Rating:
7.0
Cradle Of Filth - Nymphetamine
28 September 2004


Disc I
01. Satyriasis (Intro)
02. Gilded Cunt
03. Nemesis
04. Gabrielle
05. Absinthe With Faust
06. Nymphetamine (Overdose) [feat. Liv Kristine]
07. Painting Flowers White Never Suited My Palette
08. Medusa And Hemlock
09. Coffin Fodder
10. English Fire
11. Filthy Little Secret
12. Swansong For A Raven
13. Mother Of Abominations
14. Nymphetamine (Fix)

Disc II [special edition]
01. Devil Woman [Cliff Richard cover]
02. Soft White Throat
03. Bestial Lust (Bitch) [Bathory cover]
04. Prey
05. Nymphetamine (Fix) (feat. Sarah Jezebel Deva)
06. Mr Crowley [Ozzy Osbourne cover]
+ Nymphetamine (video)


Believe me, reviewing the new album of a band which is so universally judged by almost every metal fan is not an easy thing to do. Most people have already long ago made up their minds about Cradle Of Filth and I don't think I can change the attitudes of either the lovers or the haters of this band. Instead, I will try to describe the album to these two groups separately.

If you are a fan of this band, its safe to say that you will find this album enjoyable. Basically, its more of the same, minus the modern sound of Damnation And A Day. Nymphetamine is more old-school and more metal. The industrialisms of the previous album are all gone (to my dismay actually). Instead, we get more of the classical metal arrangements - some thrash elements, a lot of traditional heavy metal chords and leads, a lot of neoclassicisms and the generally recognizable CoF atmosphere. Most songs have a form which is classic for this band - dynamic, reasonably complex and filled with tempo and mood changes. Some of the riffs on the album are very memorable. There is no real highlight of the album as all the tracks are basically good, although I found myself enjoying "English Fire" the most, perhaps because it sounds like a bit of a tribute to the recently and unfortunately deceased Quorthon. The guest appearance by ex-Theatre Of Tragedy diva Liv Kristine is quite successful, as she sounds nothing like the previous female guests on CoF albums and thus adds a whole new dimension to the music.

If you are a CoF hater then well, this album will not change your mind. It is not black metal, it is quite commercial and it still has all of the elements that irritate many people in this band. The low end, for example, is still almost non-existent. Except for a thin bass that I could only really pick up when using a sub-woofer, the band goes for the usual trebble-overkill. They also still utilize the faux gothic passages which add nothing at all to the music except for an atmosphere of forced romanticism. Dani's voice is still as annoying as ever, even more so when he tries to sing melodically. He also still mispronounces Cthulhu, which shows exactly how seriously he takes the whole occult thing

I already gave you the two sides of the spectrum of how this new Cradle Of Filth album can be evaluated. Now, let me give my own opinion. This is definitely not a bad album, although in my eyes it is a step backwards from the more experimental textures of Damnation And A Day. We've already heard this band churn out their tremolo melodies, their piano passages and their female/Dani duets on numerous occasions. I would have preferred to hear CoF expand their sound and not just record more of the same. But then again, why fix what ain't broken? I think a 7 is the most objective grade I can muster for this album. If you are a fan of this band, add a 2 to this and if you hate it, subtract, well, the equivalent of your hatred


Band profile: Cradle Of Filth
Album: Nymphetamine


 



Written on 13.10.2004 by
jupitreas
With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. Privately not actually an asshole, he lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he runs his small graphic and web design business.
More reviews by jupitreas ››

Staff review by
DerRozzengarten

Rating:
9.0
The long awaited new release of Cradle of Filth is finally out. Dani and his "slick perverted wraiths" return with a dynamite album, "Nymphetamine," an opus, a piece of grim art, a portrait of morbid colors. The guitar work is, as always, fabulous, accompanying Dani's demonic projections and evoking a bittersweet melody through aggression throughout the whole duration of the album. Martin Foul (a.k.a. Powell), the "unwashed pianist," evokes a macabre beauty in the air and nightmares turn to reality through his nocturnal melodies. What about the drumming? We all know who the "Norseman of the Apocalypse" is, Adrian Erlandsson, and we surely know his glorious past, so all I can say is that his drumming is unerring, stunning and lending groove to the album along with David Pybus' grim bass lines. And we reach the mysterious persona of Dani Filth, a poet of shadows breeding darkness and unearthly beauty. For one more time his lyrics are utterly elegiac and uniquely poetic, his voice is so various as never before and his interpretation reaches the peak of perfection.

