Rating:
9.0
Svart Crown - Witnessing The Fall
25 October 2010


01. Where The Light Ends
02. Colosseum
03. Dogs Of God
04. Nahash The Temptator
05. Here Comes Your Salvation
06. Into A Demential Sea
07. An Eternal Descent
08. Strengh Higher Than Justice
09. Incestuous Breath
10. Of Sulphur And Fire


Well, I don't know what it is they put in the water in France but their pedigree for making top-notch metal, particularly anything related to black metal, can never be overstated. With their sophomore record, Witnessing The Fall, Svart Crown are another nail in the coffin of an ever increasing line of noise makers who've taken the best of black and infused it with technical proficiency, a sense of terror, a fistful of brutality and a whole... container of creativity. Unlike my ability to use metaphors apparently.

The dish of the day is blackened death metal; relentless, pummelling and dynamic but with a guarded sense of melody and restraint where necessary. Vocally we're flambéed with a mid-ground, highly caustic compound of both black and death metal spewings, throughout the discourse remaining relatively unchanged; hardly an issue as it serves the cold, sterile tones of the record extremely well indeed. The tones I'm speaking of are crushing and suffocating but also produced with crystal clarity so each stroke, every time-change and the beat of every drum finds you like a precision scalpel to the gullet. Rarely, if ever, does the almost machine-like technical prowess overshadow creative song writing. It may take a listen or three to comprehend but there's more than enough variety within the 45 minute run; ad-hoc solos, foreboding lulls in pace, subtle injections of melody and constantly shifting structures make this a far deeper listening experience than one might expect from such an aggressive style.

The most interesting track has to be the lengthy 8 minute album closer: "Of Sulphur And Fire", which I can only assume is pure homage to Deathspell Omega; a number almost totally bereft of the concrete style Svart Crown have built up in the preceding minutes, instead concentrating on the clean dissonant riffing seen in the likes of Virus and Ved Buens Ende (and most similarly implemented in many songs by Deathspell Omega). It's a wonderfully complex finish to the album; pure sophisticated dissension.

Having only briefly tackled Svart Crown's debut I can't say for certain if this beats it but I can say for sure it's just as good. It's modern, charismatic and exceptionally well balanced and perfectly complements the death-ier side of Deathspell Omega, whose fans I can visualise flocking to Svart Crown in droves. Don't be fooled though, they ain't no DsO wannabes; they have their own path and are traversing it with lethal abandon.


 


written by !J.O.O.E.! | 08.11.2010



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 30  
Users visited: 210  
Search this topic:  


Mikyz - 08.11.2010 at 15:30  
This sounds awesome, I'm going to give them a listen right now. Damn this review got me excited for tomorrow. Good job.
!J.O.O.E.! - 08.11.2010 at 15:33  
Written by Mikyz on 08.11.2010 at 15:30

This sounds awesome, I'm going to give them a listen right now. Damn this review got me excited for tomorrow. Good job.

Heheh, well I hope you like it. I suspect you'll forget all about it when Paracletus falls into your hands though.
Array - 08.11.2010 at 15:38  
Hm, maybe some coffee first and then i'm gonna witness the fall of psychogrotesque jupiter.
Asunder - 08.11.2010 at 15:39  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 08.11.2010 at 15:33

Written by Mikyz on 08.11.2010 at 15:30

This sounds awesome, I'm going to give them a listen right now. Damn this review got me excited for tomorrow. Good job.

Heheh, well I hope you like it. I suspect you'll forget all about it when Paracletus falls into your hands though.

we can only hope so. great review though, i'm going to check this one out.
Mikyz - 08.11.2010 at 15:41  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 08.11.2010 at 15:33

Written by Mikyz on 08.11.2010 at 15:30

This sounds awesome, I'm going to give them a listen right now. Damn this review got me excited for tomorrow. Good job.

Heheh, well I hope you like it. I suspect you'll forget all about it when Paracletus falls into your hands though.


