Rating:
7.5
Static-X - Wisconsin Death Trip
1999


01. Push It
02. I'm With Stupid
03. Bled For Days
04. Love Dump
05. I Am
06. Otsegolation
07. Stem
08. Sweet Of The Bud
09. Fix
10. Wisconsin Death Trip
11. The Trance Is The Motion
12. December
13. Down [Japanese bonus]


Why I bought this album I don't know, the weirdest thing is that I am really impressed with the results, let me explain. Static-X an alternative/industrial metal band, most times I see a band like this and spit on their album (well not exactly it's just a representative saying) and I spit with more anger if I hear a song like "Black And White" or "Cold" in MTV. Well not this time, apparently Static-X before showing to the world those shitty tracks they had a respectable album called "Wisconsin Death Trip"

My impression started in the second track "I'm With Stupid" a totally industrial song with a lot of electronic elements in it, but a great sound, great riffs, catchy as any industrial band, but oddly amazing, stupid lyrics I must say(starting with the title), but I might think that this was unusually intended to, we can find a lot of songs like this one all along the album, "Your shit's like chocolate cake and Your ass smells like a rose " (Love Dump), you get the idea. Anyway the album has another great song called "The Trance Is The Motion" again useless lyrics, but the song itself is brilliant, slow intro, respectable vocals(those weird screams in the middle…COOL), a good tuned bass in the beginning, I'm not to crazy about this riffs tough, but the song as a whole sounds very cool, slow but cool.

The entire album is surrounded by electronic rudiments, machine sounds, girls talking, weird sharp effects, etc. but this thing makes a chilling atmosphere, and it ends with the weirdest track I've heard in music history "December" starting with a winter effect, and then an ok song. Anyway you can't ask for good solos, complex drums, or irregular bass-lines in a band like this, but well at least the music sounds good, and different from all the other mediocre boring bands, and the vocalist hairdo is just very cool.

In the end Static-X is still a weird, alternative, industrial, but good band, the best from the worse some might say. Impressive, but yes indeed, there are good things in the industrial genre, Ministry leads my list, and from now on Static-X will be just one step below Ministry.


Band profile: Static-X
Album: Wisconsin Death Trip


 


written by Herzebeth | 03.01.2005



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 94  
Search this topic:  


dismaleuphony - 21.08.2006 at 11:54  
I'm glad someone else feels positive about this CD... This is the ONLY disc by the band worth listening to, and I find it highly enjoyable when the mood strikes. It's not the overproduced nu-metal that usually dumps all over US radio at all - and the band had a unique sound on this CD. While I agree that "I'm with Stupid" and "Trance is the Motion" are some of the better tracks, I'm surprised the review doesn't mention the two 'hit' songs at all...? "Push It" and "Bled For Days" are the songs that introduced fans to the band, and are some of the catchiest nu/industrial songs I've heard, with a genuine intensity yet always accessible.
viimaneraud - 21.08.2006 at 23:19  
I think that Wisconsin Death Trip is their best album.
but Start a War is worth listening to.
LethargyMan - 22.08.2006 at 03:55  
This was probably the first non-shitty-nu-metal album I ever purchased (I bought this in the stead of that Powerman 5000 album (which I ended up buying later and scantily listened to)), and is probably the one that really got me into metal.

The review is spot on - WDT is a very respectable first album for a band from the age of nu-metal. It's unfortunate that their later works didn't become more complex.
Baz Anderson - 24.08.2006 at 16:39  
wow its been a long time since i listened to Static-X
this was a brilliant album though, i would probably think the same if i listened to it again right now
i quite liked 'Machine' as well, but then they start getting worse and after 'Shadow Zone' i never really paid attention to them
it would be good if they made something else that sounded like this album but i gues they never will now because they know the more commercial the album they make, the more money they get
its a shame really
Tron - 20.10.2006 at 23:12  
Static-X's best album...almost perfect! Nu/ industrial metal at its best!
Metal Freak - 25.07.2008 at 21:06  
Written by dismaleuphony on 21.08.2006 at 11:54

I'm glad someone else feels positive about this CD... This is the ONLY disc by the band worth listening to, and I find it highly enjoyable when the mood strikes. It's not the overproduced nu-metal that usually dumps all over US radio at all - and the band had a unique sound on this CD. While I agree that "I'm with Stupid" and "Trance is the Motion" are some of the better tracks, I'm surprised the review doesn't mention the two 'hit' songs at all...? "Push It" and "Bled For Days" are the songs that introduced fans to the band, and are some of the catchiest nu/industrial songs I've heard, with a genuine intensity yet always accessible.


Only one worth listening to? Then that gives me hope. I've only heard "Machine" and I HATED it. The only song I've heard from this album is "Push It". Unlike the tracks on "Machine", I thought it was halfway decent. I still can't decide whether or not I should pick this one up. It's probably one of those "download first" albums.
Uirapuru - 16.06.2009 at 11:20  
Very nice album. Among nu-metal this is a 1st class work. ''Push It'' is an immortal song in the genre.
silenius - 22.10.2009 at 18:27  
One of the albums that got me into metal^^, the only static-x album worth the while listening to, and its great:D
elekctric - 03.03.2010 at 21:31  
I gotta agree.... in that this is the only Static X worth buying ... classic too bad about the rest of their albums
afu - 24.09.2010 at 19:24  
I didn't know who the fuck they were when I went to Ozzfest 2000. My wife and I'd just sat down and decided to rest through the band, since we didn't know them. They started off with "I'm with Stupid" and we stood up and got as close as we could to watch them. They were definitely a highlight of the day. We bought the album ASAP and it was in rotation in one vehicle or the other for a long, long time. This album is fun and I like the chugga chugga riffs and the vocals.
Lit. - 03.06.2011 at 22:32  
I borrowed the album from a friend. Although it's not my fave, Push IT, I'm With Stupid, Bled For Days and Love Dump definitely make it worth listening to if you got a tolerance for that stuff.
FinnishSammich - 13.07.2012 at 23:16  
Fucking great album! Unfortunately, rest of their work didn't rise to the same level.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Static-X - Wisconsin Death Trip 7.5 16.01.2013 by Lit.
Reviews God Among Insects - World Wide Death 4.5 19.11.2010 by ScanDoppelganger
Reviews Napalm Death - Time Waits For No Slave 4.5 25.02.2009 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Death - Leprosy 4.5 13.06.2007 by Warman
Reviews Deicide - Till Death Do Us Part 4.5 08.07.2008 by SlaytallicA



Hits total: 3756 | This month: 33