Rating:
9.4
3 Inches Of Blood - Here Waits Thy Doom
31 August 2009


01. Battles And Brotherhood
02. Rock In Hell
03. Silent Killer
04. Fierce Defender
05. Preachers Daughter
06. Call Of The Hammer
07. Snake Fighter
08. At The Foot Of The Great Glacier
09. All Of Them Witches
10. 12:34
11. Execution Tank
12. Wizard's Island [bonus]
13. Not Fragile [Bachman-Turner Overdrive cover] [bonus]
14. Cities On Flame [Blue Öyster Cult cover] [bonus]
15. Daytona [Zeke cover] [bonus]


This is 3 Inches Of Blood - they eat, sleep, and write riffs. End of story.

Alas it seems I'm required to write at least 250 words - so let's expand, shall we? Here is a band that within the past couple years have suffered some of the worst tribulations a band can - the constant rotation of band members, a former drummer playing fisticuffs with Nigel Glockler, the loss of an original core member, and being dropped from Roadrunner for not giving the label the album sales they wanted to see. They managed to completely bounce back with their most solid, varied album to date. With the preview release of the track "Call Of The Hammer" it appeared as if the band had fully sunk itself into the thrash metal genre - nothing could be further from the truth. While Here Waits Thy Doom has a small handful of thrash songs in it, 3 Inches' transcends any strict genre. We see everything from Slayer to Deep Purple influences worn on their sleeves. The guitar work is just top notch, as previously mentioned - dabbling in a wide variety of styles making this easily the most unpredictable work they have ever done. Aside from the riffs, the whole band has made vast improvements becoming tighter than ever. Although Cam Pipes sticks to his falsetto Halford shrieks, he now seems to be more comfortable exploring rougher vocal tendencies. Underneath all of this we have interesting drum work....that's right! Creative drum work that draws attention on its own without being generic time-keeping.

One thing I could always commend 3 Inches' for was their ability to have each song on their albums flow seamlessly into one another, this album completely lacks that quality. The erratic genre-crossing makes Here Waits Thy Doom come across as a compilation rather than an actual album. Let's just say it seems to lack any context, and that each song should be taken at face value. The only other problem is probably only relevant to long-time 3 Inches Of Blood fans - the loss of harsh screamer Jamie Hooper. While there are many who prayed for the removal of the metalcore elements in their sound, the loss is noticeable and the band seems to have lost somewhat of a punch their previous efforts had.

Here Waits Thy Doom seemed like an appropriate title for this album, considering the events that transpired since their last release it was do-or-die time for the band, and they managed to succeed with flying colours. The only way to sum it up is that this is a must-have for any fan of eclectic heavy metal riff-fests. Nothing more, and most certainly nothing less.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 10


Band profile: 3 Inches Of Blood
Album: Here Waits Thy Doom


 



Written on 11.09.2009 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2
Comments: 51  
Users visited: 296  
Search this topic:  


K†ulu - 11.09.2009 at 09:16  
The first two sentences were enough of an impetus for me to check this album out.
wormdrink414 - 11.09.2009 at 10:49  
Just checked these guys out for the first time last week and although their sound is not one toward which I typically gravitate, I catch, and am attracted to, their "fuck you, we're going to play what we want to play" (to be as articulate as possible) nonchalance that seems to have been lost somewhere at the turn of the century. That and they shred. They are a nice breath of fresh but old school musty air. I'll probably have to check this out.
distorted rage - 11.09.2009 at 12:17  
I love 3IOB can't wait to acquire the new disc. Just wish I could find it on vinyl. ; )
Baz Anderson - 11.09.2009 at 13:42  
I've always seen this band as a commercial, "please like me" band. I don't know why. Maybe they just come across as pretenders to me.

