Enslaved - Axioma Ethica Odini review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
2.9

770 users:
8.74
Band: Enslaved
Album: Axioma Ethica Odini
Release date: September 2010


01. Ethica Odini
02. Raidho
03. Waruun
04. The Beacon
05. Axioma
06. Giants
07. Singular
08. Night Sight
09. Lightening

[Limited Edition Bonus 7" Vinyl]
01. Jotunblod (Doom)
02. Migration


Here we are again. I say that because Enslaved are beating the proverbial "Nordic Black Metal" horse to death. It seems like this is becoming a standard out of the Northern European Black Metal scene these days. Scary makeup, growling vocals, droning guitars, and a complete lack of direction other than to throw in some "evil" lyrics. Like anyone will ever go as far as Mercyful Fate did in the 80's lyrically? Doubtful, and I haven't seen anyone do it yet.

The only redeeming quality of this band is that the guitars have distortion, other than that it sounds like the rest of an already clichéd mess of metal coming out of northern Europe. It's basically a carbon copy of Immortal or Gorgoroth + (insert any band using the same gimmicks and sound from that region). The guitars drone away with the same simplistic rhythms using a grand total of 3 or 4 bar chords maximum for pretty much the length of any given track. Exhausting? More like headache inducing. The drums are nothing out of the ordinary providing a monotonous driving beat with little or no change, which when compounded with the lack of time changes or anything really interesting at all from the guitars, leaves the listener wondering, where's the beef? Where are the balls this music is supposed to retain which all the fanboys blather about?

Heavy? This couldn't be further from heavy. There's little or no chunk and grind which you'll find in bands like Nevermore or Exhumed. Heavy means driving, deep, rhythmic bass, and double bass drum blast beats with chunky, low, 7 and 8 string guitars. Heavy is music that has bite and gets right up in your face. Enslaved seem to be more about long, drawn out almost symphonic rhythms that never really go anywhere. Where are the time changes? Where are the melodic, blistering solos? Also, what's with all the growling and screaming all the time? Is everyone in Norway really so pissed off that there isn't any time to thoughtfully plan a cd and put some effort into the music?

When did people give up singing for growling, screaming, and grunting as if the vocalist is suffering from a bout of violent diarrhea throughout the entire cd? I like a good growl here and there like Opeth, but after an entire cd of it I want to take an ibuprofen. Enslaved made an attempt at mixing clean vocals with a growl on this cd, but it fell flat like the rest of their music.

The only thing I can fathom about the complete blind-devotion of the fans is that they don't know any better or haven't heard anything better. Enslaved left this listener wanting a hell of a lot more musically and lot less of the exact same tired, angry Nordic "scene," cd after cd. Giving this offering anything over a 3 is being generous.

This cd was a monotonous journey into boredom which would eventually spawn a headache. I actually enjoy bands like Amon Amarth, Ensiferum, and Wintersun because they all offer something musically. Their music actually goes somewhere, and some of the musicianship in these bands is god-like. Enslaved just aren't the caliber of musicians their fans make them out to be. You'll find so much more in bands like Symphony X, Fates Warning, Nevermore, Opeth, Death, Slayer, etc...

I don't hate Enslaved, I just think their music is severely lacking on just about every front. At least it's not Lady Gaga and the guitars are distorted


Rating breakdown
Performance: 3
Songwriting: 3
Originality: 2
Production: 2

Written by ponderer | 12.12.2010


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Staff review by
Daniell
Rating:
9.5
Let me tell you how I know that an album is hard to digest but great. When I put it on for the first time, most of the songs blur together, it's impossible to tell them apart. The first impression about the album is accentuated by those cool fragments of songs that remain in my memory. During the second listen I manage to hear most of those fragments. Just when I'm about to play the album for the third time to get those last cool bits, I realise that there are some more cool bits that I picked up during my second listen. With every consecutive listen, the number of cool bits increases, and my mind connects them to respective songs. After 10 listens all bits are in place, the picture is complete and my smile is wider than a six-lane freeway, because the album is brilliant.

Read more ››
published 30.09.2010 | Comments (70)

Guest review by
Metren
Rating:
7.0
It is almost certainly true that in each professional musician's life - if they are passionate and serious about their art - comes a point, when they become almost too good at what they do and the result is an album that doesn't take very many risks or doesn't include any truly mind-blowing melodies, riffs, solos, etc. For Enslaved, that point of becoming too good to take risks came with 2010's Axioma Ethica Odini.

