Rating:
2.9
Enslaved - Axioma Ethica Odini
27 September 2010


01. Ethica Odini
02. Raidho
03. Waruun
04. The Beacon
05. Axioma
06. Giants
07. Singular
08. Night Sight
09. Lightening

[Limited Edition Bonus 7" Vinyl]
01. Jotunblod (Doom)
02. Migration


Here we are again. I say that because Enslaved are beating the proverbial "Nordic Black Metal" horse to death. It seems like this is becoming a standard out of the Northern European Black Metal scene these days. Scary makeup, growling vocals, droning guitars, and a complete lack of direction other than to throw in some "evil" lyrics. Like anyone will ever go as far as Mercyful Fate did in the 80's lyrically? Doubtful, and I haven't seen anyone do it yet.

The only redeeming quality of this band is that the guitars have distortion, other than that it sounds like the rest of an already clichéd mess of metal coming out of northern Europe. It's basically a carbon copy of Immortal or Gorgoroth + (insert any band using the same gimmicks and sound from that region). The guitars drone away with the same simplistic rhythms using a grand total of 3 or 4 bar chords maximum for pretty much the length of any given track. Exhausting? More like headache inducing. The drums are nothing out of the ordinary providing a monotonous driving beat with little or no change, which when compounded with the lack of time changes or anything really interesting at all from the guitars, leaves the listener wondering, where's the beef? Where are the balls this music is supposed to retain which all the fanboys blather about?

Heavy? This couldn't be further from heavy. There's little or no chunk and grind which you'll find in bands like Nevermore or Exhumed. Heavy means driving, deep, rhythmic bass, and double bass drum blast beats with chunky, low, 7 and 8 string guitars. Heavy is music that has bite and gets right up in your face. Enslaved seem to be more about long, drawn out almost symphonic rhythms that never really go anywhere. Where are the time changes? Where are the melodic, blistering solos? Also, what's with all the growling and screaming all the time? Is everyone in Norway really so pissed off that there isn't any time to thoughtfully plan a cd and put some effort into the music?

When did people give up singing for growling, screaming, and grunting as if the vocalist is suffering from a bout of violent diarrhea throughout the entire cd? I like a good growl here and there like Opeth, but after an entire cd of it I want to take an ibuprofen. Enslaved made an attempt at mixing clean vocals with a growl on this cd, but it fell flat like the rest of their music.

The only thing I can fathom about the complete blind-devotion of the fans is that they don't know any better or haven't heard anything better. Enslaved left this listener wanting a hell of a lot more musically and lot less of the exact same tired, angry Nordic "scene," cd after cd. Giving this offering anything over a 3 is being generous.

This cd was a monotonous journey into boredom which would eventually spawn a headache. I actually enjoy bands like Amon Amarth, Ensiferum, and Wintersun because they all offer something musically. Their music actually goes somewhere, and some of the musicianship in these bands is god-like. Enslaved just aren't the caliber of musicians their fans make them out to be. You'll find so much more in bands like Symphony X, Fates Warning, Nevermore, Opeth, Death, Slayer, etc...

I don't hate Enslaved, I just think their music is severely lacking on just about every front. At least it's not Lady Gaga and the guitars are distorted

Performance: 3
Songwriting: 3
Originality: 2
Production: 2


Band profile: Enslaved
Album: Axioma Ethica Odini


 


written by ponderer | 12.12.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Staff review by
Daniell

Rating:
9.5
Let me tell you how I know that an album is hard to digest but great. When I put it on for the first time, most of the songs blur together, it's impossible to tell them apart. The first impression about the album is accentuated by those cool fragments of songs that remain in my memory. During the second listen I manage to hear most of those fragments. Just when I'm about to play the album for the third time to get those last cool bits, I realise that there are some more cool bits that I picked up during my second listen. With every consecutive listen, the number of cool bits increases, and my mind connects them to respective songs. After 10 listens all bits are in place, the picture is complete and my smile is wider than a six-lane freeway, because the album is brilliant.

Read more ››
published 30.09.2010 | Comments (69)



Comments page 2 of 3

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2] 3
Comments: 118  
Users visited: 616  
Search this topic:  


Aetherius - 15.12.2010 at 13:19  
Bad review!!! I thought it was a joke at first lol Maybe he just doesnt like the style or the band and is expressing his emotion through this "review". I have seen this guy post some bad stuff about Enslaved in the past, I think when you have such strong feeling of hate toward a band maybe you should not do a review of their material because your emotions have blinded you from reviewing fairly and then you become very biased for all wrong reasons.
Uirapuru - 16.12.2010 at 18:20  
The comments in here are starting to piss me off...
ponderer - 16.12.2010 at 19:23  
Written by Uirapuru on 16.12.2010 at 18:20

The comments in here are starting to piss me off...


