Rating:
9.8
Windir - Arntor
19 October 1999


01. Byrjing (The Beginning)
02. Arntor, Ein Windir (Arntor, A Warrior)
03. Kong Hydnes Haug (The Burial Mound Of King Hydnes)
04. Svartesmeden Og Lundamyrstrollet (The Blacksmith And The Troll Of Lundamyri)
05. Kampen (The Struggle)
06. Saknet (The Longing)
07. Ending (Ending)


Here it is: the album that began all folk metal. The album that was epic to such proportions that it is widely recognized today as a metal masterpiece. The album that inspired Finntroll to play pagan metal. The album of a dead man, who unfortunately passed away at the end of 2003, freezing to death in Reppastolen, Norway while walking home to his mountain cabin.

Arntor is an album that cannot be described easily. Through it's chilly, cold guitar riffs and glassy, harmonized melodies it delivers an ensemble of feelings and emotions that is yet to be rivaled in the world of metal. The album guides you through dense forests, snowy landscapes, frozen fjords, and bare frostbitten prairies, with a contrast of fast riffs and drumming, and slow melodies, causing one to enter a sort of trance that transports them to a place where they have only dared to dream about. The melodies on this album are simply extraordinary. Combined with the epic choruses and catchy synths, you will be frozen in your seat while listening to the grandeur of certain passages, hoping you had discovered this album earlier.

On to the technical part, this album has been done by one single person, Valfar, who played all instruments on this album. Listening to the record, it is pretty impressive to hear such a high level of musicianship done by a single individual. The level of creativity is very high in this album: a number of songs have become instant classics among metal fans - "Arntor Ein Windir", "Svartesmeden Og Ludamyrstrollet", "Saknet", and "Ending...".

I must say that this album contains a lot of keyboards, which is uncommon for traditional metal. This gives a weird, but folky atmosphere to the album, sometimes lifting it to extreme heights. The guitars are predominant in this record, as well as the keyboards and drums. The bass cannot be heard that much, but in the whole it gives quite a unique feeling. Fast tremolo picking can be heard throughout the songs, balanced by slow melodies that give a "dreamy" feeling.

In conclusion, I would say that this album is among those who had made a lasting impact on the world of metal. If you haven't heard this album yet, you should not be wasting your time reading this review, you should buy it immediately, and one thing that I can guarantee is that you will not regret it. The wonder that is Arntor will forever lie deep in the vaults of metal music. I would personally rate it amongst my all-time favorite metal albums.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Windir
Album: Arntor


 


written by Carl Berg | 31.05.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 191  
Search this topic:  


Until the End - 31.05.2010 at 13:38  
Whoops, you posted this review for the wrong album. Other than that, it's good.
patrickmetal12 - 31.05.2010 at 14:13  
Haahahaaha nice. still good
hail Valfar!
Troy Killjoy - 31.05.2010 at 15:15  
Written by patrickmetal12 on 31.05.2010 at 14:13

Haahahaaha nice. still good
hail Valfar!


Written by Until the End on 31.05.2010 at 13:38

Whoops, you posted this review for the wrong album. Other than that, it's good.


That was my mistake - I changed the ID during the editing process but it looks like it didn't go through.
Anyway, the review is now matched up to the right album.
Array - 31.05.2010 at 19:02  
Lol...
!J.O.O.E.! - 01.06.2010 at 00:18  
Everyone loves Windir! Or at least I've never heard of anyone who doesn't. I haven't actually listened to this album all that much but Likferd and 1184 are permanently etched into my brain. Amazing albums. Great review too.
Ellrohir - 01.06.2010 at 17:01  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 31.05.2010 at 15:15

That was my mistake - I changed the ID during the editing process but it looks like it didn't go through.
Anyway, the review is now matched up to the right album.


only then topic in "Updated topics" is still entitled "Windir - 1184"
W-Lash - 08.06.2010 at 15:02  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 01.06.2010 at 00:18

I haven't actually listened to this album all that much but Likferd and 1184 are permanently etched into my brain. Amazing albums. Great review too.

Arntor is even better - the best ony by Windir. A MUST LISTEN album.
Fane - 05.08.2010 at 02:30  
This surely is an epic album. If you know Valfar's story, listening to makes it even more epic. Although it is a great album, I still would give it 9. This is because I'm not a huge fan of synth parts on the album. But that's just a minor thing. Just listen to "Svartesmeden Og Lundamyrstrollet" and experience something chilly.

Oh yeah, Valfar played all instruments expect drums =P Drums were done by Steingrim.
vezzy - 05.08.2010 at 14:15  
That began all folk metal? Lol no.
Carl Berg - 22.10.2010 at 00:48  
Written by vezzy on 05.08.2010 at 14:15

That began all folk metal? Lol no.


Point taken. Of course, the mighty Skyclad began it all, but Windir is the band who influenced the most of today's folk metal scene : Manegarm, Finntroll, Ensiferum, Moonsorrow.
BeastOfMetal456 - 15.08.2011 at 18:16  
Epic album. Everything works fine, the harsh vocals are great, as are the clean vocals. We hear some great Black metal riffage that is viking influenced. Drums are mighty. Symphonic effects do not sound cheesy.
I'll rate this after another spin.
KONG HYDNES HAUG!!!!
Fredd - 17.08.2011 at 06:33  
One word: Ending.
MandoMikey - 29.04.2013 at 22:56  
One of the few keyboard heavy albums that doesnt make wanna throw my stereo out of the window. such a majestic and medievil sounding album, insane that it was all recorded just by valfar.
Northern Danger - 26.09.2013 at 21:28  
Written by Carl Berg on 22.10.2010 at 00:48

Written by vezzy on 05.08.2010 at 14:15

That began all folk metal? Lol no.


Point taken. Of course, the mighty Skyclad began it all, but Windir is the band who influenced the most of today's folk metal scene : Manegarm, Finntroll, Ensiferum, Moonsorrow.

I don't think so...Windir didn't do nothing about folk metal genre....good black metal still.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Windir - 1184 4.5 25.04.2010 by patrickmetal12
Reviews Windir - Likferd 4 28.12.2006 by W-Lash
News Kataklysm - Finish Writing New Album 3 12.03.2010 by JÄY
News Windir, Vreid, Ulcus - 2014 Shows Celebrating 20 Years Of Music 3 03.09.2013 by Carl Berg
Albums Windir - Sognametal 3 17.01.2011 by Baz Anderson



Hits total: 3933 | This month: 4