I might not, you never know. But I'll enjoy it while I can.
!J.O.O.E.! - 08.11.2010 at 15:45  
Written by Mikyz on 08.11.2010 at 15:41


I might not, you never know. But I'll enjoy it while I can.

Well the new DsO is pretty short so you might find time for both. It's a bit good though...
DerRozzengarten - 08.11.2010 at 15:51  
Great album indeed and great review An interview will be around as soon as i receive the answers
!J.O.O.E.! - 08.11.2010 at 15:54  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 08.11.2010 at 15:51

Great album indeed and great review An interview will be around as soon as i receive the answers

Cheers homeslice, I look forward to reading that! I think these guys could be big in the future. They have the talent for it.
DerRozzengarten - 08.11.2010 at 15:55  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 08.11.2010 at 15:54

Written by DerRozzengarten on 08.11.2010 at 15:51

Great album indeed and great review An interview will be around as soon as i receive the answers

Cheers homeslice, I look forward to reading that! I think these guys could be big in the future. They have the talent for it.

Indeed, i'd like to hear them make their sound more twisted!
!J.O.O.E.! - 08.11.2010 at 15:58  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 08.11.2010 at 15:55

Indeed, i'd like to hear them make their sound more twisted!

Blackened death metal with funeral doom?
DerRozzengarten - 08.11.2010 at 16:01  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 08.11.2010 at 15:58

Written by DerRozzengarten on 08.11.2010 at 15:55

Indeed, i'd like to hear them make their sound more twisted!

Blackened death metal with funeral doom?

blackened Post-funeral doom/death metal
!J.O.O.E.! - 08.11.2010 at 16:03  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 08.11.2010 at 16:01

blackened Post-funeral doom/death metal

Haha, post-funeral doom. That's a new one to me O.o
DerRozzengarten - 08.11.2010 at 16:11  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 08.11.2010 at 16:03

Written by DerRozzengarten on 08.11.2010 at 16:01

blackened Post-funeral doom/death metal

Haha, post-funeral doom. That's a new one to me O.o

Same here, i bet it would be funeral doom with electronics or something mechanizing the pain xD
!J.O.O.E.! - 08.11.2010 at 16:14  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 08.11.2010 at 16:11

Same here, i bet it would be funeral doom with electronics or something mechanizing the pain xD

I would definitely listen to that!
DerRozzengarten - 08.11.2010 at 16:16  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 08.11.2010 at 16:14

Written by DerRozzengarten on 08.11.2010 at 16:11

Same here, i bet it would be funeral doom with electronics or something mechanizing the pain xD

I would definitely listen to that!

Me too, some band try this please?!
!J.O.O.E.! - 08.11.2010 at 16:18  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 08.11.2010 at 16:16

Me too, some band try this please?!

You could try P.H.O.B.O.S. They aren't a million miles away from it
DerRozzengarten - 08.11.2010 at 16:22  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 08.11.2010 at 16:18

Written by DerRozzengarten on 08.11.2010 at 16:16

Me too, some band try this please?!

You could try P.H.O.B.O.S. They aren't a million miles away from it

Didn't know them, thanks for the info, started searching Woods Of Belial are pretty obscure too and chaotic
Array - 08.11.2010 at 17:05  
I don't dig the sound of pedals and snare; too stuffy in a long run. the guitars could be either more sharp or rugged too. this is still an album worth listening. much great songwriting in the vein of belphegor and later mayhem (deathspell omega as well if we can rely on joe i haven't really listened that band yet). just to keep the balance, there's also some generic dark funeral material.
InnerSelf - 08.11.2010 at 19:26  
I am not a big fan of Blackened death metal but when DsO were mentioned I was intrigued , will check this out when I have time "wish-list updated"
nice review
Merchant of Doom - 10.11.2010 at 12:34  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 08.11.2010 at 16:11