Few albums will impress as highly on the first listen as this one, but that's not necessarily a good thing when it comes to (extreme) metal. An initial reaction of "I don't quite get it yet, but it's interesting" holds much more promise of an album becoming a true classic than does "OMG! This is awesome!"

Read more ››
published 20.08.2016 | Comments (24)


Comments

Comments: 124   Visited by: 731 users
12.12.2010 - 18:29
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Aahahahaha!
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 18:36
Baz Anderson
It is pretty clear that the reviewer here simply knows nothing about the subject in hand.
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 18:46
Elio
Red Nightmare
Woah

I mean, this wouldn't even be a good joke on April 1st!
----
IntoPlighT said: "Slipknot is 15 years old how the fuck is that Nu metal?"

BEST. QUOTE. EVER.
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 18:57
soulVIremia
For the lulz...?
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 19:05
Kenos
Account deleted
Written by Baz Anderson on 12.12.2010 at 18:36

It is pretty clear that the reviewer here simply knows nothing about the subject in hand.


Pretty much the same thing I thought while readin this "review"...
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 19:06
Darkside Momo
Retired
----

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you" - Ray Bradbury

"I've lost too many years now
I'm stealing back my soul
I'm awake now"
Abney Park (Letter Between A Little Boy & Himself As An Adult)
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 19:17
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by soulVIremia on 12.12.2010 at 18:57

For the lulz...?

No he is deadly serious. Which is why it's hilarious.
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 19:22
BitterCOld
Gringo
I think he dl'd the wrong album. he clearly knows absolutely zero about the band. make-up? evil lyrics? Enslaved? uh, sure. the worst they have in that department was posing in that leather armor back in the Frost and Eld days. no make up ever.

entire cd of growling? i think there are as many clean vocals courtesy of Herbrand as there are Grutlle's growls.

i have no problem with someone disliking the album musically, i can see where opinions vary, but it it abundantly clear he doesn't have the first clue. i really think he has never actually even heard the album... or any of theirs, for that matter, if comparing them to Immortal or Gorgoroth, i don't think he's heard ANY Enslaved album released over the past 12 years.

so congratulations, ponderer, on the single worst review in the history of metalstorm!

but thanks for a boatload of laughs and let me part with this but of wisdom:

"It is better to be thought a complete jackass than flail away at your keyboard and remove all doubt."
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 19:29
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Maybe it could be used by MS as a prime example of how not to do a review. Because it hits pretty much every target there.
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 19:32
Titanticus
I love the whole Nevermore/Fates Warning/Slayer/Lady Gaga thing. This was something I would have expected to read in People magazine or something, not here.
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 19:46
Promonex
Cathemeral
Written by Guest on 12.12.2010 at 19:05

Written by Baz Anderson on 12.12.2010 at 18:36

It is pretty clear that the reviewer here simply knows nothing about the subject in hand.


Pretty much the same thing I thought while readin this "review"...


Thirded.
----
All life begins with Nu and ends with Nu... This is the truth! This is my belief! ...At least for now.
- The Mystery of Life, Vol. 841 Ch. 26
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 19:51
vezzy
Stallmanite
I do agree that the humor is greatly enhanced by the reviewer actually believing this stuff.

also rofl Slayer... what kind of comparison is that?

That and again with the Mercyful Fate is tr00 black metal thing.
----
Licensed under the GPLv3.
Relinquish proprietary software for a greater GNU/America.
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 20:11
RavenKing
Such a joke of a review. Only Ponderer is stupid and ignorant enough to poop such a piece of shit from his ass. It only displays sheer ignorance and prejudice.

Sorry man, I'm almost as old as you, but clearly you got stuck in the 80s and live in your own fantasy world, far remote from reality.
Give up on metal, you're simply too old (not as for age but because of your outdated mentality) and unable to catch up.

I'm clueless as to how such garbage could have been mistaken by the staff as a review.
----
They shake your hand and they smile and they buy you a drink
They say we'll be your friends we'll stick with you till the end
But everybody's only looking out for themselves
And you say who can you trust I'll tell you nobody
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 20:15
Zuzuz0r
Best review ever. I want this to be nominated as the best review of 2010.
----
If this grand panorama before me is what you call God
Then God is not dead.
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 20:21
Homer S.
Account deleted
Whoever proofread this failed to spot the absence of a full-stop at the end of the review, keeping the doors open for a change of heart, perhaps?
By the way, is the rating of 2.9 a counter-reaction to the 'hype' of this album, or is it the result of careful and methodological scrutiny, without any external influences?
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 20:25
seafood
Written by Zuzuz0r on 12.12.2010 at 20:15

Best review ever. I want this to be nominated as the best review of 2010.


