Rating:
7.0
Cephalic Carnage - Misled By Certainty
31 August 2010


01. The Incorrigible Flame
02. Warbots A.M.
03. Abraxas Of Filth
04. Pure Horses
05. Cordyceps Humanis
06. Raped By An Orb
07. P.G.A.D.
08. Dimensional Modulation Transmography
09. Ohrwurm
10. When I Arrive
11. Power And Force
12. A King And A Thief
13. Repangaea
14. Aeyeucgh!
15. Grindcore Blastbeat Blues [Deluxe iTunes Edition bonus]


So, how does Cephalic Carnage sound without Jawsh Mullen? The band was already limping when they released Xenosapien, mainly because they got bored of being awesome and decided to be boring instead. Sure, they polished their sound, and finally you had some spastic solos and heightened execution in a Grindcore album, but was that really necessary?

Now, to be honest, I feel more attached to Mislead by Certainty as odd as it sounds. The band is no longer FUN, and this, in plain words, just fucking sucks, but at least their music has now some appeal to me. They no longer talk about weed while mixing Tango with Grindcore, but now you can hear a band playing their asses off, not having fun for that matter, but in the end their new polished style of heavy Grindcore sounds way more edible than the one found in Xenosapien.

This album unfortunately starts with the deplorable "The Incorrigible Flame", a song that could easily be an Outtake from Xenosapien, mainly because it borrows heavily from The Dillinger Escape Plan, and it even made me choke on my nachos for the large amount of spastic solos, but as soon as this song ends the album takes a much better shape; it's NOT a great album though, as most of the songs have a very similar structure, and after a while it just gets as tedious as watching grass…just being plain grass…all day long…without growing.

The main paradox is that Misled by Certainty surely has replay values, some songs are truly amazing with their breakdowns, thrashy riffs and catchy grooves, but it is also repetitive in some other cases, so what do we do?

I say, if you loved Xenosapien you will most definitely hate Misled by Certainty, but if you were waiting for a decent Anomalies follow up, you should at least give this piece a chance, you will probably be disappointed, but not as bad as you were when Xenosapien came out.


Band profile: Cephalic Carnage
Album: Misled By Certainty


 


written by Herzebeth | 09.09.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 181  
Search this topic:  


vezzy - 09.09.2010 at 18:27  
I have to agree.

Except 7 isn't a very fitting score here.
!J.O.O.E.! - 09.09.2010 at 18:43  
Written by vezzy on 09.09.2010 at 18:27

I have to agree.

Except 7 isn't a very fitting score here.

Yeah 7 is an odd score to end on considering the write up.

I liked Xenosapien more than Anomalies anyway and I'll probably check this out at some point.
XAV_METALOGIST - 13.09.2010 at 04:37  
Isn't too quick to do a fair review it came out the 31 aug you did the review the 9 sep. It may take a month to appreciate an album as its real value
Daniell - 13.09.2010 at 14:50  
Doesn't it depend on how many times you listen to an album as opposed to how much time has passed since release?
Marcel Hubregtse - 13.09.2010 at 15:15  
A great album once again. Cephalic Carnage have become so much better when thy decided on mixing up their music instead of regurgatating their bland quite boring and even generi grindcore days of yore. But tbh their best is their DOOM METAL ep Halls Of Amenti.
Motionless - 13.09.2010 at 20:02  
What about me. I liked both Xenosapien and Anomalies. I will listen to it when I have time. However your review is quite harsh on them and repetitveness is not a characteristic of CC...Anyway I have to listen to it.
Got Mayhem? - 14.09.2010 at 00:11  
Written by XAV_METALOGIST on 13.09.2010 at 04:37

Isn't too quick to do a fair review it came out the 31 aug you did the review the 9 sep. It may take a month to appreciate an album as its real value

Just because an album came out really recently doesn't mean that a reviewer didn't get a hold of it earlier.
XAV_METALOGIST - 14.09.2010 at 06:14  
Written by Got Mayhem? on 14.09.2010 at 00:11

Written by XAV_METALOGIST on 13.09.2010 at 04:37

Isn't too quick to do a fair review it came out the 31 aug you did the review the 9 sep. It may take a month to appreciate an album as its real value

Just because an album came out really recently doesn't mean that a reviewer didn't get a hold of it earlier.

