Rating:
9.3
Testament - The Formation Of Damnation
25 April 2008


Disc I
01. For The Glory Of...
02. More Than Meets The Eye
03. The Evil Has Landed
04. Formation Of Damnation
05. Dangers Of The Faithless
06. The Persecuted Won't Forget
07. Henchmen Ride
08. Killing Season
09. Afterlife
10. F.E.A.R.
11. Leave Me Forever

Disc II [Special Edition DVD]
+ The Making of "The Formation Of Damnation"
+ Photo Gallery


Testament is the biggest band to emerge form the second wave of thrash metal in the mid 80's and is also perhaps the only band from that wave still making superb music for its dedicated fans. Testament is the only band that I know that's still making convincing thrash metal not to mention that they are also a Semi-Death Metal band. I say so because they are perhaps the only band that I know (apart from Trivium) that combines death and thrash metal elements to near-perfect harmony(although Trivium are not yet that good at it).

I have to admit that I have only recently been a full-fledged fan of Testament(after listening to The Formation of Damnation). But I am kind of regretting it as I feel I should have been a fan much earlier. The Gathering is widely regarded to be the best album of the group along with with Practice what you Preach. But I would say that The Formation of Damnation is the best of the lot and I will elaborate it for you.

The band have been on a break for quite some due to the lead vocalist suffering from cancer from which he has now recovered. The present line-up comprises the original classic line-up barring the drums whose territory is occupied by the great Paul Bostaph (formerly of Forbidden and Slayer).

The album opens with the instrumental "For the Glory Of..." and what a piece of guitar work that is. I love the superb lead and rhythm guitar connection between Alex Skolnick and Eric Peterson. I personally consider their tandem guitar play to be amongst the very best in contemporary metal (and not just thrash metal). All the tracks are recommended for a budding guitarist to listen to. If Alex Skolnick is a world-class guitar virtuoso and shredder, then Eric Peterson is also an equally great rhythmist (both of them were ranked number 13 and 36 respectively in a recently released book on Metal guitarists by Joel Mciver). Drummer Paul Bostaph has done a great job behind the drum-kit all the songs barring the intro one. It is kind of strange and amazing that Paul Bostaph has been chosen to replace Dave Lombardo in a band on two successive occasions. The earlier with Slayer and the present one with Testament following the classic The Gathering which had Dave Lombardo on drums. Chuck Billy has done a great job handling the vocals. I think he is a master at combining the classic thrash style and the death grunts. All the band members have done their bit to make this album a great one.

The production is first-class. No complaints about that. All of the tracks are worth listening. Special attention should, nevertheless, be paid to "The Evil has Landed" as it is based on the tragic terror attacks of 9/11.

This album is a classic one. It would have deserved the title of the best metal album of 2008 along with Opeth's Watershed. Nevertheless it received the title of the best thrash release of 2008.

We are testament to this great band called Testament.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Testament
Album: The Formation Of Damnation


 


written by Hermann Langke | 17.10.2009


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Staff review by
Baz Anderson

Rating:
9.0
Nine years has passed since these legends of thrash metal last released a studio album, and so after an undeniably long wait Testament return in glorious form with "The Formation Of Damnation", picking up where "The Gathering" left off almost a century ago. The album has the Testament stamp all over it, this is thrash metal like Testament always deliver with both more melodic and modern elements as well as a slight peek back to how things were done in the late-eighties.

Read more ››
published 22.04.2008 | Comments (47)



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 59  
Users visited: 117  
Search this topic:  


Hermann Langke - 21.11.2009 at 09:21  
Written by Ozman on 20.11.2009 at 17:20

Written by Hermann Langke on 20.11.2009 at 11:15


Hey did you attend the Testament "Live in Eindhoven" show in 1987?Take care.


Tha show was part of Dynamo Open Air 1987. It rained all day. Other bands that played that day were Destruction, Atomkraft, Mad Max, Stryper and Vengeance. The festival was free of charge and on the parking lot next to the Dynamo club (which has been totally rebuilt a couple of years ago into a much bigger club)
Yes, I was there.

It wasn't an independent Testament show?Anyways how was their performance?I think Skolnick and Peterson were very young then.
Ozman - 21.11.2009 at 15:51  
Written by Hermann Langke on 21.11.2009 at 09:21


It wasn't an independent Testament show?Anyways how was their performance?