I think Ponderer would be an excellent nomination for best MS 2010 drama. This review just secures it.

Great reading btw, funny stuff.
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 20:51
In Bone Factory
Now there is another shock genre.shock rock and now shock review.
----
a hammerhead goobrian
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 20:52
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Entertaining read
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 21:09
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
If I didn't know who ponderer was, I would assume he was some 14-year-old child after reading this review.
I know this review was just posted for lolz, but the list of reasons this should not have been published is much longer than the reasons it should have been.
----
"Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST..." ____Frank Zappa
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 21:11
*!*
" Is everyone in Norway really so pissed off that there isn't any time to thoughtfully plan a cd and put some effort into the music?"
"it sounds like the rest of an already clichéd mess of metal coming out of northern Europe"

take it easy dude, you don't have to insult a whole region just because you hate an album...anyway..its your "musical" opinion
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 21:22
Slyfang
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 21:28
athena
Wow, what a low rating! I mean, this album was not as brilliant aws most people think it was, but it was not terrible!
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 21:43
Czerny Reiter
I disagree with the review but I find the harsh criticism heaped on someone who did go through the trouble of writing it to be mostly unnecessary.
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 21:50
RavenKing
Written by Czerny Reiter on 12.12.2010 at 21:43

I disagree with the review but I find the harsh criticism heaped on someone who did go through the trouble of writing it to be mostly unnecessary.


I guess you don't know his track record on this board, otherwise you would take him much less in pity.
He's been quite of an arrogant douchebag. And he derserves no credit for writing a review only out of pure spite.
----
They shake your hand and they smile and they buy you a drink
They say we'll be your friends we'll stick with you till the end
But everybody's only looking out for themselves
And you say who can you trust I'll tell you nobody
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 21:53
Valentin B
Iconoclast
I kinda see what happened here.. the review is published for the lulz.. it's not even 3 months since the release of the album and i got a review rejected when i submitted it 2 days before the 3 month deadline.

well done, you gave us some damn good laughs mister whoever you are who proofread it
----
Sing me a song, you're a singer
Do me a wrong, you're a bringer of evil.
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 21:54
Fane
Seems like someone got lost and posted his forum topic into reviews. Damn nubs!
----
Coffee for power
Music for creativity
Sarcasm for fun
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 21:55
RavenKing
Written by Valentin B on 12.12.2010 at 21:53

I kinda see what happened here.. the review is published for the lulz.. it's not even 3 months since the release of the album and i got a review rejected when i submitted it 2 days before the 3 month deadline.

well done, you gave us some damn good laughs mister whoever you are who proofread it


Yeah, I guess that's what happened.
----
They shake your hand and they smile and they buy you a drink
They say we'll be your friends we'll stick with you till the end
But everybody's only looking out for themselves
And you say who can you trust I'll tell you nobody
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 22:01
Axe Argonian
The reviewer clearly lacks a decent comprehension of this band and the style that Enslaved plays. His saying biased shit like "Is everyone in Norway really so pissed off that there isn't any time to thoughtfully plan a cd and put some effort into the music?" and "It's basically a carbon copy of Immortal or Gorgoroth + (insert any band using the same gimmicks and sound from that region)." proves that he likely wrote this review without objectivity and knowledge on the artist and the style.

On another note, at least this narrow-minded review is a laugh-inducing read.
----
"Man does at all times only what he wills, and yet he does this necessarily. But this is because he already is what he wills." - Arthur Schopenhauer
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 22:01
Czerny Reiter
Written by RavenKing on 12.12.2010 at 21:50
I guess you don't know his track record on this board, otherwise you would take him much less in pity.
He's been quite of an arrogant douchebag. And he derserves no credit for writing a review only out of pure spite.



I'm aware of it and I don't even sympathise personally with Ponderer. It's just that it strikes me as 'switch-and-baity' to have the review approved only to pour down on it with righteous fury. Also the personal name-calling isn't exactly something I'd call constructive.
Loading...
12.12.2010 - 22:39
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Quote:
You'll find so much more in bands like Symphony X, Fates Warning, Nevermore, Opeth, Death, Slayer, etc...


Yeah! These Enslaved fags must learn what br00tal really means! o/

They must hear the underrated Death and Opeth, victims of injustice


Hail Dragonforce!! o/
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...

Hits total: 12270 | This month: 37