Rating:
9.0
Weakling - Dead As Dreams
2000


01. Cut Their Grain And Place Fire Therein
02. Dead As Dreams
03. This Entire Fucking Battlefield
04. No One Can Be Called As A Man While He'll Die
05. Disasters In The Sun


Weakling are one of the most important bands in the United States Black metal scene. Dead As Dreams, their post-mortem debut album, is both emotionally riveting and intensely raw. And although it is hard to get because of its limited release, with five songs clocking in over 75 minutes, it's worth every penny!

Weakling's main characteristic is their frequent juxtaposing of galloping and droning riffs. They run off into a blood-hungry battlefield-riff just as easy as they dwell in drawn-out multi-layered drones. But there's more.

Starting off with "Cut Their Grain And Place Fire Therein", with its ten-minutes the shortest track on the album, you immediately know you're in for a treat. The distortion is raw and ravished, the production likewise and the mood is set. A lead guitar gradually becomes more prominent until it evolves into an ugly, dirty solo. The title track is next and - clocking in at twenty minutes - the longest track. It starts off with a gray, hazily-distorted intro, which is surprisingly beautiful after the rage and ugliness of the opener. It quickly morphs back into pure hatred again, though, only allowing the listener a quick breath. And we continue this way - intense Black metal alternated by sections of beauty and / or calmness. The great thing about Weakling is that the raging Black metal still sounds beautiful and the calm parts still sound bleak and wretched.

My only point of criticism focuses on the vocals. John Gossards screeches are definitely not among the best the genre has to offer. Often yelling rather than screaming, he sounds weak and occasionally even awful. But looking at it from a different angle, he does fit with the general concept and music of Weakling. It'll just take a while to get used to them.

Dead As Dreams is an incredibly varied release which never drags during the entire seventy-five minutes. They go from droning to raw and wild to epic to heart-wrenching in a matter of moments. Although it has the sound of a Second Wave worshipper, it is actually quite progressive at heart. Weakling's Dead As Dreams is a captivating album and a must-check for the seasoned Black metal fan. It's one of those albums you have to hear while sitting in a comfy chair, in the dark, with full volume. Then you'll know what it is like to be dead but dreaming...

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Weakling
Album: Dead As Dreams


 



Written on 08.03.2010 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 186  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 08.03.2010 at 19:21  
How did I ever miss this? I looked into their MySpace and listened to a few tracks... This is what black metal should be. As for the vocals, I think they fit the music perfectly as they come off very "dirty" or "rough", which really benefits the more eerie atmospheric sections. A 9.0 indeed. I have no ways or means to actually obtain the album, so I guess I'll have to keep it in good memory.
Xnoybis - 08.03.2010 at 19:43  
It's a great album that can at least be obtained virtually if not physically. nice work with the review.
!J.O.O.E.! - 08.03.2010 at 19:46  
Bona fide classic.
Mikyz - 13.04.2010 at 09:34  
Classic BM album, the musicianship on this and the mood it creates is astounding, overwhelmingly suffocating. As for the vocals, I read in some interview that they were actually looking for a vocalist before recording but they never actually found one so Gossard was pushed into a corner and didn't have any other choice than doing the vocals himself. But now that i got used to his vocals I can't imagine it otherwise it would ruin the overall image imo. Great review btw
HardSide - 19.04.2010 at 23:20  
One of the best BM albums made. Ironically the album is made by band members that are not in black metal bands, and they mastered what most BM musician been trying to master for years.
Maxx666 - 20.04.2010 at 21:43  
A classic release indeed.
HardSide - 21.04.2010 at 19:55  
Written by Guest on 21.04.2010 at 19:15

Weak.


Go back and listen to more of your H.I.M., don't rate a genre that you clearly dont appreciate. And no please dont reply and tell me cradle of filth is bm.
Lucas - 21.04.2010 at 20:32  
Hey hey, let's not attack each other on taste here. Although a one-word comment IS spam and that IS forbidding. Even if the one word is 'fantastic' or 'amazing'.

So please, elaborate.
-DC-002- - 05.09.2010 at 04:23  
I never had a problem with the vocals on this. They fit perfectly to the music, very sorrowful and full of lament and anguish. Great CD I'm glad I was able to get a hard copy.
Boxcar Willy - 10.11.2012 at 01:59  
Written by Guest on 21.04.2010 at 19:15

Weak.

Don't understand this at all. This is probably one of the best black metal albums around. Please, explain yourself.
!J.O.O.E.! - 10.11.2012 at 02:05  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 10.11.2012 at 01:59

Don't understand this at all. This is probably one of the best black metal albums around. Please, explain yourself.

Indeed. I'm not as crazy about this as I used to be but it's very good and one of the most influential albums for modern black metal.
Mr. Doctor - 10.11.2012 at 14:16  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 10.11.2012 at 02:05

Written by Boxcar Willy on 10.11.2012 at 01:59

Don't understand this at all. This is probably one of the best black metal albums around. Please, explain yourself.

Indeed. I'm not as crazy about this as I used to be but it's very good and one of the most influential albums for modern black metal.


Same... I don't get my panties wet over it but when I heard it the first time the first thing I thought it's how incredibly solid this is. So far from weak.
Ozman - 10.11.2012 at 15:47  
Written by Guest on 10.11.2012 at 15:12


Here's my explanation:





an answer such as this is not allowed.

If you post pictures as an answer words have to accompany it in a meaningful manner.

Just " Here's my explanation" and then posting cryptic and vague pcitures does not consitute a proper answer on this forum.
Boxcar Willy - 10.11.2012 at 17:30  
^^Okay...?

Really wish i could find this on Cd too, but fat chance of that happening.
mz - 10.05.2013 at 00:55  
I think the vocals fit perfectly with music and atmosphere. Could not imagine this album without them
J. N. - 29.06.2013 at 15:11  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 10.11.2012 at 17:30
Really wish i could find this on Cd too, but fat chance of that happening.

Search for the band here and thou shalt receive.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Weakling - Dead As Dreams 6 05.11.2010 by Ag Fox
Reviews Disfigured Dead - Visions Of Death 5 25.02.2010 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Lethian Dreams - Bleak Silver Streams 4.5 08.09.2009 by Doc Godin
Reviews Dead Beat Project - Breaking The Shell 4.5 15.01.2009 by Deadsoulman
Reviews The Dead - Ritual Executions 4.5 16.11.2010 by Daggon



Hits total: 5764 | This month: 66