Rating:
7.8
Cannibal Corpse - Evisceration Plague
3 February 2009


Disc I [CD]
01. Priests Of Sodom
02. Scalding Hail
03. To Decompose
04. A Cauldron Of Hate
05. Beheading And Burning
06. Evidence In The Furnace
07. Carnivorous Swarm
08. Evisceration Plague
09. Shatter Their Bones
10. Carrion Sculpted Entity
11. Unnatural
12. Skewered From Ear To Eye
13. Skull Fragment Armor [limited edition bonus]

Disc II [DVD] [limited edition bonus]
+ Hour-long "making of" video


Well, I've found that Cannibal Corpse is like pop-corn. Yes, pop-corn. You go to the movies and the only thing you know it's going to taste like heaven is pop-corn; pop-corn has that special "you know what" thing that makes everything worthwhile right? Even when the variables are sucky you know something good will come out of your bag of pop-corn, even when the movie sucks donkey dick, even if your date didn't show up, even if there's an annoying old lady talking shit during the climax of the film…even if some kid spits on your knee, you'll always have your greasy and tasty pop-corn waiting for you on the palm of your hand.

Turns out the band sounds just like it did when Chris Barnes left in 1995, it's not a bad thing though, but they keep delivering the same recipe just with better musicianship. I mean, it's like ordering pepperoni pizza every single time you go to a restaurant; even if they add blue cheese instead of mozzarella, sooner or later you'll find yourself tired of the same oily thing…and you'll be really freaking fat for eating insane amounts of pepperoni…

In the end, "Evisceration Plague" works greatly; I wish we were living in 1991 to say this album is the greatest thing ever released in the genre, but sadly we're not, it's 2009 already, and we are currently listening to Pig Destroyer, Circle of Dead Children and many other bands with insanely fast, technical and/or extreme music…so it is what it is, this CD is a good piece, just that.

Maybe I'm not explaining myself correctly, this album is a great addition if you have a decent Death Metal collection, it has explosive tracks and violent music, "Scalding Hail" has to be one of the most insane songs the band has released in ages, and the lyrics in "Evidence in the Furnace" are a PERFECT tribute to early Cannibal Corpse. But songs like "A Cauldron of Hate" or "Evisceration Plague" are just, well, boring.

So, to sum things up, Cannibal Corpse is like pop-corn, "Evisceration Plague" is just like a good movie, and if Alex Webster does not stop using mid-paced riffs in his songwriting, we'll soon find an album called "Apocalyptica Plays Cannibal Corpse By Four Cellos"…or worse, Paul Anka could release a Cannibal Corpse tribute…or in the worst case scenario, Erik Rutan could produce their album and he could do a crappy job adding echoes and reverbs to the voice of Chris Barnes…oh wait…crap!


Band profile: Cannibal Corpse
Album: Evisceration Plague


 


written by Herzebeth | 20.02.2009



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 31  
Users visited: 420  
Search this topic:  


sq_xeper - 21.02.2009 at 03:06  
Ok, this album doesnt have the incredible aggression, technical precision and fast brutality than Kill has, but to me its not just another CC album, it has the song dinamics of Gore Obssessed and the awesome sound of Kill (thanks to Erik Rutan). It has some brutal songs like Scalding Hail, Beheading and Burning and some killer riffs like Shatter Their Bones and Carnivorous Swarm, George's hurried growls and heartbreaking screams are incredible. Overall Evisceration Plague its a great record, you dont get bored easily and I think that stands between the bests of CC albums
Elio - 21.02.2009 at 15:27  
your review > the album
Mr. Doctor - 21.02.2009 at 18:22  
Written by Elio on 21.02.2009 at 15:27

your review > the album


I second that... I love the part about the pizza and getting fat.

But yeah, good album... But at this time, it could be better.
Elio - 21.02.2009 at 19:25  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.02.2009 at 18:22

Written by Elio on 21.02.2009 at 15:27

your review > the album


I second that... I love the part about the pizza and getting fat.

But yeah, good album... But at this time, it could be better.


Nope, the pop corn metaphor was better xD
K†ulu - 21.02.2009 at 20:05  
Actually the part about Apocalyptica is great too if not the best... however, who am I to say? I've never listened to CC. The allusion is great anyway.
Mr. Doctor - 21.02.2009 at 20:20  
Written by Elio on 21.02.2009 at 19:25

Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.02.2009 at 18:22

Written by Elio on 21.02.2009 at 15:27

your review > the album


I second that... I love the part about the pizza and getting fat.

But yeah, good album... But at this time, it could be better.


Nope, the pop corn metaphor was better xD


Who cares... the review kicks ass anyway, I missed Herzebeth's funny comments.
Daggon - 21.02.2009 at 21:18  
This must be one of MS greatest reviews ever! I'm not a fan of CC but hey, That part of the pizza gives me a very clear idea of what you want to express.
Herzebeth - 21.02.2009 at 22:08  
Lol...thanks for the comments dudes.

