Rating:
6.8
Onslaught - Killing Peace
5 March 2007


01. Burn
02. Killing Peace
03. Destroyer Of Worlds
04. Pain
05. Prayer For The Dead
06. Tested To Destruction
07. Twisted Jesus
08. Planting Seeds Of Hate
09. Shock 'n' Awe


Onslaught were a British thrash metal band who originally released three full-lengths, but are primarily known for The Force. Although not hailed for their originality, they managed to combine the energetic and generally "in-your-face" elements of thrash into one worthy album. They never had an established style either, starting off as hardcore punk (demos), moving on to punk-inspired speed/thrash akin to Venom (Power from Hell), then to Slayer/Venom-type old school thrash (The Force) and finally, a rather controversial heavy/melodic thrash approach (In Search of Sanity) before finally disbanding in 1991, only to… you guessed it, reform in 2004. In 2007, they released their fourth full-length offering, Killing Peace.

Well, reunion albums most of the time do not end up especially notable or great. The band disbanded before the "downfall of thrash" and reformed when the so-called "thrash revivalist" movement was taking place while many other groups had changed their sound or played a different type of the genre, more accessible or groove-oriented. Nevertheless, it's apparent they tried to recreate the madness and aggression of old school thrash, and at first the album feels like it explodes with forcefulness, so it really gets you in the mood, only to fall flat after a few tracks. Why? It suffers from the main flaws present in modern/post-thrash, and some of them also in the older music. First off, the guitar tone is a lot like newer Testament/Exodus and the riffs don't help it. We have the ever cursed chugging and basic chord riffs, alternating between mid-paced and fast tempo, though it's mainly the latter (hey, what the hell do you expect?), as well as plenty of groove to be found in the choruses and other parts. Sy Keeler doesn't live up to his glory days, and that is to be expected, but he sounds like he's doing a Rob Dukes impression most of the time. The drumming is a stand-out aspect in this case, as it's always fast, versatile and just dynamic.

When speaking of highlight tracks, I'd pick "Killing Peace" (filled with vigour), "Destroyer of Worlds" (the same), "Tested To Destruction" (this one has some pretty nice riffs), "Twisted Jesus" (probably the best track), "Planting Seeds of Hate" (quite solid) and "Shock and Awe" (more straightforward thrash than the others, although plain at times).

This is no terrible album, not at all, but it simply sounds like the basic, archetypal elements of thrash put together with some catchier riffs and good solos while coated with a predominantly modern edge (building up a lot of energy only to end up nowhere far). If you aren't one for modern thrash, stick to The Force, but if it sounds good to you, give it a shot.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 9


Band profile: Onslaught
Album: Killing Peace


 


written by vezzy | 25.08.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 79  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 25.08.2010 at 12:55  
Caught them live once and they put on a decent show. Never bothered to check them out beyond that though, seems I wasn't missing out on anything.
Holy Man - 25.08.2010 at 17:38  
I was pretty fond of this album actually. Like you say though, Killing Peace is definitely a highlight track. And yeah, they pretty much stick to the old tried and true shit, which is how I like it actually, so that would explain my enjoyment of this album.
vezzy - 25.08.2010 at 18:12  
Written by Holy Man on 25.08.2010 at 17:38

I was pretty fond of this album actually. Like you say though, Killing Peace is definitely a highlight track. And yeah, they pretty much stick to the old tried and true shit, which is how I like it actually, so that would explain my enjoyment of this album.


It isn't so much "sticking to the old" as "the basics with some groove, energy and a few cunningly inserted better parts".

Still, it beats plenty of other bands.
Holy Man - 25.08.2010 at 18:20  
For sure dude... it could be worse... they could've gone totally St. Anger on our asses.
Zombie - 25.08.2010 at 18:34  
6.8 ? come on ! that album deserves at least an 8
Troy Killjoy - 25.08.2010 at 23:29  
Great solos and some really nice riffs. Straightforward Exodus-esque thrash with major balls.

I find The Force to be a little stronger overall, if not only for its similarity to Slayer.
Thryce - 04.09.2010 at 15:41  
Quote:
It suffers from the main flaws present in modern/post-thrash, and some of them also in the older music. First off, the guitar tone is a lot like newer Testament/Exodus and the riffs don't help it.

So? What can possibly be wrong with that? Both are among the few bands of the old guard that are still of any relevance in today's scene.
Also these bands are from the Bay Area school, while Onslaught's sound is more than "established" and distinct enough to differentiate itself from the Bay Area sound.

Killing Peace is a solid release and definitely one of the better thrash releases of 2007, putting Onslaught right back at the top of the UK thrash scene.

Disappointing review.
Zombie - 05.09.2010 at 00:19  
Written by Thryce on 04.09.2010 at 15:41

Quote:
It suffers from the main flaws present in modern/post-thrash, and some of them also in the older music. First off, the guitar tone is a lot like newer Testament/Exodus and the riffs don't help it.

So? What can possibly be wrong with that? Both are among the few bands of the old guard that are still of any relevance in today's scene.
Also these bands are from the Bay Area school, while Onslaught's sound is more than "established" and distinct enough to differentiate itself from the Bay Area sound.

Killing Peace is a solid release and definitely one of the better thrash releases of 2007, putting Onslaught right back at the top of the UK thrash scene.

Disappointing review.


I second that.

Bump !
vezzy - 05.09.2010 at 00:25  
I don't see it as particularly distinct. Lively, yes, but not distinct.

New Testament is bad to half-decent, to be honest. New Exodus is great, but similar sound... kind of overused, I don't know.

It's above average, definitely, but not that great. It has character and energy, but the basic overdone riffs and groove don't take it anywhere too far.
Zombie - 05.09.2010 at 00:32  
Well, you said 'guitar tone' which means that apparently you dont like modern technology in recording or modern guitar active pickups and amplifiers.

this isn't a debate about which is better, Testament/ Exodus old-stuff or new .. its about that you think that the new "guitar tone" is one of the "main flaws of modern thrash/ post-thrash metal" ... wtf man ?
vezzy - 05.09.2010 at 00:37  
Hm, lemme read it again...

You know, I think my brain wasn't running at maximum efficiency at the time. Two sentences, yet they just don't interconnect. (by the way, my last paragraph was referring to Onslaught's album)
deadone - 29.01.2014 at 05:23  
Just read this review...

Meh I love this album. Good modern groovy thrash and far better than 99% of the reThrash copy cat bunch.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Onslaught - Killing Peace 6 18.05.2011 by 0_byte
News Onslaught - Confirmed Lagoa Burning Live Festival 3 18.01.2008 by Infurnace
News Onslaught - Drummer Leaves The Band 3 26.03.2011 by Huntteri
Reviews Hate - Anaclasis: A Haunting Gospel Of Malice & Hatred 3 09.10.2010 by Maxx666
News Onslaught - Slaughterfest Tour Dates Announced 3 18.06.2013 by Gorshtak



Hits total: 2788 | This month: 35