: Cattle Decapitation
Album: The Harvest Floor


 


written by Herzebeth | 19.02.2009



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 36  
Users visited: 281  
Search this topic:  


iaberis - 19.02.2009 at 20:39  
I have to check these niggas, I love their eco style
Mr. Doctor - 19.02.2009 at 20:47  
Written by iaberis on 19.02.2009 at 20:39

I have to check these niggas, I love their eco style


Lol... that's exactly why I don't pay much attention to this guys. The music is nice though, but I would't buy something fro them I think.

But the animal-thing going on is boring as hell... I already know some vegetarian people that annoys the shit out of me... I respect them though... but still. This guys are just that kind of people in my eyes...
iaberis - 19.02.2009 at 20:48  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.02.2009 at 20:47

Written by iaberis on 19.02.2009 at 20:39

I have to check these niggas, I love their eco style


Lol... that's exactly why I don't pay much attention to this guys. The music is nice though, but I would't buy something fro them I think.

But the animal-thing going on is boring as hell... I already know some vegetarian people that annoys the shit out of me... I respect them though... but still. This guys are just that kind of people in my eyes...

MEAT IS MURDER!
lol
Mr. Doctor - 19.02.2009 at 20:51  
Written by iaberis on 19.02.2009 at 20:48

MEAT IS MURDER!
lol


LOL... well, that really maked me laugh.

But not like I'm a meat-lover bastard. And it's ok that people want to give their opinions...
But there's a line between telling about your opinions... and being annoying.
And I had the "pleasure" to meet a lot of those people.
iaberis - 19.02.2009 at 20:53  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.02.2009 at 20:51

But not like I'm a meat-lover bastard. And it's ok that people want to give their opinions... But there's a line between telling about your opinions... and being annoying.

Seriously, I find their themes much more enjoyable than bands singing about satanism and how evil they are sodomizing each other...
Fat & Sassy! - 19.02.2009 at 20:54  
I like the singer from Swans, so I'll definitely check this out. And she's not a bitch... she's just a little moody.:P
Mr. Doctor - 19.02.2009 at 21:02  
Written by iaberis on 19.02.2009 at 20:53

Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.02.2009 at 20:51

But not like I'm a meat-lover bastard. And it's ok that people want to give their opinions... But there's a line between telling about your opinions... and being annoying.

Seriously, I find their themes much more enjoyable than bands singing about satanism and how evil they are sodomizing each other...


I agree on that ...

A little mor eon topic.. I don't hear Jaboe on the tracks I heard so far... Can someone tell me which ones?
AiwiAstwihad - 19.02.2009 at 21:45  
I'd planned to get Karma.Bloody.Karma to start with, but after reading this review, have to check The Harvest Floor first...
to hear:
"A corpse is still a corpse, of course we dine with no remorse"



Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.02.2009 at 20:51

...And I had the "pleasure" to meet a lot of those people.

Well, Well, Well...Is that so? eh, I guess i'm one of them....
Elio - 19.02.2009 at 21:59  
I agree that they totally sucked in the past, but I think this is an average/almost good album aswell. Brutal Death is not my genre and this is better than the new Cannibal Corpse but still not a 9. My two cents
Herzebeth - 19.02.2009 at 22:05  
You guys come on...don't judge this band for their past albums. For shizzle my nizzle this album is friggin doodening supps and stuff...
silenius - 19.02.2009 at 22:42  
Im a meat lover, seriously is there anything better than a cold one and a bug fucking well done piece of meat?:D Refreshing and kickass album thou
silenius - 19.02.2009 at 22:42  
Big dammit BIG*
Visioneerie - 19.02.2009 at 22:49  
Death metal reviews like these are in other words a plead for me to get out and find a new job, so i can finally buy a new album. A guy from Mexico posting this bad ass review just might do the trick, thanks Herzebeth dude.
Sunioj - 19.02.2009 at 23:23  
I actually liked this album quite a bit. The vocals kinda make me lol for some reason, but they fit it.

But.. who gives a shit about their message, its not like you can actually hear what they're singing about. Just don't pay attention to it if you don't like it. The music is quite entertaining.
Ozman - 20.02.2009 at 02:16  
Why the hell are people whining about this band's lyrics? Come on you don't whine about totally stupid lyrics like Cannibal Corpse's.
HardSide - 20.02.2009 at 02:34  
Personally there last albums were not that great, but you never let me down Herz, so ill give them a try.
-Morbid- - 20.02.2009 at 02:50  
"And while I don't approve to use the bitch from Swans to add layers and melody..."