I saw them from a bit of distance at Wacken 2008 and was quite pleasantly surprised though, so maybe I'll take some time to listen to a few songs from this.
BudDa - 11.09.2009 at 15:18  
I do miss Hooper! I downloaded the leaked copy of Here Waits they Doom and while the album is quite good; enjoyable even..I still feel the void left by him(Hooper). The music is less aggressive and sounds more 'cliched' old power metal
BudDa - 11.09.2009 at 15:20  
I also think 9.4 is way too high. I would give it an 8.2
Valentin B - 11.09.2009 at 15:29  
Hell yeah, this is an awesome album, when i read the review i was something like "wtf 3IoB and Deep Purple?" but it actually sounds excellent(i expected no less from these guys though), i like the new Kreator-like vocals too, they give it a thrashy feel. Cam Pipes is as close to God-dom as ever.
Baz Anderson - 11.09.2009 at 15:37  
I've given bits a listen now and it is just as I suspect. Typically north American, completely soulless music.
BitterCOld - 11.09.2009 at 20:30  
Written by Baz Anderson on 11.09.2009 at 15:37

Typically north American, completely soulless music.


i hope you are not inferring that north american music is soulless, as one could easily read that statement as such.
Ag Fox - 11.09.2009 at 20:45  
There are atypical bands

won't say 3IOB is completely soulless (judging from "Here waits thy doom"), but I am not exactly impressed either. Or perhaps I am not a huge Heavy Metal fan
Baz Anderson - 11.09.2009 at 20:56  
Haha, well of course everywhere has its good and bad. It just seems very (modern) Roadrunner Records-y to me. I don't know how to explain how I feel, but maybe it sounds a bit manufactured.
Doc Godin - 11.09.2009 at 21:30  
Written by Baz Anderson on 11.09.2009 at 20:56

Haha, well of course everywhere has its good and bad. It just seems very (modern) Roadrunner Records-y to me. I don't know how to explain how I feel, but maybe it sounds a bit manufactured.

hm, thats strange, I find they actually stepped up in that department with this one. It could be the more earthy-type production via Jack Endino (well, more earthy in relativity), the old albums seem a little more glossed over. This factor mixed with the more direct song writing than before really bumps them up from "pretty good" to "absolutely solid" in my books.

But somehow I get the feeling they've peaked with this album, so if you don't like them now I somehow doubt there will be any future album to change that...who knows though. I also don't get the "Like me!" vibe from them either, to me they just come across as a band who appreciate solid riffs....the riffs, man, the riffs!
Fat & Sassy! - 11.09.2009 at 22:17  
Written by Baz Anderson on 11.09.2009 at 15:37

Typically north American, completely soulless music.


Lord_Regnier - 12.09.2009 at 02:48  
Written by Baz Anderson on 11.09.2009 at 15:37

I've given bits a listen now and it is just as I suspect. Typically north American, completely soulless music.


That's why I don't like this band.
Technically, they're good musicians but their music doesn't give me any emotion. It sounds too modern and manufactured for my tastes, indeed. Kinda sterile and boring.
Derwood - 12.09.2009 at 07:23  
There are some great riffs and occasional bits of groove. While Here Awaits Thy Doom is not a particular standout, I certainly wouldn't call it soulless. "Call of the Hammer" is an especially strong track. The real problem with the album is the vocals. After a couple tracks, Cam Pipe's voice really starts to grate on me. Halford-like he most certainly is not, though he might wish he was. I give the album a 7. If Pipe's falsetto wasn't so irritating, I'd give it an 8.

Nevertheless, they're playing an all-ages show in my town in a couple days, so I'm going to make it my 11 year-old's first concert.
Murder - 12.09.2009 at 07:25  
Written by Ag Fox on 11.09.2009 at 20:45

There are atypical bands



yeah, that's why I love them, and well, I have to say when they came to Mexico... wow... they're really know how to attract all the attention... I wanna get this album right now, good review
insanity.peppers - 12.09.2009 at 11:31  
I miss Hooper's voice as well. Nothing really grabbed me about the album but I'm sure once I give it a few more listens it will grow on me. It's definitely better than Fire Up the Blades.

