Fear Factory - Mechanize review



Reviewer:
8.5

383 users:
8.14
Band: Fear Factory
Album: Mechanize
Release date: February 2010


01. Mechanize
02. Industrial Discipline
03. Fear Campaign
04. Powershifter
05. Christploitation
06. Oxidizer
07. Controlled Demolition
08. Designing The Enemy
09. Metallic Division
10. Final Exit
11. Crash Test [re-recorded] [digipak bonus]


It wasn't long ago Fear Factory were claiming that "the soul of this machine has improved", following the departure of founding member, axe-man Dino. A questionable album and a legal case later, and Mechanize appears to be the band's seventh and latest full-length. Raymond and Christian do not feature on this album, Dino is back with his multiple-string guitar for the first time since Digimortal. For the first time ever the band also sees a new drummer, going by that familiar name of Gene Hoglan.

There's no question about it that when you hear Dino's signature guitar sound along with Burton's distinctive vocals, you wonder why the two were ever separated. Mechanize sounds fresh, modern, contemporary and it will knock you sideways. Fear Factory has regenerated and updated to the next version.

Performance-wise, this is probably the best the band have ever been. Burton is back on form delivering his roars and clean vocals as good as he ever has, only Dino's guitar has this unreal sound, and Gene blasts out one of his best performances with a fair few blastbeats and amazing control of the kick drums as he outclasses Raymond's past performances with Raymond's own style. Fear Factory have never sounded so extreme and tight, Mechanize is a true professional's performance.

It might sound ideal to have Fear Factory back with an album of frantic, industrial-tinged death metal, but the opportunity cost of the extremity seems to be character. Last song on the album "Final Exit" is the only display of character on the album, and by Fear Factory's standards this song is simply divine. A hint of condemned melody in the clean vocal chorus and a slight dampening of pace makes all the difference.

By no means is the half-hour punishing crush of album beforehand un-enjoyable. Although there may appear to be just one tiny hard-to-put-the-finger-on element still missing, this is the best Fear Factory have been since Obsolete, or even Demanufacture. For the first time since Digimortal, the band sound once again part of the modern time they are a part of. Mechanize is an enormously impressive present-day album that will please fans and casual listeners to no end. Fear Factory are back and mean business.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 10


 



Written on 28.02.2010 by Member of Staff since 2006.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 39   Visited by: 406 users
14.10.2010 - 13:53
Aetherius
I'm a little late on the album, but just was able to pick it up the other day! After a couple of complete listens, I agree with this review and all the comments! FF being one of the older bands I have ever listened to, I am very happy to hear this release after a rocky last few years. I Especially agree with the part about the drums. ^^
Loading...
08.12.2011 - 23:11
Thrash del Sur
This album is Metalcore, don't fool yourself.
Loading...
08.12.2011 - 23:17
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Thrash del Sur on 08.12.2011 at 23:11
This album is Metalcore, don't fool yourself.

Metalcore? I'd agree with alternative or industrial, but what about this album says "metalcore" to you?
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
08.12.2011 - 23:50
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Written by Thrash del Sur on 08.12.2011 at 23:11

This album is Metalcore, don't fool yourself.

You're an idiot.
Loading...
09.12.2011 - 08:04
Angelic Storm
Melodious
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 08.12.2011 at 23:50
You're an idiot.


Agreed, he is.

As for "Mechanize", I wouldn't quite put it up there with the likes of "Obsolete" or "Demanufacture", but it is mostly a very good album with even the ocassional flash of classic Fear Factory shown at times too. Oh, and "Christploitation" is a monster of a song!
Loading...
09.12.2011 - 20:55
Thrash del Sur
Written by Angelic Storm on 09.12.2011 at 08:04

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 08.12.2011 at 23:50
You're an idiot.


Agreed, he is.

As for "Mechanize", I wouldn't quite put it up there with the likes of "Obsolete" or "Demanufacture", but it is mostly a very good album with even the ocassional flash of classic Fear Factory shown at times too. Oh, and "Christploitation" is a monster of a song!


I revisited the album. I have to take back what I wrote before, this is not a metalcore. Some parts sounded to me metalcorish, but hey!! they invented that breakdown stuff which are copied over and over again by metalcore bands.

Thanx to correct me, you both: Katy Perry and the Cat Lady hehehe.
Loading...
09.12.2011 - 21:03
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Written by Thrash del Sur on 09.12.2011 at 20:55

Thanx to correct me, you both: Katy Perry

I do kiss girls and I like it.
Loading...
09.12.2011 - 21:07
Thrash del Sur
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 09.12.2011 at 21:03

Written by Thrash del Sur on 09.12.2011 at 20:55

Thanx to correct me, you both: Katy Perry

I do kiss girls and I like it.


I know Katy, we all know!
Loading...
12.03.2012 - 13:18
Kuroboshi
I've never understood what all the fuss about this band was, until now. I mean, except Demanufacture, all of their earlier stuff are bad to OK at best. But this! Hoglan just rips the drum apart, and their style has just blossomed. A perfect album. And Final Exit might be one of the best closers of all time.
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 7102 | This month: 10