Rating:
N/A
The Green Evening Requiem - Decomposer
2010


01. The Past Is Dead
02. Black Notion
03. Teneral
04. Decomposer
05. Deprived And Starved
06. Erosion
07. The Subtleties Of Imperfection


A great philosopher once said: "There's nothing that brings one's piss to a boil more than sullied potential." Ok, no philosopher - to the best of my knowledge - has ever spoken those words, in fact, I just may be the first person in the world to say that. Regardless, such a genius phrase applies so well to The Green Evening Requiem and their sophomore release Decomposer.

So first, let's go over the potential. The music itself is such a fantastic idea - it's an amalgamation of technical death metal, both vicious & ambient black metal, with a few touches of doom dispersed here and there; all tied together in a progressive fashion. Sounds fantastic, right? Right.

...And here's where the whole thing goes astray...

For starters, the band sounds like it hasn't totally mastered each of the amalgamated genres yet - the technical death portions go from tight to sloppy and back again, while the doom & black metal portions all sound fairly generic. The part that is really holding this band back, and smothering any potentially great ideas is the horrid mixing. The vocals sound so cheaply pasted over top it kills any ambiance the band achieved during the black metal side, and drowns out any sweet riffs in the death metal side.

Despite all the setbacks, I think the band still has some great ideas, ideas so different I don't think I can name any band doing what they're trying to do, for that I give them a kudos, too bad they can't execute or record it properly.

So, diagnosis? Inconclusive.


Website: http://www.greenevening.com/


 



Written on 11.06.2010 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC, now semi-retired.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 6  
Users visited: 84  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 11.06.2010 at 18:21  
Regardless, I'm going to check this out. It sounds too good to pass up just based on the genres involved.
Doc Godin - 11.06.2010 at 22:55  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 11.06.2010 at 18:21

Regardless, I'm going to check this out. It sounds too good to pass up just based on the genres involved.

Yeah, it's worth checking out. But like I said, it's a lot of good ideas, poorly executed.
thefreezer - 15.06.2010 at 03:27  
Picked this up recently and I encourage others to disregard this review. check it out for yourself. i think it's great and no one, i mean no one, is doing anything like this out there.
Doc Godin - 19.06.2010 at 22:48  
Written by thefreezer on 15.06.2010 at 03:27

Picked this up recently and I encourage others to disregard this review. check it out for yourself. i think it's great and no one, i mean no one, is doing anything like this out there.

Disregard the review? I think it's actually quite positive, I'm not saying this band is bad, in fact I'm saying there is a lot of promise that just wasn't executed properly yet. You'll also notice I never said to ignore this band. Most of my negative comments were on the production, not the song-writing or performance as much. Perhaps you should try re-reading the review?

Though noticing you are from Philly, as is the band, I'm suspecting you're either related to a band member or friends with the band. In which case it somewhat limits the validity of the statement as it clearly shows you as fairly biased.
thefreezer - 20.06.2010 at 02:20  
Apparently you can't like a band from your own town without being related to them.
i am allowed to disagree with your review dude, it's called journalism; it's not fact, it's opinion.
Doc Godin - 21.06.2010 at 21:23  
Written by thefreezer on 20.06.2010 at 02:20

Apparently you can't like a band from your own town without being related to them.
i am allowed to disagree with your review dude, it's called journalism; it's not fact, it's opinion.

I'm not arguing the fact that you can like them or disagree with me.

Here's where I get the feeling you're somehow connected to the band on a personal level: instead of actually arguing against my review which, according to you, is wrong, you merely stated to disregard it. I'm the only one here that actually brought any detailed arguments to the table (which were completely unbiased, seemingly unlike yours), so if anything, your comments should be disregarded. Make sense?

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums The Green Evening Requiem - Bastards Of Atlas 7.5 23.08.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Vampires Everywhere! - Kiss The Sun Goodbye 6 18.05.2011 by Darkside Momo
Reviews Akphaezya - Anthology IV: The Tragedy Of Nerak 6 03.04.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Desaster - The Arts Of Destruction 6 26.02.2012 by Beer Fairy
Reviews Inferion - The Desolate 6 24.01.2012 by Edmund Fogg



Hits total: 2711 | This month: 23