Rating:
8.5
Swashbuckle - Crewed By The Damned
10 October 2006


01. Under The Black Flag
02. Welcome Abroad
03. Drink Up
04. Set Sail
05. Walk The Plank
06. What A Ship Is
07. Dead Men Tell No Lies
08. The Wooden World
09. "X" Marks The Spot
10. Rum Runners
11. Upon The Spanish Main
12. The Bazaar
13. Jolly Roger
14. Paradie Defined
15. Crewed By The Damned
16. A Fool's Errand
17. Pirate Jargon
18. Nautical Nonsense


Arrr me mateys! Man the cannons and shred them guitars! Drink yer beer 'n set sail th' unknown! The first Swashbuckle album is exactly what you'd expect: heavy, in your face, and of course, pirate themed. But you might say "we already got pirate metal bands, Alestorm was enough!". Well my friend, you are gravely mistaken, for Crewed By The Damned is an album unlike any you have heard before. Original and extremely creative, this record is going to show you what pirate metal should sound like!

First of all, what should you expect from a band that calls itself Swashbuckle? It's simple: thrash metal! Yes, Swashbuckle is a thrash metal band, with all its shredding guitar solos, weird rythmic patterns and a hell lot of party atmosphere! So grab yer ale and let's see what Crewed By The Damned is all about!

Starting with a slow acoustic piece, Crewed By The Damned seems very tame in the beginning, but as soon as the second song kicks in, there is no doubt about what Swashbuckle are after: to kick some serious ass. Their songs are incredibly creative, and they manage to give an authentic pirate atmosphere. Very often will you find yourself headbanging to either the catchy choruses or the fast solos, leaving no doubt that Swashbuckle is a very serious band. As a matter of fact, their music was included (!) in a recent computer game, due to it's immense creativity and brutality.

The album is filled with a number of metal songs, linked to each other by small acoustic compositions, which, I must say, are astoundingly well executed. It is hard to guess why such a talented band still remains underground.

On to the technical part: Crewed By The Damned shows an immense display of talent. The rhythm guitars are perfectly recorded, as well as the solos, which captivate the average metalhead as well as the seasoned guitar player. The drummer deserves a special mention: his work is spot-on and delivers a wonderful feeling throughout the album. As for the vocals, one word: Piratey. It lifts up the album with it's harsh and cruel lyrics, giving Crewed By The Damned a very unique feeling.

Why only 8.5 you ask? Well, there are a number of reasons: the riffs are sometimes too repetitive, and the vocals can get tiring after a while. But that depends on what kind of metalhead you are: for party people, this album will never get tired. For thrash metal adepts, this might get too boring after a while. You decide.

Forget Alestorm, this is a real pirate metal band. I encourage every Swashbuckler to get off their asses and get this album right now!

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 10


Band profile: Swashbuckle
Album: Crewed By The Damned


 


written by Carl Berg | 30.09.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 20  
Users visited: 65  
Search this topic:  


Ellrohir - 30.09.2010 at 11:36  
Need to find and listen to
Edmund Fogg - 30.09.2010 at 15:31  
God damn it,will bands stop being creative I already don't have enough time to listen to my current music library and now I'm being teased by some mighty pirates.When will it stop.Lol, seriously this review reminds me to search for these guys material
Ozman - 30.09.2010 at 15:34  
A dime a dozen generic thrash which would have gone totally unnoticed were it not for the pirate theme to it.
6-7 at most.
Ellrohir - 30.09.2010 at 15:56  
Written by Ozman on 30.09.2010 at 15:34

A dime a dozen generic thrash which would have gone totally unnoticed were it not for the pirate theme to it.
6-7 at most.


but they did include the pirate theme and therefore managed to become famous around...and no complaining can change it
Ozman - 30.09.2010 at 16:16  
Written by Ellrohir on 30.09.2010 at 15:56

Written by Ozman on 30.09.2010 at 15:34

A dime a dozen generic thrash which would have gone totally unnoticed were it not for the pirate theme to it.
6-7 at most.


but they did include the pirate theme and therefore managed to become famous around...and no complaining can change it


Well, they only became famous last year with Back To The Noose because Nuclear Blast released it, before that almost no-one had heard of them.
Nowadays when a band is on a big label (in metal terms) and sings about pirates they become famoous automatically no matter if the just release farts as music.
It seems that with those bands and their fans it's all abotu the image and nothing to do with the actual quality of the music. At least Running Wild used to be musially good, a thing that cannot be said about Swashbuckle and Alestorm.
Ellrohir - 30.09.2010 at 17:56  
Well i saw them live just a few days ago and although i dont have problems to admit, there may be tons of better yet unknown bands, but i fell in love with them at once...not that much because of the music, but because of their appearance and funny show they made...this counts by me
Doc Godin - 30.09.2010 at 19:10  
Written by Ozman on 30.09.2010 at 16:16

Written by Ellrohir on 30.09.2010 at 15:56

Written by Ozman on 30.09.2010 at 15:34

A dime a dozen generic thrash which would have gone totally unnoticed were it not for the pirate theme to it.
6-7 at most.


but they did include the pirate theme and therefore managed to become famous around...and no complaining can change it


Well, they only became famous last year with Back To The Noose because Nuclear Blast released it, before that almost no-one had heard of them.
Nowadays when a band is on a big label (in metal terms) and sings about pirates they become famoous automatically no matter if the just release farts as music.
It seems that with those bands and their fans it's all abotu the image and nothing to do with the actual quality of the music. At least Running Wild used to be musially good, a thing that cannot be said about Swashbuckle and Alestorm.