That made me lol.

I been meaning to check this album out, I liked "A Body Farm" quite a bit, but haven't been able to find it in any shops around here.
LeChron James - 20.02.2009 at 07:54  
Interesting way to put Cattle Decap's starting out. good review. i'll probably check it out even though i think Cattle Decap are a buncha PETA nazis.
Dangerboner - 20.02.2009 at 07:58  
I'd say this is one of their best albums, but I like them all, especially the first two EP's.
mankvill - 20.02.2009 at 08:19  
This album is crazy. In the best way possible.

My favorite 2009 release so far.
Herzebeth - 20.02.2009 at 17:34  
Lol...how come everybody hates vegans all of a sudden?

Besides:

a)Their lyrics hardly talk about eating fresh vegetables or tomatoes, their lyrics are actually anti-humanity stuff...nothing about vegan cooking or "don't eat meat" propaganda.

b)Let's say they add a lentils soup recipe in their lyrics...what's the big deal? Their music and the vocals are fucking insane, no matter what they are saying beneath all the gurgles and shit...at least this album is really fucking amazing.
deadbraincells - 20.02.2009 at 23:54  
I know a lot of people give this band shit for their vegan viewpoint, and while I am certainly not a vegan (animals are very tasty and good for you in my experience, especially when grilled and enjoyed with a cold beer) I took the time to read the PETA handbook 'Animal Liberation' by Peter Singer and can at least see where they are coming from, and actually agree with some of it. But it's like someone before me said, you can't make out a damn thing they are saying so what difference does it make?

Karma.Bloody.Karma was a nice surprise - I've been listening to The Harvest Floor for a few weeks and it's even better.
MetalManic_Joel - 21.02.2009 at 00:51  
Written by Ozman on 20.02.2009 at 02:16

Why the hell are people whining about this band's lyrics? Come on you don't whine about totally stupid lyrics like Cannibal Corpse's.


I second that
Daggon - 04.03.2009 at 05:44  
Written by MetalManic_Joel on 21.02.2009 at 00:51

Written by Ozman on 20.02.2009 at 02:16

Why the hell are people whining about this band's lyrics? Come on you don't whine about totally stupid lyrics like Cannibal Corpse's.


I second that


Agreed.

Well I've been reading many Herzebeth's reviews and I can say that they are great and many times I find myself headbanging with some albums he recommended so I think I'll be checking this album sooner or later but surely I will give it a chance. As always, great review Herz.
ThunderAxe1989 - 11.04.2009 at 06:52  
I'm gonna get this album when I go to the U.S. in acouple days.
I love this band and I love how they're Vegan
ThunderAxe1989 - 18.04.2009 at 11:12  
I got it days ago and I'm streaming it now.....it's sort of the same as the last offering....i dunno which one I gove priority to though.
But I like it
Maxx666 - 13.01.2010 at 20:04  
Best Grindcore of 2009.hands down.
midland_don - 02.02.2010 at 15:45  
Written by Maxx666 on 13.01.2010 at 20:04

Best Grindcore of 2009.hands down.


Yep, I love this. It gets my vote. And totally agree that they were boring before, but this one and 'Karma...' are genius.
Slinky666 - 16.12.2011 at 05:35  
The artwork is intriguing and lyrics are not far off.
Iskander - 15.03.2012 at 16:59  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.02.2009 at 20:51

Written by iaberis on 19.02.2009 at 20:48

MEAT IS MURDER!
lol


LOL... well, that really maked me laugh.

But not like I'm a meat-lover bastard. And it's ok that people want to give their opinions...
But there's a line between telling about your opinions... and being annoying.
And I had the "pleasure" to meet a lot of those people.


believe me, i've been a vegetarian/vegan for over 12 years now and meateaters are just as annoying most of the time. every time some meateating person learns about my diet, they'll start a debate, either bashing my views or somehow (but not really) agreeing with it. the latter are much worse, to be honest, at least the former aren't hypocrites... allthough i have heard every pro and con argument a thousand times by now, i really don't need to discuss this every few days (especially not with someone who usually hasn't really thought things through. not saying that's the case with everyone who eats meat, but definitely the majority of those i have met).

about the album... i'll admit i first bought it primarily because i agree with their message (in the broad sense... i wouldn't call myself anti-human). what a pleasant surprise when i found out that this stuff is actually worth every penny i spent!
Mr. Doctor - 15.03.2012 at 19:29  
Written by Iskander on 15.03.2012 at 16:59
comment


Do you realise you just quoted something I wrote THREE years ago? Needless to say I don't care about the subject anymore, they could be writing about killer clowns for all I care now.

