Rating:
8.6
Neuromist - Move Of Thought
25 March 2010


01. The Sixth Dawn
02. Bizarre
03. Reason Crusade
04. Inner Voids
05. Lost Grip
06. Cortex Tectonics
07. Rebuilt Babylon


Neuromist are an emerging progressive/technical death metal band from Moldova, formed in 2004. This year they have released their first full-length album, Move of Thought.

Their style blends classic technical death with melodic metal, the songs often featuring melodic passages which then shift back to the fierce riffs common at many tech-death bands and well-executed here. You'll find many notable riffs, whether they be more raw, grinding or more complex. There is also a wide array of solos which are somewhat bluesy or jazz-inspired, at times being ambitious and adding to the atmosphere of the music. Overall, it sounds like the fierce riffs and progression of Meshuggah coupled with the disjointed "structures" in the music of Gorguts. But if you want a more interesting comparison, think of Akerfeldt meeting Thorhendal in a club and deciding to start a tech-death band. Some groove elements are also present in the album.

One of the things likely to catch your attention, though, is the highly audible bass which surprisingly doesn't disturb the flow of the guitar and is actually a great addition to the sound while having some prominent technicality and great licks. The drums are also good, adding to the rhythm and aggressiveness of the music. The vocals, however, are disputable. In the opening track "The Sixth Dawn" they sound like weak shouts but later on they become satisfactory, I suppose, but this really isn't a strong point for the album. The clean vocals are odd but actually interesting.

Hard to say which are notable tracks as they all have their own passages, riffs and structure. Whether it be the unpolished and raw "The Sixth Dawn" and "Lost Grip", the build-up to "Bizarre", "Reason Crusade" or the melodic "Inner Voids", "Cortex Tectonics" and the atmospheric final track "Rebuilt Babylon" (its outro being somewhat of a darker version of the famous "Floods" outro solo), it's all worth listening.

In the end, Neuromist are definitely one of the more interesting new bands to come out and if you're a fan of tech-death or bands such as Meshuggah or Atheist, this album is worth getting.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Neuromist
Album: Move Of Thought


 


written by vezzy | 24.07.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 20  
Users visited: 151  
Search this topic:  


Darkside Momo - 28.07.2010 at 02:24  
I was working on a review about this excellent album but you beat me to it!
One of the best 2010 releases so far, it grows better and better with every spinů Do yourself a favor, and listen to "Rebuilt Babylon", the album closer. It's a bit more melodic than the rest, and quite a masterpiece.

The band claims as influences "musicians such as Cynic, Dream Theater, Meshuggah, Death, Spawn of Possession, King Crimson, Strapping Young Lad, Spiral Architect, Alan Holdsworth and many more". It shows, both on the extreme side and on the jazzy/proggy one. But for a first record it's already quite original. No mere feat.
The vocals aren't awesome, but Vladimir Ghilien is really varied (not yet impressively so, but I'm pretty curious to see how he will evolve), but he is not always as confident and powerful as he should be ("The Sixth Dawn")

EDIT: Did I mention that the album can be downloaded for free here? Now, you have no excuses!
vezzy - 28.07.2010 at 13:40  
Written by Darkside Momo on 28.07.2010 at 02:24

I was working on a review about this excellent album but you beat me to it!
One of the best 2010 releases so far, it grows better and better with every spinů Do yourself a favor, and listen to "Rebuilt Babylon", the album closer. It's a bit more melodic than the rest, and quite a masterpiece.

The band claims as influences "musicians such as Cynic, Dream Theater, Meshuggah, Death, Spawn of Possession, King Crimson, Strapping Young Lad, Spiral Architect, Alan Holdsworth and many more". It shows, both on the extreme side and on the jazzy/proggy one. But for a first record it's already quite original. No mere feat.
The vocals aren't awesome, but Vladimir Ghilien is really varied (not yet impressively so, but I'm pretty curious to see how he will evolve), but he is not always as confident and powerful as he should be ("The Sixth Dawn")

EDIT: Did I mention that the album can be downloaded for free here? Now, you have no excuses!


