Rating:
8.0
Nightmare - Insurrection
11 September 2009


01. Eternal Winter
02. The Gospel Of Judas
03. Insurrection
04. Legions Of The Rising Sun
05. Three Miles Island
06. Mirrors Of Damnation
07. Decameron
08. Target For Revenge
09. Cosa Nostra (Part I- The Light)
10. Angels Of Glass


Despite being around since the early 80's, and coming back with some pretty outstanding power metal albums in the 00's, Grenoble's finest export Nightmare, still remain a largely unknown quantity outside of their native France. In 2007, they unleashed the monstrous Genetic Disorder, almost unnoticed. But its combination of violent riffs, huge choruses and general dark sound made it stand out in a genre not known for possessing those qualities. It immediately became one of my very favourite albums in the genre and I was very eager to see if their latest offering Insurrection could match it. Unfortunately, it doesn't quite manage to usurp, or even equal its awesome predecessor. But it is similar in style and does manage to produce some great moments.

Thankfully, Insurrection mainly sticks to the style of Genetic Disorder with only it's lack of consistency being its downfall. The mid-paced opener "Eternal Winter" is decent enough, and it has a good chorus, but it's not really classic stuff. However, when the band suddenly launch into high gear with the death metal tinged riffing of "The Gospel Of Judas" the album explodes into life and maintains a decent level of consistency throughout, slipping into mediocrity only very occasionally. Although the riffs are at times vicious, (check out the ferocious main riff of the title track for an example) it wouldn't be a power metal album without some catchy choruses and, indeed, this album is able to deliver a fair few. The majestic chorus of "Legions Of The Rising Sun" is a true highlight. When combined with some tense riffing and a brilliant solo, this is a truly wonderful track. "Mirrors Of Damnation" also contains an immense chorus and the rest of the song is pure melodic carnage.

Singer Jo Amore's unusual but unique harsh crooning style is in fine form once again here and it's hard to believe he was once the band's drummer! Indeed, the whole band give fine performances and a nice crunchy production also helps the sound no end. Unfortunately, the album contains some fillers which means I have to knock some points off my overall rating. "Costa Nostra" features a weird chorus which is totally at odds with the rest of the song, sounding quite silly as a result. While the epic "Three Mile Island" starts off very well, a very out of place ambient mid-section kills the song's momentum. Other gripes include some songs which could have benefited hugely from a great solo and "Target For Revenge"'s chorus (which is in fact very good) being dragged out for far too long at the end.

In the end, this is another great example of aggressive power metal, which while slightly eclipsed by the previous album, manages to stand on it's own as a fine album. I'd definitely advise any power metal fan to give this one a go. Particularly those who like their power metal with a side order of venom and bite.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Nightmare
Album: Insurrection


 


written by Angelic Storm | 20.08.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 53  
Search this topic:  


Hermann Langke - 21.08.2010 at 09:04  
Uber-Cool! I haven't even heard of this band, but now I will give it a listen!
Angelic Storm - 21.08.2010 at 09:15  
Written by Hermann Langke on 21.08.2010 at 09:04

Uber-Cool! I haven't even heard of this band, but now I will give it a listen!


Any time I mention them to people, nobody knows who I'm on about! Which is a shame, as they really deserve to be classed as one of the top bands in the genre.

I would advise you to check out Genetic Disorder first, as it is a bit better than the latest one imo. Although this album is certainly good as well! In fact, all of their albums since their comeback and transformation into a power metal band are very good. xD
vezzy - 21.08.2010 at 16:02  
Yuck, flower-thrash. I'll pass.
RavenKing - 21.08.2010 at 16:49  
Music is good on some parts, mediocre on others.
Vocals are awful all the time. A lame attempt at trying to sound like Rob Halford.
Angelic Storm - 21.08.2010 at 16:59  
Written by RavenKing on 21.08.2010 at 16:49

Music is good on some parts, mediocre on others.
Vocals are awful all the time. A lame attempt at trying to sound like Rob Halford.


The vocals are an aqquired taste, I know. Although I do love them, I can understand why some people might not.

As for the music, I had a feeling you might like some of it. lol They are aggressive at times, but not really enough to appeal to metal fans whose tastes are exclusive to death/thrash and other extreme genres. But I think most power metal fans will like them.
vezzy - 21.08.2010 at 17:24  
Well, it's far better than so-called Euro flower metal, but not quite up to par with US power like Jag Panzer or EU power like Rage (that isn't flower).
Angelic Storm - 21.08.2010 at 17:31  
Written by vezzy on 21.08.2010 at 17:24

Well, it's far better than so-called Euro flower metal, but not quite up to par with US power like Jag Panzer or EU power like Rage (that isn't flower).


Hmm... I refuse to use this "flower metal" term. lol But, from what I presume you call "flower metal", surely late 90's/early 00's Rage would come under that category. (The "Ghosts" and "XIII" albums especially)

I also prefer Nightmare to Jag Panzer, but thats just personal preference.
vezzy - 21.08.2010 at 18:00  
...They would?

Oh, shit.
Derwood - 22.08.2010 at 20:04  
Thanks for this review Angelic Storm, and recommending starting with Genetic Disorder. Thoroughly enjoyed that album and love discovering unfamiliar bands I enjoy.

As for the vocals, I think they're a real strength for the band and a big part of what keeps them from straying into flower territory. The effete vocals (and über cheesy lyrics) are what kill most power metal for me, but I can overlook the lyrics if the vocals have balls.
Angelic Storm - 22.08.2010 at 20:37  
Written by Derwood on 22.08.2010 at 20:04

Thanks for this review Angelic Storm, and recommending starting with Genetic Disorder. Thoroughly enjoyed that album and love discovering unfamiliar bands I enjoy.

As for the vocals, I think they're a real strength for the band and a big part of what keeps them from straying into flower territory. The effete vocals (and über cheesy lyrics) are what kill most power metal for me, but I can overlook the lyrics if the vocals have balls.


Hey, you're very welcome. I'm glad you liked it.

I was originally going to do a review for Genetic Disorder, but when I saw there was already a review for that one, I decided to tackle their latest instead. lol Although I love all their albums, including their first 2 80's albums which are more standard heavy metal, "Genetic..." is my fave. And the one I would recommend for anyone new to the band. Particularly if they like more aggressive power metal.

The vocals are a real strength for me too. They have a gruff masculine quality, which isn't often found in the genre, and he can also sing very well. xD You will probably enjoy their other PM efforts as well, because they all have him on vocals. Although I think the riffing, especially on later albums is much heavier than is the norm for PM bands. They are one of my fave bands in the genre anyways. <3
Ag Fox - 24.08.2010 at 20:04  
>Any time I mention them to people, nobody knows who I'm on about
haha, I do know them

Anyway, I think your review totally nailed it!
Angelic Storm - 24.08.2010 at 22:49  
Written by Ag Fox on 24.08.2010 at 20:04

>Any time I mention them to people, nobody knows who I'm on about
haha, I do know them

Anyway, I think your review totally nailed it!


Yay! You're a rarity sir, for sure. lol

And thanks! I just say what I feel.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Kreator - Cause For Conflict 4.5 24.05.2010 by Uirapuru
Reviews Forbidden - Omega Wave 4.5 18.05.2011 by Maxx666
Albums Nightmare - One Night Of Insurrection [DVD] 4.5 27.02.2011 by henblack120
Reviews Theatre Of Tragedy - Storm 2.5 04.10.2006 by iaberis
Reviews Arsis - We Are The Nightmare 2.5 25.05.2008 by



Hits total: 2242 | This month: 31