I have a question for the reviewer - in the credits list does it say whether Hooper was still involved as a *songwriter*? He seemed to write most of the last two albums, I don't see why he just doesn't pick up a bass or electric guitar and become a full-time member without the vocals. I hate it when the last founding member takes off from a band :-(
Doc Godin - 12.09.2009 at 18:39  
Written by insanity.peppers on 12.09.2009 at 11:31

I have a question for the reviewer - in the credits list does it say whether Hooper was still involved as a *songwriter*? He seemed to write most of the last two albums, I don't see why he just doesn't pick up a bass or electric guitar and become a full-time member without the vocals. I hate it when the last founding member takes off from a band :-(

Good question! I'm looking at it now - it appears all the music was either written by Shane Clark or Justin Hagberg, while the lyrics were almost entirely written by Cam Pipes, with a few co-written by Hagberg...so no Jaimie Hooper in this one at all.
insanity.peppers - 12.09.2009 at 23:03  
Written by Doc Godin on 12.09.2009 at 18:39

Written by insanity.peppers on 12.09.2009 at 11:31

I have a question for the reviewer - in the credits list does it say whether Hooper was still involved as a *songwriter*? He seemed to write most of the last two albums, I don't see why he just doesn't pick up a bass or electric guitar and become a full-time member without the vocals. I hate it when the last founding member takes off from a band :-(

Good question! I'm looking at it now - it appears all the music was either written by Shane Clark or Justin Hagberg, while the lyrics were almost entirely written by Cam Pipes, with a few co-written by Hagberg...so no Jaimie Hooper in this one at all.


what a shame
Valentin B - 12.09.2009 at 23:10  
I think they still managed to pull it off without Hooper, they pretty much gambled and won in epic style. i hope they attend some of the festivals next year and play some of the (already) classics too like Crazy Nights, Swordmaster or Destroy The Orcs along with new songs like Preacher's Daughter(which i imagine is a beast live)

i only realized this now, but Preacher's Daughter is pretty much an Angel Witch song with Pipes's vocals, it screams NWOBHM. AWESOME.
AndreOliveira - 14.09.2009 at 00:43  
Great band!!!!
BlueMobius - 14.09.2009 at 03:38  
Written by Baz Anderson on 11.09.2009 at 15:37

I've given bits a listen now and it is just as I suspect. Typically north American, completely soulless music.


I think you guys are forgetting that this is a Heavy Metal band. I think a lot of modern (younger/newer) metalheads are looking for the emotion that comes from newer innovations in bands today that modern metal has brought to the genre. These emotional feelings in the songs coming from very atmospheric, epic, and layered music as well as vocals that have the same quality. The emotion of early Heavy Metal had a "stick it to the man" or "Screw you, I'm going to do whatever I want" kind of vibe and the songs delt with fantasy nature as they still do. 3 Inches of Blood have that. They have emotion in their own way, one that pertains to the emotion that should be associated with their style of music. I am saddened because it seems that people have forgotten what metal is. I almost feel like the people who are young and pretentious about the genre are really killing the spirit of metal.
Doc Godin - 14.09.2009 at 05:38  
Written by Valentin B on 11.09.2009 at 15:29

i like the new Kreator-like vocals too, they give it a thrashy feel. Cam Pipes is as close to God-dom as ever.

If you're talking about the death metal vocals in there, those were done by Justin Hagberg.
Baz Anderson - 14.09.2009 at 09:20  
Written by BlueMobius on 14.09.2009 at 03:38

I think you guys are forgetting that this is a Heavy Metal band. I think a lot of modern (younger/newer) metalheads are looking for the emotion that comes from newer innovations in bands today that modern metal has brought to the genre. These emotional feelings in the songs coming from very atmospheric, epic, and layered music as well as vocals that have the same quality. The emotion of early Heavy Metal had a "stick it to the man" or "Screw you, I'm going to do whatever I want" kind of vibe and the songs delt with fantasy nature as they still do. 3 Inches of Blood have that. They have emotion in their own way, one that pertains to the emotion that should be associated with their style of music. I am saddened because it seems that people have forgotten what metal is. I almost feel like the people who are young and pretentious about the genre are really killing the spirit of metal.

