Rating:
9.3
Coroner - Mental Vortex
1991


01. Divine Step (Conspectu Mortis)
02. Son Of Lilith
03. Semtex Revolution
04. Sirens
05. Metamorphosis
06. Pale Sister
07. About Life
08. I Want You (She's So Heavy) [The Beatles cover]


Coroner is one of those Thrash Metal bands that got disbanded in the early nineties as a result of the overall decline in the scene. However this similarity with other bands of the genre is probably the only one because no one played like Coroner. Of course, there were other bands labeled as Technical Thrash, but not one of them was as cool as them, especially concerning the technical side itself. When this trio play, nothing is static; the music flows with so many changes that it's impossible to get bored.

Mental Vortex, the band's fourth album, is no exception. The music isn't extremely fast in the thrash meaning of it, but the songs are very catchy, and despite the frequent tempo and time signature changes, the sense of melody is definitely present, and songs sound structured. With Mental Vortex Coroner continued with the complex sound of No More Color and took it to even a more amazing level with superb songwriting. The solos are as always skillfully executed and are greatly written, and therefore fit into the songs just fine, not to mention their originality. Tommy T. Baron is one of the best Metal guitar players, both for his mastery of the guitar and great riffage. He is one of those overlooked guitar heroes that every Thrash fan should know, just like Coroner as a band. Markus Edelmann's grunts fit the music as well and are even classic in a way. The quality of recording as usually could be better, but the dark and a bit blurry production goes well with the vocals and atmospheres and themes of the songs. For instance, the beginning of "Metamorphosis" used to absolutely freak me out with its whale wails. Nevertheless the sound quality did become better overall. Mental Vortex can actually be considered the band's best album, and well-deserved I must say. This review wouldn't be full if I didn't mention the cover of The Beatles song "I Want You (She's so Heavy)." This is one of the two covers in Coroner's discography, both amazing pieces (the other one is a Jimi Hendrix song "Purple Haze"). The only thing I am going to say about it is that it's one of the best covers I've ever heard. Listen and see for yourself.

Mental Vortex is a Thrash classic like every other Coroner album basically is. If you are a Thrash fan, and have read to this point, get this album as soon as you can and share the message with those who haven't heard of Coroner and this album in particular. Hail to the true masters of Thrash!

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 8


Band profile: Coroner
Album: Mental Vortex


 


written by K†ulu | 10.03.2009


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 29  
Users visited: 145  
Search this topic:  


Ozman - 10.03.2009 at 00:47  
Nice review and i agree Coroner are overlooked and this album is brilliant.

But just to correct you... they have recorded more than two covers, besides covering Jimi Hendrix and The Beates they also covered D.A.F.'s Der Mussolini
K†ulu - 10.03.2009 at 06:58  
Thank you, but why not correct me during the proofreading stage? and you as usually dig good thrash, and that's why my review got published so quickly
Ozman - 10.03.2009 at 17:29  
Written by K†ulu on 10.03.2009 at 06:58

Thank you, but why not correct me during the proofreading stage? and you as usually dig good thrash, and that's why my review got published so quickly


I am asking myself the same question now. Me liking good thrash has noooothing to do with this review getting published that quickely
Thryce - 13.03.2009 at 16:41  
Very good album indeed. Most probably one of Coroner's best works, like you said. This is actually the album that got me into Coroner.
But of course the music isn't extremely fast since technical thrash is almost by definition more mid-paced.

It's just too bad you blew so much sunshine up their ass. By over-praising the album that much, the review kind of loses a certain amount of credibility.


PS: don't know if you know Watchtower yet. They might be worth your time too.
K†ulu - 13.03.2009 at 19:15  
Written by Thryce on 13.03.2009 at 16:41

Very good album indeed. Most probably one of Coroner's best works, like you said. This is actually the album that got me into Coroner.
But of course the music isn't extremely fast since technical thrash is almost by definition more mid-paced.

It's just too bad you blew so much sunshine up their ass. By over-praising the album that much, the review kind of loses a certain amount of credibility.


PS: don't know if you know Watchtower yet. They might be worth your time too.


