Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.2
The Howling Void - Shadows Over The Cosmos
1 June 2010


01. The Primordial Gloom
02. Shadows Over The Cosmos
03. Wanderer Of The Wastes
04. The Hidden Sun
05. Lord Of The Black Gulf


Recorded December 2009 - January 2010
Recorded, Mixed and Mastered by R.
All songs / lyrics by R.
Paintings by Igor Vasilyev (1850 - 1873)


There are funeral doom albums that evoke horror and nightmarish visions, others woe, despair and painful emotions, sometimes though, funeral doom tends to offer some moments of tranquility, relaxing your mind, maybe presenting a travelling aspect as well. To tell the truth, it might be hard to enjoy this last kind of expression if you're not into lengthy, atmospheric and slow-pace music (not necessarily metal) and that's what The Howling Void deliver with their second attempt, Shadows Over The Cosmos.

Everything you might need is here, the only thing that's missing and you should put into play is your mind, well, actually let it loose and journey through the music's calm waves. The cover artwork may have a bleak aura while drowning in lifeless shades of a darkening, almost barren horizon, strengthening the title of the album, but don't let it misinterpret the main ambiance of Shadows Over The Cosmos. Thanks to the keyboards and the overall atmosphere, Shadows Over The Cosmos succeeds in seducing any bothering thought that might be tresspassing your harmony at the moment, even if some guitar riffing, distressing chords and deep grunts try to bleaken the overall mood, like on the title track. In the end, they seem like the aforementioned state of mind that is being driven away since you've cherished "Wanderer Of The Wastes". The first three compositions float in serenity and only on "The Hidden Sun" a glimpse of overwhelming melancholy makes its appearance underneath the dreary clouds, the weather forecast predicts of rain, prologuing the ending opus, "Lord Of The Black Gulf", that all of a sudden appears as a thorn in the heart of tranquility, dreadful, ominous, desolate. Now you know that all this journey was a hallucination, all you had cherished was nothing more but the calm before the storm.

If you pay attention to the titles of the songs, they are the journey itself, they give you hints, but you can't know for sure, not until The Howling Void's arms caress you while floating on calm water, to suddenly suffocate and finally drown you. Shadows Over The Cosmos is a siren demanding gently for your soul, let her singing do the job.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 



Written on 23.09.2010 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 145  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 23.09.2010 at 18:53  
Another pedestrian funeral doom album. Along the lines of the latest Ea maybe just a tad better. A 7.6 I would say. Seems like most funeral doom releases this year don't have that spark that's needed.
Merchant of Doom - 23.09.2010 at 18:57  
Good review, of a majestic album... it's a 9.0 for me...
Daniell - 23.09.2010 at 18:59  
Let me land in between, 8 from me.
Marcel Hubregtse - 23.09.2010 at 19:21  
Daniell wants to get sandwiched by two guys
DerRozzengarten - 23.09.2010 at 19:23  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 23.09.2010 at 19:21

Daniell wants to get sandwiched by two guys

I will review the whole thing
Marcel Hubregtse - 23.09.2010 at 19:25  
Aha Rozz loves to watch
Daniell - 23.09.2010 at 19:26  
As long as copyright goes to me, you can even film it!
DerRozzengarten - 23.09.2010 at 19:27  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 23.09.2010 at 19:25

Aha Rozz loves to watch

It's more doom to watch, you feel doomed in isolation
!J.O.O.E.! - 23.09.2010 at 21:25  
What the hell has happened to metal storm? Marcel leaking man juice, now he's joining in menage a trois' all over the place D=
ß - 24.09.2010 at 01:37  
I think the review sums it up quite nicely.
Thanntos - 25.09.2010 at 03:54  
Really like this album, and good review.
Khaos569 - 26.09.2010 at 22:44  
NIce one
CrypticMyth - 29.09.2010 at 09:36  
Cool review - I shall check this out soon!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews The Howling Void - The Womb Beyond The World 7 30.09.2012 by Monolithic
Reviews Sopor Aeternus And The Ensemble Of Shadows - Dead Lovers' Sarabande - Face 2 6 11.08.2014 by ManiacBlasphemer
Reviews Void Of Silence - The Grave Of Civilization 6 18.09.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Dreadful Shadows - Beyond The Maze 6 13.09.2007 by velvet
Albums The Howling Void - The Womb Beyond The World 6 30.09.2012 by Boxcar Willy



Hits total: 5220 | This month: 28