Believer - Gabriel review



Reviewer:
8.4

22 users:
7.59
Band: Believer
Album: Gabriel
Release date: March 2009


01. Medwton
02. A Moment In Prime
03. Stoned
04. Redshift
05. History Of Decline
06. The Need For Conflict
07. Focused Lethality
08. Shut Out The Sun
09. The Brave
10. Nonsense Mediated Decay


Holy ticker tape parade, Batman! Look at all these zombie Metal bands!!!

What is going on with all of these older bands making a comeback these days? It seems they came out, recorded some albums, got married, had babies, quit making music to do the family thing and then a decade or more later return? Maybe it is some sort of midlife crisis or they just got bored being over the hill. Nonetheless, Believer is back with a new album 16 years after their rather...um...shall we say "interesting" release, Dimensions.

Hailing from the tiny township of Colebrook, PA in the United States, Believer were a rather innovative Thrash Metal band who used not only many technical elements but symphonic notions in their music. Mixing in some intriguing Progressive musical parts with deep philosophical and spiritual lyrics, Believer were pioneers in their own time. So here we are with a brand new release which holds up well after such a long hiatus.

Gabriel is one of the few albums these days that is very progressive and very raw at the same time; reminiscent of Death in some aspects. The guitars, for the most part, have a "punch you in the face" attitude going for them. Seriously, I felt like an Emo kid in a Slayer pit when listening to this record! The vocals are just as harsh and unpolished without crossing into Death or Black Metal. A stripped down "do more with less" mentality is applied to the drumming here while the bass sounds rather simplistic (or at least what I can hear from the almost inaudible mix). Layered within the prime core of the music are some interesting symphonic elements as well as some surprising guest musicians.

Probably the biggest guest name on here for younger metalheads is Howard Jones of Killswitch Engage fame. The older crowd will be happy to hear that Rocky Gray from Living Sacrifice lends his skill to the album as well. The other guests on this album help to add a little more dimension to the overall sound and feel of Gabriel without distracting listeners form the main band.

Hopefully James Hetfield will hear this album and understand what "going back to your roots" actually means. After a sixteen year break Believer is back and just as strong as they ever were. The air of the old band is still here without recycling the old albums and mixing in just enough modernity to understand that this is a new era for these guys. With overall solid and fascinating playing, challenging lyrics about Christian faith and a handful of cool guests, Gabriel will delight old fans of Believer and optimistically create some new ones as well.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 7
Spiritual Relevancy: 6

Written by Dane Train | 18.05.2009


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 37   Visited by: 78 users
28.05.2009 - 02:19
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Dangerboner on 28.05.2009 at 01:39

...because from what I've seen, websites don't want to dissuade labels from giving them promos, thus receding them from growing.


What kind of bullshit is this? Labels don't give a shit if they get bad or good reviews, they just want their albums to be reviewed.
It is clear you have been brainwashed by a certain ms member who claims his reviews are being censored.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
28.05.2009 - 02:22
Dangerboner
:D
I thought Herz's Mumakil review got revoked because it pissed off Relapse and MS didn't want to lose a label that big. Is that not right?
Loading...
28.05.2009 - 02:34
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Dangerboner on 28.05.2009 at 02:22

I thought Herz's Mumakil review got revoked because it pissed off Relapse and MS didn't want to lose a label that big. Is that not right?


Nope, Relpase didn't even read it at all (not entirely true btw). Staff pulle dit off becausethe review was apparently way too inappropriate.
Someone of Relpase Europe whom I know quite well did read it (as far as I know the only one who did) he didn't mind the review at all and he even asked me why it was pulled off the site. I told him the reason and he could understand that as well.

I don't know what weiord kind of shit you have been told but there was never even a slight chence of us losing a label such as Relapse. ANd even if there was we wouldn't give a flying fuck.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
28.05.2009 - 02:46
BitterCOld
Gringo
What? and risk cutting off our supply of 10 song releases spliced into 99 track disks?
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
28.05.2009 - 02:58
Dangerboner
:D
Inappropriate? Like the Metal: A Headbanger's Journey "song by song" review, which aren't even allowed, but was accepted? No one told me anything, but I know first hand from the webzine I used to write for that I rated Massacre Records too low too many times that they slowly stopped giving us stuff, even though our hits didn't decline. Still, I'm glad that wasn't the reason for which I assumed that review got revoked, but I think we're getting a little off topic...

What I said was wrong though because a label probably wouldn't do anything about a guest review (and now I know, an official review), so I should have thought about that.
Loading...
28.05.2009 - 03:07
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Dangerboner on 28.05.2009 at 02:58

Inappropriate? Like the Metal: A Headbanger's Journey "song by song" review, which aren't even allowed, but was accepted? No one told me anything, but I know first hand from the webzine I used to write for that I rated Massacre Records too low too many times that they slowly stopped giving us stuff, even though our hits didn't decline. Still, I'm glad that wasn't the reason for which I assumed that review got revoked, but I think we're getting a little off topic...

What I said was wrong though because a label probably wouldn't do anything about a guest review (and now I know, an official review), so I should have thought about that.


About the Headbanger's Journey reiview read what Jups commented there.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
28.05.2009 - 07:33
Dane Train
Beers & Kilts
Written by Dangerboner on 28.05.2009 at 01:39

"if this band doesn't share my personal ideals, they aren't as good".


It seems you have totally missed the entire point of my spiritual relevance rating for Christian albums. It has nothing to do with a a band sharing the same personal ideals as me. This rating only applies to Christian bands. I would never use this on a Slayer album, or even a Dream Theater album (who have three Christian members, write many songs about Christian faith, and Mike Portnoy is also the drummer for a Christian rock band too!) because those albums are not "Christian" albums.

As a Christian, I look for albums that will help me with my spiritual walk. Hearing songs that talk about Christian faith and the struggles of it are very important to me. There are many Christian Metalcore bands I listen to just because they are Christian and I get something out of their lyrics and not their rather boring music (mind there are some Christian Metalcore bands who I think are amazing!) that I don't get from secular bands. True, there are some secular bands that have some songs that I have used during worship like Anthrax's "Safe Home". There are many other Christians who look for the same thing as I do and that is why I include that rating. For me, the spiritual relevance of a Christian album is just as important, if not more important than the guitar tones.
----
(space for rent)
Loading...

Hits total: 4390 | This month: 30