Rating:
9.0
Immortal - Sons Of Northern Darkness
5 February 2002


Disc I [CD]
01. One By One
02. Sons Of Northern Darkness
03. Tyrants
04. Demonium
05. Within The Dark Mind
06. In My Kingdom Cold
07. Antarctica
08. Beyond The North Waves

Disc II [DVD: Live at the B.B. King New York 2003] [Deluxe Edition bonus]
01. Wrath From Above
02. Damned In Black
03. One By One
04. Tyrants (Part 1)
05. Tyrants (Part 2)
06. Solarfall
07. Beyond The North Waves


Sons Of Northern Darkness is Immortal's seventh studio album, following the good but not great Damned In Black. The expectations were pretty high for this record, especially that Damned In Black could not fully live up to the majestic At The Heart Of Winter. So, is this new album worthy of Immortal? Does it deliver that cold, chilly Immortal-esque feeling that we all love? Let's find out.

As the first song starts playing, we immediately realize that Sons Of Northern Darkness is no joke. "One by One" jumps into your face with its raw brutality and unexpected speed. Spectacular guitar riffs and outstanding drumming characterize the first few minutes of this album, leaving no doubt that Immortal have put a lot of creative effort into this release.

Right after "One by One," we are treated with one of Immortal's most memorable and beautiful songs: the wonder that is the title track "Sons Of Northern Darkness." Yes, here we have a song that could easily rival the epicness of any songs from the legendary At The Heart Of Winter: the lyrics as well as the guitar work are very solid. Immortal is back!

This record shows a return to the sound of At The Heart Of Winter. And after all, why change a formula that shows such success? The album is marked by very creative riffing, irreproachable lyrics and a wonderful atmosphere. A good number of songs are instant classics, with unforgettable choruses ("Tyrants"), epic acoustic passages ("Beyond The North Waves"), and pure black metal ("In My Kingdom Cold").

As for the technical aspect of the album, Abbath puts on a truly great performance: his guitar work is without faults and his singing reflects perfectly the Immortal sound. The bass is also well performed. However, what deserves the biggest mention is the drumming: Horgh shows beyond any doubt that he is still one of the best in the black metal scene: his work transpires creativity and execution, and of course speed.

Hands down, Sons Of Northern Darkness is a great release and a wonderful piece of art. If you are just remotely interested in black metal, get this album, for it is a grand display of black, epic and atmospheric metal, coming from the sons of northern darkness themselves.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Immortal
Album: Sons Of Northern Darkness


 


written by Carl Berg | 27.09.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 169  
Search this topic:  


InnerSelf - 27.09.2010 at 16:11  
Nice review , totally covered every aspect of the album "but skipped the perfect production"
the drumming is one of this albums highlights and especially on In My Kingdom Cold
perfect BM
Carl Berg - 27.09.2010 at 16:24  
Yeah indeed! Thanks dude
MeTalRea|istiK - 27.09.2010 at 16:29  
Great review!!
DerRozzengarten - 27.09.2010 at 17:07  
I remember buying the gatefold digi-pack when it was released, i loved the album, dark, freezing, with great production that made the album show its real power! I've always thought Iscariah is like a horny bitch the way he poses good review!
Malphas - 27.09.2010 at 18:05  
Great album indeed, i can only agree with your review
..ExoTeaR.. - 28.09.2010 at 03:13  
I couldnt agree more with everything thats been written here. great review. i still kill this album on the way to work.
RavenKing - 28.09.2010 at 04:07  
I agree about riffs on this album being great. I read many comments from people complaining that the riffs are 'not Black Metal' or 'too much Thrash' or 'not minimalistic enough' but I think it's bullshit. I really love the guitarwork on this album and "At The Heart Of Winter".
And yes, drumming is great and varied. I think Horgh deserves more recognition. He's never mentioned among the good Black Metal drummers but he's an excellent drummer.
oroboros - 28.09.2010 at 11:57  
Gud review mate. It's a smashing album.
serega25 - 29.09.2010 at 21:13  
Really great album! My favorite song is Beyond The North Waves!!!!!!
Storm Rider - 12.11.2010 at 14:33  
This album I like songs "One By One" & "Antarctica". Keep the best guys
Slayer666 - 24.02.2011 at 00:52  
IMO, this is Immortal's best by far, and 10 times superior to the epicly overrated At The Heart of Winter.
It has a perfect mix of black metal's icy atmosphere and thrash's catchynes.
Oaken - 16.08.2012 at 00:38  
^
Meh.
Anyways, good review for this spectacular album, which IMO is Immortal's third best, just after ATHOW and BITN.
Daniell - 16.08.2012 at 13:04  
Written by Slayer666 on 24.02.2011 at 00:52

It has a perfect mix of black metal's icy atmosphere and thrash's catchynes.


This is a very precise description of "At the Heart of Winter"
Mr. Doctor - 16.08.2012 at 13:44  
Written by Daniell on 16.08.2012 at 13:04
Written by Slayer666 on 24.02.2011 at 00:52
It has a perfect mix of black metal's icy atmosphere and thrash's catchynes.

This is a very precise description of "At the Heart of Winter"


The main reason why that quote is funny in the first place.
Daniell - 16.08.2012 at 13:59  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 16.08.2012 at 13:44

Written by Daniell on 16.08.2012 at 13:04
Written by Slayer666 on 24.02.2011 at 00:52
It has a perfect mix of black metal's icy atmosphere and thrash's catchynes.

This is a very precise description of "At the Heart of Winter"


The main reason why that quote is funny in the first place.


'zackly!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Immortal - Sons Of Northern Darkness 7.5 21.11.2011 by M C Vice
Reviews Lacuna Coil - Unleashed Memories 4.5 26.06.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Swashbuckle - Crewed By The Damned 4.5 30.09.2010 by
Reviews Menhir - Die Ewigen Steine 4.5 14.07.2010 by Ellrohir
Reviews Burzum - Dauði Baldrs 4.5 24.09.2010 by vezzy



Hits total: 4253 | This month: 82