Believe me, I listen to a lot of bands new and old. I know what I like and what I don't like. It isn't about "emotion", it is about how genuine the music sounds. The cheek...
BlueMobius - 14.09.2009 at 17:31  
Written by Baz Anderson on 14.09.2009 at 09:20

Believe me, I listen to a lot of bands new and old. I know what I like and what I don't like. It isn't about "emotion", it is about how genuine the music sounds. The cheek...


Well all of their albums sound similar to this one, so I think this is genuinely the kind of music they like to write. If they were trying to be trendy or something I think there would be changes from album to album... "Trivium" *cough* *cough*
Derwood - 15.09.2009 at 02:36  
After seeing them live, I take back my earlier comment about Cam Pipes' vocals. It must be in the production because he sounds waaaayyy better live.
Valentin B - 15.09.2009 at 20:14  
I agree with one part of the review, there seems there is a loss of energy and kick in the sound, not only because of Hooper's departure, but there's something else, i mean, there are songs that sound like a fucking T-90 tank rampaging stampede on their past albums like Destroy the Orcs or Goatriders Horde, and sure there's thrashy fast songs here but they seem to lack that insane "WUUAAAAAARRHHGGR-OOOOOOOWWWWWWW" Cam-Pipes-belts-out-epic-Halford-impersonation-which-fades-into-Hooper's-scream about them.

i'll never forget the first time i ever heard Destroy The Orcs, for 10 seconds i was "ooh this is some decent riffage" but then Cam Pipes belted out that impossible first scream, i was " HOLY SHIT!!!!".. plus like i said the production just isn't as over the top as on their 2004 album, which imo is by far their best and one of the best albums of modern classic-influenced metal ever produced right up there with Halford's Resurrection.
Doc Godin - 15.09.2009 at 20:30  
Written by Valentin B on 15.09.2009 at 20:14

.. plus like i said the production just isn't as over the top as on their 2004 album, which imo is by far their best and one of the best albums of modern classic-influenced metal ever produced right up there with Halford's Resurrection.

I'd say the exact opposite, I find this album to be a lot thicker than their previous albums. If you compare it to other albums Jack Endino produced it's in his typical style; thick, but a lot more close-up sounding. It's definitely not nearly as over-the-top or epic sounding, but it's a hell of a lot more consistent.
Valentin B - 15.09.2009 at 20:35  
Written by Doc Godin on 15.09.2009 at 20:30

Written by Valentin B on 15.09.2009 at 20:14

.. plus like i said the production just isn't as over the top as on their 2004 album, which imo is by far their best and one of the best albums of modern classic-influenced metal ever produced right up there with Halford's Resurrection.

I'd say the exact opposite, I find this album to be a lot thicker than their previous albums. If you compare it to other albums Jack Endino produced it's in his typical style; thick, but a lot more close-up sounding. It's definitely not nearly as over-the-top or epic sounding, but it's a hell of a lot more consistent.

on a side note, i wonder how Painkiller would sound with Cam Pipes on vocals
Newfie_Metal - 16.09.2009 at 06:28  
Fierce Defender is sick, gotta love that song.
Metalbound7 - 18.09.2009 at 02:43  
Haha so they kick out Hooper? nice! im one of those you call "long time 3iob fans" following them since the first album, and since then i tought they need to get rid of that metalcore elements, im wondering how it gonna sound with just pipes in the vocals. a soon the album arrives to the local cd store be sure that will be part of my collection. BTW the cover art reminds me a CoB album lol.
Doc Godin - 18.09.2009 at 02:58  
Written by Metalbound7 on 18.09.2009 at 02:43

Haha so they kick out Hooper? nice! im one of those you call "long time 3iob fans" following them since the first album, and since then i tought they need to get rid of that metalcore elements, im wondering how it gonna sound with just pipes in the vocals. a soon the album arrives to the local cd store be sure that will be part of my collection. BTW the cover art reminds me a CoB album lol.

