Rating:
9.8
Paradise Lost - Icon
September 1993


01. Embers Fire
02. Rememberance
03. Forging Sympathy
04. Joys Of The Emptiness
05. Dying Freedom
06. Widow
07. Colossal Rains
08. Weeping Words
09. Poison
10. True Belief
11. Shallow Seasons
12. Christendom
13. Deus Misereatur


Paradise Lost are called the "Fathers of Gothic" and they deserve this title if you look in retrospect at the influence they had on Gothic Metal. Today's Gothic metal scene owes a lot to this band. The fourth album of Paradise Lost, "Icon", may be the best Gothic album a band has ever created. With influences from Death and Doom metal, which increases the pessimism and vanity of the songs, "Icon" is an artistic diamond!

The music of this album (written as always from Gregor Mackintosh) is masterfully created. Every note and melody blends perfectly with each and every other as well as with the next turning, into an excellent outcome. Every instrument scours the pewter ideally. The crest is Nick Holmes's awesome vocals, which can awake the most gloomy emotions from deep inside! One of the best things about this album is the perfection of every solo! Every single solo is outstanding and fits perfectly to the moment and the feeling of the song when it's played. That's what every melody does too!

In "Icon" you won't find a bad song. The band has worked really hard, every song has a different structure from the other -of course there are no filler songs- and that's the reason why it is so difficult to pick out the "best" songs. I'll just mention "Embers Fire" and "True Belief" just because they're the most classic songs in the band's history (with 1-2 songs from "Draconian Times") and "Widow" because it's the most powerful song of the album; the one that creates the biggest mosh pit in every live show.

Every detail about "Icon" has been worked perfectly: The production of the album is amazing; it is really clean, but just in the mood of the songs; the guitars are low-tuned and every note sounds mournful. The pictures in the booklet and the cover art are just beautiful. As for the lyrics, which are another great aspect of the album, Nick Holmes wrote the best possible lyrics for the songs. Every single word makes you feel the pain and sorrow the music creates. Most of the lyrics are allegoric which adds in the intensity of the songs. "Pure Misery" is the perfect phrase to describe these great lyrics!

Warning: Each, I repeat, Each metal fan should listen to "Icon"! It is a great album of one of the greatest Gothic bands. It is a classic album; a historical release. It is, honestly, a diamond of sadness and disappointment. It is true that the term "masterpiece" can lose its value if it gets used frequently. That's why I avoid using it. So, I recommend this Masterpiece to ALL metal fans! It is something more than a great album. Get it and you won't regret it.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 10


Band profile: Paradise Lost
Album: Icon


 


written by Deadmeat | 30.04.2009


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 18  
Users visited: 108  
Search this topic:  


Heart_of_METAL - 01.05.2009 at 20:12  
Your "ode" to this album, convinced me to try it, I know band name Paradise Lost but never heard anything of them. So,I´m curious.
Deadmeat - 02.05.2009 at 15:25  
Written by Heart_of_METAL on 01.05.2009 at 20:12

Your "ode" to this album, convinced me to try it, I know band name Paradise Lost but never heard anything of them. So,I´m curious.

I m happy you ll try this album cause it's great! don't forget to tells us your opinion on it after you hear it!!!
Uirapuru - 09.06.2009 at 03:38  
Not to mention that in this album they start to abandom their ''death'' feature, and become more and more gothic/doom, the songs are catchier also. But it is still pretty heavy compared to their latest releases.
Excellent album, hard to find any bad songs.
THE_BLACK_GOD - 22.12.2009 at 22:11  
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 10

I cant udnerstand it to be honest, cause Songwriting is not as well as ex albums for sure. Embers Fire and Widow are nice songs but I cant compare them with "As I Die" or "Gothic" or "The Painless" or "Rotting Misery" not evn "Internal Torment II".

Production is much better in this album and performance is nice either. and its Original enough. but Album hasnt the Atmosphere of big albums a very Special song (as you can find in Gothic album)

the other thing about this album's rating is that our friend knew about Draconian Times for sure (which has the same atmosphere) cause he has wrote this review after the release of "Draconian Times", so if this album deserves a 10,10,10,10. then I dont know how can we vote for Draconian Times.

all in all nice album and review but this is not the best Gothic album ever or the best album of Paradise Lost in my opinion. Draconian Times is the nice Version of this album I think.

Christendom, Widow and Embers Fire is my favorite songs in this album.
Deadmeat - 25.12.2009 at 00:17  
Written by Guest on 22.12.2009 at 22:11

Embers Fire and Widow are nice songs but I cant compare them with "As I Die" or "Gothic" or "The Painless" or "Rotting Misery" not evn "Internal Torment II".

but Album hasnt the Atmosphere of big albums

the other thing about this album's rating is that our friend knew about Draconian Times for sure (which has the same atmosphere) cause he has wrote this review after the release of "Draconian Times", so if this album deserves a 10,10,10,10. then I dont know how can we vote for Draconian Times.


1. it's all about taste. i love all the songs of this album.

