Bandcamp music player

Rating:
N/A
Dragged Into Sunlight - Hatred For Mankind
25 September 2009


01. Boiled Angel / Buried With Leeches
02. Volcanic Birth
03. To Hieron
04. Lashed To The Grinder And Stoned To Death
05. I, Aurora
06. Totem Of Skulls


Doom-ish Black metal
Label: Mordgrimm Records (re-released by Prosthetic Records in April 2010)
Total Running Time: 51:37


Crucial warning. Lock up the bleach and laundry detergents, and put away all the long chords and sharp knives. You'll be looking for a way out after hearing this release, so proceed with caution... 'Cus these guys are totally sick. I can't even figure out if they've taken too many meds or not enough before recording the album.

Hatred-drenched riffs and bone-crushing drums keep pushing you back into some black abject shithole - where it smells like gonorrhea, humiliation and Max Cavalera's hair - forcing you to enjoy your stay down there. Just like this album evokes more than one feeling of total depravity; the browbeating music cannot be classified in one defined genre. This abhorrent mix of black, doom, sludge and noise is just sickening. The raging black metal parts are dominating though, blasting ones brains out with the sole purpose of raping the skull. The infusion of the other genres serves as a subtle reminder of how utterly wretched, miserable and despicable your life is.

As you might have guessed, the production isn't too crystal-clear either. Hatred For Mankind sounds like it was recorded in the ruins of a mass murder house - and I wouldn't be surprised if it actually was... because it probably is. For that reason the already malignant vocals sound possibly even rawer. The maniacs behind Dragged Into Sunlight are certainly not of this world. The only signs of human sounding voices are in the numerous - by times even annoying - samples, talking about misanthropy... so yeah, the weak-stomached lose yet again.

Pretty sure that time you were spitting black blood when seeing that disfigured body floating by the river on the same day your dog disappeared in the wood chipper right after you accidentally found your sister's dildo, is less disturbing than sitting through this album in one whole listen. Oh and btw, you disgust me.


Band profile: Dragged Into Sunlight
Album: Hatred For Mankind


 


written by Thryce | 13.04.2010



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 29  
Users visited: 235  
Search this topic:  


Mikyz - 13.04.2010 at 19:11  
This sounds like a potentially disturbing listen ( the cover art being beyond weird and repulsive), I'm definitely going to check what these fucked up people sound like. And I enjoyed reading the review "...you accidentally found your sister's dildo..." I laughed my ass of off reading this
BitterCOld - 13.04.2010 at 19:30  
Wow. so i take it this is more upbeat than REM's "Shiny Happy People"?

nice review, i'll be sure to check out their myspace page.
Ragana - 13.04.2010 at 21:15  
Written by Mikyz on 13.04.2010 at 19:11

( the cover art being beyond weird and repulsive)

At first I thought this is another review of Lucas cuz' he always gets the best looking albums but apparently this time Thryce got lucky. This one is more interesting than good-looking, though.

Nice review but I ain't going to listen to this album. Might be too raw and/or disturbing.
yumishami - 13.04.2010 at 22:05  
Yes it is raw and disturbing,and i loved it!
Got Mayhem? - 13.04.2010 at 22:31  
That an...interesting cover. I like me some messed up music, I shall check this out at once.
Troy Killjoy - 13.04.2010 at 23:10  
I'll have to run to the Dollar Store later and buy some corpse paint to wear for my first listen.
Got Mayhem? - 14.04.2010 at 02:31  
Sounds more DM than BM to me, but it definitely does draw from a number of influences. There's BM, DM, sludge and more thrown in the mix. Great sick stuff, I'm enjoying this.
Marcus - 14.04.2010 at 04:12  
The cover art looks like 3 KKK members delivering a baby. Deserves a listen just for that.
Sasha Batrakov - 14.04.2010 at 05:30  
Reminds me of john mayer...not! fucking brutal
Lucas - 14.04.2010 at 17:20  
Sounds pretty interesting. Gonna check it out.
Fat & Sassy! - 14.04.2010 at 23:39  
Dragged Into Sunlight? Sounds like these guys are just a bunch of vampires. >:[

I'll probably check this out. Fo' sho.
Kennoth - 26.11.2010 at 18:38  
I've heard volcanic birth. Let's just say that it can be worse.
!J.O.O.E.! - 01.01.2011 at 14:45  
Good gravy juice this is excellent. I was meant to check these guys out last month when I heard they were supporting Mayhem, then the snow meant they couldn't make it. But yeah, great stuff and nice work on the review.
RavenKing - 01.01.2011 at 14:56  
Sounds like shit, especially vocals. And it's much closer to Death than Black Metal.
Thryce - 01.01.2011 at 15:16  
Written by RavenKing on 01.01.2011 at 14:56

Sounds like shit, especially vocals. And it's much closer to Death than Black Metal.