They didn't kick out Hooper, he had to quit because he completely destroyed his vocal chords screaming. Justin is doing the harsh vocals now.
Metalbound7 - 28.09.2009 at 12:25  
Written by Doc Godin on 18.09.2009 at 02:58

Written by Metalbound7 on 18.09.2009 at 02:43

Haha so they kick out Hooper? nice! im one of those you call "long time 3iob fans" following them since the first album, and since then i tought they need to get rid of that metalcore elements, im wondering how it gonna sound with just pipes in the vocals. a soon the album arrives to the local cd store be sure that will be part of my collection. BTW the cover art reminds me a CoB album lol.

They didn't kick out Hooper, he had to quit because he completely destroyed his vocal chords screaming. Justin is doing the harsh vocals now.


yes i already know he left the band because his voice problems, and i hate to say this, but now i see how wrong i was, 3 inches of Blood is not the same without him...
Doc Godin - 28.09.2009 at 12:40  
Written by Metalbound7 on 28.09.2009 at 12:25

Written by Doc Godin on 18.09.2009 at 02:58

Written by Metalbound7 on 18.09.2009 at 02:43

Haha so they kick out Hooper? nice! im one of those you call "long time 3iob fans" following them since the first album, and since then i tought they need to get rid of that metalcore elements, im wondering how it gonna sound with just pipes in the vocals. a soon the album arrives to the local cd store be sure that will be part of my collection. BTW the cover art reminds me a CoB album lol.

They didn't kick out Hooper, he had to quit because he completely destroyed his vocal chords screaming. Justin is doing the harsh vocals now.


yes i already know he left the band because his voice problems, and i hate to say this, but now i see how wrong i was, 3 inches of Blood is not the same without him...

No, it isn't, but you have to take it for what it is. Aside from Cam Pipes, it sounds like an almost entirely different band this time around, so I personally find it hard to really compare. Yeah, sure they did lose a little bit of that punch from the lack of Hooper, but altogether the more organic sound this album has makes the whole thing sound a lot more...intimate in a way (for lack of a better word). I think the more glossed-over production of their last 2 albums kind of took away a certain quality they could have had, too much studio wizardry I guess (not saying they weren't good). Not to mention the song writing in this is far more direct, no aimless meandering that existed in some of their previous works.
Fat & Sassy! - 30.09.2009 at 10:09  
Well, this is the first 3 Inches of Blood I can ALMOST listen to all the way through without getting extremely annoyed. I really wanna like this band a lot... but I just can't help but find a lot of vocals tedious. :/
wormdrink414 - 05.10.2009 at 09:39  
OK, since my last comment I have checked both Advance and Vanquish and this album out. Although I rather like Advance, I like this album 500 times more. I'm liking them a lot more without the old harsh vocalist. Then again I don't love this band. I like that they exist and play what they play more than I actually like the music.
BudDa - 17.10.2009 at 14:32  
Since my last comment. I have grown to love this record. Songs like Silent Killer, Rock in Hell and At the Foot of the Great Glacier are some of the most played songs in my collection. Doc, the 9.4 is totally justified!
Doc Godin - 18.10.2009 at 00:55  
Written by BudDa on 17.10.2009 at 14:32

Since my last comment. I have grown to love this record. Songs like Silent Killer, Rock in Hell and At the Foot of the Great Glacier are some of the most played songs in my collection. Doc, the 9.4 is totally justified!

Thank you! Yeah, it took a little bit for it to grow on me as well (though I think it grew on me a little faster than everyone else). I'd really want to hear this one on vinyl.
wormdrink414 - 21.10.2009 at 08:03  
These guys are probably getting a major boost from Brutal Legend. I know Tim Schaffer is a big fan.