Haha, yeah! This is some great tech death, beats the new Decrepit Birth by miles.
Daydream Nation - 28.07.2010 at 23:14  
That sounds like my kind of album. Thanks for the recommendation!
seafood - 29.07.2010 at 00:19  
"think of Akerfeldt meeting Thorhendal in a club and deciding to start a tech-death band."

thats all I need to hear
vezzy - 29.07.2010 at 00:44  
Written by seafood on 29.07.2010 at 00:19

"think of Akerfeldt meeting Thorhendal in a club and deciding to start a tech-death band."

thats all I need to hear


Good to know it.
@gent_-_orange - 29.07.2010 at 02:45  
After the first listen i have to say it is very good, Thank you for the recommendation.
Got Mayhem? - 29.07.2010 at 03:54  
Ok, all I had to read was the second paragraph and I knew this was something I need to hear.
Daydream Nation - 29.07.2010 at 05:40  
This is officially the best technical death metal album of 2010 and certainly belongs in my top 5 metal albums so far this year. I've got a lot of listening to do though. (This is behind only Alcest's Ecailles de Lune and Ihsahn's After.)
Marcus - 29.07.2010 at 09:19  
ZOMG AUDIBLE BASS! Sad that hearing an instrument that every metal band has makes these guys special.

Pretty solid although i could dig a vocal change.
vezzy - 29.07.2010 at 16:22  
Written by Marcus on 29.07.2010 at 09:19

ZOMG AUDIBLE BASS! Sad that hearing an instrument that every metal band has makes these guys special.


You don't get it. It's this weird feeling... like the bass was a second guitar (it's kinda supposed to be the foundation, but most of the time it's a half-audible addition). It isn't like "I think I can hear it" or "Hey, it's more audible in this part", it's always roaring but doesn't disrupt anything.
I guess you have to listen to the music to get it.
Daydream Nation - 29.07.2010 at 18:10  
Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 16:22

Written by Marcus on 29.07.2010 at 09:19

ZOMG AUDIBLE BASS! Sad that hearing an instrument that every metal band has makes these guys special.


You don't get it. It's this weird feeling... like the bass was a second guitar (it's kinda supposed to be the foundation, but most of the time it's a half-audible addition). It isn't like "I think I can hear it" or "Hey, it's more audible in this part", it's always roaring but doesn't disrupt anything.
I guess you have to listen to the music to get it.


I know what you mean. All the criticisms I've looked at are split down the middle about the bass. Some found it awesome to have an audible bass, while others thought it sort untangled the structure and foundation.
Personally, I'm on the fence about it as well. I've listened to the album four times and I can definitely see that the structure is superfluous at times because of its forefront appearance. I'm confused even as to what role it serves; it's certainly not the foundation, but rather like a second guitar, as you pointed out. Very bizarre approach, but one that, for the most part, I enjoyed!
hiddenhallow - 29.07.2010 at 18:29  
Hello, guys!
I'm extremely pleased regarding your attitude towards the album! It's very flattering, since I play in this band and in fact I've written all of the music presented here.

Our bass player will definitely be pleased to hear all these appraisals regarding his playing. He has a jazz background that's why we have always pushed his tone a bit forward. Regarding the parts of the bass guitar, most of your assumptions are right. The way I composed the parts was that the bass had to play more like a second guitar, not just by copying the parts of the rhythm guitar, but to have its own voice in the structure. The way the bass sounds and the parts on some records where it's very audible (think of Cynic's "Focus" and Spiral Architect's "A Sceptic's Universe") were a bit off-putting for me personally because they sometimes seemed to be detached from the whole structure of the music. Moreover, since 2008 we are playing as a four piece band live with only one guitar and the bass has become a very good support in the live sound. Too bad I don't have any live videos to present so that you could understand what I mean. Hope I'm not too pretencious with this post )

Thanks again for loving the music!

Kirill
Marcus - 29.07.2010 at 19:40  
Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 16:22

Written by Marcus on 29.07.2010 at 09:19

ZOMG AUDIBLE BASS! Sad that hearing an instrument that every metal band has makes these guys special.


You don't get it. It's this weird feeling... like the bass was a second guitar (it's kinda supposed to be the foundation, but most of the time it's a half-audible addition). It isn't like "I think I can hear it" or "Hey, it's more audible in this part", it's always roaring but doesn't disrupt anything.
I guess you have to listen to the music to get it.


no that's not what I meant. I listened to the album and recognized that right away. There are tons of great bass grooves and you're right, it is like a second guitar. I just think it's sad almost no other metal bands do this, let alone even have audible bass when it's one of three or four instruments every metal band uses.
Daydream Nation - 29.07.2010 at 20:49  
Written by hiddenhallow on 29.07.2010 at 18:29

Hello, guys!
I'm extremely pleased regarding your attitude towards the album! It's very flattering, since I play in this band and in fact I've written all of the music presented here.