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 08.11.2010 at 16:03

Written by DerRozzengarten on 08.11.2010 at 16:01

blackened Post-funeral doom/death metal

Haha, post-funeral doom. That's a new one to me O.o

Same here, i bet it would be funeral doom with electronics or something mechanizing the pain xD



Nope, it would be total silence...
DerRozzengarten - 10.11.2010 at 14:01  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 10.11.2010 at 12:34

Written by DerRozzengarten on 08.11.2010 at 16:11

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 08.11.2010 at 16:03

Written by DerRozzengarten on 08.11.2010 at 16:01

blackened Post-funeral doom/death metal

Haha, post-funeral doom. That's a new one to me O.o

Same here, i bet it would be funeral doom with electronics or something mechanizing the pain xD



Nope, it would be total silence...

that would be so post funeral
!J.O.O.E.! - 10.11.2010 at 19:24  
Wouldn't that be post-music? Aka John Cage I suppose.
Ag Fox - 15.11.2010 at 02:52  
Whole album gets streamed here
Daniell - 23.11.2010 at 12:21  
It didn't amaze me as much as I hoped, but it's very very well done. The album flows smoothly from start to finish and never gets boring.
A comparison with Ophis comes to my mind. Obviously, music is very different, but both bands do the same thing very well: they use well known ingredients but the way they mix them is exceptionally efficient, and simply cool to listen to.
!J.O.O.E.! - 23.11.2010 at 15:19  
Written by Daniell on 23.11.2010 at 12:21

It didn't amaze me as much as I hoped, but it's very very well done. The album flows smoothly from start to finish and never gets boring.
A comparison with Ophis comes to my mind. Obviously, music is very different, but both bands do the same thing very well: they use well known ingredients but the way they mix them is exceptionally efficient, and simply cool to listen to.

Haha, I thought you were going mad when you mentioned Ophis but then I continued reading and I see what you mean.
Mr. Doctor - 06.07.2011 at 20:43  
Holy shit why did I come so late to the party?!
This album is fantastic, it's technical enough to make me good nuts and "how the hell do they do that?" but the atmosphere is still there, haunting and vicious. Also... omfg the drummer is AMAZING. One of the few albums where the drummers alone makes me listen with more attention.


Have to buy this album. Great review Joe!
Troy Killjoy - 06.07.2011 at 20:44  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 06.07.2011 at 20:43

Holy shit why did I come so late to the party?!

I hear it's fashionable to do that.
Mr. Doctor - 06.07.2011 at 20:46  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 06.07.2011 at 20:44

Written by Mr. Doctor on 06.07.2011 at 20:43

Holy shit why did I come so late to the party?!

I hear it's fashionable to do that.


Not when it comes to discover new music
I would have bought this album for a long time ago if I paid attention to it back when it was released. Now I'm kind of broke and already have plans for my cd-money
BoxCar Willy - 22.05.2012 at 14:42  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 06.07.2011 at 20:43

Holy shit why did I come so late to the party?!

I came even later, and everyone is already passed out >>


Clicked on the tag from the Ulcerate news, and listen to the MySpace player for a while, and holy cow.

This is some good shizzle.
mz - 20.11.2013 at 11:30  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 22.05.2012 at 14:42

Written by Mr. Doctor on 06.07.2011 at 20:43

Holy shit why did I come so late to the party?!

I came even later, and everyone is already passed out >>



I came even later, and everyone is already passed out >>

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Verge - To Rest The Last Time In Our Filth 4.5 14.10.2010 by DerRozzengarten
Reviews Fen - The Malediction Fields 4.5 20.06.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Forest Stream - The Crown Of Winter 4 16.10.2010 by Marcel Hubregtse
Events GBR, London - Ulcerate + Svart Crown: Burning Winter - European Tour 2012 3 14.01.2012 by TomCthulhu
Albums The Fall Of Every Season - From Below 3 19.08.2010 by Exhumed



Hits total: 6435 | This month: 40