Rating:
2.9
Enslaved - Axioma Ethica Odini
27 September 2010


01. Ethica Odini
02. Raidho
03. Waruun
04. The Beacon
05. Axioma
06. Giants
07. Singular
08. Night Sight
09. Lightening

[Limited Edition Bonus 7" Vinyl]
01. Jotunblod (Doom)
02. Migration


Here we are again. I say that because Enslaved are beating the proverbial "Nordic Black Metal" horse to death. It seems like this is becoming a standard out of the Northern European Black Metal scene these days. Scary makeup, growling vocals, droning guitars, and a complete lack of direction other than to throw in some "evil" lyrics. Like anyone will ever go as far as Mercyful Fate did in the 80's lyrically? Doubtful, and I haven't seen anyone do it yet.

The only redeeming quality of this band is that the guitars have distortion, other than that it sounds like the rest of an already clichéd mess of metal coming out of northern Europe. It's basically a carbon copy of Immortal or Gorgoroth + (insert any band using the same gimmicks and sound from that region). The guitars drone away with the same simplistic rhythms using a grand total of 3 or 4 bar chords maximum for pretty much the length of any given track. Exhausting? More like headache inducing. The drums are nothing out of the ordinary providing a monotonous driving beat with little or no change, which when compounded with the lack of time changes or anything really interesting at all from the guitars, leaves the listener wondering, where's the beef? Where are the balls this music is supposed to retain which all the fanboys blather about?

Heavy? This couldn't be further from heavy. There's little or no chunk and grind which you'll find in bands like Nevermore or Exhumed. Heavy means driving, deep, rhythmic bass, and double bass drum blast beats with chunky, low, 7 and 8 string guitars. Heavy is music that has bite and gets right up in your face. Enslaved seem to be more about long, drawn out almost symphonic rhythms that never really go anywhere. Where are the time changes? Where are the melodic, blistering solos? Also, what's with all the growling and screaming all the time? Is everyone in Norway really so pissed off that there isn't any time to thoughtfully plan a cd and put some effort into the music?

When did people give up singing for growling, screaming, and grunting as if the vocalist is suffering from a bout of violent diarrhea throughout the entire cd? I like a good growl here and there like Opeth, but after an entire cd of it I want to take an ibuprofen. Enslaved made an attempt at mixing clean vocals with a growl on this cd, but it fell flat like the rest of their music.

The only thing I can fathom about the complete blind-devotion of the fans is that they don't know any better or haven't heard anything better. Enslaved left this listener wanting a hell of a lot more musically and lot less of the exact same tired, angry Nordic "scene," cd after cd. Giving this offering anything over a 3 is being generous.

This cd was a monotonous journey into boredom which would eventually spawn a headache. I actually enjoy bands like Amon Amarth, Ensiferum, and Wintersun because they all offer something musically. Their music actually goes somewhere, and some of the musicianship in these bands is god-like. Enslaved just aren't the caliber of musicians their fans make them out to be. You'll find so much more in bands like Symphony X, Fates Warning, Nevermore, Opeth, Death, Slayer, etc...

I don't hate Enslaved, I just think their music is severely lacking on just about every front. At least it's not Lady Gaga and the guitars are distorted

Performance: 3
Songwriting: 3
Originality: 2
Production: 2


Band profile: Enslaved
Album: Axioma Ethica Odini


 


written by ponderer | 12.12.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Staff review by
Daniell

Rating:
9.5
Let me tell you how I know that an album is hard to digest but great. When I put it on for the first time, most of the songs blur together, it's impossible to tell them apart. The first impression about the album is accentuated by those cool fragments of songs that remain in my memory. During the second listen I manage to hear most of those fragments. Just when I'm about to play the album for the third time to get those last cool bits, I realise that there are some more cool bits that I picked up during my second listen. With every consecutive listen, the number of cool bits increases, and my mind connects them to respective songs. After 10 listens all bits are in place, the picture is complete and my smile is wider than a six-lane freeway, because the album is brilliant.