Deixa pra la rapaz. Nao adianta porque eles vão reclamar qualquer jeito. Tudo tranquilo
Winterthrone - 16.12.2010 at 22:23  
Written by Doc Godin on 14.12.2010 at 06:05

Written by Guest on 12.12.2010 at 20:07

I actually raise the fame monster above this album (go ahead, insult), but I find this review 1] defending own tastes (here pretty much meaning heavy metal or slightly differing metal with solos.) 2] attack against the whole norwegian scene. And this is not that bad an album, but bores me to death, almost.

It's not his out-of-the-norm opinion that makes this an utterly shit review, it's the fact that he really doesn't have any clue what he's talking about. The comparison to Gorgoroth is sign enough that he either A) Downloaded the wrong album, or B) He has only heard 2 black metal albums in his life.

Written by RavenKing on 12.12.2010 at 20:11

I'm clueless as to how such garbage could have been mistaken by the staff as a review.

The MS staff drinks a lot, forgive us...At least, that's the only reason I could think of for this going through. Oh well, pobody's nerfect.

Written by Czerny Reiter on 12.12.2010 at 21:43

I disagree with the review but I find the harsh criticism heaped on someone who did go through the trouble of writing it to be mostly unnecessary.

Define "going through the trouble". It sounds like this review was written with very little thought, research, or any background knowledge whatsoever.

Written by Winterthrone on 13.12.2010 at 01:54

And who proofread this? I thought Metalstorm was a serious Webzine.

Keep in mind this is a guest review, which, sorry to say folks, aren't taken all that seriously in the grand scheme of things. Yeah, they're fun to read and whatnot, but the disclaimer is at the bottom for a reason.

Please people, keep this in mind - IT IS A GUEST REVIEW. READ THE DISCLAIMER AT THE BOTTOM. Yes, we are a serious webzine, but guest reviews do not represent us as a webzine.

BTW - disregard this entire message if this review is indeed a joke.

Well you are already forgiven!
I know guest reviews are not representing MS staff opinions but why do you filter the guest reviews if they don't weigh much in the balance? That was my question. My Mother always told me: "If something is worth doing, then do it good!" That's why I thought the proofreaders were a little more serious than they now appear to be. I mean if I had been the proofreader, I would have deleted that piece of crap with no mercy and told Ponderer what was wrong with he's "review". Yeah there is a disclaimer, but to me it doesn't justify the publishing of this abomination. If you think it justifies it then just publish whatever you receive without proofreading...But I don't think that's what you want?
Doc Godin - 16.12.2010 at 22:35  
Written by Winterthrone on 16.12.2010 at 22:23

Well you are already forgiven!
I know guest reviews are not representing MS staff opinions but why do you filter the guest reviews if they don't weigh much in the balance? That was my question. My Mother always told me: "If something is worth doing, then do it good!" That's why I thought the proofreaders were a little more serious than they now appear to be. I mean if I had been the proofreader, I would have deleted that piece of crap with no mercy and told Ponderer what was wrong with he's "review". Yeah there is a disclaimer, but to me it doesn't justify the publishing of this abomination. If you think it justifies it then just publish whatever you receive without proofreading...But I don't think that's what you want?

Well, you do bring up a good point, and you are right, but it just comes down to the fact that all the proofreaders have different standards when it comes to letting things through.
Lucas - 16.12.2010 at 22:46  
IMO, a review is bad when it has bad grammar and spelling etc. If you think Elton John sounds similar to Darkthrone, I do think you may want to get your ears checked, but ultimately that is your opinion. Bit of a strange thing to say, but I do believe it's true.
BitterCOld - 16.12.2010 at 23:00  
Written by ponderer on 16.12.2010 at 19:23

Written by Uirapuru on 16.12.2010 at 18:20

The comments in here are starting to piss me off...


