Rating:
8.8
Laments Of Silence - Restart Your Mind
19 February 2010


01. Restart Your Mind
02. Sentenced
03. Paper Dolls
04. Homeless On The World Of Solus
05. Doomed
06. Scream In The Darkness
07. Solitude
08. Within My Dreams
09. Holy Faces


I'll tell you something, just between the two of us. Reviews written on valentine's day don't need to have the slightest connection to romance. Judging by the music I don't think the Laments Of Silence guys are all too romantic anyway. One moment, let me restart this… *Brain completed power-on self-test. Mind now booting from operating system*

Ok, here I am again, so where was I? Ah yes death metal. Well - this is between the two of us again - death metal can be pretty lame. Huge amounts of DM bands sound absolutely the same, leading to the conclusion that most of them just aren't worth listening to. But as every tale has two sides, death metal has a couple of bands willing to redeem the style.

While it's definitely not everyone's kind of thing, Restart Your Mind is in my opinion one of the most outstanding albums of this style that I've heard since a while. This is modern and complex, yet precise and well structured. The band uses a keyboard on a lot of the songs and regularly employs clean singing. Make no mistake though, this is extreme metal. The drums are pounding full-speed ahead for most of the album and the main vocals consist of good and heavy growling. Speed, aggression and melody; that's what this band's all about.

Let me make this clear. Oldschool death metal purists are likely to hate this. If you are one, don't bother. Laments Of Silence play death metal for those who want/need something fresh and exciting. They take straightforward heaviness to a more complex and varied level - without going over the top - and add a layer of melodic beauty on the way.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Production: 8


 


written by Bas | 14.02.2010



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 173  
Search this topic:  


Ag Fox - 14.02.2010 at 17:46  
I'm sold
Rupert - 14.02.2010 at 18:21  
Same.
Dark Blood - 14.02.2010 at 20:52  
Same here. Very nice review Bas. I listened to the samples from their Myspace and Im convinced.
Troy Killjoy - 14.02.2010 at 21:22  
Download their 2006 sophomore album Reset for free!*

*band-sanctioned via MySpace/GigaSize

Great review, very well written and articulate; it convinced me enough to grab that release for free and I'm going to check out this new one as soon as it comes out.
Fat & Sassy! - 14.02.2010 at 23:05  
The name of this album is pretty awful, but I'll probably check it out regardless.
kurotenshi - 15.02.2010 at 04:15  
I have to say this is a REALLY NICE try, but I bet they can do better. For instance, the chorus on scream in the darkness kind of makes the song loose power. Overall it's a great album.
Oh and, as a side note some one tell their drummer hit who ever recorded him because that kick is just AWFUL.
Big E - 15.02.2010 at 20:03  
On my fourth listen, not bad.
Bas - 16.02.2010 at 01:12  
Thanks for the comments everyone, nice to hear that most of you enjoy the band as much as I did
BloodTears - 20.03.2010 at 10:47  
I'm curious too, I'm always sold when someone says "modern and complex".
Ag Fox - 21.05.2010 at 02:47  
From the snippets on myspace, I knew I would like them, but I'm listening to the album as a whole now and they are absolutely great! Could have labelled them as melodic death metal rather than death metal though (or even Gothic).

Thanks for the review (=
Mikyz - 21.05.2010 at 09:51  
Written by Ag Fox on 21.05.2010 at 02:47

From the snippets on myspace, I knew I would like them, but I'm listening to the album as a whole now and they are absolutely great! Could have labelled them as melodic death metal rather than death metal though (or even Gothic).

Thanks for the review (=


I agreed this is more like a successfull attempt at Modern Melodic Death Metal, usually I don't find "Modern" Metal to be very appealing but this along with Mandatory's Carbon Black caught my attention. Mandatory is more like Modern Progressive Thrash, so I think you might enjoy it.
Ag Fox - 22.05.2010 at 04:58  
Written by Mikyz on 21.05.2010 at 09:51

Written by Ag Fox on 21.05.2010 at 02:47

From the snippets on myspace, I knew I would like them, but I'm listening to the album as a whole now and they are absolutely great! Could have labelled them as melodic death metal rather than death metal though (or even Gothic).

Thanks for the review (=


I agreed this is more like a successfull attempt at Modern Melodic Death Metal, usually I don't find "Modern" Metal to be very appealing but this along with Mandatory's Carbon Black caught my attention. Mandatory is more like Modern Progressive Thrash, so I think you might enjoy it.
ah yes, it definitely has that "Modern" touch to it, but avoids the pitfalls of that genre which so many bands fall into. Somehow, they sound like they've got more of an identity and not too simple, but without losing the ability to write some catchy stuff.
Thanks for the recommendation. I'm listening to the album right now and initial impressions are pretty good (though I think I'll end up still like "Restart your mind" more). Seems like I was expecting something heavier, but I seem to be getting used to them more now and as the album progresses, I feel more into their music
Daggon - 04.11.2010 at 22:10  
Great review, I had high expectations, but in the end, I didn't like it

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Laments Of Silence - Restart Your Mind 9 20.04.2010 by
Reviews Apocalyptica - 7th Symphony 3 28.10.2010 by Array
General forum What time is in your mind? 3 18.06.2006 by eleftheria
Reviews Pale Divine - Thunder Perfect Mind 2.5 25.08.2009 by Marcel Hubregtse
News Metal Mind Productions - Founder Tomasz Dziubiñski Passed Away 1.5 17.12.2010 by Bad English



Hits total: 5230 | This month: 19