Read more ››
published 30.09.2010 | Comments (69)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2 3
Comments: 118  
Users visited: 618  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 12.12.2010 at 18:29  
Aahahahaha!
Baz Anderson - 12.12.2010 at 18:36  
It is pretty clear that the reviewer here simply knows nothing about the subject in hand.
Elio - 12.12.2010 at 18:46  
Woah

I mean, this wouldn't even be a good joke on April 1st!
soulVIremia - 12.12.2010 at 18:57  
For the lulz...?
Kenos - 12.12.2010 at 19:05  
Written by Baz Anderson on 12.12.2010 at 18:36

It is pretty clear that the reviewer here simply knows nothing about the subject in hand.


Pretty much the same thing I thought while readin this "review"...
Darkside Momo - 12.12.2010 at 19:06  
!J.O.O.E.! - 12.12.2010 at 19:17  
Written by soulVIremia on 12.12.2010 at 18:57

For the lulz...?

No he is deadly serious. Which is why it's hilarious.
BitterCOld - 12.12.2010 at 19:22  
I think he dl'd the wrong album. he clearly knows absolutely zero about the band. make-up? evil lyrics? Enslaved? uh, sure. the worst they have in that department was posing in that leather armor back in the Frost and Eld days. no make up ever.

entire cd of growling? i think there are as many clean vocals courtesy of Herbrand as there are Grutlle's growls.

i have no problem with someone disliking the album musically, i can see where opinions vary, but it it abundantly clear he doesn't have the first clue. i really think he has never actually even heard the album... or any of theirs, for that matter, if comparing them to Immortal or Gorgoroth, i don't think he's heard ANY Enslaved album released over the past 12 years.

so congratulations, ponderer, on the single worst review in the history of metalstorm!

but thanks for a boatload of laughs and let me part with this but of wisdom:

"It is better to be thought a complete jackass than flail away at your keyboard and remove all doubt."
!J.O.O.E.! - 12.12.2010 at 19:29  
Maybe it could be used by MS as a prime example of how not to do a review. Because it hits pretty much every target there.
Titanticus - 12.12.2010 at 19:32  
I love the whole Nevermore/Fates Warning/Slayer/Lady Gaga thing. This was something I would have expected to read in People magazine or something, not here.
Promonex - 12.12.2010 at 19:46  
Written by Guest on 12.12.2010 at 19:05

Written by Baz Anderson on 12.12.2010 at 18:36

It is pretty clear that the reviewer here simply knows nothing about the subject in hand.


Pretty much the same thing I thought while readin this "review"...


Thirded.
vezzy - 12.12.2010 at 19:51  
I do agree that the humor is greatly enhanced by the reviewer actually believing this stuff.

also rofl Slayer... what kind of comparison is that?

That and again with the Mercyful Fate is tr00 black metal thing.
RavenKing - 12.12.2010 at 20:11  
Such a joke of a review. Only Ponderer is stupid and ignorant enough to poop such a piece of shit from his ass. It only displays sheer ignorance and prejudice.

Sorry man, I'm almost as old as you, but clearly you got stuck in the 80s and live in your own fantasy world, far remote from reality.
Give up on metal, you're simply too old (not as for age but because of your outdated mentality) and unable to catch up.

I'm clueless as to how such garbage could have been mistaken by the staff as a review.
Zuzuz0r - 12.12.2010 at 20:15  
Best review ever. I want this to be nominated as the best review of 2010.
MechanisT - 12.12.2010 at 20:21  
Whoever proofread this failed to spot the absence of a full-stop at the end of the review, keeping the doors open for a change of heart, perhaps?
By the way, is the rating of 2.9 a counter-reaction to the 'hype' of this album, or is it the result of careful and methodological scrutiny, without any external influences?
seafood - 12.12.2010 at 20:25  
Written by Zuzuz0r on 12.12.2010 at 20:15

Best review ever. I want this to be nominated as the best review of 2010.


I think Ponderer would be an excellent nomination for best MS 2010 drama. This review just secures it.