Deixa pra la rapaz. Nao adianta porque eles vão reclamar qualquer jeito. Tudo tranquilo


yep. the entire point of this "review" was causing a stir with baseless comments and stupidity designed to fire up more stupidity in response. so congrats, mission accomplished.
Winterthrone - 17.12.2010 at 07:48  
Written by BitterCOld on 16.12.2010 at 23:00

Written by ponderer on 16.12.2010 at 19:23

Written by Uirapuru on 16.12.2010 at 18:20

The comments in here are starting to piss me off...


Deixa pra la rapaz. Nao adianta porque eles vão reclamar qualquer jeito. Tudo tranquilo


yep. the entire point of this "review" was causing a stir with baseless comments and stupidity designed to fire up more stupidity in response. so congrats, mission accomplished.

And that is why I think these baseless comments and stupidity should not have been published.
BitterCOld - 17.12.2010 at 08:41  
Written by Winterthrone on 17.12.2010 at 07:48


And that is why I think these baseless comments and stupidity should not have been published.


swell. thanks for your two loonies. much appreciated.
Valentin B - 17.12.2010 at 13:35  
Great comeback Winterthrone hahah
RavenKing - 17.12.2010 at 14:31  
Written by BitterCOld on 16.12.2010 at 23:00

Written by ponderer on 16.12.2010 at 19:23

Written by Uirapuru on 16.12.2010 at 18:20

The comments in here are starting to piss me off...


Deixa pra la rapaz. Nao adianta porque eles vão reclamar qualquer jeito. Tudo tranquilo


yep. the entire point of this "review" was causing a stir with baseless comments and stupidity designed to fire up more stupidity in response. so congrats, mission accomplished.


The only thing a joke review like this one achieves is to show his author for the retard he is and lower the credibility of this board.
By the way, if you read his past comments on this board, you will know there are many things he says in this piece of shit of a review that he truely believes in. It is basically a rant of an old idiot stuk in the 80s, as a few members pointed out.

Mind you, I'm not angry at all. After all, it only makes it more obvious for all to see that the guy is a fool and his opinion worths less than shit. He's skilled at discrediting himself.
farfaramir - 17.12.2010 at 15:04  
This is the same guy that give a 9 to Poetry for the Poisoned?
Daniell - 17.12.2010 at 15:14  
Written by farfaramir on 17.12.2010 at 15:04

This is the same guy that give a 9 to Poetry for the Poisoned?


The difference is - Kamelot's review shows that he did listen to the album, which isn't the case with Enslaved.
Angelic Storm - 18.12.2010 at 11:24  
Written by BitterCOld on 16.12.2010 at 23:00
yep. the entire point of this "review" was causing a stir with baseless comments and stupidity designed to fire up more stupidity in response. so congrats, mission accomplished.


Yep, I found a few of the comments just as baseless and stupid as the review itself. If not even more so, as they were using those comments to criticise the review. lol
Zuzuz0r - 18.12.2010 at 21:10  
Now we all know this was posted for the lulz, what's next?
MetalHead74 - 19.12.2010 at 00:29  
Enslaved a '' Carbon copy of Immortal and Gorgoroth '' WTF . 2.9...... Most illogical and ridiculous review I ever read
tizioincognito - 19.12.2010 at 22:38  
I will try to stay on with your review:

GO VIKINGS!

(referred to the Minnesota Vikings)
Troy Killjoy - 24.12.2010 at 01:07  
Undoubtedly the most researched, historically accurate, and unbiased review ever to be published on Metal Storm.

You only missed pointing out that Grutle Kjellson is actually in a long-term relationship with fellow Halloween fetishist Gaahl.

I hear they have a new clothing line called Viky - Viking gear for your baby.
Slayer666 - 28.12.2010 at 15:50  
I've a feeling that ponderer is in fact a cyber-masochist that gets a boner whenever he receives a negative comment.

A big lol at mentioning Wintersun and saying they offer something musically.
pdepmcp - 30.12.2010 at 15:54  
Ponderer obviously downloaded the wrong album with emule. It happens.

Assuming he is not crazy (but it sounds a bit hazardous, considering the review), the main question is: what is the record he downloaded that deserved such a bad review?! Knowing the answer I could at least avoid an ugly release

Too bad we'll probably never know...
Kennoth - 10.01.2011 at 23:16  
Oh come on! This is so obviously fake that it'd be only more obvious if the review itself would hold a banner saying 'I'm fake' on it.

Like AS has said, some of the comments here are truly ridiculous.
evoola - 14.01.2011 at 15:17  
I'm not sure what's worse, the review or the endless parade of retards getting all bent out of shape over a band that isn't that good to begin with. This cd is an exercise in boring.
vezzy - 15.01.2011 at 21:56  
You know, after watching "Dot Dot Dot - Animated" on Newgrounds (rofl link), I got this idea...

