Rating:
7.9
Fates Warning - Disconnected
25 July 2000


01. Disconnected Part 1
02. One
03. So
04. Pieces Of Me
05. Something From Nothing
06. Still Remains
07. Disconnected Part 2


Recently, I (re)discovered Fates Warning : Disconnected. Well, let's see… It's the follower album of their 1997 outstanding-landmark release A Pleasant Shade of Gray. Disconnected was one of these albums I didn't listen so much. Actually it was hidden somewhere in the pile, waiting patiently its turn. But the time has come (at least, I think so!) to give it some more attention, and write down my thoughts…

The album consists of 7 tracks (intro & outro songs are instrumentals), so here we go: 5 actual songs. The instrumental tracks are important because they have the same phrase, firstly as a hypothesis and finally as a conclusion. Of course they're related directly with the cover artwork, which depicts a couple embracing each other (but with gas masks - disconnected!).

The album starts with a penetrating guitar sound, repeating throughout the first track (also some sound samples here). There are some nice guitar riffs (in the second track especially), the vocalist fits perfectly with the melodies. The song types vary (catchy up-tempo Fates Warning songs & also slower rhythms). The sound samples that were used could be described as futuristic (like the ones we find in a sci-fi space movie!). Except that the guitar explodes & the drums start to blast like the storm after a calm period. The "space" sound samples are mixed with fine keyboard melodies (Kevin Moore), alongside with the guitars. I really enjoyed the drums (Mark Zonder), quite remarkable job - powerful and with precision. Some parts are technical, atmospheric & with darker elements, the rhythm is like a psalm (fifth track), continuous, repetitive. It softens though in the chorus. Another interesting thing the band used is the distortion of the vocals, leading to an unexpectedly nice result. Finally, an other aspect of this album can be traced in the outro song that contains a sampled short dialogue "Love overcometh all things". (It was based on a quite strange story I'd say!).

For those who are into progressive metal, this album has many things to discover in my opinion. Of course it's a little bit inaccessible, but it needs your attention to grow inside you. Not their best release, but a typical Fates Warning album.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Fates Warning
Album: Disconnected


 


written by treptolemus | 28.09.2009


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 41  
Search this topic:  


Ellrohir - 28.09.2009 at 11:14  
I dont understand...10,9,9,9 and overall 7.9?
treptolemus - 28.09.2009 at 14:30  
Well that's my overall impression, it's a little bit inaccessible - that kept me very sceptical, nothing to do with the band's performance & the effort as artists. It was difficult for me to "approach" -compared also with the other albums. It was just the result!
ponderer - 26.10.2009 at 17:54  
This album almost made me quit listening to one of the greatest progressive metal bands ever. It's so disappointing on so many levels I don't even know where to begin. There's maybe one or two good tracks but as a whole it blows. John Arch is GOD. Isn't this almost techno metal? Blehk!
treptolemus - 26.10.2009 at 18:44  
Written by ponderer on 26.10.2009 at 17:54

This album almost made me quit listening to one of the greatest progressive metal bands ever. It's so disappointing on so many levels I don't even know where to begin. There's maybe one or two good tracks but as a whole it blows. John Arch is GOD. Isn't this almost techno metal? Blehk!


..Yes i understand your point (I see that there is mixed reception). The only i would say is that, maybe the artists were in a somehow "depressive mood" era back then...& the concept of the album (concerning "weird" psycho theme)

- check that:

On the first of October 1960 a voice manifested in space in the seance-room of British medium Leslie Flint which claimed to be that of the late Dr. Gordon Cosmo Lang, the former Archbishop of Canterbury (1864 - 1945). It was the third time that his voice came through. The spoken dialog in "disconnected (part 2)" is from a recording of this occurance. For more information check this link: www.xs4all.nl/~wichm/archbish.html

Anyway i really don't think that it is outside the "Progressive metal" field..
tea[m]ster - 02.05.2010 at 21:56  
I love the album but I am a Fates Warning fanboy - if you are a prog metal enthusiast the last two tracks alone will expand your opinion and ideas on what prog metal could and should be in the future...
Kap'N Korrupt - 02.05.2010 at 21:59  
So is a pretty depressing song...its slow and just chugs along with lyrics like "so tired..." like damn...that song put me to sleep...
JohnDoe - 02.05.2010 at 22:18  
I love this album, so creative IMO, amazing musicianship; Kevin Moore is guest again and collaborates amazingly with Matheos and Co.
tea[m]ster - 11.05.2010 at 02:18  
Ahhh...nice to see some other FW fans speak up!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Fates Warning - Parallels 7.5 10.10.2009 by Dark Seraphim
Albums Fates Warning - Disconnected 6 08.12.2012 by tea[m]ster
Reviews Fates Warning - Inside Out 5.5 11.01.2010 by ponderer
Reviews Fates Warning - FWX 5.5 18.09.2007 by BloodTears
News Fates Warning - New Album Update 4.5 28.12.2012 by strade



Hits total: 3600 | This month: 30