Great reading btw, funny stuff.
In Bone Factory - 12.12.2010 at 20:51  
Now there is another shock genre.shock rock and now shock review.
Ag Fox - 12.12.2010 at 20:52  
Entertaining read
Fat & Sassy! - 12.12.2010 at 21:09  
If I didn't know who ponderer was, I would assume he was some 14-year-old child after reading this review.
I know this review was just posted for lolz, but the list of reasons this should not have been published is much longer than the reasons it should have been.
*!* - 12.12.2010 at 21:11  
" Is everyone in Norway really so pissed off that there isn't any time to thoughtfully plan a cd and put some effort into the music?"
"it sounds like the rest of an already clichéd mess of metal coming out of northern Europe"

take it easy dude, you don't have to insult a whole region just because you hate an album...anyway..its your "musical" opinion
Slyfang - 12.12.2010 at 21:22  
athena - 12.12.2010 at 21:28  
Wow, what a low rating! I mean, this album was not as brilliant aws most people think it was, but it was not terrible!
Czerny Reiter - 12.12.2010 at 21:43  
I disagree with the review but I find the harsh criticism heaped on someone who did go through the trouble of writing it to be mostly unnecessary.
RavenKing - 12.12.2010 at 21:50  
Written by Czerny Reiter on 12.12.2010 at 21:43

I disagree with the review but I find the harsh criticism heaped on someone who did go through the trouble of writing it to be mostly unnecessary.


I guess you don't know his track record on this board, otherwise you would take him much less in pity.
He's been quite of an arrogant douchebag. And he derserves no credit for writing a review only out of pure spite.
Valentin B - 12.12.2010 at 21:53  
I kinda see what happened here.. the review is published for the lulz.. it's not even 3 months since the release of the album and i got a review rejected when i submitted it 2 days before the 3 month deadline.

well done, you gave us some damn good laughs mister whoever you are who proofread it
Fane - 12.12.2010 at 21:54  
Seems like someone got lost and posted his forum topic into reviews. Damn nubs!
RavenKing - 12.12.2010 at 21:55  
Written by Valentin B on 12.12.2010 at 21:53

I kinda see what happened here.. the review is published for the lulz.. it's not even 3 months since the release of the album and i got a review rejected when i submitted it 2 days before the 3 month deadline.

well done, you gave us some damn good laughs mister whoever you are who proofread it


Yeah, I guess that's what happened.
Axe Argonian - 12.12.2010 at 22:01  
The reviewer clearly lacks a decent comprehension of this band and the style that Enslaved plays. His saying biased shit like "Is everyone in Norway really so pissed off that there isn't any time to thoughtfully plan a cd and put some effort into the music?" and "It's basically a carbon copy of Immortal or Gorgoroth + (insert any band using the same gimmicks and sound from that region)." proves that he likely wrote this review without objectivity and knowledge on the artist and the style.

On another note, at least this narrow-minded review is a laugh-inducing read.
Czerny Reiter - 12.12.2010 at 22:01  
Written by RavenKing on 12.12.2010 at 21:50
I guess you don't know his track record on this board, otherwise you would take him much less in pity.
He's been quite of an arrogant douchebag. And he derserves no credit for writing a review only out of pure spite.



I'm aware of it and I don't even sympathise personally with Ponderer. It's just that it strikes me as 'switch-and-baity' to have the review approved only to pour down on it with righteous fury. Also the personal name-calling isn't exactly something I'd call constructive.
Uirapuru - 12.12.2010 at 22:39  
Quote:
You'll find so much more in bands like Symphony X, Fates Warning, Nevermore, Opeth, Death, Slayer, etc...


Yeah! These Enslaved fags must learn what br00tal really means! o/

They must hear the underrated Death and Opeth, victims of injustice


Hail Dragonforce!! o/
PazuzuSKOM - 12.12.2010 at 22:42  
Dude , dont drink too much before reviewing ..
hah, and thats a very suitable for April fool
K†ulu - 13.12.2010 at 00:58  
Well, actually the comments are more laugh-inducing than the review.
Yojimbo - 13.12.2010 at 01:03  
Written by Baz Anderson on 12.12.2010 at 18:36

It is pretty clear that the reviewer here simply knows nothing about the subject in hand.

