Rating:
8.0
Bloodbath - Nightmares Made Flesh
27 September 2004


01. Cancer Of The Soul
02. Brave New Hell
03. Soul Evisceration
04. Outnumbering The Day
05. Feeding The Undead
06. Eaten
07. Bastard Son Of God
08. Year Of The Cadaver Race
09. The Ascension
10. Draped In Disease
11. Stillborn Saviour
12. Blood Vortex
13. Breeding Death [demo] [bonus]
14. Omnious Bloodvomit [demo] [bonus]


Some line-up changes in the new Bloodbath album, Mikael Akerfeldt (Opeth) handed over the vocal duties to Peter Tägtgren (Hypocrisy), Dan Swanö left the drums and picked up the guitars, and recorded the sophomore effort of this all-star Death Metal band, entitled Nightmares Made Flesh.

The thing that always intrigued me about this band was how come these talented and well-known musicians got to make typical Death Metal? I mean, If you put 4 geniuses in one room, you wont expect that they will come up with something as typical as Bloodbath right? But they did, first class Death Metal that's it, but sadly no innovations, no new stuff here, just Death Metal.

Anyway, as I said before, the new effort of Boodbath sounds typical, but somehow different from their debut album, I think is the vocals, while Tägtgren does a terrific job, I prefer Akerfeldt handling such endeavors.
The new album is different in many ways, putting Swanö as the axeman was a very good choice, compositions have more depth and interesting breaks, production is somewhat more cleaner and crisp, and yes, It has some brutal parts also, but also has calm "moodier" moments like in "Eaten" , the break in the middle song is quite good, but for those who want to headbang, listen "Draped In Disease" and "Bastard Son Of God".

This release is a Death Metal release, don't forget that, if you don't like Death Metal at all, don't buy this, you won't like it, because despite the melodic breaks, this is as Old School as Death Metal can get, for those who are fans of Dan Swanö, his zillion bands and projects, for those who are fans of Hypocrisy and for those who are fans of Death Metal, get this one, you won't be disappointed a bit, a good release it is, maybe I was expecting something grandiose from these guys, but still is a solid album.


Band profile: Bloodbath
Album: Nightmares Made Flesh


 


written by Undercraft | 15.12.2004



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 199  
Search this topic:  


Doc Godin - 13.04.2007 at 08:20  
I just bought this a few hours ago, its somewhat disapointing, I really enjoyed the first one, but this doesnt seem to live up to it, maybe its just going to take a while to get into.
JENK - 19.04.2007 at 00:33  
this album fukin rules. BLOODBATH ARE FUKIN SICK xx
Deadmeat - 19.01.2009 at 10:17  
This album is really great! The songwriting is totaly perfect. The vocals are super and every song is catchy but also angry!!!!
What I don't like so much are the lyrics..
Uirapuru - 12.11.2009 at 04:25  
Written by Doc Godin on 13.04.2007 at 08:20

I just bought this a few hours ago, its somewhat disapointing, I really enjoyed the first one, but this doesnt seem to live up to it, maybe its just going to take a while to get into.


I got the same feeling.

I've listen to this sometimes, but I can't get much into. Kinda miss the weird production of ''Ressurection through carnage'', this album is good, but there aren't many tracks that stand out much.
''Brave New Hell'' and ''Eaten'' are the best in this album imo.
Doc Godin - 12.11.2009 at 04:27  
Written by Uirapuru on 12.11.2009 at 04:25

Written by Doc Godin on 13.04.2007 at 08:20

I just bought this a few hours ago, its somewhat disapointing, I really enjoyed the first one, but this doesnt seem to live up to it, maybe its just going to take a while to get into.


I got the same feeling.

I've listen to this sometimes, but I can't get much into. Kinda miss the weird production of ''Ressurection through carnage'', this album is good, but there aren't many tracks that stand out much.
''Brave New Hell'' and ''Eaten'' are the best in this album imo.

Exactly, Bloodbath were most effective when they had that sparse, crusty production. This clean, heavy production makes the whole thing sound pretty boring.
Mr. Doctor - 12.11.2009 at 18:03  
Written by Doc Godin on 12.11.2009 at 04:27

This clean, heavy production makes the whole thing sound pretty boring.


And without that old school feeling they said they wanted to achieve...
BeastOfMetal456 - 01.09.2011 at 04:35  
Great album. The rating's a bit low, but I sure agree about the lack of innovation.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Bloodbath - Nightmares Made Flesh 7.5 28.01.2010 by Chris Steele
Reviews Cryptopsy - Blasphemy Made Flesh 4 28.03.2010 by Uirapuru
Reviews Cradle Of Filth - The Principle Of Evil Made Flesh 4 13.04.2009 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Eternal Gray - Kindless 3 23.04.2010 by I_Die_Often
Reviews Pagan Hellfire - A Voice From Centuries Away 3 30.09.2009 by Ellrohir



Hits total: 4417 | This month: 44