Dragged Into Sunlight - Hatred For Mankind review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

60 users:
8.42
Band: Dragged Into Sunlight
Album: Hatred For Mankind
Release date: September 2009


01. Boiled Angel / Buried With Leeches
02. Volcanic Birth
03. To Hieron
04. Lashed To The Grinder And Stoned To Death
05. I, Aurora
06. Totem Of Skulls


Doom-ish Black metal
Label: Mordgrimm Records (re-released by Prosthetic Records in April 2010)
Total Running Time: 51:37


Crucial warning. Lock up the bleach and laundry detergents, and put away all the long chords and sharp knives. You'll be looking for a way out after hearing this release, so proceed with caution... 'Cus these guys are totally sick. I can't even figure out if they've taken too many meds or not enough before recording the album.

Hatred-drenched riffs and bone-crushing drums keep pushing you back into some black abject shithole - where it smells like gonorrhea, humiliation and Max Cavalera's hair - forcing you to enjoy your stay down there. Just like this album evokes more than one feeling of total depravity; the browbeating music cannot be classified in one defined genre. This abhorrent mix of black, doom, sludge and noise is just sickening. The raging black metal parts are dominating though, blasting ones brains out with the sole purpose of raping the skull. The infusion of the other genres serves as a subtle reminder of how utterly wretched, miserable and despicable your life is.

As you might have guessed, the production isn't too crystal-clear either. Hatred For Mankind sounds like it was recorded in the ruins of a mass murder house - and I wouldn't be surprised if it actually was... because it probably is. For that reason the already malignant vocals sound possibly even rawer. The maniacs behind Dragged Into Sunlight are certainly not of this world. The only signs of human sounding voices are in the numerous - by times even annoying - samples, talking about misanthropy... so yeah, the weak-stomached lose yet again.

Pretty sure that time you were spitting black blood when seeing that disfigured body floating by the river on the same day your dog disappeared in the wood chipper right after you accidentally found your sister's dildo, is less disturbing than sitting through this album in one whole listen. Oh and btw, you disgust me.

Written by Thryce | 13.04.2010


 

Guest review by
VIG
Rating:
10
Dragged Into Sunlight is one of my favorites, even though they only have a couple of releases. DIS is a blackened sludge metal/death metal band from the U.K. The band was very underground. They have had a big cult following since this release, but now they are getting more popular. They are headlining a U.S. tour and just killed it at 2016's Maryland Deathfest! The identity of the members are unknown, but these guys are pretty talented! I've been listening to this album over and over for about a year, and I still think it is a masterpiece.

Read more ››
published 10.08.2016 | Comments (2)


Comments

Comments: 29   Visited by: 264 users
13.04.2010 - 19:11
Mikyz
This sounds like a potentially disturbing listen ( the cover art being beyond weird and repulsive), I'm definitely going to check what these fucked up people sound like. And I enjoyed reading the review "...you accidentally found your sister's dildo..." I laughed my ass of off reading this
----
Laugh and the world laughs with you. Weep and you weep alone.
Loading...
13.04.2010 - 19:30
BitterCOld
Gringo
Wow. so i take it this is more upbeat than REM's "Shiny Happy People"?

nice review, i'll be sure to check out their myspace page.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
13.04.2010 - 21:15
Ragana
Rawrcat
Written by Mikyz on 13.04.2010 at 19:11

( the cover art being beyond weird and repulsive)

At first I thought this is another review of Lucas cuz' he always gets the best looking albums but apparently this time Thryce got lucky. This one is more interesting than good-looking, though.

Nice review but I ain't going to listen to this album. Might be too raw and/or disturbing.
Loading...
13.04.2010 - 22:05
yumishami
Yes it is raw and disturbing,and i loved it!
Loading...
13.04.2010 - 22:31
Got Mayhem?
That an...interesting cover. I like me some messed up music, I shall check this out at once.
----
Loading...
13.04.2010 - 23:10
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I'll have to run to the Dollar Store later and buy some corpse paint to wear for my first listen.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
14.04.2010 - 02:31
Got Mayhem?
Sounds more DM than BM to me, but it definitely does draw from a number of influences. There's BM, DM, sludge and more thrown in the mix. Great sick stuff, I'm enjoying this.
----
Loading...
14.04.2010 - 04:12
Marcus
Doit Like Bernie
The cover art looks like 3 KKK members delivering a baby. Deserves a listen just for that.
Loading...
14.04.2010 - 05:30
Sasha Batrakov
Account deleted
Reminds me of john mayer...not! fucking brutal
Loading...
14.04.2010 - 17:20
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Sounds pretty interesting. Gonna check it out.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
14.04.2010 - 23:39
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Dragged Into Sunlight? Sounds like these guys are just a bunch of vampires. >:[