Lol, that's exactly what I thought. Why write a review on a genre you don't like? WTF?
White Winter Sun - 13.12.2010 at 01:37  
After reading this review, seems that I clearly listened to another one Axioma Ethica Odini from another band called Enslaved too
Winterthrone - 13.12.2010 at 01:54  
I read this review and it didn't make me laugh. It's so pathetic it's not even funny to my eyes. How can you be so dumb to review something you obviously don't know a single thing about. And who proofread this? I thought Metalstorm was a serious Webzine. There is only two options...:
1-The person who proofread this was drunk or stoned and just didn't care so he/she published it.
2-The person who proofread this found that piece of garbage so funny that he/she thought it would make people laugh if they read this.

Either way, he problem is it's not very responsible to publish something that would provoke personal insults against one of MS users and it's not vey good for MS to publish such stupid reviews... I'm really wondering what is the point of publishing this, it could undermine the credibility of that website even if there is a Guest Review disclaimer at the end.
Enigma - 13.12.2010 at 02:43  
I thought metal storm would filter the reviews before post them. This review (and rating) is simply and just garbage!
Daniell - 13.12.2010 at 10:36  
Ohhh, the hate is strong in this one.
Everyone is entitled to their own opinions of course. But in order to have an opinion, one should know the subject matter, which isn't the case here.
Absolutely no clue about the album, the author has never heard it, nor any other Enslaved album for that matter. As for entertainment value - it's funny to see how blinded by hate and own arrogance a person can be. But that's all fun that there is to it. It shows the author as a pathetic whiner who spews his hate all over the world.
corrupt - 13.12.2010 at 12:10  
The fact that he gives Ensiferum, Amon Amarth and Wintersun of all bands as a reference of good music made me laugh so hard, I peed a little.

Seriously, I had to read the whole part three times. This is awesome!
Mikyz - 13.12.2010 at 13:12  
I'm sorry but are you seriously comparing Wintersun to Enslaved? It's like comparing the size of an ant to that of a mammoth, with Enslaved being the Mammoth of course. This can't be treated as a serious review for many reasons but the most relevant one is that this is purely subjective. I mean if you dislike growling then why did you even bother to listen to this? It seems that you dislike the whole extreme side of Metal, I don't see how as an individual who isn't really into BM, has the right to review this. + The bands your comparing Enslaved to, do not even have a similar sound, they might be progressive Metal but their sound and atmosphere isn't even close to Enslaved's.

I'm sorry, but this isn't a review, this could only be described as the ramblings of an Old man who misses the old school metal era i.e 70s and 80s. If you don't appreciate innovating music then don't listen to it, and please don't review it.
Vonpire - 13.12.2010 at 13:26  
Hahahahahahah Hehehehehehe HIhIHIHIHIHIHhihih, OMG what a lulz guy. You're really a joke! Unbelievable.

Well, at least all people know your credit equals 0 (or less)

But it was a good joke anyway
GT - 13.12.2010 at 14:24  
Written by Daniell on 13.12.2010 at 10:36

Ohhh, the hate is strong in this one.
Everyone is entitled to their own opinions of course. But in order to have an opinion, one should know the subject matter, which isn't the case here.
Absolutely no clue about the album, the author has never heard it, nor any other Enslaved album for that matter. As for entertainment value - it's funny to see how blinded by hate and own arrogance a person can be. But that's all fun that there is to it. It shows the author as a pathetic whiner who spews his hate all over the world.

Can only agree with everything said here
M - 13.12.2010 at 19:20  
Bullshit.
Winterthrone - 13.12.2010 at 19:52  
Written by Guest on 13.12.2010 at 02:19

1] About the person who proofread this; you can't make up his/her motives.
2] The person who wrote this review, announced month or a couple months ago, that he's going to review this album to show another opinion. Well, here it is and now users can freely compare those two aspects to this album between the reviews and end up in their own conlusion.
3] Let the staff decide what's good or bad for MS.


