Rating:
6.5
Aborted - Coronary Reconstruction [EP]
14 January 2010


01. Coronary Reconstruction
02. From A Tepid Whiff
03. Grime
04. A Cadaverous Dissertation
05. Left Hand Path [Entombed cover]


Let's face it. Aborted aren't really going to return to their well-known abrasive and explosive style of brutal death/deathgrind we know and love, à la Goremageddon and Engineering The Dead. They've taken a more dulled down, melodic death path, while still retaining their brutality, even though it just doesn't live up to their early days.

What we have here is this year's new EP by them, Coronary Reconstruction through Century Media. This is a digital EP and only 1,000 physical copies were made. That said, it is pretty much the spiritual successor to Strychnine.213. We have two vocal styles like in its predecessor: the raspy growl and the weak, somewhat deathcore-esque shout. The sound is definitely loud and raging. It is also a bit rawer, losing the groove vibe which was present in their previous effort. Although what's especially notable is the completely new lineup with the Goremageddon-era drummer Dirk Verbeuren having returned.

Yet sadly, it is only a shadow of their signature work. It really seems like they tried to recreate it but in the end you get a rawer Strychnine (the melody is here to stay, but at least it isn't keyboard bombardment or forced to you). This isn't necessarily bad that they try to experiment more, no not at all, we actually still have grinding guitars, even if not as intense, but the problem is it sounds washed up and already done many times. It can't hold out on its own, despite its shining moments (parts of "Grime" and "A Cadaverous Dissertation"). Verbeuren does a good job as well. Blast beats, fills, plenty of good parts, but that doesn't help much as the guitar is quite high in the mix (this also means, you guessed itů largely inaudible bass).

In conclusion, although Sven insists that this is a return to their old school style of grinding death metal, that doesn't seem to be the case. Unless you're a die-hard fan or enjoyed their efforts from Slaughter and Apparatus and beyond, I wouldn't recommend it beyond a Last.FM listen if you're curious.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 9


Band profile: Aborted
Album: Coronary Reconstruction


 


written by vezzy | 02.08.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 58  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 02.08.2010 at 13:38  
Nice review. Haven't actually listened to these guys since The Archaic Abattoir, which I actually enjoyed, though of course not as much as Engineering The Dead. Might give this a whirl at some point.
vezzy - 02.08.2010 at 13:40  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 02.08.2010 at 13:38

Nice review. Haven't actually listened to these guys since The Archaic Abattoir, which I actually enjoyed, though of course not as much as Engineering The Dead. Might give this a whirl at some point.


Haha, glad you notice EtD. Lots of people focus solely on Goremageddon for some reason.
!J.O.O.E.! - 02.08.2010 at 13:44  
Written by vezzy on 02.08.2010 at 13:40

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 02.08.2010 at 13:38

Nice review. Haven't actually listened to these guys since The Archaic Abattoir, which I actually enjoyed, though of course not as much as Engineering The Dead. Might give this a whirl at some point.


Haha, glad you notice EtD. Lots of people focus solely on Goremageddon for some reason.

Yeah they both kick many varieties of ass but I prefer EtD's simpler, straighter less "Aborted" kind of sound, if they makes any sense at all. Feels a bit more riff based.
vezzy - 02.08.2010 at 13:46  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 02.08.2010 at 13:44

Written by vezzy on 02.08.2010 at 13:40

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 02.08.2010 at 13:38

Nice review. Haven't actually listened to these guys since The Archaic Abattoir, which I actually enjoyed, though of course not as much as Engineering The Dead. Might give this a whirl at some point.


Haha, glad you notice EtD. Lots of people focus solely on Goremageddon for some reason.

Yeah they both kick many varieties of ass but I prefer EtD's simpler, straighter less "Aborted" kind of sound, if they makes any sense at all.


I get what you mean. Goremageddon grinds like a beast while EtD roars along without giving a damn... while having moments to shine as Goremageddon is too busy delivering spoken word parts.
Troy Killjoy - 05.08.2010 at 05:16  
I haven't really enjoyed anything from these guys since Engineering The Dead. I still can't make up my mind about which I like more - ETD or The Purity Of Perversion.

Regardless, this definitely isn't a return to their original style. The weak vocals and contrite melodies don't suit their attempts at brutality, and though this is very specific, "Left Hand Path" is one of the worst metal cover songs I've ever heard.

5.5/10 from me.
Boxcar Willy - 09.08.2010 at 15:54  
As i said i broke my collarbone and wrist, now i cant go see their tour... NOOOOOO!!! even no im typing with one hand...
Marcel Hubregtse - 09.08.2010 at 16:17  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 09.08.2010 at 15:54

As i said i broke my collarbone and wrist, now i cant go see their tour... NOOOOOO!!! even no im typing with one hand...

Ouch. So no internet porn for you then until th wrist is healed
Boxcar Willy - 09.08.2010 at 16:25  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 09.08.2010 at 16:17

Written by Boxcar Willy on 09.08.2010 at 15:54

As i said i broke my collarbone and wrist, now i cant go see their tour... NOOOOOO!!! even no im typing with one hand...

Ouch. So no internet porn for you then until th wrist is healed

yuk yuk yuk
Don Martin - 11.08.2010 at 22:04  
I bought the physical copy and actually thought the same thing upon listening it, althought it IS a serious improvement to the crap they came up with on Strychnine.213.
MetalDesperado - 16.09.2010 at 17:42  
In the first couple of times i listened to it, it sounded interesting but after a while it became boring.But this is one of the sickest artworks I've ever seen!!!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Aborted - Coronary Reconstruction [EP] 6 09.08.2010 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Master - The Human Machine 3.5 27.07.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
News Aborted - New Video Online 3.5 12.01.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
News Aborted - Debut Lyric Video For New Song 3 14.04.2014 by psykometal
News Aborted - Working On New Album 3 04.10.2007 by White Winter Sun



Hits total: 3316 | This month: 27