Thank you for this very important statement.
!J.O.O.E.! - 01.01.2011 at 15:20  
Written by RavenKing on 01.01.2011 at 14:56

Sounds like shit, especially vocals. And it's much closer to Death than Black Metal.

HActually I'd say this is an almost perfect melding of death, black and sludge which just shows the fickle nature of the perspectives in genre classification.
RavenKing - 01.01.2011 at 16:33  
Written by Thryce on 01.01.2011 at 15:16

Written by RavenKing on 01.01.2011 at 14:56

Sounds like shit, especially vocals. And it's much closer to Death than Black Metal.

Thank you for this very important statement.


My pleasure.
Marcel Hubregtse - 03.05.2011 at 02:36  
Primarily death metal this one with some black and doom thrown in.
but a great little ditty nonetheless.
Spirit Molecule - 26.05.2011 at 09:06  
Good record, I would agree that its more death metal than anything else. I generally wouldn't find stuff like this appealing, but for some reason I like it. It's sick, dirty and awesome. Good review as well.
Fallen_Empire - 24.07.2011 at 20:18  
Copies of the LP available in the USA on black & white wax @ http://fallenempirestore.bigcartel.com/
Et Ermit - 12.08.2011 at 10:16  
The funny thing is that the name of the band suggest wouldn't suggest this "shithole" however the name of the album give a little twist to that, oh and about the review it just hurt my feelings, specially that last sentence. Thank you.
Metal_Buff - 10.04.2012 at 09:03  
What's truly messed about this album is it's just catchy enough to make you WANT to listen to it again... I think these sickos want me to go fucking insane! I went into it thinking it would be like a test to be endured, but found it unexpectedly fun. But this review gives the right impression, the faint of heart would chug a bottle of Chlorox before making it to the end of this sick, anti-life Blackened Death Grimefest!
a MasT - 23.05.2012 at 01:55  
Fabulous review!!!
Oaken - 14.08.2012 at 17:43  
Black, Death and Sludge... Is this similar to Alkerdeel in any way?
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.08.2012 at 17:52  
Written by Oaken on 14.08.2012 at 17:43

Black, Death and Sludge... Is this similar to Alkerdeel in any way?


totally not
Oaken - 14.08.2012 at 18:02  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.08.2012 at 17:52

Written by Oaken on 14.08.2012 at 17:43

Black, Death and Sludge... Is this similar to Alkerdeel in any way?


totally not

If so, I might check this out. Thanks.
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.08.2012 at 18:06  
Written by Oaken on 14.08.2012 at 18:02

If so, I might check this out. Thanks.


The only thing they have in comon is that they both played at Roadburn this year
Mr. Doctor - 14.08.2012 at 23:19  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.08.2012 at 18:06

Written by Oaken on 14.08.2012 at 18:02

If so, I might check this out. Thanks.

The only thing they have in comon is that they both played at Roadburn this year


And that both were awesome at that... Alkerdeel slightly more awesome but still.
Daggon - 14.07.2014 at 21:10  
I Listened to this at the time it was released and revisited it a couple of days ago along their latest release, great material for sure, greatly explained by the review, specially the part about the smell of Max Cavalera's hair.

I have to add that I didn't like it the first time I listened it, but now I find it so much better!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Dragged Into Sunlight - Hatred For Mankind 10.5 08.04.2011 by !J.O.O.E.!
News Dragged Into Sunlight - Teaser For Upcoming Album Streaming Online 7.5 09.10.2012 by J. N.
News Dragged Into Sunlight - Working On New Material 6 30.12.2013 by barnesy
Albums Dragged Into Sunlight - Widowmaker 6 22.08.2012 by Alex Fenger
News Dragged Into Sunlight - New EP Details 6 05.09.2012 by J. N.



Hits total: 5666 | This month: 49