I think it does deserve that high of a rating although I didn't think like this even a month ago. As far as Watchtower, I listened to Control and Resistance, and I remember that it's good, but probably not as good as Coroner, but thanks for reminding me about them; I should definitely listen to it again some time soon.

PS: did I really overpraise it that much? Doesn't it deserve it? Not all their album are as cool.
Dominus - 23.03.2009 at 17:57  
Cool album
keschte - 05.04.2009 at 12:04  
I absolutely concur, its one the best trash albums ever. you got something wrong there, still. its the bass player ron doing the vocals not marky the drummer: http://www.designvortex.com/coroner/players.htm
K†ulu - 05.04.2009 at 13:11  
Written by Guest on 05.04.2009 at 12:04

I absolutely concur, its one the best trash albums ever. you got something wrong there, still. its the bass player ron doing the vocals not marky the drummer: http://www.designvortex.com/coroner/players.htm

crap, that's a mistake... hmm... i somehow need to edit this... thanks for pointing out.
Rattlehead.cz - 13.05.2009 at 12:22  
I like Coroner and this album is great, but to be honest, I like more the previous three albums.
Best song for me is probably the first one, really amazing song, and I like the cover of Beatles as well.
In Bone Factory - 12.07.2009 at 17:56  
One the best thrash albums ever.
oh god forgive me coz i've just discovered this great band.16 years after their disbandation.so sad.
Maxx666 - 13.07.2009 at 21:55  
Really great album.They should be there in the teutonic thrash hall of fame along with kreator,sodom and destruction
Ozman - 13.07.2009 at 22:13  
Written by Maxx666 on 13.07.2009 at 21:55

Really great album.They should be there in the teutonic thrash hall of fame along with kreator,sodom and destruction


Why in the teuonic thrash hall of fame? They sound nothing like the big German three.
Okay, they don't play Bay Area Thrash either but also not Teutonic thrash.
If one wants to tag Coroner's brand of thrash it should be technical thrash metal and nothing else.
Mr. Doctor - 14.07.2009 at 16:19  
Written by Ozman on 13.07.2009 at 22:13

If one wants to tag Coroner's brand of thrash it should be technical thrash metal and nothing else.


Nah.. I would say "BRILLIANT Technical Thrash" suits them better.
Maxx666 - 14.07.2009 at 22:38  
Written by Ozman on 13.07.2009 at 22:13

Written by Maxx666 on 13.07.2009 at 21:55

Really great album.They should be there in the teutonic thrash hall of fame along with kreator,sodom and destruction


Why in the teuonic thrash hall of fame? They sound nothing like the big German three.
Okay, they don't play Bay Area Thrash either but also not Teutonic thrash.
If one wants to tag Coroner's brand of thrash it should be technical thrash metal and nothing else.

Yeah you got a point there:yes: I mean they are teutonic thrash in the sense that they came from countries neighbouring Germany::)
Ozman - 14.07.2009 at 22:43  
Written by Maxx666 on 14.07.2009 at 22:38

Written by Ozman on 13.07.2009 at 22:13

Written by Maxx666 on 13.07.2009 at 21:55

Really great album.They should be there in the teutonic thrash hall of fame along with kreator,sodom and destruction


Why in the teuonic thrash hall of fame? They sound nothing like the big German three.
Okay, they don't play Bay Area Thrash either but also not Teutonic thrash.
If one wants to tag Coroner's brand of thrash it should be technical thrash metal and nothing else.

Yeah you got a point there:yes: I mean they are teutonic thrash in the sense that they came from countries neighbouring Germany::)


That's what I realised later onn, that that's what you might have meant. But then again Artillery from Denmark also plays Bay Area Thrash
Maxx666 - 14.07.2009 at 22:50  
Written by Ozman on 14.07.2009 at 22:43

Written by Maxx666 on 14.07.2009 at 22:38

Written by Ozman on 13.07.2009 at 22:13

Written by Maxx666 on 13.07.2009 at 21:55

Really great album.They should be there in the teutonic thrash hall of fame along with kreator,sodom and destruction


Why in the teuonic thrash hall of fame? They sound nothing like the big German three.
Okay, they don't play Bay Area Thrash either but also not Teutonic thrash.
If one wants to tag Coroner's brand of thrash it should be technical thrash metal and nothing else.