I'll sum up my point of view with one of my favorite tshirts:
Meat is Murder
Tasty, tasty murder

Because I have the balls to say that I love meat and that I'm aware of what it does imply. Some people who half agree with you aren't hypocrites, you are wrong with that. This subject is clarly not black&white.
Many meatlovers are fully aware of the conditions some animals suffer before they die which is horrible and I think most meatlovers would agree that the animals deserve a better condition of living before dying.

That's pretty much it tbh, I would like the animals to have a good life before their death (which is why I try to get stuff like, let's say eggs from chickens that aren't in a cage) and I don't think that's hypocrisy.... It's very easy to toss that word around without knowing what it implies.
Iskander - 15.03.2012 at 20:18  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 15.03.2012 at 19:29

Written by Iskander on 15.03.2012 at 16:59
comment


Do you realise you just quoted something I wrote THREE years ago? Needless to say I don't care about the subject anymore, they could be writing about killer clowns for all I care now.

I'll sum up my point of view with one of my favorite tshirts:
Meat is Murder
Tasty, tasty murder

Because I have the balls to say that I love meat and that I'm aware of what it does imply. Some people who half agree with you aren't hypocrites, you are wrong with that. This subject is clarly not black&white.
Many meatlovers are fully aware of the conditions some animals suffer before they die which is horrible and I think most meatlovers would agree that the animals deserve a better condition of living before dying.

That's pretty much it tbh, I would like the animals to have a good life before their death (which is why I try to get stuff like, let's say eggs from chickens that aren't in a cage) and I don't think that's hypocrisy.... It's very easy to toss that word around.


haha, i didn't realise it actually... i'm pretty new on metalstorm and i like to check out what people have to say about albums i like when i'm bored. sorry for that "message from the past".

you're right, many meatlovers who "half agree" with me aren't hypocrites (my girlfriend eats meat and she half agrees with me and obviously i don't have a problem with her). maybe "half agreeing" was the wrong choice of words (i guess "agreeing" implies actually having thought about the issue at hand)...

i was referring to those people (usually girls) who will tell you they don't eat that much meat either and that it's so cool that i have the willpower to not succumb to the temptation of the allmighty meat and that their favourite movie used to be bambi and that their cat sometimes seems so human... most of this stuff is either meaningless or simply not true, that's why i talked about hypocrisy. i understand why they do it, they just want to be nice and i appreciate it. but if you hear the same phrases over and over again, just because you ordered the falafel and not the shawarma... it's just annoying (possibly even more annoying than the vegetarian friends you mentioned... allthough some vegetarians can be pretty annoying, there's no doubt about it).

whatever, i wouldn't want to stretch this offtopicness... like i said, i've discussed all of this too many times. on top of that, you're only reading this because i was too dumb to check the date of your initial post and i don't like to waste people's time.
Mr. Doctor - 15.03.2012 at 20:23  
Written by Iskander on 15.03.2012 at 20:18
whatever, i wouldn't want to stretch this offtopicness... like i said, i've discussed all of this too many times. on top of that, you're only reading this because i was too dumb to check the date of your initial post and i don't like to waste people's time.


Oh yeah I understand your point better now... I would hate those kind of people too and I'm not even vegetarian hahahahah. I also dislike people who eat meat and enjoy but say they have a serious problem about eating organs because they say it's disgusting..... What the fuck?

Anyway, enough offtopicness and don't worry about the old quote, it happens to everyone. Enjoy the website.
Iskander - 15.03.2012 at 20:28  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 15.03.2012 at 20:23

Anyway, enough offtopicness and don't worry about the old quote, it happens to everyone. Enjoy the website.


Thanks!
Mr. Doctor - 15.03.2012 at 20:29  
Written by Iskander on 15.03.2012 at 20:28
Thanks!


De nada
Big-Al - 11.04.2012 at 15:33  
I'm a pescetarian and I support Cattle Decapitation.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Cattle Decapitation - The Harvest Floor 9 13.01.2010 by Dangerboner
Reviews Cattle Decapitation - Karma.Bloody.Karma 7.5 26.02.2007 by Dangerboner
Reviews Cattle Decapitation - To Serve Man 7.5 14.12.2006 by Dangerboner
News Cattle Decapitation - Enter The Studio 6 01.08.2008 by Entropy
News Cattle Decapitation - Enters The Studio 6 16.01.2012 by 3rdWorld



Hits total: 6795 | This month: 39