No it wasn't. It was part of an outdoor festival. Quite a few bands have released min-albums form their show at an Dynamo Open Air festival, also Sacred Reich and Gorefest for example)
Testament were the best band by far that day for me.
Hermann Langke - 22.11.2009 at 10:31  
Written by Ozman on 21.11.2009 at 15:51

Written by Hermann Langke on 21.11.2009 at 09:21


It wasn't an independent Testament show?Anyways how was their performance?


No it wasn't. It was part of an outdoor festival. Quite a few bands have released min-albums form their show at an Dynamo Open Air festival, also Sacred Reich and Gorefest for example)
Testament were the best band by far that day for me.

There is another festival called "Fields of Rock" .Have you been there?I think it is held in Nijemegen.Please correct me if I am wrong.And is Dynamo Open Air the oldest Metal Festival in Europe?
Ozman - 22.11.2009 at 14:10  
Written by Hermann Langke on 22.11.2009 at 10:31


There is another festival called "Fields of Rock" .Have you been there?I think it is held in Nijemegen.Please correct me if I am wrong.And is Dynamo Open Air the oldest Metal Festival in Europe?


Fields of Rock was in Nijmegen that's correct, but I have never been there because I didn't like the line-up.

I think Donnington is older than Dynamo Open Air. But for the sort of festival Dynamo Open Air was it was the first (probably in the world). So they were the first to ONLY programme smaller bands and no really big names. After a couple of editions when it was proven to be a huge success Wacken copied the formula and more of such festivals popped up all over the place.
Storm Rider - 23.11.2009 at 04:49  
Testament, Slayer & Megadeth will tour together in US (3 Musketeers), who's gonna see them? It must be AMAZING...
Kap'N Korrupt - 23.11.2009 at 05:37  
mmm...i'll be seeing them but not in the states...in Mont Royal
Storm Rider - 23.11.2009 at 06:10  
Great....hope you wanna review their concert to this forum ya
BrightNight - 24.11.2009 at 01:31  
Written by Hermann Langke on 20.11.2009 at 10:44

Written by BrightNight on 19.11.2009 at 18:25

Written by Hermann Langke on 19.11.2009 at 14:14

Written by Ozman on 18.11.2009 at 17:28

Written by Hermann Langke on 18.11.2009 at 16:07


This is ridiculous.I thought I was wrong,apparently,when others said that Testament are nowhere Death Metal,but it seems wikipedia has outdone me.Kudos.


Read what I said. I said NEVER trust Wikipedia. And Testament are thrash. There is only one album where one could hear very very very very very very tiny death influence and that is on the vocals, that's it. And since vocals don't make a genre they are NOT death metal.

Agreed with you.I feel they are Death Metal and Thrash Metal.Btw did you attend their "Live in Eindhoven" show?It was in '87 I think.Take Care.



Eindhoven is a city very near to mine....unfortunately i was only 2 years old in 1987...so that would be the only reason i was not there at the time.

But to make it up, i attended Dynamo Eindhoven club this year where Testament did the same gig over. For the good memories of 1987 according to the band , playing The Legacy and The New Order completely! I was one of the best gigs ever for me.

There is another festival called "Fields of Rock" .Did you attend it?


Yes ive been to Fields of Rock....use to have some pretty good lineups!
Hermann Langke - 27.11.2009 at 15:55  
Written by Ozman on 22.11.2009 at 14:10

Written by Hermann Langke on 22.11.2009 at 10:31


There is another festival called "Fields of Rock" .Have you been there?I think it is held in Nijemegen.Please correct me if I am wrong.And is Dynamo Open Air the oldest Metal Festival in Europe?


Fields of Rock was in Nijmegen that's correct, but I have never been there because I didn't like the line-up.

I think Donnington is older than Dynamo Open Air. But for the sort of festival Dynamo Open Air was it was the first (probably in the world). So they were the first to ONLY programme smaller bands and no really big names. After a couple of editions when it was proven to be a huge success Wacken copied the formula and more of such festivals popped up all over the place.

I see.So Dynamo is a pioneer.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Testament - The Formation Of Damnation 8.5 22.04.2008 by Clintagram
Albums Testament - The Formation Of Damnation 7.5 28.12.2009 by Holy Man
Reviews Testament - The New Order 5.5 28.06.2011 by godisdead
Reviews Testament - The Gathering 5.5 01.01.2009 by BreadGod
Reviews Kreator - Extreme Aggression 5 18.10.2009 by Hermann Langke



Hits total: 4563 | This month: 36