I know but cephalic carnage music is a bit complex ,this is my opinion but i think music is like wine sometime you have to wait and let it in the cave before let it taste to others .. you have to taste it more than 50 times before get the right opinion of it and tell people about
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.09.2010 at 08:57  
Written by Motionless on 13.09.2010 at 20:02

What about me. I liked both Xenosapien and Anomalies. I will listen to it when I have time. However your review is quite harsh on them and repetitveness is not a characteristic of CC...Anyway I have to listen to it.


Herz was also harsh (I think even harsher) on Xenosapien.
Shadowcross - 14.09.2010 at 09:32  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 13.09.2010 at 15:15

A great album once again. Cephalic Carnage have become so much better when thy decided on mixing up their music instead of regurgatating their bland quite boring and even generi grindcore days of yore. But tbh their best is their DOOM METAL ep Halls Of Amenti.


You double posted Marcel
I had no idea the band had an EP that was doom metal.. will have to check that out!
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.09.2010 at 09:34  
Written by Shadowcross on 14.09.2010 at 09:32

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 13.09.2010 at 15:15

A great album once again. Cephalic Carnage have become so much better when thy decided on mixing up their music instead of regurgatating their bland quite boring and even generi grindcore days of yore. But tbh their best is their DOOM METAL ep Halls Of Amenti.


You double posted Marcel
I had no idea the band had an EP that was doom metal.. will have to check that out!


No I did not double post.
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.09.2010 at 11:26  
I didn't realise they had a doom EP either. That I have to hear.
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.09.2010 at 11:32  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.09.2010 at 11:26

I didn't realise they had a doom EP either. That I have to hear.


Originally it was heavily limited but Halls Of Amenti has been re-released earlier this year.
It's a 19 minute track and they played it in a longer and different version at Roadburn 2008 which can be listened to here http://3voor12.vpro.nl/speler/ondemand/39637370#ondemand.39637370
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.09.2010 at 11:58  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.09.2010 at 11:32

Originally it was heavily limited but Halls Of Amenti has been re-released earlier this year.
It's a 19 minute track and they played it in a longer and different version at Roadburn 2008 which can be listened to here http://3voor12.vpro.nl/speler/ondemand/39637370#ondemand.39637370

I'll definitely listen to that when I can.
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.09.2010 at 12:02  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.09.2010 at 11:58

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.09.2010 at 11:32

Originally it was heavily limited but Halls Of Amenti has been re-released earlier this year.
It's a 19 minute track and they played it in a longer and different version at Roadburn 2008 which can be listened to here http://3voor12.vpro.nl/speler/ondemand/39637370#ondemand.39637370

I'll definitely listen to that when I can.


Btw loads of the Roadburn sets from bands that performed there can be listened through their audiostreams, also of 2010.
MetalManic_Joel - 14.09.2010 at 14:59  
MS must be hurting for reviews on the main page
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.09.2010 at 07:51  
Written by MetalManic_Joel on 14.09.2010 at 14:59

MS must be hurting for reviews on the main page


Why?
MetalManic_Joel - 20.09.2010 at 16:41  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.09.2010 at 07:51

Written by MetalManic_Joel on 14.09.2010 at 14:59

MS must be hurting for reviews on the main page


Why?


Guest reviewers on the MS main page. I've never see that before.
Maxx666 - 08.10.2010 at 22:55  
Have to agree with herz, this album doesn't live up to the hype. Its gets tedious after a few spins.. Aw man how badly i long for them to release an album in the veins of Anomalies...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Cephalic Carnage - Lucid Interval 7.5 12.12.2008 by XAV_METALOGIST
Albums Cephalic Carnage - Misled By Certainty 7.5 06.09.2010 by Dangerboner
Reviews Cephalic Carnage - Xenosapien 7.5 08.07.2007 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Abysmal Torment - Epoch Of Methodic Carnage 4.5 17.03.2007 by Stigmatized
Reviews Aborted - Goremageddon - The Saw And The Carnage Done 4.5 12.10.2010 by BoxCar Willy



Hits total: 4018 | This month: 2