I'll probably check this out. Fo' sho.
----
"Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST..." ____Frank Zappa
Loading...
26.11.2010 - 18:38
Kennoth
I've heard volcanic birth. Let's just say that it can be worse.
----
*insert something deep and profound*
Loading...
01.01.2011 - 14:45
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Good gravy juice this is excellent. I was meant to check these guys out last month when I heard they were supporting Mayhem, then the snow meant they couldn't make it. But yeah, great stuff and nice work on the review.
Loading...
01.01.2011 - 14:56
RavenKing
Sounds like shit, especially vocals. And it's much closer to Death than Black Metal.
----
They shake your hand and they smile and they buy you a drink
They say we'll be your friends we'll stick with you till the end
But everybody's only looking out for themselves
And you say who can you trust I'll tell you nobody
Loading...
01.01.2011 - 15:16
Thryce
Retired Staff
Written by RavenKing on 01.01.2011 at 14:56

Sounds like shit, especially vocals. And it's much closer to Death than Black Metal.

Thank you for this very important statement.
----
Your favorite band sucks.
Loading...
01.01.2011 - 15:20
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by RavenKing on 01.01.2011 at 14:56

Sounds like shit, especially vocals. And it's much closer to Death than Black Metal.

HActually I'd say this is an almost perfect melding of death, black and sludge which just shows the fickle nature of the perspectives in genre classification.
Loading...
01.01.2011 - 16:33
RavenKing
Written by Thryce on 01.01.2011 at 15:16

Written by RavenKing on 01.01.2011 at 14:56

Sounds like shit, especially vocals. And it's much closer to Death than Black Metal.

Thank you for this very important statement.


My pleasure.
----
They shake your hand and they smile and they buy you a drink
They say we'll be your friends we'll stick with you till the end
But everybody's only looking out for themselves
And you say who can you trust I'll tell you nobody
Loading...
03.05.2011 - 02:36
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Primarily death metal this one with some black and doom thrown in.
but a great little ditty nonetheless.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
26.05.2011 - 09:06
Spirit Molecule
spirit molecule
Good record, I would agree that its more death metal than anything else. I generally wouldn't find stuff like this appealing, but for some reason I like it. It's sick, dirty and awesome. Good review as well.
----
If you never wake up from a dream does it become reality?

Last fm
Don't click here
Loading...
24.07.2011 - 20:18
Fallen_Empire
Copies of the LP available in the USA on black & white wax @ http://fallenempirestore.bigcartel.com/
Loading...
12.08.2011 - 10:16
Music4TheSpirit
MetalForTheSpiri
The funny thing is that the name of the band suggest wouldn't suggest this "shithole" however the name of the album give a little twist to that, oh and about the review it just hurt my feelings, specially that last sentence. Thank you.
----
In this days we seem to be limited by scientific knowledge
"I'm a good man... while that don't interfere with my interest" Anonymous , taken from the low moderm and post-moderm consciences
Loading...
10.04.2012 - 09:03
Metal_Buff
What's truly messed about this album is it's just catchy enough to make you WANT to listen to it again... I think these sickos want me to go fucking insane! I went into it thinking it would be like a test to be endured, but found it unexpectedly fun. But this review gives the right impression, the faint of heart would chug a bottle of Chlorox before making it to the end of this sick, anti-life Blackened Death Grimefest!
Loading...
23.05.2012 - 01:55
a MasT
Fabulous review!!!
Loading...
14.08.2012 - 17:43
Oaken
Hipster
Black, Death and Sludge... Is this similar to Alkerdeel in any way?
----
In that case, man is only air as well.
Loading...
14.08.2012 - 17:52
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Oaken on 14.08.2012 at 17:43

Black, Death and Sludge... Is this similar to Alkerdeel in any way?


totally not
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
14.08.2012 - 18:02
Oaken
Hipster
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.08.2012 at 17:52

Written by Oaken on 14.08.2012 at 17:43

Black, Death and Sludge... Is this similar to Alkerdeel in any way?


totally not

If so, I might check this out. Thanks.
----
In that case, man is only air as well.
Loading...
14.08.2012 - 18:06
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Oaken on 14.08.2012 at 18:02

If so, I might check this out. Thanks.


The only thing they have in comon is that they both played at Roadburn this year
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
14.08.2012 - 23:19
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.08.2012 at 18:06

Written by Oaken on 14.08.2012 at 18:02

If so, I might check this out. Thanks.

The only thing they have in comon is that they both played at Roadburn this year


And that both were awesome at that... Alkerdeel slightly more awesome but still.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
14.07.2014 - 21:10
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
I Listened to this at the time it was released and revisited it a couple of days ago along their latest release, great material for sure, greatly explained by the review, specially the part about the smell of Max Cavalera's hair.

I have to add that I didn't like it the first time I listened it, but now I find it so much better!
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"

Loading...

Hits total: 6594 | This month: 18