In the spirit of BudDa's comment: This is my 3rd time to comment on this album, and I have revised my take on it yet again, for I am currently in love with it. Rock in Hell is, I believe, the epitome of what a heavy metal track can accomplish. I had forgotten the charms of the less extreme, more heavy child of metal. I've been listening to Painkiller again because of this album, and that has to be worth something.
Fat & Sassy! - 27.10.2009 at 19:46  
Written by Doc Godin on 18.10.2009 at 00:55

Written by BudDa on 17.10.2009 at 14:32

Since my last comment. I have grown to love this record. Songs like Silent Killer, Rock in Hell and At the Foot of the Great Glacier are some of the most played songs in my collection. Doc, the 9.4 is totally justified!

Thank you! Yeah, it took a little bit for it to grow on me as well (though I think it grew on me a little faster than everyone else).


I'll join the club too. Definitely their best release. Took me awhile to get into it, because the vocalist gets annoying at times, but fuck... Songs like Rock In Hell rock so *damn hard*, it's impossible to not rock the fuck out to. >:[
wormdrink414 - 07.11.2009 at 08:34  
I am damn close to changing my score to 10. This is the first band that has, as of recently, whooped my ass for foolishly trying [i]not[i] to like them. I hope it is not premature to have them listed with my favorite bands (I bought the album roughly a month ago and downloaded Advance not long before) but I'll be damned if this is not one of most powerful and engrossing albums I know (certainly of the year).
Doc Godin - 07.11.2009 at 13:21  
Written by wormdrink414 on 07.11.2009 at 08:34

I am damn close to changing my score to 10. This is the first band that has, as of recently, whooped my ass for foolishly trying not to like them. I hope it is not premature to have them listed with my favorite bands (I bought the album roughly a month ago and downloaded Advance not long before) but I'll be damned if this is not one of most powerful and engrossing albums I know (certainly of the year).

They definitely are a grower band. I remember I first heard them sometime between the release of Advance And Vanquish and Fire Up The Blades, I thought it was some of the most atrocious crap I had ever heard. I didn't start warming up to them until I saw them live at Monsters Of Rock '08 (a year after the release of Fire Up The Blades). Slowly they grew on me more and more, now they reign as one of my favourite bands, and after releasing an album of this calibre, it just solidifies it even further.

Even though quality wise this is their best album in my opinion, Fire Up The Blades is still my favourite due to the fact that I have some cool memories tied to that album. With time (and if I give it a break for a bit), I'm sure Here Waits Thy Doom will get some cool memories tied to it as well.
wormdrink414 - 08.11.2009 at 09:20  
Written by Doc Godin on 07.11.2009 at 13:21

Written by wormdrink414 on 07.11.2009 at 08:34

I am damn close to changing my score to 10. This is the first band that has, as of recently, whooped my ass for foolishly trying not to like them. I hope it is not premature to have them listed with my favorite bands (I bought the album roughly a month ago and downloaded Advance not long before) but I'll be damned if this is not one of most powerful and engrossing albums I know (certainly of the year).

They definitely are a grower band. I remember I first heard them sometime between the release of Advance And Vanquish and Fire Up The Blades, I thought it was some of the most atrocious crap I had ever heard. I didn't start warming up to them until I saw them live at Monsters Of Rock '08 (a year after the release of Fire Up The Blades). Slowly they grew on me more and more, now they reign as one of my favourite bands, and after releasing an album of this calibre, it just solidifies it even further.

Even though quality wise this is their best album in my opinion, Fire Up The Blades is still my favourite due to the fact that I have some cool memories tied to that album. With time (and if I give it a break for a bit), I'm sure Here Waits Thy Doom will get some cool memories tied to it as well.


It seems that vocal style always acts as the largest obstacle to one's enjoyment of a band. I distinctly remember hating Nile the first three or four times I listened to them primarily because of the growling vocals, but now they're one of my favorite bands (as death metal is one of my favorite types of music). The same seems to have happened with 3 Inches of Blood. Now, after letting my guard down for the glory of Mr. Pipes' voice, seeing them for the first time this December may be the source of the greatest metal-related excitement of the year for me.