Our bass player will definitely be pleased to hear all these appraisals regarding his playing. He has a jazz background that's why we have always pushed his tone a bit forward. Regarding the parts of the bass guitar, most of your assumptions are right. The way I composed the parts was that the bass had to play more like a second guitar, not just by copying the parts of the rhythm guitar, but to have its own voice in the structure. The way the bass sounds and the parts on some records where it's very audible (think of Cynic's "Focus" and Spiral Architect's "A Sceptic's Universe") were a bit off-putting for me personally because they sometimes seemed to be detached from the whole structure of the music. Moreover, since 2008 we are playing as a four piece band live with only one guitar and the bass has become a very good support in the live sound. Too bad I don't have any live videos to present so that you could understand what I mean. Hope I'm not too pretencious with this post )

Thanks again for loving the music!

Kirill


You have no idea how much I admire you for making that mature and sophisticated of a debut album. Seriously...this is certainly the best technical death metal album since Gorod's Process of a New Decline, if not Obscura's Cosmogenesis. You honestly deserve $20-$25 dollars for this album (not the free pricetag that you have on your site) because it is extraordinary musicianship, songwriting and effort. I'm trying to find a place in my city that would be willing to order it for me. Congratulations and I can't wait to hear your second effort.
hiddenhallow - 29.07.2010 at 21:37  
Written by Guest on 29.07.2010 at 20:49

You have no idea how much I admire you for making that mature and sophisticated of a debut album. Seriously...this is certainly the best technical death metal album since Gorod's Process of a New Decline, if not Obscura's Cosmogenesis. You honestly deserve $20-$25 dollars for this album (not the free pricetag that you have on your site) because it is extraordinary musicianship, songwriting and effort. I'm trying to find a place in my city that would be willing to order it for me. Congratulations and I can't wait to hear your second effort.


That's extremely flattering to hear that, thank you! Of course it would be much better to get $10 from a ticket to a live gig in your area Too bad we don't have any suitable live footage of our shows to upload on youtube. And we rarely get an opportunity to play live in general, but believe me, it's a really good experience for those who like our music. The comparisons you draw are also quite flattering to say the least. We'll try to make even better music with our next effort. Hopefully it will be done some time around 2012
Derwood - 01.08.2010 at 07:55  
Thoroughly enjoy this album and look forward hearing how the band develops. After half a dozen listens, the sonic density of "Bizarre" makes it my favourite track on the album, "Inner Voids" being a close second.

I love where the bass is in the mix (biased bass player here) and have to disagree with comments regarding it not forming the foundation. Though note variation is about a thousand times more complex than is common in metal, the bass still lays the rhythmic foundation in conjunction with the drums across the tracks of this album. Pay attention to the interplay of accents, duration, tonality and gaps as opposed the actual notes being played and it's clear that Alex Petriuk understands every aspect of his instrument's role.

The weak spot for me are the vocals as well, especially the brief clean sections and the first track; the production doesn't really appear to help them much at all.
Darkside Momo - 04.08.2010 at 04:45  
Written by hiddenhallow on 29.07.2010 at 21:37

We'll try to make even better music with our next effort. Hopefully it will be done some time around 2012

Be sure to keep us informed!
hiddenhallow - 05.08.2010 at 22:45  
Hey guys! Just wanted to tell that there are a couple of live videos available on youtube.
Be sure to check http://www.youtube.com/user/neuromist
BreadGod - 06.08.2010 at 03:41  
These guys show some real promise. I didn't like the vocals at first, but they got better as the album went on.
Valaskjalf - 03.10.2010 at 02:23  
Bit late on this one, somehow it skipped by me and its pretty impressive. Im prolly one of the biggest Meshuggah fans around so when I read the review I had to check it out, and theres definitely some subtle hints of Meshuggah. Especially in the instrumental/softer parts (ironically enough).

Can't say Im really grabbed by the album though....only listened through it twice and their skill is obviously admirable but theres also quite a lot that seems simply random to me. Who knows maybe Im being a bit harsh....Im going through a serious Gorod-worship phase as it is and I was getting used to their hooks and grooves lol Maybe this Neuromist album is a bit of a grower. Killer bassist tho!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Neuromist - Move Of Thought 6 29.07.2010 by
Reviews Enthrallment - Immerse Into Bloody Bliss 3 20.07.2010 by JD
Reviews Cancer - To The Gory End 3 04.08.2010 by dodstink
Reviews Hate Eternal - Conquering The Throne 3 28.08.2010 by Uirapuru
Reviews Massacre - From Beyond 3 15.06.2010 by vezzy



Hits total: 4890 | This month: 31