First, I wasn't trying to make up the motives of the proofreader, I was just trying to understand how such a piece of shit could find its way on MS.
Second, I didn't know that he announced that, thank you for letting me know. But, it doesn't change the fact that such a review should not be published cause it contains false informations and dumbfounded comments that are very far from the standards that a serious webzine should observe.
Third, I'm not telling the staff what to do, I was just expressing my disapointment that such pile of crap found it's way on MS. Also I wanted to say that MY OPINION was that publishing this review was no good for MS and no good for the person who wrote this. I think the proofreader should have simply told the person who wrote this toilet paper that he could not publish this for the reasons I mentionned in my post instead of publishing it just to expose this person to public humiliation.

Then again, I'm repeating it just to make shure you understand: This is just MY OPINION and I'm not trying to influence MS staff.

P.S: Yeah and "End up to their own conclusions" lol, anybody could have predicted that the vast majority of people would have peed in their pants and humiliated the person who wrote this abomination of a review so it is not a very good argument.
K†ulu - 13.12.2010 at 21:22  
Written by Guest on 13.12.2010 at 20:02

Written by Winterthrone on 13.12.2010 at 19:52

Written by Guest on 13.12.2010 at 02:19

1] About the person who proofread this; you can't make up his/her motives.
2] The person who wrote this review, announced month or a couple months ago, that he's going to review this album to show another opinion. Well, here it is and now users can freely compare those two aspects to this album between the reviews and end up in their own conlusion.
3] Let the staff decide what's good or bad for MS.


First, I wasn't trying to make up the motives of the proofreader, I was just trying to understand how such a piece of shit could find its way on MS.
Second, I didn't know that he announced that, thank you for letting me know. But, it doesn't change the fact that such a review should not be published cause it contains false informations and dumbfounded comments that are very far from the standards that a serious webzine should observe.
Third, I'm not telling the staff what to do, I was just expressing my disapointment that such pile of crap found it's way on MS. Also I wanted to say that MY OPINION was that publishing this review was no good for MS and no good for the person who wrote this. I think the proofreader should have simply told the person who wrote this toilet paper that he could not publish this for the reasons I mentionned in my post instead of publishing it just to expose this person to public humiliation.

Then again, I'm repeating it just to make shure you understand: This is just MY OPINION and I'm not trying to influence MS staff.

P.S: Yeah and "End up to their own conclusions" lol, anybody could have predicted that the vast majority of people would have peed in their pants and humiliated the person who wrote this abomination of a review so it is not a very good argument.

okay, peace.


haha awesome.
Doc Godin - 14.12.2010 at 06:05  
Written by Guest on 12.12.2010 at 20:07

I actually raise the fame monster above this album (go ahead, insult), but I find this review 1] defending own tastes (here pretty much meaning heavy metal or slightly differing metal with solos.) 2] attack against the whole norwegian scene. And this is not that bad an album, but bores me to death, almost.

It's not his out-of-the-norm opinion that makes this an utterly shit review, it's the fact that he really doesn't have any clue what he's talking about. The comparison to Gorgoroth is sign enough that he either A) Downloaded the wrong album, or B) He has only heard 2 black metal albums in his life.

Written by RavenKing on 12.12.2010 at 20:11

I'm clueless as to how such garbage could have been mistaken by the staff as a review.

The MS staff drinks a lot, forgive us...At least, that's the only reason I could think of for this going through. Oh well, pobody's nerfect.

Written by Czerny Reiter on 12.12.2010 at 21:43

I disagree with the review but I find the harsh criticism heaped on someone who did go through the trouble of writing it to be mostly unnecessary.

Define "going through the trouble". It sounds like this review was written with very little thought, research, or any background knowledge whatsoever.

Written by Winterthrone on 13.12.2010 at 01:54

And who proofread this? I thought Metalstorm was a serious Webzine.

Keep in mind this is a guest review, which, sorry to say folks, aren't taken all that seriously in the grand scheme of things. Yeah, they're fun to read and whatnot, but the disclaimer is at the bottom for a reason.