On a separate note, although Advance has also grown significantly on me over the last month or so, the loss of the second vocalist seems to have been a step in the right direction. I believe I have developed a taste for the screams mixed with the falsetto, but the combination is undoubtedly a toxic one when trying to recruit new listeners. From lending Brutal Legend to a friend and watching him cringe when "Deadly Sinners" (a song I love) was played, I know said mix is an immediate turn off to some of the more "closed-minded" (I don't mean to gossip) extreme metal fans. Then again a metal "fuck you" is in store for those who ignore the glory of what the band achieves and has achieved, so perhaps the whole step in the right direction thing is not necessarily justifiable. Nevertheless, even though it may be premature on my behalf to make such a statement, I do like Here Waits Thy Doom far more than their other albums.
Gordon Freeman - 02.12.2009 at 20:29  
This is by far my favorite 3 Inches of Blood album. All of Them Witches is an instant heavy metal classic.

I would say that these guys have finally made the leap from heavy metal clone to heavy metal masters.
Doc Godin - 17.03.2010 at 00:58  
Written by Valentin B on 12.09.2009 at 23:10

I only realized this now, but Preacher's Daughter is pretty much an Angel Witch song with Pipes's vocals, it screams NWOBHM. AWESOME.

Strange, I was actually recently talking to a friend who sat down and had a few drinks with Justin Hagberg, and apparently Preacher's Daughter was entirely based off of Deep Purple. Good call, Doc, good call.
MétalNoir - 08.04.2010 at 04:11  
It took me a looong time to be able to even STAND that band. As a matter of fact, the moment I realized they played Extreme Power Metal mixed with Judas Priest like NWOBHM, I tried to give a more serious listen to their work and there's some ok stuff. Night Marauders and Deadly Sinners are kick-ass songs. But I don't think losing the shrieks will help 3IOB attracting new fans... and "Kreator-like vocals" are never good news.
JCJen7 - 10.10.2010 at 06:51  
Written by MétalNoir on 08.04.2010 at 04:11

It took me a looong time to be able to even STAND that band. As a matter of fact, the moment I realized they played Extreme Power Metal mixed with Judas Priest like NWOBHM, I tried to give a more serious listen to their work and there's some ok stuff. Night Marauders and Deadly Sinners are kick-ass songs. But I don't think losing the shrieks will help 3IOB attracting new fans... and "Kreator-like vocals" are never good news.

I would more call it a mix of Kreator and Ripper era Priest vocals.
Doc Godin - 25.11.2010 at 10:28  
Written by JCJen7 on 10.10.2010 at 06:51

Written by MétalNoir on 08.04.2010 at 04:11

It took me a looong time to be able to even STAND that band. As a matter of fact, the moment I realized they played Extreme Power Metal mixed with Judas Priest like NWOBHM, I tried to give a more serious listen to their work and there's some ok stuff. Night Marauders and Deadly Sinners are kick-ass songs. But I don't think losing the shrieks will help 3IOB attracting new fans... and "Kreator-like vocals" are never good news.

I would more call it a mix of Kreator and Ripper era Priest vocals.

I don't know where the comparison to Kreator vocals is coming from...
Xim - 02.11.2011 at 22:42  
Wait, wait, wait. Okay, so the only thing that I didn't like about 3IOB was the metalcore screams, and they got rid of that guy and now the singer is also doing thrash style vocals? I need to hear this!
Boxcar Willy - 26.12.2011 at 19:18  
Written by Baz Anderson on 11.09.2009 at 15:37

I've given bits a listen now and it is just as I suspect. Typically north American, completely soulless music.

BLASPHEMY!!!!!

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums 3 Inches Of Blood - Here Waits Thy Doom 10.5 23.01.2010 by wormdrink414
Reviews 3 Inches Of Blood - Advance And Vanquish 7.5 13.03.2009 by Xyvind
Articles 3 Inches Of Blood At The Warehouse - Calgary, Alberta, Canada (16.09.09) 6.5 20.09.2009 by Valentin B
News 3 Inches Of Blood - Drop Off Tour 4.5 09.02.2008 by Lady Bathory
News 3 Inches Of Blood - New Video Online 4.5 16.04.2011 by ruffio



Hits total: 7629 | This month: 2