Yeah, it's a real shame. Shackles is a great band that covers this type of theme without resorting to cartoonish imagery, and they're actually decent, they play sort of a Destroyer 666 style blackened thrash. Too bad all people want is cartoons.
dismaleuphony - 30.09.2010 at 19:15  
Well, I do love your enthusiasm in this review, and I have a feeling a few friends of mine would agree, but I just can't. Outside of the fun-factor live, this band is really generic to me... I also don't like the vocals whatsoever on this album. Ah well!
Lovecraft - 01.10.2010 at 05:38  
Written by Ozman on 30.09.2010 at 16:16

Written by Ellrohir on 30.09.2010 at 15:56

Written by Ozman on 30.09.2010 at 15:34

A dime a dozen generic thrash which would have gone totally unnoticed were it not for the pirate theme to it.
6-7 at most.


but they did include the pirate theme and therefore managed to become famous around...and no complaining can change it


Nowadays when a band is on a big label (in metal terms) and sings about pirates they become famoous automatically no matter if the just release farts as music.
It seems that with those bands and their fans it's all abotu the image and nothing to do with the actual quality of the music. At least Running Wild used to be musially good, a thing that cannot be said about Swashbuckle and Alestorm.


+1
Ellrohir - 01.10.2010 at 09:57  
When i go to a gig where i expect fun (so some power or heavy metal, not prog rock or some "serious" black metal), i want to have fun...there for me is basically more important "how it looks" than "how it sounds" (live sound is often messed up anyway)...Swashbuckle simply were able to satisfy me and entertain me and that is what is important for me...

yes - it is because big label and because of "pirate look" but i dont give a single fuck about that...life is about taking opportunities - grab it and be loved by masses or remain in garage and whine less talented musicians are worshiped and you are not...
RavenKing - 02.10.2010 at 14:20  
Written by Ozman on 30.09.2010 at 16:16

A dime a dozen generic thrash which would have gone totally unnoticed were it not for the pirate theme to it.

Well, they only became famous last year with Back To The Noose because Nuclear Blast released it, before that almost no-one had heard of them.
Nowadays when a band is on a big label (in metal terms) and sings about pirates they become famoous automatically no matter if the just release farts as music.
It seems that with those bands and their fans it's all abotu the image and nothing to do with the actual quality of the music. At least Running Wild used to be musially good, a thing that cannot be said about Swashbuckle and Alestorm.


I totally agree. Alestorm is even worse than Swashbuckle.
Boxcar Willy - 03.10.2010 at 19:47  
LMAO Swahbuckle sucks.
Carl Berg - 04.10.2010 at 20:02  
Quote:
LMAO Swahbuckle sucks.


Wow, that just transpires character and personnality. Perhaps you should elaborate your arguments. Oh but wait, you're a Slipknot/Korn fan. Nuff said.
Super_Greg - 10.10.2010 at 02:42  
Written by Carl Berg on 04.10.2010 at 20:02

Quote:
LMAO Swahbuckle sucks.


Wow, that just transpires character and personnality. Perhaps you should elaborate your arguments. Oh but wait, you're a Slipknot/Korn fan. Nuff said.



And Dethklok.
Ozman - 10.10.2010 at 03:38  
Mmmm to be honest Slipknot Korn and even cartoon peeps Dethklok are all superior to and more original than the nono's of Swashbuckle.
Ellrohir - 10.10.2010 at 10:04  
Maybe, but he didnt said "Swashbuckle sucks according to me, because this, this and this"...he just put out plain offensive comment without arguments

and putting Dethklok and originality into one sentence sounds weird even when talking about Swashbuckle...
Boxcar Willy - 14.10.2010 at 00:55  
Written by Ozman on 10.10.2010 at 03:38

Mmmm to be honest Slipknot Korn and even cartoon peeps Dethklok are all superior to and more original than the nono's of Swashbuckle.

damn straight
Carl Berg - 22.10.2010 at 00:52  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 14.10.2010 at 00:55

Written by Ozman on 10.10.2010 at 03:38

Mmmm to be honest Slipknot Korn and even cartoon peeps Dethklok are all superior to and more original than the nono's of Swashbuckle.

damn straight


The thing is, Swashbuckle do manage to put on an "original" album, by which I mean 4-5 very original songs, even though the rest are just random thrash metal. For me, their album is pure awesomness, and I gladly drink rum while listening to some of their acoustic compositions!
Steezy - 31.10.2010 at 05:54  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 14.10.2010 at 00:55

Written by Ozman on 10.10.2010 at 03:38

Mmmm to be honest Slipknot Korn and even cartoon peeps Dethklok are all superior to and more original than the nono's of Swashbuckle.

damn straight

I agree with that statement
Daggon - 07.11.2010 at 03:45  
When you listen to one single song of Swashbuckle, you don't need to listen to the entire album, or their other albums, maybe they are not bad musicians, but they should stop playing this "pirate" thing and start playing some real Thrash, also I can't stand their vocalist for too much time, hes too "Yaaarrr" for my taste.

Well, in the end, I feel the same for Swashbuckle and Alestorm, funny music, entertaining when you are with some friends drinking lots of beer and stuff, but as the time passes on, they become boring after two or three spins.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Menhir - Die Ewigen Steine 4.5 14.07.2010 by Ellrohir
Reviews DragonForce - Valley Of The Damned 4 06.06.2006 by Hyvaarin
Reviews Blitzkrieg - Theatre Of The Damned 4 22.08.2007 by Baz Anderson
Events NED, Zaandam - Night Of The Damned 3 17.03.2009 by Ozman
News Charred Walls Of The Damned - New Song Online 3 24.08.2011 by BudDa



Hits total: 2399 | This month: 36