Well, perhaps as only a pipe dream in my mind, the same could be done here, only a) I'm not good at typography animation and I'm lazy, b) I doubt there's a voice actor half as good as D-MacX2, c) review is too long, d) no typos to mock in particular.

(still, have a laugh at ...)
Fat & Sassy! - 15.01.2011 at 22:13  
Beautiful flash short, dude. XD
vezzy - 15.01.2011 at 22:17  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 15.01.2011 at 22:13

Beautiful flash short, dude. XD


Yeah, I know. Best NG Flash short I've seen in ages.

And it's only text and a voice-over.

P.S. the only reson I'm giving this to you @ MS is beacuase the voices where pretty good. but thats it!
Zuzuz0r - 15.01.2011 at 22:42  
Written by vezzy on 15.01.2011 at 21:56

(rofl link)


Wow.
tea[m]ster - 15.01.2011 at 22:46  
My musical taste of choice right now is post - drone - sludge - so when the reviewer mentions:

"Enslaved seem to be more about long, drawn out almost symphonic rhythms that never really go anywhere. Where are the time changes? Where are the melodic, blistering solos?"
...ew, i am interested
"the guitars have distortion"
...sign me up!
"The guitars drone away with the same simplistic rhythms using a grand total of 3 or 4 bar chords maximum for pretty much the length of any given track"
...giddyup, full steam ahead!

That's what I like about Enslaved, each listen offers something different depending what you're looking for: Black, Viking, Prog, Post, Sludge it's all in there you just gotta dig...
Karwyn - 19.01.2011 at 04:59  
May ask why this garbage hasn't been taken down by the staff yet? This is even worse than the "review" trashing BG's Nightfall In Middle Earth.
Mr. Doctor - 26.01.2011 at 21:35  
Written by Slayer666 on 28.12.2010 at 15:50

A big lol at mentioning Wintersun and saying they offer something musically.


Hhahahah I didn't catch that part, But I found even more hilarious that Amon Amarth is in that list as well.
PrimalAntagonist - 27.01.2011 at 19:12  
This review should be deleted.End of story.
Lit. - 21.02.2011 at 00:03  
This is better than Jerry Springer.
MechanisT - 01.04.2011 at 16:26  
Ponderer, I await your RESURRECTION on this holiest of days.
!J.O.O.E.! - 01.04.2011 at 16:53  
Written by MechanisT on 01.04.2011 at 16:26

Ponderer, I await your RESURRECTION on this holiest of days.

ponderer is a living April Fool.
MechanisT - 01.04.2011 at 18:01  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 01.04.2011 at 16:53

Written by MechanisT on 01.04.2011 at 16:26

Ponderer, I await your RESURRECTION on this holiest of days.

ponderer is a living April Fool.


Aye, albeit not a very enjoyable one.
!J.O.O.E.! - 01.04.2011 at 18:12  
Written by MechanisT on 01.04.2011 at 18:01

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 01.04.2011 at 16:53

Written by MechanisT on 01.04.2011 at 16:26

Ponderer, I await your RESURRECTION on this holiest of days.

ponderer is a living April Fool.


Aye, albeit not a very enjoyable one.

'zackly! xD
bodomroy - 08.06.2011 at 19:37  
I've seen this user is banned. Why don't you erase this review?
Troy Killjoy - 09.06.2011 at 00:24  
Written by bodomroy on 08.06.2011 at 19:37

I've seen this user is banned. Why don't you erase this review?

Because it's part of Metal Storm's gag reel.
bodomroy - 09.06.2011 at 17:49  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 09.06.2011 at 00:24

Written by bodomroy on 08.06.2011 at 19:37

I've seen this user is banned. Why don't you erase this review?

Because it's part of Metal Storm's gag reel.


I understand but this is a review that has been done only to upset other users, i simply don't agree this time and this is just my opininon
Troy Killjoy - 09.06.2011 at 17:56  
Written by bodomroy on 09.06.2011 at 17:49

I understand but this is a review that has been done only to upset other users, i simply don't agree this time and this is just my opininon

We're aware of its existence and its intentions; we believe anyone with common sense will understand this review in no way reflects what the album actually sounds like, especially given the comments its received.