I like the part about boobs a lot...uhm...wait there is no such part...damn, I'll surely add boobs in my next review
Abattoir - 21.02.2009 at 22:54  
Haha, nice written man In funny way but also totally true one. It's getting quite monotonous...
Mr. Doctor - 22.02.2009 at 02:02  
Written by Herzebeth on 21.02.2009 at 22:08

I'll surely add boobs in my next review


You must... You don't have any choices left
Talvi - 22.02.2009 at 04:09  
Shit I'm hungry now
Dangerboner - 22.02.2009 at 04:48  
Written by Talvi on 22.02.2009 at 04:09

Shit I'm hungry now

For milk?
Harlequin Devon - 22.02.2009 at 05:08  
Now I want some pepperoni pizza and popcorn. Maybe I'll get EP at some point too.
yosterdude - 22.02.2009 at 18:17  
Good old Herzebeth writes a masterpiece of a review, I enjoyed the album a whole lot but this review just makes me enjoy it more simply for the fact that Herzebeth was able to make me think of popcorn and pizza while I listen to it. Good job man, now I'm hungry as hell !
dancingdecember - 25.02.2009 at 11:16  
"Apocalyptica Plays Cannibal Corpse By Four Cellos"

settled then, best album of 2010.
Talvi - 26.02.2009 at 17:49  
Written by Dangerboner on 22.02.2009 at 04:48

Written by Talvi on 22.02.2009 at 04:09

Shit I'm hungry now

For milk?


Yes, but I was talking about the pop-corn
Arian Totalis - 26.02.2009 at 22:57  
Lolz. Yeah, I agree thoroughly. It sounds the same, except that songwriting is becoming slower.
Butters49 - 01.03.2009 at 07:08  
Title track is so good,
shut yo mouff
Herzebeth - 01.03.2009 at 20:38  
Written by Butters49 on 01.03.2009 at 07:08

Title track is so good,
shut yo mouff


Silence!!!...I'll Kill You.....
Butters49 - 02.03.2009 at 01:48  
I love the sweet introoooo,

so fack you
Uirapuru - 30.03.2009 at 05:32  
Written by Talvi on 22.02.2009 at 04:09

Shit I'm hungry now


Amazing how a review about an album of a gore-viceral-smashskull-brain-eater band can make people hungry.

Good album, great review.
Demonmayonnaise - 09.05.2009 at 07:47  
Written by Uirapuru on 30.03.2009 at 05:32

Written by Talvi on 22.02.2009 at 04:09

Shit I'm hungry now


Amazing how a review about an album of a gore-viceral-smashskull-brain-eater band can make people hungry.

Good album, great review.


You stole the words straight from my brain. How could anyone think about food while listening to CC? Shit, now Im thinking about food... dammit.
danielllewis - 24.05.2009 at 23:42  
I enjoyed this album a lot more than kill. I like CC's material with Chris better, but I still would have given this an 8.5

*goes to make popcorn*
Deadmeat - 12.10.2009 at 16:41  
Written by danielllewis on 24.05.2009 at 23:42

I enjoyed this album a lot more than kill. I like CC's material with Chris better, but I still would have given this an 8.5

*goes to make popcorn*

i agree here. this album is much better than kill. kill is said to be that good imo just because they did a big change in sound. and CC never do changes. so people liked this fact. this one has some weak moments. those mentioned by Herzebeth and the last 2 songs imo but all the other songs are very good.
METALVIKING107 - 02.11.2009 at 22:18  
I'm not a huge fan of CC but I actually got into this album. They've actually shown some musical growth upon the same formula of music for example: Slayer, Behemoth, Amon Amarth. They all have the same formula for their music but they continue to release even better stuff out it. This is a good review though it tells it like it is.
I didn't really like them live that much though, their drummer couldn't keep up a blast to save his life and it started sounding really bad since most of their drumming consists of blasts.
Deigrinder - 15.02.2010 at 09:14  
Herzebeth just can't stand any band except his fav bands....HE is an dUMB A**.........:devil:
thewall30 - 13.04.2010 at 17:03  
Haha I love the first paragraph! Great album...
soadbyob - 13.04.2010 at 17:49  
Honestly i loved this album, given CC has gotten softer over the years, but still it could be worse
BoxCar Willy - 22.10.2010 at 21:56  
Righting a reveiw on this album right now... lets just say its not a good rating... to say the least...
vezzy - 22.10.2010 at 21:59  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 22.10.2010 at 21:56

Righting a reveiw on this album right now... lets just say its not a good rating... to say the least...


And what a mighty accurate review that would be.
pkillerjp - 03.03.2014 at 20:48  
I like this album better than Kill as well, I actually think this one sticks out as one of their better ones with Corpsegrinder behind the vocals. The early Corpsegrinder albums tended to bore me quite a bit, this one just sticks out more with better songwriting.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Cannibal Corpse - Evisceration Plague 7.5 07.07.2010 by juspurfreakofnat
Events ESP, Madrid - Cannibal Corpse: European Plague Tour 4.5 14.10.2009 by Lamahe
Events ITA, Milan - Cannibal Corpse: European Plague Tour 4.5 16.10.2009 by Lamahe
Events GBR, Sheffield - Cannibal Corpse: European Plague Tour 4.5 26.08.2009 by Baz Anderson
Events ESP, Barcelona - Cannibal Corpse: European Plague Tour 4.5 03.09.2009 by AbdelioR



Hits total: 7825 | This month: 3