Rating:
9.8
Enslaved - Isa
8 November 2004


01. Intro: Green Reflection
02. Lunar Force
03. Isa
04. Ascension
05. Bounded By Allegiance
06. Violet Dawning
07. Return To Yggdrasil
08. Secrets Of The Flesh
09. Neogenesis
10. Outro: Communion


Enslaved is one of those few bands out there that is getting better and better after every release. Their music, while it keeps its roots, is developing towards complete perfection.

The new album pretty much follows the footsteps of their previous album Below the Lights, but even better and more complete. For all of you who have not heard Below the Lights and Enslaved´s earlier work (is that even possible for a black metal fan?) I must warn you that this is not one of your typical "grim" or "necro" black metal albums. So if that is what you are searching for, just something that is trOO and all that stuff, then please, don't waste your time here because trust me, this is not what you are looking for. This album is for a bit more, well let's say; "mature" fans of black metal.

Psychedelic and progressive, filled with energy and technique; Isa is like black metal meets progressive metal, taking all the darkness from black metal and mixing it with all the techniques from progressive metal. Traces from bands such as Isis or Cult of Luna can also clearly be heard throughout the album, making it even more interesting and complex.

Isa is like an eagle that flies high in the sky, keeps his head up proud and strong. Any moment he can change his direction in order to go down and catch his prey, you never know what to expect!

So to all of you metalheads out there, mark my words clearly; After 10 years, people will look back at this release and remember it as one of those classic and famous black metal releases right up there with albums like: Under The Sign Of The Black Mark, Det Som En Gang Var and De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas. If you buy 1 album this year, then make sure it is Isa because this is not what you can afford to miss.


Band profile: Enslaved
Album: Isa


 


written by Azhidahak | 14.01.2005



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 248  
Search this topic:  


Passenger - 07.06.2006 at 16:47  
Lunar Force and Neogenesis may well be among the best Black Metal songs ever recorded. This album is brilliant, I completely agree with the review.
canmewaterbee - 05.10.2006 at 05:56  
Yep, an amazing work of art that Enslaved have created. Easily a 10/10.
Winter Death - 05.10.2006 at 08:22  
I love this album as well. It is so easy to get lost in the soundscape that is Isa.
Spyroid - 26.11.2006 at 19:19  
Bounded to Allegiance and NeoGenesis are awesome BM. Althoug this is not very much by favourite genre, this album is one of the better black metal albums I've heard. Reminds me of Opeth.
+GLOBOSITOR+ - 19.04.2007 at 14:38  
yeah, Opeth is progresive death, enslaved now played progresive black.
Good album, ruun is good too.
graywolf87 - 01.11.2007 at 19:46  
great great review...I always think of Enslaved as the Pink Floyd of Black Metal...ISA. Below The Lights, and Monumension are for sure masterpieces of progressive "mature" black metal.
Visioneerie - 07.01.2008 at 19:47  
I just got this album, and it's really good, all of Enslaved music is just pure amazing to me. These guys are just one of the best BM bands, in this case it does'nt matter if they're true. The music just speaks for itself.
All Hail Enslaved
-DC-002- - 31.01.2009 at 15:38  
This is an amazing album. Everything just goes together so well and Enslaved really hone in on their unique sound on this album.
Uirapuru - 06.12.2009 at 01:16  
Great album.

After the little decadence (imo) in Beyond the Lights and Monumension, they come back destroying. And from here to on only released top class albuns. This is one of my favorites.
Axe Argonian - 08.12.2010 at 21:50  
This review accurately and succinctly summarizes the sheer greatness that is Isa. Powerful, graceful, and passionate, Isa delivered progressive black metal as no other album could and left a mark in the metal world. Easily the best tracks are "Isa", "Bounded by Allegiance", and "Return to Yggdrasil".

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Enslaved - Isa 4.5 01.06.2012 by Neiluria
Reviews Extol - The Blueprint Dives 3.5 02.12.2006 by Passenger
Extreme metal forum Enslaved discussion 3 17.05.2006 by BitterCOld
Albums Enslaved - Monumension 3 18.08.2010 by Uirapuru
News Enslaved - Win Spellemann Metal Award 3 29.01.2009 by xska



Hits total: 5532 | This month: 36