Bandcamp music player

Various Artists - Falling Down II Compilation
11 March 2010

Disc I
01. Across Tundras - Final Breath Over Venom Falls
02. Icos [aka Monachus] - Februari
03. White Hills - Heads On Fire
04. Ocoai - La Main Electrique
05. Farflung - R-Complex
06. Impure Wilhelmina - Cold Fever
07. Time To Burn - Elena Djinn
08. Gnaw Their Tongues - We Breath Hate And Spit Fire From Our Mouths
09. The Poisoned Glass - Silent Vigil
10. Kalvria - .N
11. U.S. Christmas - Lazarus [live]
12. Kingdom - Ruina. Where Men Go To Die
13. Kalkh-In(Joy) Erode - Xwck

Disc II
01. Kongh - Thunders Collide
02. Tesa - Untitled
03. Omega Massif - Am Abgrund
04. Kodiak - By The Sea
05. When Icarus Falls - Nyx
06. The Ocean - Asslickers Incorporated
07. Khelvin - Who By Fire
08. Jucifer - Marianas
09. Ufomammut - Astrodronaut
10. God Is An Astronaut - Shining Trough
11. СОЛЯРИС - Mirage
12. Taint - Black Rain [live]
13. Mumakil - Dawn Of Slugs

Total Running Time: 2:31:17

This compilation is in one word fan-fucking-tastic. Yep, this will be a fasten-your-seatbelt-because-I'm-praising-this-shit-to-the-skies kind of review.

Quality music doesn't grow on trees. Luckily two French students decided to bring some of the quality together. Basically the idea behind the Falling Down Compilations is that of a fancy wine and cigar gala for a forward-thinking alignment of musicians. The good news is this compilation is your VIP pass to that exclusive party. Because exclusive it is, as Falling Down strictly features previously unreleased tracks of practically unknown (read: underground) bands that are tremendously talented and born to set the world on fire sooner or later.

This is really my type of compilation, y'know. It satiates a large chunk of my musical appetite (sludge, post-metal, a bit of stoner and ambient here and there, even doom, drone and grindcore on select occasions) and there aren't really any big names on it (unless you're from some parallel elitist universe where The Ocean, God Is An Astronaut and Ufomammut fall under the category of big names). Anyway, there's plenty of room to discover something new. In short you're in for a treat as this thing is packed with novelties, rarities and little pearls that keep the audience mesmerized the whole ride long.

Describing 26 bands and over two and a half hours worth of ecstasy inducting music would take us too far. Let's just keep it short and say that even if you're not the biggest fan of this music (although the scope is very varied) there will still be enough tracks kindling your interest. Some songs will bring out some weird state of psychedelic excitement. Some songs are enormously sultry, oppressive, strained and even desolate. Then you have songs that will leave you lost in delirium. While some other songs are pure stunning madness at its very best.

So is this compilation the guy that pushed you off the edge of the world? Or is it the parachute? Or is it the cushion that'll break your fall? Well, the truth is, there never was any solid ground, and there never will be. This compilation is the vast nothingness of outer space in which you'll keeping falling... and falling... and falling. If you like slogans "Falling Down will literally sweep you off your feet" would be a good one.

PS: This is not just another cash grab compilation, as the release is limited to a thousand copies. So you better get off your lazy ass already and order it pronto. More info and details on how to do that HERE.

Band profile: Omega Massif
Album: Falling Down II Compilation


written by Thryce | 19.03.2010


‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 6  
Users visited: 187  
Search this topic:  

!J.O.O.E.! - 20.03.2010 at 01:45  
Gnaw Their Tongues is a bit of an immense band with a demented genius behind the wheel. I may check this out if he's on it.
Marcel Hubregtse - 20.03.2010 at 02:03  
This seems like a HUGE compilation judging from the bands I know, which aren't many. Most of those are on the second cd and are big names (yes, I am an elitist prick ) such as Mumakil, Ufomammut, The Ocean, Kongh, Omega Massif, Taint, Jucifer, God Is An Astronaut and on side 1 Gnaw Their Tongues. But to be honest, calling those bands big is of course laughable. So these bands being the biggest on the compilation is telling as to the risk the compilers are taking releasing this.
A very commandable job indeed. Finally a NON-SAFE compilation that isn't targeted at sales but is targetted at people discovering new unknown bands. Kudos indeed.
Jon - 20.03.2010 at 07:51  
This looks awesome. New music by Kongh, made my day.
Bad English - 20.03.2010 at 16:19  
I was wrong, before I saw who wrote it i thought its Marcel or Baz
the stranger - 21.03.2010 at 05:06  
This is a compilation that has really got my atention. Also it's good to see that most band don't even have a profile here. Must be full of great discoveries.
F.N.S.C.A.C - 09.04.2012 at 21:43  
This is fantastic compilation and a new one's just dropped. Get in or go home.

Advertise on Metal Storm

Login or register to post here.

Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums VA - Falling Down II Compilation [VA] 4.5 22.03.2010 by KMETRAYRAY
News Falling Down Compilation II - To Be Released Next Year 4.5 17.10.2009 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews VA - Falling Down IIV 4 06.06.2012 by Susan
Albums Primordial - One And All, Together, For Home 3 12.03.2014 by Troy Killjoy
Albums Various Artists - A Tribute To Sonata Arctica [VA] 3 01.12.2015 by Wukk

Hits total: 5776 | This month: 9