Rusted Dawn - The Black Tides Of War review



Reviewer:
8.5

3 users:
7.00
Band: Rusted Dawn
Album: The Black Tides Of War
Release date: March 2010


01. Prologue
02. Red Collar
03. Waking Streets
04. By The Hammer Of Thor
05. Derelict
06. Master Species
07. Stigmantis
08. Where Turns The Tide
09. I Am Becoming Death
10. The Black Tides Of War


You know what's awesome? Crossover. Do you know what's even better? Crossover done right. After Municipal Waste's massively un-aggressive 4th album, where the fuck do we turn now to get a fresh dose of hardcore punk mixed with metal? Bands like Winds Of Plague? Or Terror? Whose macho-jock attitude pretty much counter-acts the principles on which original hardcore was built on? We can count our lucky stars whenever an album of this level of quality comes along to remove the stigma that's starting to grow around the term "hardcore".

Basically, this is your archetypal crossover thrash album - simple, straightforward and (actually) massively aggressive - with a nice balance of professionalism and the oh-so-important D.I.Y. feel. Picture bands like Toxic Holocaust or Municipal Waste, with slightly less tongue-in-cheek lyrical content and you've got the general idea of what Rusted Dawn sounds like. I could sit here and try to describe this album for days and still come up short for words, it's just pure fucking thrash - but such simplicity is what makes this album so good. A fine balance of originality and keeping the straight-forward riffing appeal is nearly impossible to achieve at this day in age, but these guys pulled it off.

If your looking for something to "open your mind" or some other contrived crap that makes you feel like an intellectual, I suggest picking up an Ayreon album next time you're out shopping for tampons. Sure, challenging yourself and broadening your horizons is nice from time to time, but other times you just need to rock the fuck out. For that I prescribe The Black Tides Of War.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 19.06.2010 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 17   Visited by: 103 users
20.06.2010 - 00:01
Ag Fox
Angel No More
>I suggest picking up an Ayreon album next time you're out shopping for tampons.
lol Bas won't be happy
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
20.06.2010 - 00:27
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Ag Fox on 20.06.2010 at 00:01

>I suggest picking up an Ayreon album next time you're out shopping for tampons.
lol Bas won't be happy

Nor will half the MS database.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
20.06.2010 - 00:47
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Written by Doc Godin on 20.06.2010 at 00:27

Written by Ag Fox on 20.06.2010 at 00:01

>I suggest picking up an Ayreon album next time you're out shopping for tampons.
lol Bas won't be happy

Nor will half the MS database.
but that's exactly what makes this review awesome
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
20.06.2010 - 09:06
frankeli
Account deleted
Great ending notes. tampons and the rest hahahahahahahah great great great
Loading...
20.06.2010 - 15:28
I_Die_Often
Listening to the songs available on myspace, made me think of old Slayer...
----
Old enough to be your Daddy... speaking of which... you look familiar... do I know your mother???
Loading...
20.06.2010 - 16:39
Lord_Regnier
I agree with the comparison to old Slayer. The music is obviously more punk-ish but I hear similarities at times. Also, the vocalist reminds me of Araya.

As for Ayreon, I leave this kind of stuff to philosophical nerds (you know, the kind of people who like to boost their ego because they listen to more 'mature' music- I always had the feeling the word mature equals boring when it is applied to metal music) because it bores me to no end anyway, and I listen to something more energetic that cranks me up.
----
"Why would we fear death, when life is so much more frightening?"
Loading...
20.06.2010 - 16:51
Vitriolic Hate
Chaos Reaper
Written by Ag Fox on 20.06.2010 at 00:01

>I suggest picking up an Ayreon album next time you're out shopping for tampons.
lol Bas won't be happy

Loading...
21.06.2010 - 23:41
JohnDoe
Account deleted
I don't see the point of Ayreon being mentioned there; as for how intelectual or mature Ayreon is, my answer is "not that much".
Loading...
21.06.2010 - 23:44
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Guest on 21.06.2010 at 23:41

I don't see the point of Ayreon being mentioned there;

There is no point. It's called a joke. You seem to be the only one not to get it - congrats.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
21.06.2010 - 23:53
JohnDoe
Account deleted
Written by Doc Godin on 21.06.2010 at 23:44

Written by Guest on 21.06.2010 at 23:41

I don't see the point of Ayreon being mentioned there;

There is no point. It's called a joke. You seem to be the only one not to get it - congrats.


I knew it was a sarcastic remark, it seemed just pointless; i really laughed when you called Ayreon intelectual.
Loading...
22.06.2010 - 00:06
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Guest on 21.06.2010 at 23:53

Written by Doc Godin on 21.06.2010 at 23:44

Written by Guest on 21.06.2010 at 23:41

I don't see the point of Ayreon being mentioned there;

There is no point. It's called a joke. You seem to be the only one not to get it - congrats.


I knew it was a sarcastic remark, it seemed just pointless; i really laughed when you called Ayreon intelectual.

Hang on, I'm trying to find a fail picture for this post...
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
22.06.2010 - 00:06
JohnDoe
Account deleted
Hurry up then...

don't get so personal; I should have kept my mouth shut, but it's that Ayreon "intelectulal" thing...

I didn't mean to bother you in any way.
Loading...
22.06.2010 - 00:13
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
I like puppies and kittens.
Loading...
22.06.2010 - 00:14
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Guest on 22.06.2010 at 00:06

Hurry up then...

don't get so personal; I should have kept my mouth shut, but it's that Ayreon "intelectulal" thing...

I didn't mean to bother you in any way.

When did I take anything personal? If anything I was just confused at how you managed to misinterpret the entire paragraph.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
22.06.2010 - 00:20
JohnDoe
Account deleted
I got the idea of the paragraph; I even listened a little bit to Rusted Dawn samples on myspace to see what they sound like.

I'm honestly sorry to have meddled here.
Loading...
22.06.2010 - 00:21
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Guest on 22.06.2010 at 00:20

I'm honestly sorry to have meddled here.

Don't be. The worst you can get is a sarcastic comment or two from myself.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
22.06.2010 - 00:39
JohnDoe
Account deleted
Written by Doc Godin on 22.06.2010 at 00:21

Written by Guest on 22.06.2010 at 00:20

I'm honestly sorry to have meddled here.

Don't be. The worst you can get is a sarcastic comment or two from myself.


oh well...

When i read your remark about Ayreon, I thought to myself "if Ayreon is intelectual, then wtf is King Crimson?" And then I thought "I've gotta listen to some King Crimson". So something good still came out of my meddling.
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 3805 | This month: 4