Read more ››
published 29.07.2005 | Comments (9)

Guest review by
Mindheist

Rating:
2.8
From the opening track "Satyriasis," it's patently obvious that we've something different here, rather great. Yes, this was my first prediction. In 2004, Nymphetamine was born, released by a "Black metal" band called Cradle Of Filth. However, this album has caused more than a few ripples to the scene, why? I can't explain. I truly find these musicians weird, especially their mainman Dani Filth, always using gore, blood, explicit nudity, suicide and disgusting clips. This album has really caused the downfall of the Black Metal, and as a result it will have extremely wide appeal… and I think, that's the main cause of Immortal's temporary disappearance.

Read more ››
published 10.10.2006 | Comments (28)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 65  
Search this topic:  


dark awakening - 23.07.2006 at 15:13  
These are the same things I think about this album. Graet review!
iaberis - 23.07.2006 at 16:02  
Jupitreas said:

"If you are a CoF hater then well, this album will not change your mind. It is not black metal, it is quite commercial and it still has all of the elements that irritate many people in this band. The low end, for example, is still almost non-existent. Except for a thin bass that I could only really pick up when using a sub-woofer, the band goes for the usual trebble-overkill. They also still utilize the faux gothic passages which add nothing at all to the music except for an atmosphere of forced romanticism. Dani's voice is still as annoying as ever, even more so when he tries to sing melodically. He also still mispronounces Cthulhu, which shows exactly how seriously he takes the whole occult thing"

I totally agree with you and I just can't understan why I spent my time listening to this shit! I don't know if their other albums suck just like this but I don't think I'll ever sit down to listen anything of this band again... ever!

P.S. Thank God I didn't bought this... junk, because I'd be something like now!!!
SurdEvil - 23.07.2006 at 16:29  
A good review, I would have given this an 8 or 9 (I'm a fan of the band)

The word "Cthulhu" is supposed to be unpronounceable by humans so I think dani's attempt is just as good as any other...
Robstar - 21.09.2006 at 08:02  
Great Album...
One of my favorites...
My favorite tracks are ... Filthy Little Secret - Gabriel - Guilthy Cunt . English Coffin ,,,
Dangerboner - 22.09.2006 at 02:53  
I spent $21 on this horrible album. Stupid me.

Gilded Cunt is a glorious song, but most of the other songs just aren't good.

Their atmosphere is gone!
Baz Anderson - 23.09.2006 at 14:09  
Written by iaberis on 23.07.2006 at 16:02

I totally agree with you and I just can't understan why I spent my time listening to this shit! I don't know if their other albums suck just like this but I don't think I'll ever sit down to listen anything of this band again... ever!

P.S. Thank God I didn't bought this... junk, because I'd be something like now!!!


but their earlier albums sound very different to this
if you just listened to this album and hated it, it is like the equivalent of someone listening to 'St. Anger' before 'Master Of Puppets'
seriously, dont judge them just on this album. give 'Cruelty And The Beast' and 'V Empire' a go

yeh, this is a very good review. hit the nail on the head
Lokomotiv - 24.09.2006 at 01:23  
This is a very good album, if you ask me the best since Cruelty And The Beast... and well, after lsitening the worthlsee shit that is Thornography, "Nymphetamine" sounds like a masterpiece in comparison.
ChristianMetaler - 17.11.2006 at 20:56  
Written by Lokomotiv on 24.09.2006 at 01:23

after lsitening the worthlsee shit that is Thornography, "Nymphetamine" sounds like a masterpiece in comparison.


Agreed. Thornography is horrible.
Danzig666 - 24.12.2006 at 06:35  
Ive only heard dusk and her embrace, damnation and a day and nympethamine...but i would have to say out of those three dusk and her embrace is the worst, and nymphetamine the best.
ss666 - 03.04.2007 at 12:27  
well all u haters of this band stop talkin abt it!!!
just dnt listen to cof ifu dnt lk dem!! i think its a good album worth buying!!!
and all u haters.....u all acn rot in hell!!!!!!!!!!
magatouve - 25.12.2007 at 06:00  
This one of the most objective and interesting reviews I have ever seen
I guess this album is good. 7 is quite fair. But anyone wants to say anything about the video clip? I found it to be the best thing from this album and one of my favourites
Slayer666 - 06.01.2009 at 12:19  
I really don't know what to say about this album. I was dissapointed with the lack of extreme elements. It's still Cradle, but softer.... Damn you, Dani, I want another "The Principale of Evil Made Flesh"!!!
7 is fair. I'm a really big fan of Cradle, but I don't think I will be ading that 2.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Cradle Of Filth - Nymphetamine 7 16.07.2006 by
Reviews Cradle Of Filth - Nymphetamine 7 10.10.2006 by Katatronik
Albums Cradle Of Filth - Nymphetamine 6 23.03.2011 by MechanisT
Reviews Cradle Of Filth - Darkly, Darkly, Venus Aversa 5.5 12.07.2011 by Vonpire
Reviews Cradle Of Filth - Bitter Suites To Succubi 5.5 13.04.2007 by



Hits total: 3539 | This month: 45