Yeah you got a point there:yes: I mean they are teutonic thrash in the sense that they came from countries neighbouring Germany::)


That's what I realised later onn, that that's what you might have meant. But then again Artillery from Denmark also plays Bay Area Thrash

Yeah it works kinda like that
Ozman - 14.07.2009 at 22:51  
Written by Maxx666 on 14.07.2009 at 22:50


Yeah it works kinda like that



Enough nitpicking from me... this is one awesome band, although I am not too much a fan of their debut album. But Mental Vortex is certainly a grande album.
Maxx666 - 15.07.2009 at 22:12  
Written by Ozman on 14.07.2009 at 22:51

Written by Maxx666 on 14.07.2009 at 22:50


Yeah it works kinda like that



Enough nitpicking from me... this is one awesome band, although I am not too much a fan of their debut album. But Mental Vortex is certainly a grande album.

Whatever, afterall you are the expert
silenius - 12.03.2010 at 14:34  
Love this album^^
tea[m]ster - 01.05.2010 at 02:39  
Their is no bigger fan of Coroner than me. However, this album just isn't as good as Punishment for Decadence & No More Color. It can't touch Grin either. Maybe it's the production...the album sounds "processed" 7/10
Boxcar Willy - 30.08.2010 at 19:30  
Saw it at disc-go-round for 25 bucks is it worth 25 bucks... i mean i got four albums there for twenty...
K†ulu - 30.08.2010 at 22:46  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 30.08.2010 at 19:30

Saw it at disc-go-round for 25 bucks is it worth 25 bucks... i mean i got four albums there for twenty...

Well, if I were you I would buy it.
Darkside Momo - 31.08.2010 at 00:44  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 30.08.2010 at 19:30

Saw it at disc-go-round for 25 bucks is it worth 25 bucks... i mean i got four albums there for twenty...

It is worth it, but don't forget that Coroner re-unites.... I don't know who holds the rights on their recordings right now, but maybe re-issues will come out next year? Pure guess, but not impossible.
Dangerboner - 31.08.2010 at 07:24  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 30.08.2010 at 19:30

Saw it at disc-go-round for 25 bucks is it worth 25 bucks... i mean i got four albums there for twenty...

No, this album is not worth $25. Their first three are much better than this release. I'd say preview it on YouTube and then make a decision, but I'm sure you can order it online for much cheaper.
Ozman - 31.08.2010 at 15:26  
Like Dangerboner said the albums before this one are much better. And are the best they released. But Mental Vortex and Grin are still ver good albums nonetheless. Why a lot of people consider MV to be their best is I think due to the fact that MV saw to it that Coroner all of a sudden got the recognition they deserved due to it being a little more accessible.
Boxcar Willy - 31.08.2010 at 19:37  
Seems i should buy it on the interweb... Btw for 20 bucks i got...
Korn-Follow The Leader
Entombed-Serpant Saints
Metallica-...And Justice For All
Prong-Cleansing
so...
Mr. Doctor - 31.08.2010 at 22:48  
No offense, but I take Mental Vortex over those 4 albums any day of my entire life.
Carl Berg - 30.09.2011 at 19:29  
One amazing album, got me headbanging after the first 10 seconds.
AndMetalForAll - 02.12.2012 at 15:00  
Agree with your review all the way!! It's almost a perfect example of thrash, only don't agree with your opinion about the The Beatles' cover, I don't find so amazing as you say. Still congratulations for the review...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Coroner - Mental Vortex 6 27.06.2012 by musicalkaratekid
News Coroner - Status Update 3 08.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Benedictum - Uncreation 3 03.09.2011 by WorpeX
Reviews Death - Scream Bloody Gore 3 07.10.2008 by Oo I Voyager oO
Reviews Death Angel - Relentless Retribution 3 07.04.2013 by AndMetalForAll



Hits total: 5607 | This month: 43