Please people, keep this in mind - IT IS A GUEST REVIEW. READ THE DISCLAIMER AT THE BOTTOM. Yes, we are a serious webzine, but guest reviews do not represent us as a webzine.

BTW - disregard this entire message if this review is indeed a joke.
Angelic Storm - 14.12.2010 at 06:54  
Wow, I really am astounded, and have to laugh at some of the comments here. The sense of irony and hypocrisy is quite staggering. "I know, lets criticise a childish, petty, narrow-minded review by being those things ourselves!" I dont know what's worse, the review, or some of the replies! Unbelievable.
flamey - 14.12.2010 at 19:29  
One of the worst reviews I've read on this site. I guess he didn't listen to Enslaved like... ever.

I wish you at least googled "Enslaved" before writing this review, it would have helped.
Joker - 15.12.2010 at 01:21  
Well, a few words to say here:

- I love all the bands you mentioned as hell....
- I liked the album....
- I'm not a big fan of the band, it's the 2nd album i got..
- If you're so clever, then you should know that music differs from a person to another in terms of songwriting and tastes...even in the same band, everyone sees the music from his view...
- Time changes and solos ain't necessary for good music...some people view it as weaknesses and escape, or a secure way to complete a song...
- This band have at least 4 or 5 members, i think they all liked the music they're doing in some way
- The most shitty band in someone's opinion, are surely the greatest band in their own opinion cz it's their band and that's why they formed it cz they think they r the best....
- No one liked Judas Priest when they first came out
- No one liked Metal
- We're all a bunch of idiots in the opinion of britney spears and akon fans..
- I know someone who hates bruce dickinson's vocals
- Every fucking famous band have that fear of losing it's fame, so they copy themselves over and over, that's common in the thrash, heavy, progressive, power, folk metal scenes...actually in metal and music in general...
- nevertheless they still make masterpieces sometimes....
- It's simple: Listen to it, then Love it, or Hate it....then shut the fuck up...
- Nothing is Wrong and Nothing is Right...
- Still no one likes Metal
- God is Satan
- Fuck offfffffff!!!!!!
necrovamp - 15.12.2010 at 02:46  
Some advice for you when you do a review
-Do some reserch, enslaved don't do the whole nordic metal makeup thing
-review the album, not the band, all bands have at least 1 bad album, this one may just be it
-be objective, not biased, you obviously don't like enslaved, ergo your review will most likely be negative
-just because a bands not heavy it doesn't make it rubbish - look at lost horizonm their not heavy but their good
-Compare a band to their peers-Slayer, Symphony x, Fates Warning are not enslaveds peers

"When did people give up singing for growling, screaming, and grunting as if the vocalist is suffering from a bout of violent diarrhea throughout the entire cd?" - seriously, do you listen to metal? Anal Cunt, cannible corpse, fintroll? these and countless bands who "scream and grunt as if the vocalist is suffering from a bout of violent diarrhea"

Please don't do another review.
RavenKing - 15.12.2010 at 03:06  
"It's basically a carbon copy of Immortal or Gorgoroth"
-Ponderer

This alone is enough to show how ignorant he is about BM. Not only that Enslaved don't sound at all like Immortal or like Gorgoroth but, if he had only a basic knowledge about BM, he would know that Immortal and Gorgoroth don't sound at all like each other.
For example, I like Immortal very much but utterly dislike Gorgoroth. And you can find lots of people like me, as well as you can find people who like Gorgoroth and hate Immortal.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2 3


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Enslaved - Axioma Ethica Odini 8.5 30.09.2010 by DerRozzengarten
Albums Enslaved - Axioma Ethica Odini 7.5 18.07.2010 by vezzy
Metal arena Best Song Off Of Enslaved's Axioma Ethica Odini 6 25.07.2011 by Pyramid God
Reviews Enslaved - Isa 4 07.06.2006 by Passenger
Albums Enslaved - Eld 3 09.10.2011 by musicalkaratekid



Hits total: 9445 | This month: 179