Rating:
8.5
Rusted Dawn - The Black Tides Of War
30 March 2010


01. Prologue
02. Red Collar
03. Waking Streets
04. By The Hammer Of Thor
05. Derelict
06. Master Species
07. Stigmantis
08. Where Turns The Tide
09. I Am Becoming Death
10. The Black Tides Of War


You know what's awesome? Crossover. Do you know what's even better? Crossover done right. After Municipal Waste's massively un-aggressive 4th album, where the fuck do we turn now to get a fresh dose of hardcore punk mixed with metal? Bands like Winds Of Plague? Or Terror? Whose macho-jock attitude pretty much counter-acts the principles on which original hardcore was built on? We can count our lucky stars whenever an album of this level of quality comes along to remove the stigma that's starting to grow around the term "hardcore".

Basically, this is your archetypal crossover thrash album - simple, straightforward and (actually) massively aggressive - with a nice balance of professionalism and the oh-so-important D.I.Y. feel. Picture bands like Toxic Holocaust or Municipal Waste, with slightly less tongue-in-cheek lyrical content and you've got the general idea of what Rusted Dawn sounds like. I could sit here and try to describe this album for days and still come up short for words, it's just pure fucking thrash - but such simplicity is what makes this album so good. A fine balance of originality and keeping the straight-forward riffing appeal is nearly impossible to achieve at this day in age, but these guys pulled it off.

If your looking for something to "open your mind" or some other contrived crap that makes you feel like an intellectual, I suggest picking up an Ayreon album next time you're out shopping for tampons. Sure, challenging yourself and broadening your horizons is nice from time to time, but other times you just need to rock the fuck out. For that I prescribe The Black Tides Of War.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 19.06.2010 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 103  
Search this topic:  


Ag Fox - 20.06.2010 at 00:01  
>I suggest picking up an Ayreon album next time you're out shopping for tampons.
lol Bas won't be happy
Doc Godin - 20.06.2010 at 00:27  
Written by Ag Fox on 20.06.2010 at 00:01

>I suggest picking up an Ayreon album next time you're out shopping for tampons.
lol Bas won't be happy

Nor will half the MS database.
Ag Fox - 20.06.2010 at 00:47  
Written by Doc Godin on 20.06.2010 at 00:27

Written by Ag Fox on 20.06.2010 at 00:01

>I suggest picking up an Ayreon album next time you're out shopping for tampons.
lol Bas won't be happy

Nor will half the MS database.
but that's exactly what makes this review awesome
frankeli - 20.06.2010 at 09:06  
Great ending notes. tampons and the rest hahahahahahahah great great great
I_Die_Often - 20.06.2010 at 15:28  
Listening to the songs available on myspace, made me think of old Slayer...
Lord_Regnier - 20.06.2010 at 16:39  
I agree with the comparison to old Slayer. The music is obviously more punk-ish but I hear similarities at times. Also, the vocalist reminds me of Araya.

As for Ayreon, I leave this kind of stuff to philosophical nerds (you know, the kind of people who like to boost their ego because they listen to more 'mature' music- I always had the feeling the word mature equals boring when it is applied to metal music) because it bores me to no end anyway, and I listen to something more energetic that cranks me up.
Vitriolic Hate - 20.06.2010 at 16:51  
Written by Ag Fox on 20.06.2010 at 00:01

>I suggest picking up an Ayreon album next time you're out shopping for tampons.
lol Bas won't be happy

JohnDoe - 21.06.2010 at 23:41  
I don't see the point of Ayreon being mentioned there; as for how intelectual or mature Ayreon is, my answer is "not that much".
Doc Godin - 21.06.2010 at 23:44  
Written by JohnDoe on 21.06.2010 at 23:41

I don't see the point of Ayreon being mentioned there;

There is no point. It's called a joke. You seem to be the only one not to get it - congrats.
JohnDoe - 21.06.2010 at 23:53  
Written by Doc Godin on 21.06.2010 at 23:44

Written by JohnDoe on 21.06.2010 at 23:41

I don't see the point of Ayreon being mentioned there;

There is no point. It's called a joke. You seem to be the only one not to get it - congrats.


I knew it was a sarcastic remark, it seemed just pointless; i really laughed when you called Ayreon intelectual.
Doc Godin - 22.06.2010 at 00:06  
Written by JohnDoe on 21.06.2010 at 23:53

Written by Doc Godin on 21.06.2010 at 23:44

Written by JohnDoe on 21.06.2010 at 23:41

I don't see the point of Ayreon being mentioned there;

There is no point. It's called a joke. You seem to be the only one not to get it - congrats.


I knew it was a sarcastic remark, it seemed just pointless; i really laughed when you called Ayreon intelectual.

Hang on, I'm trying to find a fail picture for this post...
JohnDoe - 22.06.2010 at 00:06  
Hurry up then...

don't get so personal; I should have kept my mouth shut, but it's that Ayreon "intelectulal" thing...

I didn't mean to bother you in any way.
!J.O.O.E.! - 22.06.2010 at 00:13  
I like puppies and kittens.
Doc Godin - 22.06.2010 at 00:14  
Written by JohnDoe on 22.06.2010 at 00:06

Hurry up then...

don't get so personal; I should have kept my mouth shut, but it's that Ayreon "intelectulal" thing...

I didn't mean to bother you in any way.

When did I take anything personal? If anything I was just confused at how you managed to misinterpret the entire paragraph.
JohnDoe - 22.06.2010 at 00:20  
I got the idea of the paragraph; I even listened a little bit to Rusted Dawn samples on myspace to see what they sound like.

I'm honestly sorry to have meddled here.
Doc Godin - 22.06.2010 at 00:21  
Written by JohnDoe on 22.06.2010 at 00:20

I'm honestly sorry to have meddled here.

Don't be. The worst you can get is a sarcastic comment or two from myself.
JohnDoe - 22.06.2010 at 00:39  
Written by Doc Godin on 22.06.2010 at 00:21

Written by JohnDoe on 22.06.2010 at 00:20

I'm honestly sorry to have meddled here.

Don't be. The worst you can get is a sarcastic comment or two from myself.


oh well...

When i read your remark about Ayreon, I thought to myself "if Ayreon is intelectual, then wtf is King Crimson?" And then I thought "I've gotta listen to some King Crimson". So something good still came out of my meddling.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Black Tusk - Set The Dial 7.5 15.11.2011 by BitterCOld
Reviews The Black Dahlia Murder - Ritual 7.5 14.07.2011 by munson
Reviews Suicide Silence - The Black Crown 7.5 30.07.2011 by Lit.
Reviews Astra - The Black Chord 7.5 10.04.2012 by Merchant of Doom
Reviews Norris - The Great White North 6 10.04.2011 by Collin



Hits total: 3416 | This month: 33