2.this phrase is totally wrong. think about it again.

3.draconian maybe gets a 10 too but i dont know i find this one more atmospheric.
THE_BLACK_GOD - 25.12.2009 at 00:56  
Written by Deadmeat on 25.12.2009 at 00:17

Written by Guest on 22.12.2009 at 22:11

Embers Fire and Widow are nice songs but I cant compare them with "As I Die" or "Gothic" or "The Painless" or "Rotting Misery" not evn "Internal Torment II".

but Album hasnt the Atmosphere of big albums

the other thing about this album's rating is that our friend knew about Draconian Times for sure (which has the same atmosphere) cause he has wrote this review after the release of "Draconian Times", so if this album deserves a 10,10,10,10. then I dont know how can we vote for Draconian Times.


1. it's all about taste. i love all the songs of this album.

3.draconian maybe gets a 10 too but i dont know i find this one more atmospheric.

Im agree, your taste says this is a masterpiece its ok.

but I didnt say that these are Atmospheric alums. I said they have same atmosphere. I cant see any atmospheric elements on these 2 albums.
Deadmeat - 25.12.2009 at 17:29  
Written by Guest on 25.12.2009 at 00:56

Written by Deadmeat on 25.12.2009 at 00:17

Written by Guest on 22.12.2009 at 22:11

Embers Fire and Widow are nice songs but I cant compare them with "As I Die" or "Gothic" or "The Painless" or "Rotting Misery" not evn "Internal Torment II".

but Album hasnt the Atmosphere of big albums

the other thing about this album's rating is that our friend knew about Draconian Times for sure (which has the same atmosphere) cause he has wrote this review after the release of "Draconian Times", so if this album deserves a 10,10,10,10. then I dont know how can we vote for Draconian Times.


1. it's all about taste. i love all the songs of this album.

3.draconian maybe gets a 10 too but i dont know i find this one more atmospheric.

Im agree, your taste says this is a masterpiece its ok.

but I didnt say that these are Atmospheric alums. I said they have same atmosphere. I cant see any atmospheric elements on these 2 albums.

yeah i got you and thats why i said that this one is more atmospheric. i meant that this one imo has a beter atmosphere.
renai - 11.11.2011 at 21:54  
I'm glad somebody give this album such high points. back in 90s, less information about the music you like in your surrounding community, and I remember listened this album over and over again, for it was so good. and without other person telling you , or a reviews, that it is indeed a good music. not a very bad taste back then...

love this one, very influental and I will remember this as long as I live.
Array - 11.11.2011 at 22:00  
Though this wasn't one of the first metal experiences I had, but totally the one that opened the whole field of metal, the whole culture, back in the nineties. Thanks Icon.
Troy Killjoy - 11.11.2011 at 22:01  
Written by Array on 11.11.2011 at 22:00
Though this wasn't one of the first metal experiences I had, but totally the one that opened the whole field of metal, the whole culture, back in the nineties. Thanks Icon.

Not a bad gateway album by any means. Better than where I started.
Array - 11.11.2011 at 22:03  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 11.11.2011 at 22:01

Not a bad gateway album by any means. Better than where I started.

Dare I ask?
Troy Killjoy - 11.11.2011 at 22:05  
Written by Array on 11.11.2011 at 22:03
Dare I ask?

Slipknot.
Array - 11.11.2011 at 22:22  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 11.11.2011 at 22:05

Written by Array on 11.11.2011 at 22:03
Dare I ask?

Slipknot.

Dunno is it that bad. Maybe at that stage it isn't the most fabulous
Troy Killjoy - 11.11.2011 at 22:26  
Written by Array on 11.11.2011 at 22:22
Dunno is it that bad. Maybe at that stage it isn't the most fabulous

It's not as good a starting point as this album, that's for sure.
Angelic Storm - 11.11.2011 at 22:32  
"Shades Of God" is my fave Paradise Lost album, but this one is almost as awesome.
Gawain - 12.03.2014 at 22:42  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 11.11.2011 at 22:05

Written by Array on 11.11.2011 at 22:03
Dare I ask?

Slipknot.


I haven't listened to anything from Slipknot, but I heard that they were pretty cool 10 years ago.
Gawain - 12.03.2014 at 22:43  
Oh and, I think "Gothic" is better than this, still would rate it pretty high but not on my favorite albums. Need to return to this because it's been over a year I gave this album a listen.
deadone - 12.03.2014 at 23:58  
I much prefer Icon than Gothic.

I'm not a fan of Doom/Death Metal era Paradise Lost.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Paradise Lost - Icon 6 30.05.2012 by
Reviews Paradise Lost - Symbol Of Life 5.5 24.08.2006 by Richard
News Paradise Lost - Confirm Release Date For The New Album 4.5 12.02.2007 by Katatronik
News Paradise Lost - New Album On The Way 4.5 17.12.2008 by Darkmember
Albums Paradise Lost - Draconian Times MMXI 4.5 07.11.2011 by Array



Hits total: 6116 | This month: 5