After all, it's a guest review - neither the band nor label were given this link, and it never appeared on the front page. No harm done really.
bodomroy - 10.06.2011 at 18:36  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 09.06.2011 at 17:56

Written by bodomroy on 09.06.2011 at 17:49

I understand but this is a review that has been done only to upset other users, i simply don't agree this time and this is just my opininon

We're aware of its existence and its intentions; we believe anyone with common sense will understand this review in no way reflects what the album actually sounds like, especially given the comments its received.

After all, it's a guest review - neither the band nor label were given this link, and it never appeared on the front page. No harm done really.


Ok, thanks for the explanation
koob - 25.07.2011 at 15:01  
This album is still pure shit...
M C Vice - 03.09.2011 at 03:01  
Don't remove this review. This is some funny shit.
Remember ponderer's comments about Therion's Sitra Ahra album and how he claimed to be an english teacher? Well, I spotted a few english grammer errors in the 1st paragraph of his review, so he couldn't have been much of a teacher.
And Enslaved and Immortal sound nothing alike, except that they play the same genre. (havn't heard any Gorgoroth)
malaikat - 19.09.2011 at 15:48  
In short: when Ponderer talky about music, he actually talks about melody. So, the bands that, according to him, "do something musically", aren't some inovative composers but simply artists who make (more or less) melodic metal.
That's why he compares Enslaved to Symphony X or Ensiferum. To him, (metal) music is just something that has melody you could humm or sing along with.

In other words, n00b.
R'Vannith - 19.09.2011 at 16:50  
This album is a tough nut to crack, which is more than I can say for the reviewer, that nut was already cracked.

Might give Enslaved's earlier releases a try, this one really isn't grabbing my attention, perhaps in time. It's certainly better than most Black metal I've heard though.
Frost Beast - 05.10.2011 at 23:42  
A not-so-good review with lots of factual mistakes and no basis to back up the arguments that are made by the reviewer.
MétalNoir - 02.12.2011 at 20:05  
This review is shit, period.
Alex Fenger - 25.02.2012 at 06:13  
Well, you're pretty much a fucking idiot... sorry, but i mean, come on. A 2.9? Clearly a troll, which would normally be accepted by black metal fans and bands, but not now!
Boxcar Willy - 25.02.2012 at 06:37  
Written by Alex Fenger on 25.02.2012 at 06:13

Well, you're pretty much a fucking idiot... sorry, but i mean, come on. A 2.9? Clearly a troll, which would normally be accepted by black metal fans and bands, but not now!

I guess you missed the whole ponderer thing...

http://www.metalstorm.net/pub/review.php?review_id=9027


read this.
Alex Fenger - 25.02.2012 at 06:50  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 25.02.2012 at 06:37

Written by Alex Fenger on 25.02.2012 at 06:13

Well, you're pretty much a fucking idiot... sorry, but i mean, come on. A 2.9? Clearly a troll, which would normally be accepted by black metal fans and bands, but not now!

I guess you missed the whole ponderer thing...

http://www.metalstorm.net/pub/review.php?review_id=9027


read this.

Ahhhh, I see... After reading my post again, and most of my posts, I come off as a bit of a jackass don't I?
Boxcar Willy - 25.02.2012 at 06:52  
Written by Alex Fenger on 25.02.2012 at 06:50

Written by Boxcar Willy on 25.02.2012 at 06:37

Written by Alex Fenger on 25.02.2012 at 06:13

Well, you're pretty much a fucking idiot... sorry, but i mean, come on. A 2.9? Clearly a troll, which would normally be accepted by black metal fans and bands, but not now!

I guess you missed the whole ponderer thing...

http://www.metalstorm.net/pub/review.php?review_id=9027


read this.

Ahhhh, I see... After reading my post again, and most of my posts, I come off as a bit of a jackass don't I?

No, not at all, its just this was a... yeah... read the previous posts, and look through ponderers post.


then you'll understand.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2] 3


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Enslaved - Axioma Ethica Odini 8.5 30.09.2010 by DerRozzengarten
Albums Enslaved - Axioma Ethica Odini 7.5 18.07.2010 by vezzy
Metal arena Best Song Off Of Enslaved's Axioma Ethica Odini 6 25.07.2011 by Pyramid God
News Enslaved - Announce European Tour Dates, Lyric Video Released 3 22.09.2012 by corrupt
Albums Enslaved - Blodhemn 3 20.11.2011 by JÄY



Hits total: 9411 | This month: 145